Volkswagen Polo 1.2 Petrol HL Silver 2013 Model Review

Mahn, I'm in love with your ride. I don't know if I have said it before but I feel like saying it more n more. I'm happy to see you getting new parts for your polo. Polo looks more hotter. Now waiting for the pics with the R-line badge.
And waiting for 3 months. Uff, that's really hard. [cry]

Also, from where did you install it? Any charge? And what about the old grille?

Hey Sanket

Where did you buy the grill from? Which website? And how difficult was it to remove the existing grill and fix this one?

Vipin

PS. Your car looks wonderful \m/

Thread Starter #275
^^ Ordered from the links on first post of this topic.

The difficulty is easy and you will need experienced hands of guy working at a local garage.
Considerable amount of force was needed to pull out the original grille. That's the only tough part. Once you get the new grille, the guy can use it as a reference to find location to unplug the clips. Once it's out, even you can install the new one. The screws are torx or some star shaped which only the garage guy had the proper screw driver.

Rs. 100 wala job.

^^ Ordered from the links on first post of this topic.

The difficulty is easy and you will need experienced hands of guy working at a local garage.
Considerable amount of force was needed to pull out the original grille. That's the only tough part. Once you get the new grille, the guy can use it as a reference to find location to unplug the clips. Once it's out, even you can install the new one. The screws are torx or some star shaped which only the garage guy had the proper screw driver.

Rs. 100 wala job.
Hey Sanke1,

Can you please help me in finding the right rpm to shift gears? I am a newbie in car driving and have only covered around 2000 km which includes 500 Km in my new polo. I change gear around 2000 RPM, is it fine? I want to get good fuel economy without straining the engine. Thanks in advance [:)]

Thread Starter #277
Hey Sanke1,

Can you please help me in finding the right rpm to shift gears? I am a newbie in car driving and have only covered around 2000 km which includes 500 Km in my new polo. I change gear around 2000 RPM, is it fine? I want to get good fuel economy without straining the engine. Thanks in advance [:)]
Yes. between 2000-3000 RPM is fine. Anything below and you will be lugging the engine. The more you drive, the more you will get the hang of things.

Hi Sanke1, Firstly let me thank you for sharing your ownership experience of your Lovely Polo. It really helps prospective buyers like me to take a decision, and I must say that's one hot looking drive you've got yourself [cheers].

I am planing to buy a Polo with same configuration (1.2 Petrol, Highline), I currently own an ALTO K10. Like others I too have doubts on the performance of a 3 cylinder engine with respect to Noise and smoothness over time. Though I have take a few test drives of Polo and found the car alright in terms of engine performance. I would request you to kindly help me decide on my selection.

I have the following questions:
1. How is the Engine performance?
2. How much is the running cost? (I drive about 600-700 kms/month)
3. How is the after sales service/maintenance?(since bad reviews are prompting me to avoid VW)

Thread Starter #279
Hi Sanke1, Firstly let me thank you for sharing your ownership experience of your Lovely Polo. It really helps prospective buyers like me to take a decision, and I must say that's one hot looking drive you've got yourself [cheers].

I am planing to buy a Polo with same configuration (1.2 Petrol, Highline), I currently own an ALTO K10. Like others I too have doubts on the performance of a 3 cylinder engine with respect to Noise and smoothness over time. Though I have take a few test drives of Polo and found the car alright in terms of engine performance. I would request you to kindly help me decide on my selection.

I have the following questions:
1. How is the Engine performance?
2. How much is the running cost? (I drive about 600-700 kms/month)
3. How is the after sales service/maintenance?(since bad reviews are prompting me to avoid VW)
1. Engine performance is average and ok for City. I have managed 120 km/hr throughout on Mumbai-Pune expressway without problems. The maximum I pushed it was till 167 km/hr. May be it's top speed. But beyond 120 km/ph, the engine does sound a bit strained.

2. 600-700 kms per month will require around 45 Litres of petrol in City if your Fuel Efficiency is around 13 kmpl. If you drive on empty roads or highways, then your FE will be 17-18 kmpl easily.

3. After sales service is moderately good. But depends on which workshop you visit and how full they are running.

The engine problem is not there in 1.2 GT TSI Petrol Highline as the engine is 4 Cylinder Turbocharged 105 BHP. That is a totally different breed of engine which sounds different and feels different. It can leave all the Verna's and Hondas to bite it's dust. You will also get Auto DSG gearbox which is best for city driving. See if you think it's worth stretching your budget and going for Polo GT variant.

Thanks for your outlook brother. Your experience of 120 and 167 Kmph are tempting, am not a speed enthusiast but I do like to have the confidence that my car can do it. I have seen both the recent Polo releases (TSI and TDI), They are no doubt very lucrative options but their OTR is quiet high (around 9.50 lakhs OTR).

Have heard rumors of a polo facelift due in May'14 (engine upgrade in diesel, petrol no info.) so thinking to wait, but still confused as all the Polo's around make me change my mind.

Thanks for your outlook brother. Your experience of 120 and 167 Kmph are tempting, am not a speed enthusiast but I do like to have the confidence that my car can do it. I have seen both the recent Polo releases (TSI and TDI), They are no doubt very lucrative options but their OTR is quiet high (around 9.50 lakhs OTR).

Have heard rumors of a polo facelift due in May'14 (engine upgrade in diesel, petrol no info.) so thinking to wait, but still confused as all the Polo's around make me change my mind.
What you heard is right. A new polo facelift is coming around in 2014 but as far as I heard, there isn't anything new. The petrol engine still remains the same while the diesel gets a more powerful 1.5litre version. [:D]
Exclusive: 2014 Volkswagen Polo facelift caught on test in India

What you heard is right. A new polo facelift is coming around in 2014 but as far as I heard, there isn't anything new. The petrol engine still remains the same while the diesel gets a more powerful 1.5litre version. [:D]
Exclusive: 2014 Volkswagen Polo facelift caught on test in India
You mean less powerful 1.5l right? I think I read somewhere that it will be somewhere around 90 bhp?

Vipin

Edit: I was thinking of the 1.6l TDI when I typed that. I forgot that you were talking about the 1.2l TDI. Sorry

Thread Starter #285
Hi Sanke1

I want to buy the mdi to aux cable that you mentioned in the first post. But that link is not working now. I have searched on ebay and found this. Could you please verify if this is the correct one:

Aux Adapter Cable E G iPhone for VW RCD 210 RCD 310 Etc | eBay
No that white plug is not MDI. For that you will have to remove the RCD 310 out and plug it behind it. We don't even know if our model has a socket for that behind.

The correct part you are looking for is this:
VW MDI Interface 3 5mm Mini Male Aux MP3 Cable Jetta Gli Passat Tiguan Golf MK6 | eBay

But make sure you have a MDI socket in your glove compartment. You may even need extension cable if your friend wants to make you listen to songs on his mobile while sitting on back seat.

Thank you for pointing out the dead links. The first post of this topic has been updated accordingly with some (not all) modification pics which have been scattered in this thread.