Replacement For 2012 VW Vento TDI

Re: Dilemma: Whether To Sell Vento or Retain?

Thanks for the replies everyone.Yes,we could have sold the car last year itself after accident but thanks to my dad,who always takes worst decisions when it comes to cars.He get satisfied when the new car is sold to us at less price but he doesn't get satisfied when the present car gets lower price than what we had quoted.

BTW,VW had tried to offer Rs.3.5L,which was their final quote,on present car but dad said to VW people 'Thanks for less price you gave and I will keep my car till I get good price on it'.I was like[frustration]

It seems that my dad is refusing to change the car [cry]and so does my mom,who still loves this car.But,convinced him to sell the car as soon as the year gets started and our car has became old whereas his friends are getting new Cretas and still he is on Vento,which I feel very sad.But,to fulfill the need of second car,had bought an used,less run Innova in Grey colour from dad's friend few months ago but unfortunately it had met with an accident and repair work had been completed and ownership got transferred to dad's name recently.But,couldn't get the car after accident due to cash crunch,thanks to stupid demonetisation decision made by our Modi Ji.

So,told my dad to sell it off in an open market for 4-4.5L and get a better car than Vento like Creta,S-Cross or City.No more Germans for us due to its less resale and high maintenance costs.
I think you should leave the buying on your dad. Since I have noticed you are about to buy each and every car on the market then last minute something came up.

I will recommend you Creta without doubt if your budget allows you, it will be costing you somewhere around 13.5 - 14 Ex Showroom or you can go for Ecosport it will be much cheaper and a descent according to your preferences. TD both cars and decide yourself [clap]

Vento got sold for ₹4L yesterday.Now,thinking to book a Rapid DSG soon.
Finally, a breakthrough done and would suggest you to consider all the viable options prior to closing in the deal. Skoda Rapid is indeed a good car and with the facelift it has become quite a looker now. Maintenance wise too Skoda has good schemes and offers for it so do opt for them as well.

Thanks for the inputs Akash Bhai.Already,the new owner has given an advance of Rs.1,00,000 cash to dad a few mins ago and the new owner will be taking the Vento by tomorrow.The remaining Rs.3,00,000 will be paid by the new owner to us tomorrow.

Now,looking to book a Rapid for us by this week and take delivery in this month.

So apart from Rapid,we are considering Vitara Brezza,Ciaz,S-Cross and Honda City too.

My heart says to go for S-Cross or City or i20 whereas my dad wants to go for Brezza or Ciaz.

So apart from Rapid,we are considering Vitara Brezza,Ciaz,S-Cross and Honda City too.

My heart says to go for S-Cross or City or i20 whereas my dad wants to go for Brezza or Ciaz.
If you want to choose between Brezza and S-Cross, I would suggest go for S-Cross as I find S-Cross better than Brezza specially the 1.6 S-Cross. But of-course Brezza is "ICOTY". In between Ciaz and City, I will say go for City I-vtec. The comfort factor in City is very very good and I can say this as I own 1 for the past 5 years.

Also do not clutter your mind with too many options buddy since it will only make the decision making process more and more confusing and difficult. Shortlist 2 best options that fit your budget and then choose the 1 from that.

If you want to choose between Brezza and S-Cross, I would suggest go for S-Cross as I find S-Cross better than Brezza specially the 1.6 S-Cross. But of-course Brezza is "ICOTY". In between Ciaz and City, I will say go for City I-vtec. The comfort factor in City is very very good and I can say this as I own 1 for the past 5 years.

Also do not clutter your mind with too many options buddy since it will only make the decision making process more and more confusing and difficult. Shortlist 2 best options that fit your budget and then choose the 1 from that.

Thanks for inputs Bhai.Now,Vento has found its new home today and planning to take decision on new car ASAP.My dad is thinking to go for Ciaz ZDI+ due to its mileage,reliability whereas my heart says City or Verna.But,my mom wants only sedans as she got used to it.She likes Verna design so much and felt Ciaz is not good as Verna in terms of design.

Now,want a car which should look good.Remember,safety features and other features are important.

Hyundai charges more or less the same for service and spares like Volkswagen. As there is growing traffic in the city, I would suggest an automatic. As you have already driven a German car, I suggest that you go for a reliable Japanese this time. Honda City CVT would be the best purchase. And If you can wait, you can buy the Brezza Diesel AMT.

Hyundai charges vary with dealership too [;)]
Personally i wasn't a hyundai fan ,but after experiencing the features and comfort of Hyundai, i think its going to be market leader soon.
One proven thing till date for hyundai cars is ,its not a long term durable vehicle -5 years is its life or 50000 km.
After that problems begin to show up.
In case of diesel engines - If one takes extra warranty ,they can cover the turbo under warranty (2 of my friends have done it )
In case of petrol engines- No assurance for fuel economy.

Only hyundai automatic i have driven is Sonata ,and it was a pleasure to drive than City CVT (I have driven only 2011 CVT model,heard that present gen City CVT has better performance ,i am not sure on this )

Thanks for inputs Bhai.Now,Vento has found its new home today and planning to take decision on new car ASAP.My dad is thinking to go for Ciaz ZDI+ due to its mileage,reliability whereas my heart says City or Verna.But,my mom wants only sedans as she got used to it.She likes Verna design so much and felt Ciaz is not good as Verna in terms of design.

Now,want a car which should look good.Remember,safety features and other features are important.
If your mom likes verna's design then wait for the upcoming verna which is otherwise called as BABY elantra (most features from the current elantra are being shared) so still even if you are in a hurry buy the present verna which looks more strikier than the previous gen verna's.

As your present requirement is safety and other features verna is a better option than the Ciaz or City in terms of features.

Please Note: City and Ciaz are feature loaded but i find that the Verna is much more feature loaded than these two.

Thread Starter #43
Ok thanks for the information people.Dad might go for Rapid Style Plus MT 1.5 TDI as there is a scheme announced by Skoda called 'Buy now pay in 2018' and when I said we will go for AT,he said it's waste of paying extra ₹1.5L on an AT car.Decided that if it's Rapid,will go for DSG only.Now,my heart says Creta or City whereas my dad says we'll go for Rapid.I have a huge crush on Creta since its launch due to its looks.But,dad felt ₹18L is not worth for a Hyundai car and he also wanted to go for Creta itself but he couldn't resist the so called Skoda buy now pay in 2018 offer.He says,son this scheme is too good for us in this situation and we'll buy only Skoda.But I was against Germans as we had beared 4 years with VW Vento itself and I didn't want a German car to enter into our house.But,dad said son,you had asked me Innova right and I bought it for you.Let me buy a car of my choice this time for your mom.But,dad's colleagues are buying Cretas whereas dad is the only person in the gang who is buying a German car again even though after using Vento after 4 years.Few were against dad for buying German car again and few were against dad for buying another one like Creta,City or Ciaz.

To be frank I am more inclined towards VW/Skoda cars more than Hyundai. I feel that creta is overpriced. Germans have one of the best Diesel engines with an amazing gearbox in the market. Having 2 VW cars in my family. I can vouch for its quality. I highly recommend that you go for a DSG, be it VW or Skoda if you have deep pockets, you may or may not encounter a problem with DSG in a span of 5 years and VW is offering a 4 year warranty and I must say it's money well spent. I always borrow my brother's vento TDI DSG by giving him my GT TDI, saying I needed it coz there is too much traffic today, but the truth is I actually enjoy the Super cool DSG [:)].

And I am also sure that 1.5 lac extra will put a huge smile on your Dad's face while he is driving it, if he enjoys automatics. Considering his age and today's traffic situations, it will ease out a lot of stress.

And I feel that PPS Motors is much better than Mahavir Motors in term of spares and service. And I suggest that you drive both VW Vento and Skoda Rapid back to back before taking a decision. I feel Vento is more superior to Rapid. I have noticed the following differences.

1)Rapid has stiff suspension, which is good for track but Vento has sufficiently soft suspension which is good for city roads.

2)I think ECU in Vento is well tuned compared to Skoda, it feels more eager and punchy.

3) Interior fit and finish is better in Vento.

4) Service is better.

And the rest all is the same. Both have good build quality. These are the nit picky things which made me choose VW products over Skoda.

But,dad felt ₹18L is not worth for a Hyundai car and he also wanted to go for Creta itself but he couldn't resist the so called Skoda buy now pay in 2018 offer.
If your budget is upto Rs. 18L then consider Skoda Octavia or the Hyundai Elantra by stretching your budget a little bit. And as your mom likes Hyundai Verna (As She likes any Sedans) so ask her whether she likes elantra or octavia and if she chooses any car between these two then tell it your dad that your mom likes this particular car (chosen car by your mom) and if your father isn't satisfied then explain the features of that particular car.