Optimus: Mahindra XUV500 W8 FWD. Long Term Ownership Review

Re: Optimus: Mahindra XUV 500W8 FWD. 20,000 Kms Completed

kudos bro. you're making me jealous with adventure trips that too with snow and all! congrats bro!

please don't use white leds in snow and this could hamper visibility and create confusion. always go for selective yellow for fog and snow.

get the hu and touchscreen replaced asap!

Thread Starter #257

The LEDs are just for show, for me they are more like DRLs rathe than full fledged headlights. They were useless in foggy conditions, hampered the visibility a lot, may be the angle is wrong.
But I have effectively given up on them. Planning to install a rooftop carrier and mount 2 or 4 hellas in front of it so that they can be used only when needed and will be removed while in city. also they will be easier to focus with a spot beam rather than the floods of LED.

The LEDs are just for show, for me they are more like DRLs rathe than full fledged headlights. They were useless in foggy conditions, hampered the visibility a lot, may be the angle is wrong.
But I have effectively given up on them. Planning to install a rooftop carrier and mount 2 or 4 hellas in front of it so that they can be used only when needed and will be removed while in city. also they will be easier to focus with a spot beam rather than the floods of LED.
as per your description, your led bar seems very floody. my isn't that floody and I can see a distinctive spot on the wall 15 feet away.
it could be possible you we're shipped a flood lens rather than spot beam. get I see a close up of lens?

and they're obviously NOT drl grade. I tried waking towards the car from 25 ft away to check the glare and they're so bright that they brought Water and Pain to my eye. duplicate leds?

Thread Starter #259

as per your description, your led bar seems very floody. my isn't that floody and I can see a distinctive spot on the wall 15 feet away.
it could be possible you we're shipped a flood lens rather than spot beam. get I see a close up of lens?

and they're obviously NOT drl grade. I tried waking towards the car from 25 ft away to check the glare and they're so bright that they brought Water and Pain to my eye. duplicate leds?
even mine are not drl grade they have erfect spot at small distances of 20-25 feet and cant be seen directly even from over 50feet.... it looks like the issue of reflector although they are spot ones they are still spreading the beam much more than my liking....

Hello getmikeboy,
I selected the exterior colour and the interior came with it. Beige colour looks good and more airy than the dark interior but are harder to maintain and keep clean.

As per pics you can find the interior pics everywhere on the internet and better still have a look at them in person.
Thanks a lot for the advise. I settled with Satin White and also got my Jagluiperd (Thats what I have named my XUV5oo) on Monday.

The pics of your recent trips are great. I just love the way the snow had covered Optimus [:)]

Thread Starter #261

Optimus has been scheduled for its 4th service at 32000km for Saturday.

Along with it Software will also be upgraded because of the latest Service Action. Kindly check with your dealers/RM if you are also elligible for the same.

Thread Starter #262

Optimus got the 4th paid service done on Saturday at 32000km.

Total cost of the service was 3700rs including labour and parts.
the parts they have changed was AC air filter for 1000rs. Two air filters are used in XUV for AC each costing 500rs.

Service Labour charge was close to 1900rs.
There was one another part they changed dont remember the name now for 400 rs.
The rest of the amount was for taxes and consumables.

They have upgraded the Software too and now the Mahindra rises with a Red background screen.

Rest everything was good. The RM this time was better than the regular RM, The car was properly cleaned and tyres polished. Quite happy with the service this time.

kinshuk.arya, thats an awesome picturesque travelogue from your recent trip. Optimus was looking pretty when covered in snow. Also, appreciate your photography skills [clap]
I bought the vehicle from Kundan motors as at that time only Kundan motors was willing to give me free stuff, rest of them had totally denied of anything.
The service is OK not great not bad. one of their Service advisors is really good the other one not so. (My experience and experience of a friend).
The only thing is their service center is close to my hous I live near Dange Chowk.
If XUV meets your demands then go for it minor bumps and jerks can be felt in all the vehicles in this range. but overall my family is quite happy with the comfort level.
Accessory buying depends on what accessory, I normally prefer to get it done from the dealer itself and dont have much extra things in my vehicle except for the LED bar which I installed myself but that is not a clean job.
The reverse Cam and side body mouldings I got from the service center itself.
Thanks a bunch for providing the information generously. This is very helpful.
Just one suggestion get the W8 FWD variant instead of the W6. Reason being higher safety features in the W8 plus a colour Head unit with navigation and alloy wheels for 1.5 lakh rs extra.
The rest of the things one can get from after market but Safety features cannot be bought.
Have given a thought over this. Just didn't felt like paying that 1.8 lakhs (on road difference of W6 over W8) for a lot of reasons which won't justify the worthiness. W6 has enough of features you could expect from a vehicle at its price.
Mentioning few of W8 additional features:
1. GPS from mapmyindia: I find using google maps much more detailed, up to date, easier and portable to use. Your points of interests syncs with your google account and are not hardware dependent. Also, read somewhere the maps update process on mapmyindia device needs some chip replacement, which also takes away your saved points of interest. Its bad if you have few worth remote places coordinates saved on your device. With google maps you have freedom of planning/viewing routes while you are away from vehicle.
2. DVD Player: How many of us really use DVD or even CD now-a-days, stocking them being separate efforts. Load your desired songs in bluetooth or pen-drive offline before start of trip and you are set.
3. Tyre-tronics: Its a fancy feature, didn't find is very reliable in terms of usage as seen in video's shared by users. XUV's niggles in electronics experience by users is another major concern on how much reliable these technologies will be being complex in nature. (One of my colleague with his 3 months old XUV reported the problem with his infotainment system which got hanged and required his engine restart to get it working. A kind of problem statement I have read in 10's of posts in various forums just to be verified in person)
4. ESP: This is an appreciated feature offered by Indian brand. Kudos to Mahindra for this. Disappointed to see it needs to be engaged manually. That might make it useless. How could you know in advance that you might have to suddenly steer away to avoid that accident. When and why should one keep it dis-engaged?
5. Hill Hold, Hill Descent control: These are nice to have feature, but not must have. While people have appreciated Hill Hold, Hill Descent control didn't proved to be helpful for certain users as they felt jerks and instead preferred to control the vehicle manually using engine braking in lower gear. Again XUV's electronics poor reliability does not encourage to pay to get more electronic features.
6. Leather upholstery: Stock seats are nicely matched with plastics and interior. However, you do not have option to upgrade to your liking as airbags are merged with front seat covers. With W6 you have option open to upgrade it to your liking. I personally like the stock leather seats of W8.
7. Side and curtain airbags: This will be missed in W6, certainly uncompromisable feature.
8. Alloy Wheels: I feel stock alloys of W8 do not compliment the sheer muscle and beauty of XUV. With W6 you have range of alloys wheels to upgrade from as per your liking.
I just love these: http://www.autojunction.in/wcsstore...small/XUV500-Sporty-Speed-Rim-Alloy-Wheel.jpg
9. Color and touchscreen infotainment display: Again Mahindra's reliability in electronics plays and important role in choosing this and W6's monochrome button operated display. Going by electronic niggles with XUV5OO, I would rather play safe avoiding touch screen display. Also, have read the monochrome display compliments the interior better while the color screen have just a single tone theme red color.

All, my personal opinion with inputs from various sources.

Deepak

Thread Starter #264

@Deepak

ESP doesnt need to be engaged manually, it can be dis engaged though, one can disengage when one is feeling a bit more adventurous.

For me ESP and 6 Extra Air Bags are worth more than the extra 1.8 lakhs. Alloys, Leather upholstery, HU etc. are just other minor feature which doesnt make much of difference.

Alloys you can sell and get another set better than the speed rims, only then your tpms light will be ON but some mechanics and alloys are compatible with the tpms sensor as well, read it somewhere though cant find out now.

Rest is upto you. I still think if you are a family man and love to go on long drives the 6 extra air bags and ESP is more than enough reason to shift to W8.

Kinshuk

Mentioning few of W8 additional features:
Just the added safety of 4 additional airbags is worth the extra money the W8 commands. Recently saw the news of an accident which involved a W8. The car hit a kerb and rolled over. All airbags inflated and occupants came out with just some scratches.

3. Tyre-tronics: Its a fancy feature, didn't find is very reliable in terms of usage as seen in video's shared by users. XUV's niggles in electronics experience by users is another major concern on how much reliable these technologies will be being complex in nature. (One of my colleague with his 3 months old XUV reported the problem with his infotainment system which got hanged and required his engine restart to get it working. A kind of problem statement I have read in 10's of posts in various forums just to be verified in person)
Tyretronics are not very accurate (shows a difference of 1-1.5 psi) but it works like a charm. What's more - it even tells you when your tyre has a puncture or if it's heating up. Don't you think it is a nice safety feature to have?

4. ESP: This is an appreciated feature offered by Indian brand. Kudos to Mahindra for this. Disappointed to see it needs to be engaged manually. That might make it useless. How could you know in advance that you might have to suddenly steer away to avoid that accident. When and why should one keep it dis-engaged?
Totally wrong info, I dont know where you got this from. ESP is always ON by default. It can only be switched off if the drives wishes to. Again, it will switch on once you restart the car.

6. Leather upholstery: Stock seats are nicely matched with plastics and interior. However, you do not have option to upgrade to your liking as airbags are merged with front seat covers. With W6 you have option open to upgrade it to your liking. I personally like the stock leather seats of W8.
What is more important - having airbags or your favourite seat cover?

8. Alloy Wheels: I feel stock alloys of W8 do not compliment the sheer muscle and beauty of XUV. With W6 you have range of alloys wheels to upgrade from as per your liking.
The tyre pressure sensors in the wheels of the W8 can be swapped and hence you can surely upgrade the stock alloys.

9. Color and touchscreen infotainment display: Again Mahindra's reliability in electronics plays and important role in choosing this and W6's monochrome button operated display. Going by electronic niggles with XUV5OO, I would rather play safe avoiding touch screen display. Also, have read the monochrome display compliments the interior better while the color screen have just a single tone theme red color.
The electronic niggles were in the initial batches of the XUV. The second version is relatively trouble free.

All in all, I suggest that if someone can afford it, always go for the W8.

Thread Starter #266

[clap] well said Raj. Couldnt have put in better words.

This was exactly the same questions I asked myself when I was trying to decide and similar answers given by wify regarding safety, which cleared the confusion, although it did mean stretching my budget and a tight financial situation for at least 12 months but now that extra money doesnt matter.

Hi Kinshuk,

We took test drive on this Saturday, vehicle is very spacious, interiors look good, AC is powerful, braking is good, basic variant do get ABS,EBD and dual airbag which are much needed.

Clutch is very hard and main area where we are disappointed is suspension not sure if it is problem with test drive vehicle or all the vehicles are like that. Driven @ ~140kmph speed and observed ride was bouncy even though car was loaded fully, engine noise was more.

Top end spec onroad costing around 18lkh for such high cost suspension seem to be very disappointing. With 17' tyres car should be planted on road and stable but felt like sitting inside hatch back.

Thought of booking the vehicle but disappointed after taking test drive.

Please share your experience and suggest me if i can go with xuv 500?

Bala

Thread Starter #268

Hi Kinshuk,

We took test drive on this Saturday, vehicle is very spacious, interiors look good, AC is powerful, braking is good, basic variant do get ABS,EBD and dual airbag which are much needed.

Clutch is very hard and main area where we are disappointed is suspension not sure if it is problem with test drive vehicle or all the vehicles are like that. Driven @ ~140kmph speed and observed ride was bouncy even though car was loaded fully, engine noise was more.

Top end spec onroad costing around 18lkh for such high cost suspension seem to be very disappointing. With 17' tyres car should be planted on road and stable but felt like sitting inside hatch back.

Thought of booking the vehicle but disappointed after taking test drive.

Please share your experience and suggest me if i can go with xuv 500?

Bala
@Bala: May I ask which type of care are you driving right now? The reason being if you are driving a hatchback or a sedan or basically anything apart from SUVs you will find the clutch on the harder side. My parents have an Alto I grew up learning on that vehicle and had put in more than 10000km before I moved on to XUV the first time I used the clutch in the test vehicle it felt like I was in the gym doing some kind of training for calf muscles but after a couple of more rides in other XUVs from different dealers the clutch became easier infact I like the clutch of XUV much more than the clutch of my parents' Alto or my cousin's Swift, the reason is in XUV you can modulate the clutch like an analogue controller but in their cars when I am driving its either fully engaged or disengaged basically the car jumps everytime I try to take of off 1st gear.

Regarding the suspension, yes the suspension of XUV is a bit on the softer side as compared to a Safari, but I am doubting the kind of suspension you experienced is because of the test drive vehicle. I have pushed my XUV to 190 only once till now but the ride was very planted and my wife couldnt tell the speed she thought we were still in the 120-130 range because of the sound of the engine.

I will suggest you to take a couple of more test rides in different xuvs before making up your mind.

All in All I am quite happy with the vehicle, have already crossed more than 32000km in 2 years including all kinds of terrain and roads except for hardcore off roading, I have been to beaches, mountains, snow clad roads, mud, slush, runway like tarmac everything till now and Optimus has never let me down.

Hi Kinshuk,

Thanks for your reply and information.

I'm driving Swift.

Sales person told me that, test drive vehicle is 2011 model and done 20000km around might be problem with the vehicle. But still within 4 yrs suspension should not be a problem i think.

Sales person will try to arrange New vehicle test drive itseems will post update once TD is completed.

Bala

@Bala: May I ask which type of care are you driving right now? The reason being if you are driving a hatchback or a sedan or basically anything apart from SUVs you will find the clutch on the harder side. My parents have an Alto I grew up learning on that vehicle and had put in more than 10000km before I moved on to XUV the first time I used the clutch in the test vehicle it felt like I was in the gym doing some kind of training for calf muscles but after a couple of more rides in other XUVs from different dealers the clutch became easier infact I like the clutch of XUV much more than the clutch of my parents' Alto or my cousin's Swift, the reason is in XUV you can modulate the clutch like an analogue controller but in their cars when I am driving its either fully engaged or disengaged basically the car jumps everytime I try to take of off 1st gear.

Regarding the suspension, yes the suspension of XUV is a bit on the softer side as compared to a Safari, but I am doubting the kind of suspension you experienced is because of the test drive vehicle. I have pushed my XUV to 190 only once till now but the ride was very planted and my wife couldnt tell the speed she thought we were still in the 120-130 range because of the sound of the engine.

I will suggest you to take a couple of more test rides in different xuvs before making up your mind.

All in All I am quite happy with the vehicle, have already crossed more than 32000km in 2 years including all kinds of terrain and roads except for hardcore off roading, I have been to beaches, mountains, snow clad roads, mud, slush, runway like tarmac everything till now and Optimus has never let me down.

Please check with new vehicle once. If you compare with a sedan, obviously XUV ride will be bumpy at slower speed. I used Swift petrol and a sedan before i bought XUV. My observation was (points not well organized sorry for that),
- clutch is hardier than petrol cars (obviously), but softer than Ertiga diesel. But i never felt it hard or heavy even driving within city in bangalore traffic.
- suspension over potholes is little hard and shake you at slower speed compared to Terrano/Duster
(either you pass by at normal speed or go dead slow for the suspension to smoothly work out)
- Suspension performs good at highways at high speed rather swinging always to give you a tired journey
- During all my trips to chennai ~340km i never used to stop the car to take a break. No tiredness after reaching as well. That i feel due to the suspension + comfortable pilot seat which fits you as if it is tailored + engine power (wont put you on situation to stand on pedal to overtake someone blocking your way)

But if your ultimate priority is for suspension and to drive in city then better not to choose a SUV. If your usage is both city and highway then SUV, so XUV holds good. This is my personal opinion.