Replacement For 2012 VW Vento TDI

@MS, no harm in buying a used German car if it's in warranty. In warranty ASS cost is nil except the consumables.
If you are thinking a car which has its warranty void, better to go for Toyota, Honda or MS (no, not you, the Maruti suzuki I am talking about.

BTW, Take your own time, till then your family can use self drive car from Zoomcar, myles etc till the final decision is made, Driving and travelling experience of various cars can help you make a proper decision.

Thread Starter #77
@MS, no harm in buying a used German car if it's in warranty. In warranty ASS cost is nil except the consumables.
If you are thinking a car which has its warranty void, better to go for Toyota, Honda or MS (no, not you, the Maruti suzuki I am talking about.

BTW, Take your own time, till then your family can use self drive car from Zoomcar, myles etc till the final decision is made, Driving and travelling experience of various cars can help you make a proper decision.
Now,Rapid is ruled out due to maintenance.Now,its between City,Ciaz and Creta.If its Creta,we might go for 1.6 SX base as it costs about ₹15L.

Dad's choice is Ciaz whereas my choice is Creta as few of my dad's friends bought Cretas.But,dad is against Creta as my mom couldn't drive it.

After experiencing 1.5L TDI for almost 1 L km you would feel the 1.2L DDIS bit lazy, and the huge size won't match the city road traffic scenario.. Also you are family of 3, so you hardly require that huge cabin space.

Rather, think of Linea, turbo lag, though minimal can be overcome using dieseltronics tunning kit(doesn't void warranty) or remapping.. Also the ASS cost is lesser than Ciaz.

Thread Starter #80
Mithra-Thanks for your suggestion.My dad got fixed with Ciaz ZDI+ as it gives good FE,has loads of space in backseat and good A.S.S.But,telling him to get a City or Creta or i20 as I didnt want Maruti cars.If we buy a Ciaz,it would be another Maruti as we owned 4 cars(2 Swifts and 2 800's).If I wanna buy a Maruti,it will be S-Cross only as I like its build quality.

Bharath Sir-Didn't want to go for Fiat as resale and A.S.S is important for us now.Yes,it may be cumbersome in city,but not as Linea as it has long boot than Ciaz.Since we have Innova for highway usage,this might be used rarely on highway.

Took advices from dad's friends and my friends whether we should go for Creta or not.They said,don't go for Creta(my choice) as we have Innova and this will feel bigger to use in city.Even,a driver,who is close to us since more than decade,also suggested us to go for Ciaz only.

FIAT ASS has improved a lot, talk with the car owners directly.

Resale value is not a big problem as Linea usually comes with good discounts. So the loss due to resale value is compensated on day one of the ownership itself.

Else you can look for sparingly used Linea just like your earlier Vento so as to get the resale value benefit.

Thread Starter #82
FIAT ASS has improved a lot, talk with the car owners directly.

Resale value is not a big problem as Linea usually comes with good discounts. So the loss due to resale value is compensated on day one of the ownership itself.

Else you can look for sparingly used Linea just like your earlier Vento so as to get the resale value benefit.

But,their A.S.S is far away from our home.We have Maruti,Hyundai,Toyota(gonna give our Innova for 85000 Kms service),Honda,VW(where we used to give our Vento for servicing since first service),Mahindra,Tata within 10 Kms radius from my home.In that,we have 2-3 Maruti workshops,1-2 Hyundai workshops,1 Toyota workshop,1 Honda workshop,1 Mahindra workshop and Tata workshop.Even we have 2 Nissan workshops too and 1 Renault workshop.Skoda is bit far away from home and even we have 1 Ford workshop near my brother's house.

BTW,my dad got regretted for selling the Vento as he found it is one of the best cars he had driven in his 2 decades of driving.Even my mom also missing Vento.But,I was happy that we sold our Vento due to its future.

Now,Creta owners themselves suggesting us not to go for Creta as we are people of 3 and we have Innova too for other uses.So, they,including my parents,felt that maintaining 2 big cars would be an issue for us.

My close acquaintance(almost we will be like a family member most of the time),who booked a Creta Diesel AT,also suggesting us to look at Ciaz itself as we have an Innova and maintaining 2 bigger ones would be an issue.Remember,they have Innova and City Diesel too but buying Creta by not replacing any of their cars.They even considered Jazz CVT and Ciaz AT but being Petrols,they had ruled it out and booked a Creta AT.They are getting it in 3-4 days as there is fight going on due to Jallikattu issue in Chennai.They might get the car this week before he leaves to Delhi(where he studies law and he came to Hyd due to holidays given by their college).The colour he booked is White.Even our well known driver,who is with us since more than 15 years,is also suggesting dad to go for Ciaz itself.Even my cousin,who owns Celerio AMT,also said to have a look at Ciaz as his uncle owns one 2014 Ciaz ZDI and his aunt owns a 2015 Ciaz VXI+ and my mom's cousin,who owns a Dzire VXI and had driven our Vento extensively,also said to go for Ciaz.Remember,he is Maruti lover and always suggests to go for Maruti car itself and his dad has 2012 Swift VDI,which has run more than 1,40,000 Kms and still drives good and used to have an old Maruti 800 and now planning to get a Zest or Ameo as a replacement of Swift.But,I want a car,which should have features and it should satisfy me completely in terms of features,performance and looks.Which car will satisfy me completely as I should not get bored with it in future?

Dad's another friend also sold his 2012 Skoda Rapid few days after we sold our Vento.His Rapid also used to give issues and one night,when we were going for a function in this car,the car suddenly got stopped at around 9:30PM on the middle of the road and we had to push the car to get started but still refused to start and had parked somewhere and called another driver to pick us and go to the venue.Hearing his horror experience with Skoda,decided that Skoda will not be our next car.On that day itself,my dad had suggested him to get a Ciaz due to reliability and FE.But,now he had decided that he will be booking a Creta and I think he booked a Creta.BTW,his Rapid had run a shade above 1,30,000 Kms before he sold off his car.

BTW,5 people including Honda City guy in our circle bought Cretas and my college buddy is also getting his Creta by this week and 3 of my dad's friends has bought S-Cross too.But,our member of our company management has bought Ciaz ZDI+SHVS few months ago and has run more than 30,000 Kms as his daily running is a shade above 200 Kms.Based on that experience itself,our known driver is also suggesting to go for Ciaz .But,dad wanted a car,which should be different from other cars which his friends own.But,I'm convincing him hard to buy a Creta only.Hope,Creta would be our new car if works well or else,Ciaz or City would be entering into our garage.Dad said,if its Creta,he would be going for 1.4 Diesel as it is VFM and gives good FE or 1.6 SX CRDI(Rs.15,00,000 one) and if it is Ciaz,we will go for ZDI+ as it is fully loaded and within our budget and colour would be Brown or Grey or Black.

Thread Starter #84
FASS do provide pick up and drop facilities for servicing & running repairs.

Also, no harm in buying a new Vento if they provide 4 year warranty.
Don't want a car,which gets resale value if we sell it after 3-4 years from now.So,resale became an important factor since our Vento fiasco.

And,BTW,my dad is hell bent on choosing Ciaz DDIS Diesel only as he wants space,mileage.But,I wanted Honda City as I don't want any of the Maruti car should be entered into our garage.If we want to go for Maruti,it will be S-Cross only as I like it's build quality and the best Maruti car ever(Ciaz comes second) or will be choosing 1.6 Alpha only as 1.3 is not sufficient for us after using Vento TDI 1.6 for 1,00,000 Kms.About Creta,my dad doesn't want to go for Creta as my mom will feel bigger to drive a Creta and having Innova is the another reason for not going for Creta.

And,will be waiting for new Honda city launch and decide whether we should go for Ciaz or City.My cousin,who has 2013 City MT Petrol,said that he is getting 12 Kmpl when driven rashly and 14 Kmpl when driven sedately.

Now,our options would be Ciaz,City as of now.My dad's first choice is Ciaz and second is City.Another options would be S-Cross and i20.My dad was asking about the price of Verna and after discounts of ₹1L,the price is ₹12.5L for 1.6 SX CRDI(not the 6 airbags version one) and SX(O) is ₹13.5L after discounts of ₹1L.

BTW,my heart says City or Creta or S-Cross 1.6 whereas my mind says Ciaz or i20.

Price of Honda city VX Diesel itself is ₹15.2L(this is 2017 price).The discount offered on City is free insurance+cash discount of ₹25K.whereas Ciaz ZDI+ SHVS is ₹12.65L without any discounts offered by Maruti and S-Cross 1.6 price is ₹14.92L without any discounts offered whereas price of 1.3 Alpha is ₹13.14L and price of Elite i20 Asta(O) with 6 airbags is ₹10.65L with some discounts offered on it.

If you are concerned about the resale value, better to buy a used Fiat Linea or Ford Fiesta who have got lesser resale value, benefit of resale value would be your.

Don't want a car,which gets resale value if we sell it after 3-4 years from now.So,resale became an important factor since our Vento fiasco.
You are unnecessarily blaming Vento for its resale value, IIRC you bought it as a second hand car at Rs 9.5 L with 10 to 12Kkm (almost brand new) on odo when a brand new one was costing almost 13 L with accessories.
So you had already got the benefit ( 3 to 3.5 L)of low resale value of the brand on day one of the ownership of the Vento,
I don't think the resale value you got of third hand vehicle which had run more than a Lakh km is worth calling 'fiasco'.

I think we all should give some time for Mr. Music Swift to think of the car buying decision and allow him to be little steady in his requirements rather than confusing him with many car options available in the market.

Thread Starter #88
Got to know from my dad that he had driven a Ciaz SHVS yesterday of our known person.Its a 2016 version and it has run 35K Kms and running without any issues till now.My dad liked rear seat comfort and leg space.

My mom saw the Jazz on the road and she liked it and showed it to my dad but dad said no as he is fallen in love with Ciaz.I don't want myself to drive and chauffeur in a tin can Maruti car.

I don't want myself to drive and chauffeur in a tin can Maruti car.
I don't know what's the fuss about this tin can build quality.

Music_Swift dear, only the lower end of Maruti products (read - upto WagonR) have what we can really call as tin can build quality. Ciaz is a 10 Lac rupee car and one can't simply take Maruti's lineage as a reason to call it a tin can. I agree products like Rapid, Vento and such are better built but Ciaz is not exactly a bad quality car. If not for 10 Lacs, it fits totally well as a 7-8 Lac car at least based on its build quality. So dear please stop complaining about tin can build quality, if you want reliability, less maintenance, better space and such, you'll have to compromise on one thing at least. Your Vento ownership was fine and you enjoyed it for its build quality, ride, performance, etc. but at the end you still defamed it for its poor resale. You can't have your cake and eat it too. Compromises are a part of life.

Even your Innova's build quality isn't upto the mark for a 15 Lac rupee car, but do we classify it straight as a tin can? Same is the case with Ciaz. They are build upto a certain standard for their demanded price and online reviews, etc. should not be the deciding factor of quality at all.

Alpha

S-Cross would be better than Ciaz, given with 1.6 FIAT Engine. CIAZ comes with FIAT 1.3 90ps engine.
Honda diesel is also good car,but don't forget that CIAZ also comes with good engine.if your dad liked CIAZ then its well and good, you have saved good 2lakhs for your future investment.

May be you should give a thought on S-Cross as it comes with Maruti tag and good service network and easy to convince your dad. :) being sibling to CIAZ.