Replacement For 2012 VW Vento TDI

Thread Starter #61
Volksjager-Present cost of GT TDI itself is Rs.11,41,000 as of new price list of 2017 whereas Ameo TDI HL DSG costs Rs.12,23,000.Ameo DSG is Rs.3,50,000 cheaper than Vento HL TDI DSG amd Rs.2,00,000 cheaper than Vento TDI HL MT.Ameo Highline DSG is no more VFM as it costs over Rs.12,00,000.

Thinking to purchase that GT TDI,which VW dealer is offering Rs.1,00,000 discount on it for my brother,whose Swift VDI met with an accident yesterday.Now,its high time to move to safe vehicles as his driving is not sedate.Or,Figo twins would be the upgrade from his Swift.

BTW,coming to my purchase,decided to hold on for sometime as we should arrange our funds now.

Off topic :

On a lighter note, tomorrow this thread will complete four months of existence and I kid you not, the ups and downs and twists and turns of this thread can anyday beat some trending daily soaps of today's time. [lol]

Off topic over, and now on a serious note :

Music_Swift I see that you are spoilt with choices. Since your Dad isn't having concrete preferences for body style, Polo, Ameo, Vento, Creta and everything in between will excite you. It is better to sit with him over a cup of coffee and discuss the requirements and finances in detail. Think it out over a few weeks and only then can you arrive at a calculated decision. All the best for the purchase decision, not once but twice now!

Regarding the GT TDI offered at 1 Lac discount, I would advice against it. Being a 2015 model, it will already lose around 2.5 Lac amount straight out of the factory which is a big risk to take especially with the VAG cars which find a few takers. I understand you plan to keep the car for a good number of years but it is better to be prepared for the worst. Instead pick the regular fresh stock Polo Diesel if you are concerned about price. 1 Lac discount is nothing when compared to the market value the GT will lose because of model year.

Ameo DSG or Vento Manual would be my pick. For your brother, Figo Diesel it should be.

Alpha

Thread Starter #64
@MS, did you/DAD got TD of octy, superb?
Bharath Sir-When we went to Skoda showroom,dad had got a chance to sit in the Octy and liked it so much.But,it is expensive.

BTW,my dad is saying lets have a look at hatchbacks too.As I say you,we might not be firm in making decisions.Something will happen wrong and end up getting confused whether we should buy this or not.

Said my dad,if it is hatches,we will consider Baleno Petrol,i20 Diesel,Jazz CVT,Polo GT or Figo Diesel.But,he is interested in Micra,which resale is poor and outdated.But,I showed him the Kwid and got impressed with it.However,I felt its a downgrade from Vento.If I want to up(downgrade)from Vento,will be going for the above choices like Baleno,i20,Figo,Jazz or Polo GT.

"Next-God knows" [lol], we all go through this phase. Take your time buddy, never hurry in purchasing a car as it is a long term affair and it could also take a toll on your finances if you make a wrong purchase in a hurry. Don't get tempted if any sales man tempts you and just think that you have all the time in this world to buy any car for you or your family. We all have different perceptions, different driving lifestyles and different requirements. So we are here to help and we love to help you. We will give all the inputs that we can and at the end it's your choice and ultimately you and your family members must be happy with the car.

Everyday after you wake up when you see your car, you must feel like cleaning it and driving it. Then I can rightfully say that's the perfect car for you. Again, I would like to stress upon not to hurry. Just my 2 cents.

Thread Starter #66
Is it recommended to go for an used Jetta MK6 2011 version?Had seen a white Jetta TDI Highline DSG 2011 version,which has run 67000 Kms and asking price is Rs.12.5L.Can I go for it or drop this?

Had seen an used silver Laura TSI 2011 version,which has run 35000 Kms and asking price is Rs.6.35L and used red City VX CVT 2014 version,which has run 6300 Kms and asking price is Rs.10.95L.

And,I'm gonna borrow my cousin's i10 for few days till we buy new one.

Is it recommended to go for an used Jetta MK6 2011 version?Had seen a white Jetta TDI Highline DSG 2011 version,which has run 67000 Kms and asking price is Rs.12.5L.Can I go for it or drop this?
If you want to go for it then first check car's history. Then, be ready to shell out heavy amounts for the repairs in future. You'll be surely aware of the repair/maintenance charges of VW by now.

Had seen an used silver Laura TSI 2011 version,which has run 35000 Kms and asking price is Rs.6.35L
Laura has been discontinued due to it's unreliable nature. There were very few examples of it being reliable. Used Laura will be a gamble due to it's spares, cost of ownership and Skoda's ASC network in general. Instead I will still suggest you to stick with new Skoda Rapid.

used red City VX CVT 2014 version,which has run 6300 Kms and asking price is Rs.10.95L.
In between used Laura and City, I will opt for City. But do ask why is the car so less used in 2 years.

The asking price for Jetta is too much. Online valuation shows somewhere around 8-8.5 Lac. Laura TSI has realistic pricing but would have much higher fuel bills considering your monthly running.

Even City CVT is priced a bit high at 10.95 Lac but I guess you would be able to negotiate on this one. Fuel bills will be a problem though. A 2014 model year might seem good on paper but remember the car will turn 3 year old in a couple of months. Suggest you to stick to new Skoda Rapid/VW Vento or Ameo only.

Alpha

Had seen an used silver Laura TSI 2011 version,which has run 35000 Kms and asking price is Rs.6.35L and used red City VX CVT 2014 version,which has run 6300 Kms and asking price is Rs.10.95L.

Instead of going for an used car, i advice you to go in for the new cars only as maintaining the used cars may give you headaches after few years, than maintaining the new cars.

Bharath Sir-When we went to Skoda showroom,dad had got a chance to sit in the Octy and liked it so much.But,it is expensive.

BTW,my dad is saying lets have a look at hatchbacks too.As I say you,we might not be firm in making decisions.Something will happen wrong and end up getting confused whether we should buy this or not.

Said my dad,if it is hatches,we will consider Baleno Petrol,i20 Diesel,Jazz CVT,Polo GT or Figo Diesel.But,he is interested in Micra,which resale is poor and outdated.But,I showed him the Kwid and got impressed with it.However,I felt its a downgrade from Vento.If I want to up(downgrade)from Vento,will be going for the above choices like Baleno,i20,Figo,Jazz or Polo GT.
Then go in for the Elite i20 as that won't be a downgrade i think even if it is a hatch but it is fully loaded so the worth and image of the car won't make you feel that it is a downgrade from your vento.

Buying a 6 year old Jetta TDI DSG is a risky proposition, but again you can take it if it is maintained really well and if you have deep pockets and the intended usage of the car must be very limited, but asking price is too high. And you must be aware that the maintenance will also be very high. My best friend owns a 2012 Jetta TDI DSG with 60,000 kms and just to change all fluids it has costed 50,000/- at PPS motors. Insurance will also be very high. Dealership claimed that A/C compressor issue was solved in 2012 models but it has failed in the 3rd year of ownership and it costed 75k for the replacement and it was completely honoured in extended warranty. If such things fail now then you will be in deep trouble. So I would advice you to stay away from this. Again 12.50 lac + 2.50 lac = Brand new Vento HL DSG with 4yr warranty.

Golden thumb rule for German cars, buy them brand new, use them till 70-80 k kms and sell them.Some may not agree with me but this is what I follow.

And coming to Skoda TSI, I agree with what Akash has said. So I won't suggest this too.

And now coming to Honda City CVT, trust me, my brother got the same offer of a black Honda City with 9,000 kms on the odo, 2015 model. And I mean no offence to any Honda City CVT owners, the engine is a gem, CVT is best for the city traffic and the most reliable gearbox. But City coupled with a CVT felt so lethargic, the revs kept building but the car doesn't move very fast. But that's how CVTs work, it's completely efficient and reliable but lacks utter feel of driving. I am a car enthusiast and Honda City CVT did not give me that feel. In fact my celerio AMT shifts gears faster and lunges forward. That's when we decided to buy Vento DSG. I would suggest this car for uncles who likes relaxed driving at all times.

Here is a very informative video about CVTs.

https://youtu.be/cb6rIZfCuHI

Hope this helps, the below videos will exactly show what I have experienced.

https://youtu.be/nFdLrPp3kpE

On the bottom line...I would prefer a AMEO TDI CL DSG now and for a sedan will wait for Toyota Vios Diesel MT in 2018. Or in near future if VW offers Polo TDI with DSG then I would wait and pick that over AMEO.
Now if you compare Swift Dzire ZDI AGS which costs 10 lakhs OTR with AMEO TDI CL DSG costing 11 lakhs OTR, then I would pick the latter, because it's worth every penny and Dzire is not all worth with that poor over all build quality and quality issues for 10 lakh rupees.

Thread Starter #72
Thanks for the inputs peeps.Now,I'm getting an i10(old one) from my cousin for few days as he relocated to Chandigarh with his family.Its a 2015 one and its in Red colour.

Well,I'm not showing any interest on this Jetta as it is overpriced and its already a 5 year old car.My plan is,if I buy a Laura TSI,I'll get it modded by getting things like 16 inch alloys,remap and others.Hence,I was thinking to go for Laura TSI.

Honda City,which I said,is Oct 2014 version.Here are the details of the City which I saw:

+ Honda City 1.5 VX Automatic CVT (i-VTEC) with Sunroof
+ 2014 October Make, November Registration
+ Only 6,300 KMs (Unused Stephne) Petrol Fuel
+ Carnelian Red Pearl Metallic Colour
+ Scratchless in Condition, Showroom Serviced
+ Full Comprehensive Insurance Valid till 23 October 2017 (25% NCB, Never Made a Claim)
+ Under Honda Company Extended Warranty till 26 October 2018 (Or 80,000 Kms)
+ Under Honda 24X7 Road Side Assistance Program till 26 October 2018
+ Recently Fully Serviced, Next Service after 10,000 Kms or 1 Year

If I buy a Laura TSI,I'll get it modded by getting things like 16 inch alloys,remap and others.
Its a waste to be honest. As it is the car is discontinued and has a history of being unreliable so instead of investing in the mods, would suggest you to keep that money for its maintenance if you are keen on buying it dear.

I don't even know what to suggest now since you have (even briefly) considered all the cars possible. Used or New. So here's something different? Why not an Audi A6 2008 model or so can be had for 10-14 lacs. I bet you didn't consider this yet. :P

All the best for your purchase!

Thread Starter #75
Thanks for the inputs Akash Bhai.I had stayed away from this Skoda as maintenance became important.

Archit Bhai-Decided that we will never buy any German used cars.If it used,will go for Japs only.

And,got a temporary ride,an i10,which engine is IRDE2 1.1 and 2015 version,which has run just 6600 Kms in 1.3 years.This is used by my cousin,who is a doctor and got relocated to Chandigarh recently.He has a 2013 Honda City too,which is parked at his home and i10 was parked at another cousin's house for sometime and realized that this car was available and asked my cousin,who parked the i10 at his house,that shall I use this car for sometime?He said,'I'll ask the i10 owner and give it to you'.The i10 owner obliged and my cousin gave the car to us for few days till we buy a new car.

So,after using this car for a day,I felt that this car is suitable for city usage and it can tackle easily in traffic.