Replacement For 2012 VW Vento TDI

Thanks everyone for the inputs.Will update you as soon as we get our Innova back as he met with an accident more than a week ago and will decide about replacing the Vento.

Dilemma: Whether To Sell Vento or Retain?

Hello guys,

We were planning to get another Vento,but this time in DSG.So,when VW had come up with an offer called buy now,pay in 2018,we had decided to exchange Vento with new Vento.So,called VW people(VW Deccan) for valuation of the car today and to my surprise,they had quoted ₹3L on car.So,I was disappointed with the price we had got.He said that engine and clutch life has come to an end and repair will cost you ₹4L.But,he said if you want to sell the car next year,you will not even get the same value.So,sell it off right now.

Please help me in this issue ASAP.

Re: Dilemma-Whether to sell Vento or retain it

I think you should sell it, the repair cost is astronomical. Engine life coming to end at just 1 lac kms is kind of rip-off according to me.

Re: Dilemma-Whether to sell Vento or retain it

Hello guys,

We were planning to get another Vento,but this time in DSG.So,when VW had come up with an offer called buy now,pay in 2018,we had decided to exchange Vento with new Vento.So,called VW people(VW Deccan) for valuation of the car today and to my surprise,they had quoted ₹3L on car.So,I was disappointed with the price we had got.He said that engine and clutch life has come to an end and repair will cost you ₹4L.But,he said if you want to sell the car next year,you will not even get the same value.So,sell it off right now.

What's the ODO reading? How old the car is? How you rate the car both, mechanically as well as cosmetically? Demand for the car.(Please post these information so we can find the market value)!

These are the factors that define the resale value. If you car is around 4-5 years and more than ~90k kms on ODO, then the price sounds closer. Now, either you can push the dealer for discounts in new purchase or some freebies. Or, you can try to sell the car by yourself.

Re: Dilemma: Whether To Sell Vento or Retain?

Furious_driver-Our Vento has run 1,10,000 Kms as of now and it's a 2012 version.Its a TDI Highline version.

3L inr [confused], i guess dealer is trying to rip off. Just try to get a better offer at least 4L inr.

Hello guys,

Buddy please clarify, why the dealer is saying that the engine life is coming to an end? My colleague is driving a Polo diesel and the ODO is nearing 1.2L kms and its still running smooth. Please have a second opinion on this.

3L inr, i guess dealer is trying to rip off. Just try to get a better offer at least 4L inr.
I think the dealer is quoting this price after checking the history of the car. His car was involved in an accident. So, due to the accident the vehicle's resale value definitely takes a hit. I believe 3L is a decent figure considering the ODO and accident history.

Furious_driver-Our Vento has run 1,10,000 Kms as of now and it's a 2012 version.Its a TDI Highline version.
1.1L on ODO, 4 year old VW. Sure, dealer is trying to rip you off. But on the other hand, selling it off by yourself is a big hurdle. I mean, yes we have serious buyers, but you can't believe how bad these guys lowball.

What I would suggest you is to push the dealer for ~4L. And tell him you will buy new Vento only if he agrees for this deal.

After looking at the accident pictures and the odometer numbers you have posted, I would recommend you sell the car for 3lk. I was in the used car market 4-5 months back - it is quite bleak for VW cars. Cut your losses at the earliest is what I would say.

Thanks for the replies everyone.Yes,we could have sold the car last year itself after accident but thanks to my dad,who always takes worst decisions when it comes to cars.He get satisfied when the new car is sold to us at less price but he doesn't get satisfied when the present car gets lower price than what we had quoted.

BTW,VW had tried to offer Rs.3.5L,which was their final quote,on present car but dad said to VW people 'Thanks for less price you gave and I will keep my car till I get good price on it'.I was like[frustration]

It seems that my dad is refusing to change the car [cry]and so does my mom,who still loves this car.But,convinced him to sell the car as soon as the year gets started and our car has became old whereas his friends are getting new Cretas and still he is on Vento,which I feel very sad.But,to fulfill the need of second car,had bought an used,less run Innova in Grey colour from dad's friend few months ago but unfortunately it had met with an accident and repair work had been completed and ownership got transferred to dad's name recently.But,couldn't get the car after accident due to cash crunch,thanks to stupid demonetisation decision made by our Modi Ji.

So,told my dad to sell it off in an open market for 4-4.5L and get a better car than Vento like Creta,S-Cross or City.No more Germans for us due to its less resale and high maintenance costs.

Having driven Creta, S-Cross and City, for me Vento is better. Maybe there is more than monetary reason for your parents to hold on to the Vento.

Same feeling from my dad too.He always feels Vento better than City but for me Creta would be the best replacement for Vento.But,now its price itself is close to 18L onroad Hyd.So,if it is Creta,we would buy Creta 1.6 SX(15L one) only due to budget constraints or S-Cross 1.6 Alpha.