Tata Safari 3.0 Dicor: Burnt, Recovered and Reclaiming @ 1,62,000 Kms (Met Accident)

re: Tata Safari 3.0 Dicor: Burnt, Recovered and Reclaiming @1,55,000 Kms

Long awaited pics there Abhishek. What brand is the dispaly unit and how does it perform?

Let me know if you know someone who could procure a sedimenter sensor (the complete sedimenter unit costs Rs. 4500) for the 3.0.

Thread Starter #152
Tata Safari 3.0 Dicor: Burnt, Recovered and Reclaiming @1,35,000 Kms

The brand is some Chinese company. For the sedimenter sensor, have you searched at jvs autoparts.

What is exactly wrong?

My friend broke the plastic drain screw of his Safari's sedimenter while screwing it back (how idiot does one have to be to provide a plastic screw on a metal apparatus that is supposed to spend its life dipped in sticky diesel throughout?) at Indore. He has tried searching at Tata dealers at Indore but they are telling him that sedimenter sensor isnt sold separately and so he'd have to buy a new sedimenter.

Its stupid to spend Rs. 4500 on a new sedimenter when all one needs is a sensor; hence he is looking for one.

Could you please let me know the location of JVS autoparts so that I may let him know?

Trivia: On my last 500 km round trip with him in his 3.0, we managed to extract 17.xx kmpl[clap].

Thread Starter #154

Its stupid to spend Rs. 4500 on a new sedimenter when all one needs is a sensor; hence he is looking for one.
Could you please let me know the location of JVS autoparts so that I may let him know?
Trivia: On my last 500 km round trip with him in his 3.0, we managed to extract 17.xx kmpl[clap].
The sensor might be available separately outside. Ask him where does he repair his car, there might be a jugaad possible but I & my mechanic will have to inspect is physically. JVS autoparts is located in Kee-bay Compound.

Nice pics. Rare to see a pearl white Safari with grey bumpers/claddings. Does need some sprucing up though. How about replacing that broken hubcap and the ORVM now that you have decided not to sell it.

This time we put Shell HX6 in my friend's 3.0 Safari. Results are good. Engine is barely audible at 70-80kmph on the highway. He even got Nexen Roadian AT. Lets see how this tyre holds up. I did some jugaad and fixed the sedimenter sensor too and all's well now.

Need this piece of cladding, it just fell off somewhere. Could you please check up with your contacts and let me know if its available somewhere in bhiyao city?

Thanks. Yes, this is a part that falls off most often but even then no one stocks it. Dont park your Safari at desolate places, my friend was telling me that he will yank it off someone else's Safari if he doesnt get it outside:lol!:.

Did you replace the Sedimenter yet? I think it can easily last for more than a lakh km at which point Tata recommends to replace it. Filling up from a reliable fuel station helps.

What about the timing chain/gear? Have you replaced it anytime?

Do you have the owner's manual/service book for the 3.0? Request to scan it and post it here in case you do have it.

This is a 2006 LX 4x2, purchased in 2007. Low run, 74000 km only on the odo. We are planning another Leh trip in it[cheers][drive]

Thread Starter #159

Did you replace the Sedimenter yet? I think it can easily last for more than a lakh km at which point Tata recommends to replace it. Filling up from a reliable fuel station helps.

What about the timing chain/gear? Have you replaced it anytime?

Do you have the owner's manual/service book for the 3.0? Request to scan it and post it here in case you do have it.

This is a 2006 LX 4x2, purchased in 2007. Low run, 74000 km only on the odo. We are planning another Leh trip in it[cheers][drive]
I must say, your friend has done a good job in maintaining the Black Paint. Its a pain to maintain a Black colored car. [thumbsup]

As for the cladding, I have not yet lost that cladding, maybe your friend needs to put a tape under it (double sided tape) to prevent it from falling.

I have not yet changed the Sedimentor. I am following if it ain't broke don't fix it philosophy. And it has kept my pocket still heavy. The car is at 1.42L and I think the sedimentor should last atleast the life of the engine around 3.5L kms.

The timing chain, in this engine, needs tobe replaced only at the time of engine rebuild. That helps skipping the hefty bill of 10K per lac kms. In 2.2L it has tobe changed alongwith waterpump and some pulleys, costs around 10K. I have never replaced the timing chain in this vehicle. In TCIC I did it twice.

I do have the service manual of 3.0L. Its around 200 Pages. BTW, you can still order the service manual at TASS at the cost of some 300 Rs, I think the last time I enquired.

Had this vehicle done one Leh trip already? I am also planning a Leh trip but it takes around 15 days min. and hence the plan is not really shaping-up.

I noticed that the Black Safari has aftermarket side steps. Why so? LX does'nt pose a problem in summers? Its really hot inside the cabin. This car definitely needs Dual AC.

Your friend is'nt on TAI. It's strange!

Ha ha. Its not so good as its looking in the pic. It has its own share of swirl.marks and scrathces. Black, you are right is a royal pain to maintain.

Not done any Leh trip on this one yet. I want to show this 3.0 Leh at least once in its life. Whats a Safari that hasnt done Leh:biggrin:?

On my last Leh trip I was told by cabbies that 3.0 performs better at that place than 2.2.

Side step, probably to facilitate elders to climb in.

I never sit on its rear seat so don't know about the need for rear AC blower:lol!:.

Would check out the service manual. Meanwhile please scan and post the service schedule and lube chart from the manual.

Thread Starter #161

I am attaching few pictures from the Owners Manual. These are the pages I usually refer to:

Thanks a ton Abhishek; this would be of great help[thumbsup].

Have you changed all drive belts after the rebuild (manual recommends changing at every 40000kms)? Would be a substantial expense I guess.

My friends Safari pictured above was leaking coolant. Tata guys said "saar change the rat-he-ate-her, it eej leaking. Only rupeej phive thoujand plus labour and VAT and servis tac."

I opened up the radiator, took it to a radiator repair shop, got the leaky pipes (3) plugged and fitted it back. No leaks, no coolant loss, no nothing thereafter. Fit as a fiddle. Only rupeej 550 saar. The quality of hoses and clips is appalling:mad: and everything inside the engine bay seems like a jugaad, though.

I just love the growl of the 3.0 on the highways. Its an unrefined engine I agree but on a highway, with 30kgm and that growl, you just dont mind.

So when's your next trip?

Thread Starter #163

Thanks a ton Abhishek; this would be of great help[thumbsup].

Have you changed all drive belts after the rebuild (manual recommends changing at every 40000kms)? Would be a substantial expense I guess.

My friends Safari pictured above was leaking coolant. Tata guys said "saar change the rat-he-ate-her, it eej leaking. Only rupeej phive thoujand plus labour and VAT and servis tac."

I opened up the radiator, took it to a radiator repair shop, got the leaky pipes (3) plugged and fitted it back. No leaks, no coolant loss, no nothing thereafter. Fit as a fiddle. Only rupeej 550 saar. The quality of hoses and clips is appalling:mad: and everything inside the engine bay seems like a jugaad, though.

I just love the growl of the 3.0 on the highways. Its an unrefined engine I agree but on a highway, with 30kgm and that growl, you just dont mind.

So when's your next trip?
Most of the things are repairable in the engine. As the motor is picked-up straight from 407. The radiator repairing is quite common as the cost of new radiator is around 3-4K, This engine was never meant for Safari and hence the fittings seems like jugaad and they infact had to do jugaad to get this engine fit the Safari. There is no space left in the bay.

I have changed the all the hoses and belts. The EGR is malfunctioning presently. There is no next trip for my Safari. Every second day it sees the highway. Might it be a small trip to Ujjain/dewas, a little far to Bhopal or more than that. The nature of my business makes it possible.[drive]

Any idea how much the EGR costs? My colleague had a 3.0 with a bad EGR and man it used to smoke like an elephant's fart after it has had too many bananas dipped in wasabi.

How often do you need to top up the engine oil and coolant?

Thread Starter #165

Any idea how much the EGR costs? My colleague had a 3.0 with a bad EGR and man it used to smoke like an elephant's fart after it has had too many bananas dipped in wasabi.

How often do you need to top up the engine oil and coolant?
I don't know how much does EGR costs but I will not be going for a new EGR anyway if it's more than 2K. Currently, the smoke is hardly visible, I mean there is no black smoke. Safari is behaving normally as of now. The only issue is the EGR malfunctioning, it is causing the check engine light to pop-up every time the car is taken above 1.5K rpm. And the engine goes into limp mode.

I do keep on checking the coolant level when the vehicle is washed or when I top-up the wiper liquid. I check the engine oil only before long trips. So far, I have never topped-up the coolant as it always shows normal level. I had to top-up engine oil (500ml) once when the car ran 12K kms without service which is extremely normal.