Need a Second Car at Home. Budget: Rs.15 Lakh

Thread Starter #61
Why not sell the Vento & get a Creta/Duster/Innova. In case you require 2 cars, you can retain the Vento. If you're ready to invest in 2 cars, you can exchange Vento for a new one & get a new car as well.
Instead of selling Vento for SUV or MPV,exchanging for new one is far better than selling as we sell outside,we may get less resale due to accident history.We actually need 2 cars,one car is used by me and mom whereas another one would be used by dad.But,still confused with options.

Thread Starter #62
Got our VW back and exchange offered by them is too low.They have quoted ₹5.5L as exchange,which we felt too low.

Now,confused with options:

1 is to sell the car for another sedan or other one is to retain this and buy an SUV/MPV or hatch.

If you are open,
You can get a used BMW 3 series or Audi 4 series which will be heck of a drive for budget of about 15~18 lac.

Other than that, For an SUV in 15 lac range, XUV 500 wins hands down.

Thread Starter #64
If you are open,
You can get a used BMW 3 series or Audi 4 series which will be heck of a drive for budget of about 15~18 lac.

Other than that, For an SUV in 15 lac range, XUV 500 wins hands down.
But maintenance is the problem with German cars.This time we may go for non German cars like Ciaz or City.But,my father is preferring Ciaz over City due to SHVS.

SUV is also in consideration.

the problem here is you need to finalize what character you want. what is your use. and what kind of driving you do.

you are currently jumping from hatchbacks to SUV and even sedans or muv in between. we will be able to help you better when atleast the body type is fixed.

Thread Starter #66
the problem here is you need to finalize what character you want. what is your use. and what kind of driving you do.

you are currently jumping from hatchbacks to SUV and even sedans or muv in between. we will be able to help you better when atleast the body type is fixed.
Our usage is 2000-3000 Kms per month and Diesel is enough to satisfy our needs.My father's driving is sedate and recently,we had started hiring new driver since 1st of this month.And,for second car,usage is less than 1000 Kms and Petrol is enough to satisfy our needs.Maybe in 2016,Vento would get replaced by new one.

And,other option is,retain Vento as a second car and buy an SUV for father and sell Vento later.

I. would say get something like xuv 500 for weekend trips or travelling in large numbers. will suite your father too.

keep the vento for now.

Thread Starter #68
I. would say get something like xuv 500 for weekend trips or travelling in large numbers. will suite your father too.

keep the vento for now.
Thanks for the inputs bhvm sir.As of now,this is the plan.We are finding a clean maintained and less run Innova now but it's hard to get that one.Recently,I had seen an Innova GX DC version,which has run just 36000 Kms and gold colour and 2012 version for ₹14.75L.But,when we called them,he said that the car is sold sir.And,I saw an Innova GX,which has run 41000 Kms and its 2013 version in blue colour.The price he quoted is ₹13.5L and willing to get this one for ₹13L.

The reason why we need used Innova because if we buy used one,we can abuse it till about 60-70K Kms and sell this one for new gen and present pricing of new one is ₹16.3L for GX and ₹18.5L for VX in Hyd.

are you sure dad will be ok with such a bulky and boxy innova?

other than that, these prices are wrong. youre buying a half life vehicle (I call 1 lac as life of vehicle ) for the price of brand new base model xuv 500 or Safari storm!!

Thread Starter #71
bhvm-My dad is an ardent fan of Innova and he loves Innova more than our Vento.We had an Innova which is sold to my cousin an year ago due to being 10 year old and no parking space at our place and this has run more than 3L Kms in 10 years and still running strong.We may regret selling Innova but Innova is highly appreciated by our family members.

The price which I said is correct and sold by dealers in Hyderabad.Second choice after Innova would be XUV.If it's XUV,we may go for W6 as its within our budget.If these doesn't work,will have to restrict our budget less than ₹10L for second one and we may sell Vento for bigger one like new gen Innova 2016 or XUV.

Jerwin-I'm also eagerly waiting for new one but there are financial constraints.Will update once we decided to buy new one.

Music_Swift,
we are in same boat right now, my father requires a replacement car and says he would prefer a car with high seating.
Need a car with Auto, high seating and easy handling for city, he feel city have low seats and thus do not use existing city we have.
I was thinking of fully loaded Ecosport with facelift rumoured to be any time soon, I looked Fluence as well and really liked the car but again lack of auto transmission (getting good discounts on E4 model though).
Jetta and New Octavia seems to be scary with non reliable DSG.
anyone here tried petrol Creta? or any suggestion for me as well are also welcome.

Jetta and New Octavia seems to be scary with non reliable DSG.
anyone here tried petrol Creta? or any suggestion for me as well are also welcome.
You're wrong man, the Jetta & Octavia Diesel come with a 6 Speed DSG which is reliable, it's the 7 Speed one in petrol superb, Octavia that has issues. There are so many Laura, Jetta Automatics and all seem to be running fine. So you should consider these since they are the best cars under 20-23 lakh. We have a 2011 Jetta which dad owns & drives and so far it's been a peaceful ownership.

Regarding Creta, one word "Compromise" because, if you have liked this car you should get diesel version. My friend has Petrol SX & he is getting 9 kmpl in city which is very low, he regrets that. He had planned for diesel one but he was offered a petrol one for quicker delivery. Diesel Creta is good though.

Ecosport again is a very good package, if rumors are to be believed it will launch within Christmas. So you can wait & watch at that one.

Another good car you can consider is the Duster 2WD/AWD. Again very good car with high driving position, good features, very good engine, excellent ground clearance & excellent Ride & Handling. So it's because of these reasons the Duster sells.

So, car above 15 lakh - Jetta & Octavia.

10-15 lakh - Sedan - Honda City, Hyundai Verna, Maruti Ciaz.

SUVs - Ecosport, Duster, Creta Diesel.

Innova GX variant at an ex-showroom price of 13.36 lakhs seems to be a good choice. It has driver airbag and ABS. It just does not have audio system, which you can fit anytime later for 20-30k. A new Innova or an used Innova is WAY MORE reliable than Xuv any given day. Period.

My uncle's innova has completed 1,65,000 kms and its still a breeze and comfortable car. I have done mutiple long drives in his car. And the back seat is just so comfortable. Infact, I prefer the back seat of his Innova than the back seat of my Safari Storme, mostly because the back seats can be pushed forward or backward to increase leg room and it can also be reclined. Add to that, innova has a much lesser body roll than my Storme. You can sleep comfortably in those long drives in Innova. Its just so reliable and hassle free MUV. Considering you already have a sedan, get the Innova for your dad/mom. Its the best vehicle for parents. And Toyota after sales service is always reliable.

Get the Innova for your dad. And then later on you can sell the vento to get yourself a new car of your choice. Ultimately both your dad and you will be happy.

Thread Starter #75
Innova GX variant at an ex-showroom price of 13.36 lakhs seems to be a good choice. It has driver airbag and ABS. It just does not have audio system, which you can fit anytime later for 20-30k. A new Innova or an used Innova is WAY MORE reliable than Xuv any given day. Period.

My uncle's innova has completed 1,65,000 kms and its still a breeze and comfortable car. I have done mutiple long drives in his car. And the back seat is just so comfortable. Infact, I prefer the back seat of his Innova than the back seat of my Safari Storme, mostly because the back seats can be pushed forward or backward to increase leg room and it can also be reclined. Add to that, innova has a much lesser body roll than my Storme. You can sleep comfortably in those long drives in Innova. Its just so reliable and hassle free MUV. Considering you already have a sedan, get the Innova for your dad/mom. Its the best vehicle for parents. And Toyota after sales service is always reliable.

Get the Innova for your dad. And then later on you can sell the vento to get yourself a new car of your choice. Ultimately both your dad and you will be happy.
As of now,the plan for getting new or used Innova has been dropped due to parking problems.We may go for sedan like Aspire or an hatch like i20 or Polo GT TSI or Abarth Punto as I will be using it from next year.We may replace Vento with SUV soon maybe next year.