Replacement For 2012 VW Vento TDI

To be frank I am more inclined towards VW/Skoda cars more than Hyundai. I feel that creta is overpriced. Germans have one of the best Diesel engines with an amazing gearbox in the market. Having

And I feel that PPS Motors is much better than Mahavir Motors in term of spares and service. And I suggest that you drive both VW Vento and Skoda Rapid back to back before taking a decision. I feel Vento is more superior to Rapid. I have noticed the following differences.

1)Rapid has stiff suspension, which is good for track but Vento has sufficiently soft suspension which is good for city roads.

2)I think ECU in Vento is well tuned compared to Skoda, it feels more eager and punchy.

3) Interior fit and finish is better in Vento.

4) Service is better.

And the rest all is the same. Both have good build quality. These are the nit picky things which made me choose VW products over Skoda.
Rapid and Vento are made from same production line and the part no are same. There are no differences in mechanicals between these two. Whatever is felt is the difference between two differently maontaoned cars as one find from driving 2 different cars from same line.

Multiple plant visits from my friends have also confirmed this. Let's not promote one over another for mechanicals. I recently checked the suspension of my friends rapid to swap on my vento and they are same!

The service and looks are variable, IMO.

Thread Starter #47
To be frank I am more inclined towards VW/Skoda cars more than Hyundai. I feel that creta is overpriced. Germans have one of the best Diesel engines with an amazing gearbox in the market. Having 2 VW cars in my family. I can vouch for its quality. I highly recommend that you go for a DSG, be it VW or Skoda if you have deep pockets, you may or may not encounter a problem with DSG in a span of 5 years and VW is offering a 4 year warranty and I must say it's money well spent. I always borrow my brother's vento TDI DSG by giving him my GT TDI, saying I needed it coz there is too much traffic today, but the truth is I actually enjoy the Super cool DSG [:)].

And I am also sure that 1.5 lac extra will put a huge smile on your Dad's face while he is driving it, if he enjoys automatics. Considering his age and today's traffic situations, it will ease out a lot of stress.

And I feel that PPS Motors is much better than Mahavir Motors in term of spares and service. And I suggest that you drive both VW Vento and Skoda Rapid back to back before taking a decision. I feel Vento is more superior to Rapid. I have noticed the following differences.

1)Rapid has stiff suspension, which is good for track but Vento has sufficiently soft suspension which is good for city roads.

2)I think ECU in Vento is well tuned compared to Skoda, it feels more eager and punchy.

3) Interior fit and finish is better in Vento.

4) Service is better.

And the rest all is the same. Both have good build quality. These are the nit picky things which made me choose VW products over Skoda.
If your budget is upto Rs. 18L then consider Skoda Octavia or the Hyundai Elantra by stretching your budget a little bit. And as your mom likes Hyundai Verna (As She likes any Sedans) so ask her whether she likes elantra or octavia and if she chooses any car between these two then tell it your dad that your mom likes this particular car (chosen car by your mom) and if your father isn't satisfied then explain the features of that particular car.
Thanks for the inputs Volksjager.I still wanted to go for Creta only but my dad is hell bent on these Germans and the another problem is we have an Innova too so this is the reason my dad wants go for sedans again.I still love Creta more than Germans due to its looks and performance.Even my dad knows that Mahavir Motors has bad reputation in Hyderabad and personally have good experiences with VW Deccan,which we used to service our Vento.My dad's only grouse with Skoda is bad A.S.S only as his friends had complained about poor experiences with Skoda.

Mithra-We don't have that much budget to buy D-Segment sedans.So,got fixed to C2 segment sedans only.

Mostly,we might go for Rapid only with MT again coz Automatic is Rs.1,25,000-1,30,000 more than MT.

Having driven the Vento and Rapid, I found some differences between the Rapid (the old one) and Vento. I have listed them down here

There IS A DIFFERENCE between Vento and Rapid even though they are made in the same factory in Aurangabad. I would recommend Rapid, if the choice was between the two.

Thread Starter #49
Having driven the Vento and Rapid, I found some differences between the Rapid (the old one) and Vento. I have listed them down here

There IS A DIFFERENCE between Vento and Rapid even though they are made in the same factory in Aurangabad. I would recommend Rapid, if the choice was between the two.
Can you point out the differences between Vento and Rapid as it will be useful for me and my dad.

Mithra-We don't have that much budget to buy D-Segment sedans.So,got fixed to C2 segment sedans only. Mostly,we might go for Rapid only with MT again coz Automatic is Rs.1,25,000-1,30,000 more than MT.
You own a Toyota Innova but still my another opinion for you is buy a Mahindra Scorpio which is more rugged and can last for years and years depending upon the usage and Scorpio is easy to chuck around in heavy traffic than the sedans as it has more commanding view (my opinion).

If your father doesn't like Scorpio then buy Hyundai Verna as you prefered Hyundai creta and your mom likes Verna and if your dad isn't convinced then tell to your dad that Verna or Creta is more comfortable while cruising on the highway and it has many features.

But still TD the Hyundai Creta and Hyundai Verna back to back in any of the showrooms near you. And i think Hyundai Verna and Creta might fetch you more discounts than the Skoda Rapid.

Thread Starter #52
You own a Toyota Innova but still my another opinion for you is buy a Mahindra Scorpio which is more rugged and can last for years and years depending upon the usage and Scorpio is easy to chuck around in heavy traffic than the sedans as it has more commanding view (my opinion).

If your father doesn't like Scorpio then buy Hyundai Verna as you prefered Hyundai creta and your mom likes Verna and if your dad isn't convinced then tell to your dad that Verna or Creta is more comfortable while cruising on the highway and it has many features.

But still TD the Hyundai Creta and Hyundai Verna back to back in any of the showrooms near you. And i think Hyundai Verna and Creta might fetch you more discounts than the Skoda Rapid.
Mithra-No SUV's at home coz Innova is enough to serve us.So,my dad took a decision and said,we are going for Rapid only.

So, decided that Skoda Rapid will be our next car.But confused with MT or DSG.I wanted DSG as our city traffic is getting worse day by day whereas my dad wants to go for manual as it is ₹1.3L cheaper than DSG and mom doesn't want an AT car.Told my dad to go ahead and get a Rapid Style Plus DSG in Blue colour,which price is ₹15.5L.

Thread Starter #53
Visited Skoda showroom with dad in the evening and asked about the details of Buy now pay in 2018.But,the financier of Skoda dealer is not giving loan under this scheme if we are buying under company's name.He will be giving loan on our company's name if we buy under regular finance scheme and he is offering good deal on regular finance scheme.He said the EMI would be Rs.14,990 per month.Will be knowing tomorrow as the Skoda financier will be coming to dad's office to explain about the deal.

BTW,my dad has decided to go for Grey Rapid but when we asked about the availability of Style Plus AT in this colour,he said,'we don't have this colour in stock'.My dad is madly in love with this colour whereas he has only one Grey Style Plus Diesel MT in stock.

Again,back to square one whether we should go for Rapid or another Vento.Even VW is offering interest free EMI till 2019.

Visited Skoda showroom with dad in the evening and asked about the details of Buy now pay in 2018.But,the financier of Skoda dealer is not giving loan under this scheme if we are buying under company's name.He will be giving loan on our company's name if we buy under regular finance scheme and he is offering good deal on regular finance scheme.He said the EMI would be Rs.14,990 per month.Will be knowing tomorrow as the Skoda financier will be coming to dad's office to explain about the deal.

BTW,my dad has decided to go for Grey Rapid but when we asked about the availability of Style Plus AT in this colour,he said,'we don't have this colour in stock'.My dad is madly in love with this colour whereas he has only one Grey Style Plus Diesel MT in stock.

Again,back to square one whether we should go for Rapid or another Vento.Even VW is offering interest free EMI till 2019.
We bought the Vento TDI Highline DSG back in March 2016. I bargained for a good price and I finally got it for 14.35 lakhs OTR from Somajiguda showroom. I have been to Jubilee Hills branch initially but I did not have a good experience. Sales personnel were very good at Somajiguda. Now it has been 10 months and 10k kms done and I have been totally satisfied with the car. No niggles encountered so far...Touchwood, I hope it stays that way. I always keep my engine oil and coolant at optimum level, and every time I drive this car, its a joy! And in the traffic, my car feels like heaven [angel].

Mine is a 2016 variant which comes with some additional features compared to 2015 model. Mainly, the touch screen infotainment system, rain sensing wipers and cruise control (Which is a boon on ORR, while making those outstation and airport trips).

Here are the pics of my ride.

Rapid and Vento are made from same production line and the part no are same. There are no differences in mechanicals between these two. Whatever is felt is the difference between two differently maontaoned cars as one find from driving 2 different cars from same line.

Multiple plant visits from my friends have also confirmed this. Let's not promote one over another for mechanicals. I recently checked the suspension of my friends rapid to swap on my vento and they are same!

The service and looks are variable, IMO.
No offence F4frewin, I am totally aware that Skoda and VW share the same engine, chassis etc.. but I have driven them both back to back and I indeed found the difference between the two. There is no major differences like you have pointed out, but there is certainly a difference in the way both these cars behave. Like there is a saying "To each his own", my preferences are more inclined towards Vento than Skoda. Some prefer the looks of the Rapid over its sibling but I like the subtle looks of the Vento. And on top of it, we have pathetic a.s.s from Skoda dealership in Hyderabad. And I don't use a.s.s to judge the car.

He said the EMI would be Rs.14,990 per month.

That's a great deal.

Don't get confused so much. Buy the Skoda Rapid, the reason is simple you have already owned a Vento for a long period and this new buy must be a change for you and not the same in terms of experience. If you want DSG with Grey colour then enquire to other dealers in your city or in your nearby cities if it is in nearby city then get it temporarily registered and do the final registration in your city

But my advice is buy the Skoda Rapid MT (Grey) from the dealer and be happy with it and DSG might be okay for city driving but it doesn't feel enthusthiatic on a highway (my opinion) so go in for a MT and save that extra money for the accessories.

Thread Starter #57
That's a great deal.

Don't get confused so much. Buy the Skoda Rapid, the reason is simple you have already owned a Vento for a long period and this new buy must be a change for you and not the same in terms of experience. If you want DSG with Grey colour then enquire to other dealers in your city or in your nearby cities if it is in nearby city then get it temporarily registered and do the final registration in your city

But my advice is buy the Skoda Rapid MT (Grey) from the dealer and be happy with it and DSG might be okay for city driving but it doesn't feel enthusthiatic on a highway (my opinion) so go in for a MT and save that extra money for the accessories.

Thanks for the inputs Mithra.Will decide by another few days and will disclose it very soon.

BTW,visited VW showroom and the dealer offered Rs.80,000 on Vento Diesel.And,EMI on Vento is around Rs.21,000 for 5 years if we take a loan amount of Rs.10,00,000.

Will decide whether we should buy Rapid or Vento.BTW,VW is offering a Polo GT TDI 2015 version at the discount of Rs.80,000-Rs.1,00,000.Tempted to go for this but decision will be in the hands of my dad.

Thanks for the inputs Mithra.Will decide by another few days and will disclose it very soon.

BTW,visited VW showroom and the dealer offered Rs.80,000 on Vento Diesel.And,EMI on Vento is around Rs.21,000 for 5 years if we take a loan amount of Rs.10,00,000.

Will decide whether we should buy Rapid or Vento.BTW,VW is offering a Polo GT TDI 2015 version at the discount of Rs.80,000-Rs.1,00,000.Tempted to go for this but decision will be in the hands of my dad.
Dude I got 1,00,000 lakh discount on Nov 2014 Manufactured GT TDI in Jan 2015, I went ahead and bought it for 9.15 lakhs OTR with 4yr warranty, I had 2 things in mind, one pre 2015 VW 1.5 TDI engines are manufactured and assembled in Germany and second 1,00,000rs discount sealed the deal irrespective of colour choice and mine was a display car which I immediately booked and made them put my car back in the go down. You must get atleast 1 lakh discount straight with some freebies. Find out with dealerships at other locations. I own a GT TDI and I absolutely love the torque monster. But in traffic, I literally weep due to the heavy clutch, heavy clutch in the sense it is not too heavy neither not too soft. while releasing the clutch and holding it at mid way you will feel the pain during crawling traffic, if you release too much it jumps forward, so controlling it is bit of a stress, other than that it's an absolute gem of a car. And you will not have the feel of 1.6 GT TDI which is a total beast. But it's the only Diesel hatch backs under 10 lakhs which has best of everything for an enthusiastic driver except rear seat space, which is totally non-existent. Try out GT TSI also. I like it because of one reason "DSG".

These are the pictures of my beast which I have taken back in 2014 December. I fell in love with it at the first glimpse. I have taken some screen shots back then while surfing through web to know more about the 1.5 TDI engine which was newly introduced in the GT TDI in 105 hp tune.

Like I mentioned above, this engine was built in Europe.

These are the picture of my car when it was in the showroom for display. It was heart aching to see people checking out my car though they don't pose any serious threat, so I immediately booked and made them put my car back inside. It was 17 kms driven when I took the delivery of the car.

eded5374

Well after all that I have said, GT TDI is not at all worth buying now. As we are getting the Ameo DSG for the same price in CL trim. When I bought GT TDI, there was no Ameo. Now VW itself killed the GT's by launching Ameo with a pricing that is closer to GT's and packed it performance that is superior to GT's. Diesel with DSG at GT's price, there is no better deal than that. It's a complete value for money package. So buying a GT TDI even with that 1,00,000rs discount it is not worth now, as you are already loosing an year's resale value as it is 2016 manufactured (I suppose) and now you have an option to buy Ameo Diesel DSG for 2017 GT's price