New Mahindra Xylo Facelift Now Launched

IMO Xylo, XUV & Scorpio will never intrude into each other's segments.

XUV is priced well above the Scorpio & Xylo, the base model starts at almost 13 Lacs on road. Yes, The Scorpio A/T costs a little less than that, but you cant compare the top end A/T Scorpio to base M/T XUV.

Coming to Xylo, agreed that Xylo E9 competes with top end of Scorpio, that is, VLX M/T. But with Xylo E9, you get Airbags as standard, whereas in Scorpio VLX, you will have to pay more for Airbags. Also, they belong to different segments & cater to different customers. One is an MUV while other is an SUV. Scorpio cant carry passengers comfortably like the Xylo whereas Xylo cant have the image & style of the Scorpio.

With the E9, Mahindra has attempted to bring the Xylo in the premium segment, to directly compete with the Innova. There are many who like the mHawk engine of the Scorpio but are not happy with the space provided, the Xylo E9 is for them. For the more budget conscious customer, he can opt for the top end variant with mEagle engine, the Xylo E8.

IMO, M&M should not have had so many variants in Xylo. Just have 3:

Low variant - meant for cabs and those who just need a MUV with bare minimum features

Middle - ABS with EBD, Airbags (optional), Music system and other features

Top - fully loaded

ESP should be standard on all the variants to minimize body roll. Reduce the height and GC. Who needs a 185 mm GC for a MUV? Majority of the people who do off-roading have other options like Thar, Bolero, Scorpio and XUV (soft roader).

Peg the ex-show room price at 7, 8.5 and 10 lakhs. Then see what will happen to Xylo numbers [thumbsup]

M&M will be laughing all the way to their banks [:D]

As Raj rightly said, XUV/Scrop and Xylo will and can never intrude with each other. Due to a lot of segments.
Scrop- An soft rd SUV (metro)
XUV- CAR/SUV (mix Bag)
Xylo- MUV.
Bolero- Off rd SUV (non metro)

M&M surely knows its and Indian Market. They are smarter than others..

The Xylo facelift looks like its been heavily inspired from XUV 500. After 3 years Mahindra finally sorted out the Xylo's styling. i expected the rear would also be face lifted as well apart from providing a rear spoiler and clear lens tail lamps.

I was going through the pricing of Xylo E9 model which costs rs 10.25 ex showroom Delhi. Dont you all think it will lead to cannibalization of other M&M models like Scorpio 2.2 SLe and XUV 500 W6 model.??? The fact being that now all 3 cars have same 2.2Mhawk engine and similar features.

Xylo would never cannibalize XUV or Scorpio but xuv may cannibalize Scorpio top end! I feel.

Xylo is all together a different vehicle. A family of 7 or 8 will never opt for Scorpio or XUV. If they plan very long trips.

Xylo would never cannibalize XUV or Scorpio but xuv may cannibalize Scorpio top end! I feel.
Xylo is all together a different vehicle. A family of 7 or 8 will never opt for Scorpio or XUV. If they plan very long trips.
Point well understood. Even i was thinking that maybe in near future M&M might eventually phase out Scorpio. June 2012 will be the 10 th Anniversary year for Scorpio. I hope they bring out a special 10th anniversary edition of Scorpio with some serious facelift in order to differentiate it from regular Scorpio.!!!

Same feeling after seeing the price of XUV but if it is selling well they wont touch it .Who want to kill a duck laying golden egg? (But Toyota killed Qualis[frustration])

Why would need to press a button and then say a command, instead I could do it myself with a single action. The voice recognition seems good with accents though.

Exactly !! While it does sound good as a feature/ gizmo etc, its completely worthless practically( even going by my XUV experience ) - all we need is buttons which are placed ergonomically and work intuitively the way they are meant to be.

Imagine there is no button for voice control and you use direct voice to perform actions and a un known just for the heck of it says "Open doors" and they open. Would you feel comfortable?
Voice control is not new tech but I would say Im happy to see M&M starting it for the Indian accent should be a welcome move.

Imagine there is no button for voice control and you use direct voice to perform actions and a un known just for the heck of it says "Open doors" and they open. Would you feel comfortable?
Voice control is not new tech but I would say Im happy to see M&M starting it for the Indian accent should be a welcome move.
It doesn't open doors. What if someone says something after you press the button? All I'm saying is voice controls for these small, simple jobs is pointless and is just a novelty. They could've saved costs here.

Haha true. In that way, Technology is always risky when in practical. I would say Its priced right with its full packed features.
One more thing i just wanted to emphasis is the Indian accent recognitions is very well maintained/done in this vehicle.

The revisions are good &welcome, however it would have made more sense to atleast include the following in the E9 model for the pricing M&M is quoting

- Automatic ORVM with indicators - would have been better than the voice controls
- 2nd row on rails - this is a good feature in Aria, allowing adjustment of the leg space for 2nd and 3rd rows
- Overall height of the vehicle could have been brought in line with teh length tomake it look more symmetric
- 17" radials & alloys

Also it is a tough positioning with the E9 at 10.25 lacs, which is close to the W6 SUV with better features.