Volkswagen Polo 1.2 Petrol HL Silver 2013 Model Review

Yep, I took test drive today of 1.2 Petrol and was somewhat disappointed - may be I was expecting too much from it (brother's Verna in my mind. )

Then I also took out of 1.6 TDI GT for test drive. Man!! post 1500rpm I thought I hit NOS or something. Forget Verna, for a moment I felt this thing will take off.
I am too tempted to buy it - considering lucrative 3 yrs wala offer still valid and from inspirations from your mods, i think this will be my forever love.

Thread Starter #302
Gave the car for first service. The estimated costs are Rs. 11500.

They informed me on phone that the radiator has developed a crack and it would be mandatory to fix it. The cost would be Rs 4500. I wonder how come it developed a crack when my car has been carefully driven and with no rash driving of any kind.

He said that it can happen due to a bad pothole or speed breaker. But that means the quality of plastic components is not up to mark, isn't it?

So total bill Rs 11500 (service) + 4500 (new radiator part) + 4000 (fix few dents made by bikers) = Rs 20000

Must be among one of the most expensive first services in Polo's history.

Sucks.

Gave the car for first service. The estimated costs are Rs. 11500.

They informed me on phone that the radiator has developed a crack and it would be mandatory to fix it. The cost would be Rs 4500. I wonder how come it developed a crack when my car has been carefully driven and with no rash driving of any kind.

He said that it can happen due to a bad pothole or speed breaker. But that means the quality of plastic components is not up to mark, isn't it?

So total bill Rs 11500 (service) + 4500 (new radiator part) + 4000 (fix few dents made by bikers) = Rs 20000

Must be among one of the most expensive first services in Polo's history.

Sucks.
11500 for 1st service seems too expensive.I have bought Polo Petrol in August 2013 and have an AMC at Rs. 500 per month. Hope there is no catch there.

Thread Starter #305
That's too expensive. Why wasn't that covered under warranty?
He said that part is not covered under warranty. It's a plastic part. Can anyone shed some light on warranty situation? If it's not my obvious mistake in causing the crack then it should be covered under warranty isn't it?

Thread Starter #307
Radiator cover.

No pics possible as I am yet to visit them at the workshop.

This service has the potential to make or break Volkswagen's image on this forum.

Thread Starter #308
Some good news and some bad news.

Good news
Service costs came to Rs. 8100 (Rs. 4400 lesser than previous estimate)
Radiator cover Rs. 4000
Dent removal and paint job of front left fender Rs. 4000

Total= Rs. 16100 (Includes labor)

Bad news is the dent removal of front fender was an appalling job. They removed 1 dent and created several other tiny dents.
The body shop dude apologized and asked for permission to keep the car for 1 more day. (Looks like they don't want to let go off my car [lol])

The radiator cover appears very strong but it had broken into 2 pieces. It's a very big and heavy part and I am still puzzled at how it broke so easily. [confused]

Sanke, sorry for coming in the thread extremely late. One heck of a beauty you got there. A friend of mine has the same Polo Highline 2013 refresh but in red and it looks dashing though. he hasnt let me behind the wheel due to my plaster on foot but as a passenger i can safely say its a capable car and very grippy. Also the engine is pretty good and not a slouch as many reviews suggest. the stock ICE is pretty capable as well. overall i am in love with the Polo and kudos to you for making ever so appealing with the subtle mods. [:)]

Thread Starter #310
Got the car back few days ago. Service was satisfactory.

Tip: If you believe they have not done a good job with denting or some obvious mistakes, fight it off with them and demand absolute perfection.

confused

Hi everyone,
This is my first post here but i've been following this thread for over a year. Well my father has decided to buy our first car and the criteria is that it should be petrol and a hatchback and budget is 7 lack. Well my father likes the swift zxi whereas my heart beats for polo highline. As so many polo owners are active on this thread, please help me.
And by the way sanket, you've got an amazing car :)

Re: confused

Hi everyone,
This is my first post here but i've been following this thread for over a year. Well my father has decided to buy our first car and the criteria is that it should be petrol and a hatchback and budget is 7 lack. Well my father likes the swift zxi whereas my heart beats for polo highline. As so many polo owners are active on this thread, please help me.
And by the way sanket, you've got an amazing car :)
What goes for the Swift:

1. Powerful, refined engine
2. Cheap to maintain
3. Fun to drive
4. Decent resale value
5. Interior space
6. Reliable

What doesn't:

1. Build quality
2. Small boot

What goes for the Polo:

1. Good looking European
2. Very good build quality
3. Fun to drive
4. Boot space

What doesn't:

1. The 3-pot is not powerful unlike the Swift and neither is it refined
2. Lack of space at the rear
3. Comparatively expensive to maintain

These are some things I can think off the top of my head. Take into consideration your priorities and choose the car you want [;)]

Vipin

Hi, I am quiet new to this forum. I am about to book a polo 1.2 highline petrol with 3 yr free insurance including 1 yr zero dep. 3 yr road side assistance and 3 yr warrenty with 14K discount. The free accessories include body cover, mud flaps, matting, key chain, temple and welcome kit. All these is applicable as I am opting for minimum of 1 lakh lone from Vokesvegan finance. Further I have been told that if i am interested I can opt for 3 yr AMC for rs Rs. 21500.

Further SA said that the white color which I asked, he said it is available in show room and I can have it. I checked the VIN and I found it SEPT 2014 model. I asked for Nov. manufactured for which he said that we will try, it is not possible then I have to take the available one.

Is the 3 months old car is ok. Is I can accept that.

I also looked for Swift ZXI for which they are ready to give 20k discount.

Which will be the good choice for me.

Since this will be my first car and i have just learned driving kindly give me the suggestion

Hi, I am quiet new to this forum. I am about to book a polo 1.2 highline petrol with 3 yr free insurance including 1 yr zero dep. 3 yr road side assistance and 3 yr warrenty with 14K discount. The free accessories include body cover, mud flaps, matting, key chain, temple and welcome kit. All these is applicable as I am opting for minimum of 1 lakh lone from Vokesvegan finance. Further I have been told that if i am interested I can opt for 3 yr AMC for rs Rs. 21500.

Further SA said that the white color which I asked, he said it is available in show room and I can have it. I checked the VIN and I found it SEPT 2014 model. I asked for Nov. manufactured for which he said that we will try, it is not possible then I have to take the available one.

Is the 3 months old car is ok. Is I can accept that.

I also looked for Swift ZXI for which they are ready to give 20k discount.

Which will be the good choice for me.

Since this will be my first car and i have just learned driving kindly give me the suggestion
That's a steal deal buddy. An excellent deal I must say!
3 months old is not a problem at all. [:D]

Thank you. But today he said that that car was sold. If new car will come they are not sure about the manufacturer month will present or not. The MD said that he will confirm it by tomorrow morning that weather it will be their or not. I told him that only if it is having the month and year specified in VIN then only I will go for that.

Is it ok