Need a Second Car at Home. Budget: Rs.15 Lakh

Thread Starter #92
I'm back after a long time.These days,I was searching for used Laura TDI,Superb,Jetta TDI and Cruze but no luck.Had almost decided to buy an used Cruze LTZ AT 2011 version,which has run 34000 Kms from our known person but backed out due to poor resale value of the car.Saw Laura too but couldn't find good one.Then my dad told me to look at used Superb as we don't want to pay ₹35L on new one.I found many but there are many cars which has run more and asking price is too much.

So,if used car plan doesn't work,will go for new S-Cross 1.6 Alpha or Honda City or another VW Vento,but this time TDI DSG.

I'm back after a long time.These days,I was searching for used Laura TDI,Superb,Jetta TDI and Cruze but no luck.Had almost decided to buy an used Cruze LTZ AT 2011 version,which has run 34000 Kms from our known person but backed out due to poor resale value of the car.Saw Laura too but couldn't find good one.Then my dad told me to look at used Superb as we don't want to pay ₹35L on new one.I found many but there are many cars which has run more and asking price is too much.

So,if used car plan doesn't work,will go for new S-Cross 1.6 Alpha or Honda City or another VW Vento,but this time TDI DSG.
Any cars left in the market for you to consider?

Thread Starter #94
Any cars left in the market for you to consider?
No not yet��.The car would be used by me as I'm turning 18 this August as my father would buy an Innova Crysta for himself soon.So,the cars which I'm considering would be the replacement for our Vento TDI,which has run 95000 Kms and did 82000 Kms in 3.2 years.So far,the experience with Vento is good but what's making us to sell this car is already became old(aging much better than our 71000 Kms run 2011 Swift),ground clearance and need of AT car as the traffic in our city is increasing.

You missed out on used Beemers, Audis too. Can be had for your budget.

Thread Starter #96
You missed out on used Beemers, Audis too. Can be had for your budget.
Don't want exotic Germans as the maintenance will become expensive.Will wait for sometime and decide which car is suitable for me.As of now,I'm considering S-Cross 1.6 or Vento TSI/TDI DSG.

MS,
If maintenance is your issue, even VW Vento won't keep your pockets happy.
S Cross 1.6 would be exotic, Fun to drive and very value preposition.

Other interesting option is Fiat Abarth 140HP.

Thread Starter #98
MS,
If maintenance is your issue, even VW Vento won't keep your pockets happy.
S Cross 1.6 would be exotic, Fun to drive and very value preposition.

Other interesting option is Fiat Abarth 140HP.
Yeah,S-Cross 1.6 is a good option even after the price cut.Abarth seems to be good but resale is poor.

Btw,this may happen soon as my dad has booked Innova Crysta(yes,he has booked new Innova along with his friends under group booking).Still not confirmed about this as I'm not the one who is involved in buying Innova.

Music swift let me tell you, the Vento will give you thrills which no car believe me no car even my X3 cant give. Im not exaggerating but when i drove my X3 hard, i knew i was going faster but the push in the seat feeling was quite less in comparison to my Rapid TDI. So for your first car, i would suggest keep the Vento, enjoy it for some years. If you still want to go for a new car then wait for the facelift Rapid, which has more power and maybe will give a nice feeling while driving. Also i found the even though its been 4 years, the driving dynamics pf Rapid are still better than Vento's. Good luck bro!

Thread Starter #101
Jerwin-I think I would use Vento as many people in our circle are telling my father to retain the Vento for myself and he would buy an Innova Crysta.He had booked the new Innova Crysta but he didn't confirm the variant as he booked it along with his partners.So,I'm not involved in Innova's purchase as it belongs to my dad.

Joshua-Though after doing 95000+Kms i.e 82000+ Kms in 3.2 years,Vento still feels fresher and ages better than our Swift VDI 2011,which has run more than 70000 Kms in almost 5 years.But,my first car as a driver would be Vento itself.

I think I would use Vento as many people in our circle are telling my father to retain the Vento for myself and he would buy an Innova Crysta.He had booked the new Innova Crysta but he didn't confirm the variant as he booked it along with his partners.So,I'm not involved in Innova's purchase as it belongs to my dad.
My dear, I wish, you finally end up buying the new Innova and we get the first ownership thread from your side. By-far, your car purchase decision is most discussed one in whole of TAI and I am absolutely sure, after extensive discussion you'll make an informed decision. Honestly, your car purchase thread is a mini encyclopedia for those looking to buy a car (used or new). Also did you ever thought my dear of twitting this thread title on VW's Twitter handle? or their FB? I am actually quite impressed with your love and confidence towards your Vento. It does takes sheer guts to keep a car running specially of VW/Skoda for such a high ODO and that too after an unfortunate mishap with the car. God Bless you and your Vento my dear. Hope you'll give us all a chance to appreciate your new Innova soon!

Thread Starter #103
My dear, I wish, you finally end up buying the new Innova and we get the first ownership thread from your side. By-far, your car purchase decision is most discussed one in whole of TAI and I am absolutely sure, after extensive discussion you'll make an informed decision. Honestly, your car purchase thread is a mini encyclopedia for those looking to buy a car (used or new). Also did you ever thought my dear of twitting this thread title on VW's Twitter handle? or their FB? I am actually quite impressed with your love and confidence towards your Vento. It does takes sheer guts to keep a car running specially of VW/Skoda for such a high ODO and that too after an unfortunate mishap with the car. God Bless you and your Vento my dear. Hope you'll give us all a chance to appreciate your new Innova soon!

Thanks in advance Akash Bhai.Regarding Innova,we are still not yet confirmed on it as we had paid ₹50,000 as booking amount.Yeah,I created this thread almost an year ago and still this discussion is running on.The decision for keeping Vento for sometime is due to lack of vitamin-m and I felt that we could have sold Vento after accident,which made us to pay ₹1.3L as expenses.When I gave an idea to my dad regarding another Vento,he said he is fed up with high maintenance of VW and spending about ₹30,000 on 2 services per year is not a worth anymore.Instead,he is now preferring new Honda City over this due to lesser maintenance costs and cheaper to maintain.Our first expense in this year was brake pads which costed us ₹7000 and ₹11700 on 90,000 Kms service and we spent close to ₹20,000 in just 2 months.Recently,my dad's friend,who has Superb TDI 2011 version,which has run 1,03,000 Kms in 5 years and he replaced radiators twice within a month as first radiator got leaked.He spent almost ₹1L on it within a month and he replaced the DSG clutch a long ago and spent close to ₹50,000 on it.His car mostly spends time at service center since last 1-2 years and his BMW 5-Series 2014 version,which has run close to 30,000 Kms in 2 years and didn't give any problems touchwood till now.But,he spends close to ₹20,000 to ₹30,000 on BMW as maintenance cost.So,he spends close to ₹1L on one BMW service and two Skoda services.So,he always feel that maintenance cost of Japanese cars are way cheaper than his German cars.Remember he has Dzire ZDI 2013 version too and it costs way cheaper than his German cars but Dzire is mostly used by his son since last few months in Bangalore.

After hearing that,I told him to sell off his Superb and buy which is cheaper to maintain but he is emotionally attached with it and there is no car which can replace Superb easily.He always feel Superb is way better than his 5-series in terms of rear seat comfort and leg space.

Whenever we want to replace Vento with another one,I feel that no car replace can Vento in terms of build quality and performance.So,this time we are planning to compromise on build quality as I need performance and wanted something better than Vento this time in terms of reliability,maintenance,rear seat comfort and others.

Sorry for going OT.

Thanks in advance Akash Bhai.Regarding Innova,we are still not yet confirmed on it as we had paid ₹50,000 as booking amount.Yeah,I created this thread almost an year ago and still this discussion is running on.The decision for keeping Vento for sometime is due to lack of vitamin-m and I felt that we could have sold Vento after accident,which made us to pay ₹1.3L as expenses.When I gave an idea to my dad regarding another Vento,he said he is fed up with high maintenance of VW and spending about ₹30,000 on 2 services per year is not a worth anymore.Instead,he is now preferring new Honda City over this due to lesser maintenance costs and cheaper to maintain.Our first expense in this year was brake pads which costed us ₹7000 and ₹11700 on 90,000 Kms service and we spent close to ₹20,000 in just 2 months.Recently,my dad's friend,who has Superb TDI 2011 version,which has run 1,03,000 Kms in 5 years and he replaced radiators twice within a month as first radiator got leaked.He spent almost ₹1L on it within a month and he replaced the DSG clutch a long ago and spent close to ₹50,000 on it.His car mostly spends time at service center since last 1-2 years and his BMW 5-Series 2014 version,which has run close to 30,000 Kms in 2 years and didn't give any problems touchwood till now.But,he spends close to ₹20,000 to ₹30,000 on BMW as maintenance cost.So,he spends close to ₹1L on one BMW service and two Skoda services.So,he always feel that maintenance cost of Japanese cars are way cheaper than his German cars.Remember he has Dzire ZDI 2013 version too and it costs way cheaper than his German cars but Dzire is mostly used by his son since last few months in Bangalore.

After hearing that,I told him to sell off his Superb and buy which is cheaper to maintain but he is emotionally attached with it and there is no car which can replace Superb easily.He always feel Superb is way better than his 5-series in terms of rear seat comfort and leg space.

Whenever we want to replace Vento with another one,I feel that no car replace can Vento in terms of build quality and performance.So,this time we are planning to compromise on build quality as I need performance and wanted something better than Vento this time in terms of reliability,maintenance,rear seat comfort and others.

Sorry for going OT.
Hi buddy, as your budget is 15L and you want a performance car better go for petrol VX MT in city as there is more power than the vento and honda's petrol motor is known for its supreme level of refinement, But the city lacks on interior Plastic built quality compared to the previous generation honda city. But if you want a better built and a performance car go for the S-Cross 1.6 DDIS Alpha as it gets 118 BHP of power at a sixth gear a cruise control and an excellently build interior dashboard and also the service wouldn't be an issue as its an maruti. If you ask is sedan segment the verna has a good power of 128 BHP and sixth gear and a excellent built quality also hyundai's maintenance is also pretty low compared to VW's and Skoda's cars, But it has its own downside like the High speed stability and cornering ability has been increase in the new 4s model but its still not in its best too compared to its rivals. So finally in sedan segment its again the vento Or the rapid wins the game in your requirements levels [:)].

Advance Congratulation On your purchase [cheers]

Thread Starter #105
Cancelled Innova Crysta booking due to some reasons and getting 2011 Innova VX from my dad's friend,who has booked Fortuner.Now,we got an offer of ₹5.5-6L on our Vento TDI,which has run close to 1,00,000 Kms with few scratches and dents from the person,who sold the car to us.Now it's time to replace the Vento and already considering Honda City as the replacement for Vento,which is my dream car since my childhood.

Which is the best one as the replacement for Vento which is cheaper to maintain and reliable than Germans?