Tata Zest Quadrajet XT (Buzz Blue): Ownership Review

Is the test done? any update?
Yes, I updated my experience at Post 482. Subsequently, I've been driving mostly in city - quite crowded roads & the mileage has ended up at 17.5 (tankful to tankful method). Got 684 km out of 39 litres. [:D]. No AC, 80% use of heater, 1-3 in the car.

What I changed - downshift earlier (1400-1600), not at 1800-2000 as I was earlier doing, driving with windows closed almost all the time, and taking care not to zoom up to 80, and then letting it go down, as I used to do whenever the road was clear (though it's a temptation, the car pick up is so good).

I'm still looking for a reverse camera+parking sensor system to fit & am not sure if I should use a car cover [confused]- the paint shines well even now 6 months & 4800 km on odo. For navigation, I am using my Nokia 720 with offline HERE maps, which I clip on the console - it's not that convenient, but dont feel comfortable putting anything on the dash, as the A pillar issue is there, especially with hard turns (more so on the right). Using the blind spot eliminators too on ORVM's.

Idea behind buying: - Previously owned a dezire diesel which was out of state registration. I do a lot of high way drives between Bangalore and Kerala. Because of the "Citizen friendly" [evil] drives conducted by KA RTO, I decided to buy a new car in KA rather than spending 1.2 Lakh on 5 year old car.

Cars shortlisted: - Amaze, Xcent, Zest

I didn’t personally likes the front looks of Amaze. Its Interiors and functionalities cannot be even considered for comparison according to me.
But It had a better engine and a good brand image.

Xcent had everything except a powerful engine(3 Cylinder only). Space was also a bit less in the rear seats. Trident Hyundai showroom experience was great and you would feel like buying for their professional approach.

Why Zest:-
  1. Fresh looks and many first in segment features.
  2. The best entertainment system
  3. Maximum possible, I have always contributed to made in India brands. Tata fits the category.
  4. Good reviews by almost all reviewers
  5. Sensed the change in attitude of TML towards passenger cars
  6. Airbags, 15 inch Alloy wheels, ABS and many other features at 7 Lakhs showroom price
Why XT:-
Purely for entertainment system and reverse parking assist
I didn’t want to do any modification on the car to put reverse sensors. Wanted to use the inbuilt display only for the functionality.
DRL's and Corona Ring lights.

BuyingProcess: - I have almost finalized on zest by July end. Was just waiting for August 12th for the official announcement of the price and variants. Thought of pre booking, but later dropped the idea after I bargained in vain with multiple dealer for at least one goodie if pre booking with them. (I would have pre booked, even if they have offered me a pen, but no dealer was ready to promise a single goodies or accessory),so dropped that idea.

Concorde motors had a display of Zest in Forum mall a few days before launch. I went there with my friends and took a TD. It was a nice experience even in heavy traffic and I was in love with the entertainment system. I met my sales assistant from there. He was a new Joinee and knew little about the features. As I have seen almost all reviews multiple times, I had a better command on features. SA attitude was good and tried to get my doubts cleared by contacting his superiors.

I booked the vehicle on 13th August. Was thinking of Sky Grey, but later changed to Buzz Blue as Grey was more like black and I read somewhere that grey cars are more prone to accidents due to lower visibility. There was no clarity on date of delivery and I was told it will be between 10 and 20th of September. After 10th I was asked to make the full payment and then I started the process with the Bank. From SBI I got loan in 3 days of submitting documents.

XT Diesel On road : 8.54 quoted by dealer.
I took insurance from outside. Royal sundaram bumper to bumper coverage at 6k Less.

I was given the VIN and Engine number a week before delivery. Wanted to do a detailed PDI, but the vehicle was parked in the basement, and no sunlight. Did the PDI from basement and agreed to take the delivery. In 2 days the registration was done and I was asked to take delivery.

I got the delivery of XT diesel on 25th September which coincidentally is my wife's birthday also [:D]. Those who are in Bangalore, will mostly remember the day because of the heavy rain which made some roads and underpasses to completely go under water. I got it delivered around 8 PM from Concorde motors Bangalore. They have arranged a poojari for doing the pooja from there itself. Completed the pooja in heavy rain ,took delivery and drove home through the flooded roads.

No Teflon, No Under body coating done as I read in some articles that these are of no much use for new cars and it's just a marketing gimmick.

No accessory available with the dealer. Not even zest mud flaps, seat covers, floor mats.[frustration]

Did seat cover from Kerala for 5200 and floor mat covering for 1600.
Ordered speedwav Beige Floor mats from snapdeal and waiting for delivery.

On Road Experience:- I took zest for first long drive to Tumkur thorough nice road. Reset-ed the trip meter and drove with maximum feather foot possible. Didn’t touch breaks and was speeding at 60-80 km/h .The odometer showed 27.5 mileage after running around 40 KMS. I couldn’t restrict myself with that kind of driving for long and slowly the mileage dropped. On my trip to Devarayana darga and back, it gave me average of 19kmpl. That’s good enough considering the hilly terrain.

On my way to Kerala, Again I got average of 19. But now slowly dropping due to city driving and touched 16 KMPL.
A few enthusiasts have stopped me in fuel stations and asked for review about Zest. That gives the best feeling that money cant buy.

1. First and foremost, Entertainment system. Frankly no comparison.
  • a. Touchscreen operation
  • b. Voice commands for selecting songs and calling contacts
  • c. Voice command for setting in car temperature
  • d. Sound clarity for calls and also music. Will fall in love with the bass it produces.
2. Driveability
  • a. 15 inch alloy wheels 185/65- Adds to the ride comfort and road grip
  • b. Small steering wheel gives the best driving pleasure
  • c. Completely customizable driving position (seat height, Tilt adjusting steering)
  • d. Good view of the road from the driver's seat
  • e. Perfect control while abrupt breaking.
3. Fresh Design, Corona Ring head lights, Led Tail lamps.
4. Awesome looking interiors with black and beige colors
5. The leg & head room in the rear seats
6. Silent cabin with the best in class NVH levels
7. Powerful AC

Dislikes:-
1. No hand rest in the rear seat
2. Mud getting inside engine cabin through an opening in wheel wells. Already reported to service head at Concorde motors. Have been assured of a call back in couple of days.(This is a serious issue according to me, but easily fixable)
update 1: TML has acknowledged the issue and promised the fix in a month or two. R&D team is working on it.
update 2: Have found a fix for this and If interested in doing it yourself, please checkout the below post.
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...buzz-blue-ownership-review-16.html#post415309
update 3: Wow, TML has fixed the issue and they have fitted the kit to solve it. Worth mentioning that they have done it all withing 1.5 months. Impressive!!!
3. Thick A pillar reduces view in ghat roads, But it adds to the safety I guess.
4. Full clutch press to the floor to change gears. (A thing which I am getting used to)
5. Small vibrations on gear if you are habitual of keeping one hand on gear while driving.(not a major issue, but feels a bit uncomfortable)
6. One bug with Entertainment system - while playing through Bluetooth streaming and changing the source to USB, the player still plays from Bluetooth for another 30 seconds or a minute. (easily fixable though a firmware update)
7. Not sure if I should include this in the dislikes- I felt a bit a wobbling between 60-80 kmph. Don’t know if its just my feeling as others inside car didn’t feel it.

Overall, Fully satisfied with the choice and enjoying every minute with her. Hope TML will fix the wheel well issue ASAP.

I've created a video explaining the features of ConnectNext entertainment system.
Have a loook at the below link.
http://youtu.be/21HtvirgKq8

That’s all for now, will keep updating this thread with happenings.

View attachment 148645

View attachment 148646

LED tail lights in action!
View attachment 148647

View attachment 148648

View attachment 148649

View attachment 148650

View attachment 148651

View attachment 148652

View attachment 148653

View attachment 148654

View attachment 148655

View attachment 148656

View attachment 148657

View attachment 148658

View attachment 148659

View attachment 148660

View attachment 148661

View attachment 148662

View attachment 148663

View attachment 148664

View attachment 148665

View attachment 148666

View attachment 148667

View attachment 148668

View attachment 148669

View attachment 148670

View attachment 148671

View attachment 148672

View attachment 148673

Microphone for attending calls
View attachment 148674

External temperature sensor for Automatic climate control
View attachment 148675

View attachment 148676
Rear Tweeter
View attachment 148677

View attachment 148678

View attachment 148679

Fold-able Keys
View attachment 148680

View attachment 148681

View attachment 148682

Total Odometer reading from day 1
View attachment 148683

Record Mileage with Feather footed driving on Nice road. 27.5
View attachment 148684

Odometer figures after a short trip to devarayana darga
View attachment 148685
Hello Harish,

I am Arjun from Kerala working in Bangalore.
My reason for buying Car in KA is same as yours.
I have booked Zest XT Quadrajet and expecting delivery by May 10.

I am taking insurance from outside. Icici lombard offers comprehensive for 21000.

Which one is better Royal or ICICI?

Guys,
During my recent long drives I confirmed one thing that mileage drops on long journeys even on highways.
Only initial few kms in highways is returning good mileage.
I tested this on my way back to Bangalore from Kerala. I've driven around 300 kms without break.
Was very light on pedal and kept below 90 kmph.
Full highway drive with no traffic. I got just above 16.
To confirm, I reseted the trip meter when I reached nice road towards the end of my journey.
I got just 17 kmpl for the 30 kms on nice road.
I used to get above 24 on the same road when I start from Bangalore.

Has anyone else noticed this?
Or is my no-break driving causing issue?
People talk about ECU update.

Did you do that update?
Some Say mileage also varies with that update.

Thread Starter #500
Hello Harish,

I am Arjun from Kerala working in Bangalore.
My reason for buying Car in KA is same as yours.
I have booked Zest XT Quadrajet and expecting delivery by May 10.

I am taking insurance from outside. Icici lombard offers comprehensive for 21000.

Which one is better Royal or ICICI?

People talk about ECU update.

Did you do that update?
Some Say mileage also varies with that update.
Hello Arjun,

I'm not sure about which insurance is better. ICICI should be good.

AFAIK, ECU update if for the revetron and not for QJT.

Sir, have you availed the extended warranty scheme from TATA motors apart from the 333 confidence scheme? If so have you received any documentation citing/stating the extended warranty? My dealer didn't provide me with any documentation for extended warranty and only a written and signed invoice for 333 confidence scheme.

PS: Other zest owners too please post your availability of extended warranty documentation.

Thread Starter #503
Sir, have you availed the extended warranty scheme from TATA motors apart from the 333 confidence scheme? If so have you received any documentation citing/stating the extended warranty? My dealer didn't provide me with any documentation for extended warranty and only a written and signed invoice for 333 confidence scheme.

PS: Other zest owners too please post your availability of extended warranty documentation.
I didnt go for extended warranty.
when you pay for the extended warranty, it will be updated in the their database.
You wont require any documentation as such for this as the dealers all over India will have your cars information with extended warranty.

Hello friends I just wanted to share my experience with TATA ZEST XT quadrajet.

I have driven only 20000km in 10 months[;)].Overall I am having a great time with my machine. The economy is around 15-16kmpl. with 90% city driving. Recently did an up gradation work in the car which was to closed the mud from entering and also bonnet opening switch. This was done free of cost [clap].

I love to be in the car but sometimes I feel I should have waited and opted for XTA only for ease of driving[drive].

I did have matting done from car shop which is equivalent to 3M mats but at half the cost. Also did under body with 5 yr warranty from TATA service center. I am planning to get rain visors installed again from local vendor. I make sure I attend all the services and free camps to maintain my car.

Overall really happy and no regrets .

I didnt go for extended warranty.
when you pay for the extended warranty, it will be updated in the their database.
You wont require any documentation as such for this as the dealers all over India will have your cars information with extended warranty.
Hi Harish,
Great ownership review there.
The ford aspire trend diesel and XMS diesel both are of the same price. Really confused at this juncture. Ford seems to have improved in their after sales department.
Would like to take your view over this.
My driving would be 60% city and 40% highways.
I wish to keep the car for 5 years.

Hi Harish,
Great ownership review there.
The ford aspire trend diesel and XMS diesel both are of the same price. Really confused at this juncture. Ford seems to have improved in their after sales department.
Would like to take your view over this.
My driving would be 60% city and 40% highways.
I wish to keep the car for 5 years.
For me its a very important difference, ABS is missing in Trend variant than xms.

+ Aspire
1.5L
10 more bhp
15 more Nm
Rear armrest
2.83km extra mileage
Better ASS (Maybe)
10mm extra ground clearance
.2 minimum turning radius (might be due to smaller tyres)

+ XMS
ABS
10mm width
45mm height
Proper 5 seater
Center locking with remote
Electronic Brake-force Distribution
Projector headlamp
Rear LED
Multi-Function Display
Instantaneous Consumption
Steering mounted controls
8 speakers
Harman System
3 years warranty
+31L boot capacity
185 / 60 R15 Tyre

For me its a very important difference, ABS is missing in Trend variant than xms.

+ Aspire
1.5L
10 more bhp
15 more Nm
Rear armrest
2.83km extra mileage
Better ASS (Maybe)
10mm extra ground clearance
.2 minimum turning radius (might be due to smaller tyres)

+ XMS
ABS
10mm width
45mm height
Proper 5 seater
Center locking with remote
Electronic Brake-force Distribution
Projector headlamp
Rear LED
Multi-Function Display
Instantaneous Consumption
Steering mounted controls
8 speakers
Harman System
3 years warranty
+31L boot capacity
185 / 60 R15 Tyre
Awesome bro, superb detail and on such short time. [clap]

You covered almost everything.

As far as engine and driveability is concerned, I found aspire to be good. I am not sure if its my driving but zest was struggling in the initial 2 gears and only after that I could see some good pickup and progress.
Aspire was more or less like a NA petrol engine and the pick up was also good. After the first 2 gears the pick up was massive and the engine was pulling very cleanly.
Not sure but please correct me.
Is this type of tuning a problem in traffic as I usually encounter b2b traffic.

It depends on how fast the traffic is moving, when for example you are shifting between 1st and 2nd gear and literally crawling then this will be a pain. Since to rein in the car from jumping ahead you will be half clutching and the return spring on the Aspire is pretty hard. My experience with Eco sport is it will progressively get harder as km are plied.

My only reason for going to quadrajet diesel is it is tried and tested and revotron is getting mixed reviews. One more reason is the capability of the fiat engine on highways and long drives.
I find the smaller petrol engines getting strained when pushed hard .
I think its the turbo lag that is causing this issue. The aspire diesel clutch is harder and stiffer.

My only reason for going to quadrajet diesel is it is tried and tested and revotron is getting mixed reviews. One more reason is the capability of the fiat engine on highways and long drives.
I find the smaller petrol engines getting strained when pushed hard .
I think its the turbo lag that is causing this issue. The aspire diesel clutch is harder and stiffer.
I checked the ECU tuning and the extra power you getting is the upper cut of drain that you are getting and yes Aspire is pretty quick in low gears however it's not same fun driving Ford what the other Ford's are.

If safety is not your concern ie airbags, corner stability and EBD you can go for Aspire along with harmon system you woyld miss. Else Zest would be a great choice.
Coming to low gear pulling in Zest or any MJD engine would take a little time to adjust in both the ways ie driving style and the wear of new engine. Once you reach 5k (maybe earlier) on odo it would pull better.