Need a Second Car at Home. Budget: Rs.15 Lakh

Thread Starter #76
I have got a doubt.Is Ciaz Diesel SHVS or City Diesel IDTEC a good replacement for Vento TDI 1.6?Just asking whether it's a good upgrade or not.The Ciaz or City may not be a good upgrade from Vento in terms of engine performance.

Will be replacing Vento after completing 90,000 Kms as the present odo is over 82000 Kms.

And I feel Creta or XUV are the proper replacements for Vento TDI.

Thread Starter #77
My father has decided to put money on an Innova.No,this will not replace Vento.We may buy an used Innova as new one is over ₹18L and new one is getting launched in 2016.Finding used Innova with less run and less price seems to be rare.My father had approached an agent for used Innova.Till now,I had seen 2 Innovas for sale.

1 is 2011 VX 7 seater in sky blue colour-81000 Kms run and asking price is ₹11.25L.Non accidental vehicle and could negotiate till ₹10.5-10.75L.
Next is 2012 VX 7 seater in grey colour-56000 Kms run and asking price is ₹12.75L.Negotiable till ₹12.25L.

Our search for an used Innova will never end.I hope we will end up with an Innova,which is used rarely and at less price by this month end or next month end(2015 end to be precise).Then,replacement for Vento will be bought in 2016 as it will complete 90,000 Kms.

Regarding replacement for Vento,City seems to be a best upgrade as my requirements are features,rear seat comfort,less maintenance(will never go for VAG cars or German cars,whatever it is) and peace of mind.But,Abarth Punto came into my mind due to its mouth watering performance and looks.If we buy an used Innova,our Vento usage may get reduced and we may go for a City VX Petrol CVT or Abarth.

If it is City,will go for Petrol and if it's Verna,will go for Diesel.

My father has decided to put money on an Innova.Finding used Innova with less run and less price seems to be rare.My father had approached an agent for used Innova.Till now,I had seen 2 Innovas for sale.

1 is 2011 VX 7 seater in sky blue colour-81000 Kms run and asking price is ₹11.25L.Non accidental vehicle and could negotiate till ₹10.5-10.75L.
Next is 2012 VX 7 seater in grey colour-56000 Kms run and asking price is ₹12.75L.Negotiable till ₹12.25L.

Our search for an used Innova will never end.I hope we will end up with an Innova,which is used rarely and at less price by this month end or next month end(2015 end to be precise)
I would suggest you dear if you or your agent can pick out a pre-owned Innova of a Doctor or if you can check for any used Innova in Army Disposal. I believe army disposal vehicles are often well maintained and less used and so is with doctors in my personal opinion. Of the 2 options stated by you, I would suggest go for 2012 model as its less used.

Thread Starter #79
I would suggest you dear if you or your agent can pick out a pre-owned Innova of a Doctor or if you can check for any used Innova in Army Disposal. I believe army disposal vehicles are often well maintained and less used and so is with doctors in my personal opinion. Of the 2 options stated by you, I would suggest go for 2012 model as its less used.

Thanks for the suggestion Akash Bhai.My father is showing interest on this 2012 Innova as of now whereas I'm showing inter st on 2011 Innova due to less price.

Music_Swift, keep in mind that Royal Enfields and Innovas hardly depreciate. [:)]

So it might not be a cool decision to go for a used Innova until you have no other options left. See you are getting a 3 year old car with 50k+ km on the odometer for above 12 Lacs! Innova clearly was overpriced so as to start and the used car price seem to be even heftier. I would still suggest you to look for another car in the same budget, though a little less reliable one but a newer and lesser run model. A less used XUV5oo top end would be a good buy for your budget. What I would personally say is -
Keep your Vento (to be used by you)
Buy a used XUV5oo or something in 8-9 Lacs (to be used by your Dad)
You can later sell off the Vento and get a petrol premium hatchback or compact sedan for yourself.

Out of the 2 cars, if you can get the 2011 one at 10.5, then it makes a strong case for itself. 81k km doesn't matter as it is a small number for an Innova. I am suspicious about the 2012 model with 51k km only - meter tampering is common these days so you need to be double sure before plonking in the cash.

Thread Starter #81
Thanks for the inputs ice_wise bro.Had avoided this cars and still looking for it.But,Skoda had come up with new offer 'Buy in 2015,Pay in 2017' on Rapid.This seems to be a good offer as we are in tight situation right now.Have decided to sell our Swift VDI June 2011 version,which has run 63000 Kms in 4.5 years.This car is used by my brother and not in use since my uncle passed away in 2014 March and when he passed away,the odo was about 40000 Kms and car has aged badly due to beatings in Hyd traffic by morons and typical Maruti rattles.Since last few months,my dad had been pestering my brother to sell the Swift due to its age.After seeing this,had came up with the idea to sell the Swift and told my father that,"Shall we sell brother's Swift and get Rapid?"He immediately said okay and he asked my brother to sell the car as we are getting good resale being Swift Diesel.Expecting ₹4.25-4.5L as selling price of Swift.Coming to the car,he had replaced tie rods recently and stock tyres have worn out.Replacing tyres would cost us about ₹16-17000.

I would rather avoid that offer. You will end up paying higher then person who buys if without Finance and one who has financed it. I don't see any benefit in that apart from Low EMIs. Skoda will be milking money from it, all these offers are being offered not to make Rapid VFM but to see off the huge inventory they have at their plant in Pune.

Two of my friends had liked Rapid but have now bought a S Cross & City. I would advice you to stay away from Rapid because you already have owned the similar car in Vento. If I was in you're situation, I would have bought other Non VAG cars (Rapid/Vento).

Thread Starter #83
I would rather avoid that offer. You will end up paying higher then person who buys if without Finance and one who has financed it. I don't see any benefit in that apart from Low EMIs. Skoda will be milking money from it, all these offers are being offered not to make Rapid VFM but to see off the huge inventory they have at their plant in Pune.

Two of my friends had liked Rapid but have now bought a S Cross & City. I would advice you to stay away from Rapid because you already have owned the similar car in Vento. If I was in you're situation, I would have bought other Non VAG cars (Rapid/Vento).
Thanks for the inputs Nishanth.Still considering Rapid under this offer.Or else,will consider going i20,Aspire,Zest or Figo and will have a look at S-Cross Zeta 1.3,which is priced at ₹11.5L with all needed features.

Thread Starter #84
Dropped the idea of buying Rapid under no EMI scheme due to some reasons like shifting house to new place and things are getting stabilised as of now.Now,back to square one.Two of my friends had shifted to AT from Manual recently by buying a Creta by one friend and Rapid DSG by another friend.They are aged more than 20 but my father,whose age is 52,still drives a manual and with increasing traffic in city due to metro work,suggesting him to buy an AT car like Vento TDI DSG or Creta AT.But,the problem is the car is driven 90% by driver whereas 5% by dad and 5% by mom on weekends.My mom drives Vento rarely when she has emergency work.Other than that,she is 99% mostly chauffeured.But,the problem is when she takes the car,my dad does carpooling in Superb,BMW and Innova mostly.So,told my dad to get a second car for mom so that I and she can drive the car as I'm turning 18 this year.The car is mostly driven by me in another 6 months without driver.My dad is currently planning to buy XUV by retaining our present Vento,which has run 86000 Kms as of now.Searching for new car since we sold our M800 in Oct 2013 and Innova in 2014,still there is no sign of buying new car from my father.The year 2014 and 2015 were worst years for us financially.I hope this year would be a good year for us because some important things are getting stabilised and shifted to new house as we faced losses in business when we were in previous house.So,that's the reason we shifted from old place to new place a month ago.

Buying new car in this year is one of my new year resolutions.Hope dream gets true.Im asking my father to get a car like Polo,i20 or Baleno for me or mom first so that he could buy bigger one like XUV or Creta replacing Vento.But,the fact is we can't buy 2 cars as IT people will raid our house and we may fall in the trouble.

When I asked my friends that shall I buy sportsbike like KTM Duke or RC,CBR and R15,all are saying no due to safety issues and accidents happening on roads.I think I should wait for few years to buy new bike and till then,I'll be driving the car and when I feel the need in buying bike,I ask my parents for that.Even my family members are dead against bikes due to being only son to my parents.So,decided to buy scooter for short trips and then use the car for long trips in city or highways.

Hope our search for buying new car gets ended in few weeks or few months.Sorry for such a long post.

Thread Starter #85
People,we are still in confusion whether we should replace Vento with bigger one or buy a second car like hatch and replace Vento with bigger one after few months.

Which is best?

People,we are still in confusion ... Which is best?
So many answers ... Seriously.

1. Ready Cash Available :
If VFM and A$$ are important, get a Ciaz Petrol.
If backseat comfort is important, get a Sunny.
If power is important, get a Verna CRDi or a Linea T-Jet or City Petrol.
If size matters, get a Duster.
If status + comfort are important, get an Altis Petrol.
If mileage is important, get a Hatchback.

2. Ready Cash is Tight:
If it's 90% Chauffer driven and if Vento can continue for few more months, a hatch can step in as a 2nd Car. I would recommend any hatch with immediate delivery. Soon you will spot "the ONE" Car and will replace the Vento. Example ? I waited for years, till I spotted Rapid and got the Verna.

My 2 cents on your 6 month quest :
Since last June you are having this problem to replace Vento. I sense a compulsion. You are sort of fed up with Vento. Is your father fed up too ? You mentioned about a little financial hiccup. Is investing in a Car possible now ? Above all Who is the deciding authority at home in financial matters ? Your answers to these questions will bring out the clarity for you and us. Care to share ?

To sign off, I'll share an incidence.

Last month an acquaintance (who has booked Creta) asked, when I would change Verna. I replied, "Give me 10 Lacs and I'll change it." He pursued irritatingly. I asked, "Did you feel the need to change your Wag-R when I bought Verna ? You see, it is my money, my opinion, my comfort and my car. Darn to what some idiot thinks". Bugger became silent.

Life is simple. People complicate it.

Thread Starter #87
So many answers ... Seriously.

1. Ready Cash Available :
If VFM and A$$ are important, get a Ciaz Petrol.
If backseat comfort is important, get a Sunny.
If power is important, get a Verna CRDi or a Linea T-Jet or City Petrol.
If size matters, get a Duster.
If status + comfort are important, get an Altis Petrol.
If mileage is important, get a Hatchback.

2. Ready Cash is Tight:
If it's 90% Chauffer driven and if Vento can continue for few more months, a hatch can step in as a 2nd Car. I would recommend any hatch with immediate delivery. Soon you will spot "the ONE" Car and will replace the Vento. Example ? I waited for years, till I spotted Rapid and got the Verna.

My 2 cents on your 6 month quest :
Since last June you are having this problem to replace Vento. I sense a compulsion. You are sort of fed up with Vento. Is your father fed up too ? You mentioned about a little financial hiccup. Is investing in a Car possible now ? Above all Who is the deciding authority at home in financial matters ? Your answers to these questions will bring out the clarity for you and us. Care to share ?

To sign off, I'll share an incidence.

Last month an acquaintance (who has booked Creta) asked, when I would change Verna. I replied, "Give me 10 Lacs and I'll change it." He pursued irritatingly. I asked, "Did you feel the need to change your Wag-R when I bought Verna ? You see, it is my money, my opinion, my comfort and my car. Darn to what some idiot thinks". Bugger became silent.

Life is simple. People complicate it.
2nd one seems to be good option as of now because we have only one car at home right now and one more car will be used by me and my mom as I will turn 18 this year.Im asking my father since we sold 2 cars in last two years.But,he is still not convinced with it and some things are not happening in a good way.He is saying that he will give the Vento to us and he will buy something like XUV,Innova or Creta.If we sell Vento right now for an SUV,buying second one would be a problem because my family can't invest one more car in same year.So,2nd car seems to be a good option as of now.And,one more thing,I'm getting rid of my Vento because I don't feel comfortable at all sitting in the rear middle seat as I feel more cramped.Vento is best as a 4 seater,not as a 5 seater and recently met with an accident and got a bill of ₹1.3L.When we decided to exchange Vento for another Vento in Sept 2015,this time DSG,got an estimation of ₹5.5L,which we felt too low as per our expectations and rejected it immediately and decided to retain the Vento for some time.But,I'm not getting the new car feel in Vento after accident.Now,begging my father to exchange Vento TDI MT for Vento TDI DSG for ease to drive in city traffic.His friends are also suggesting him to get an Auto transmission for himself and he feels disinterested as of now.His requirement is he wants an SUV to seat 7 people in the car and it should be easy for my grandmother,whose age is more than 75,to come outside and sit inside.Even my requirement is also the same but want Auto transmission this time as my parents are driving manuals for more than a decade.

A slight disadvantage of Creta AT is smaller than XUV,pricey and lack of top end with many features,which is not an issue for my father,who rarely prefers those features.But,his main requirement is safety features like Airbags,ABS should be available in every car.

I just got fed up with his answers that 'I'll buy a new car soon,soon and sooner'.I had been waiting for new car since last few months or few years,which my dream didn't get fulfilled till now.Whenever I ask him about second car at home,he gives routine answers and I get frustrated.Our Indian fathers does this type of things and never listen to us.

Hope,it will get fulfilled in another 1 or 2 months.

People,we are still in confusion whether we should replace Vento with bigger one or buy a second car like hatch and replace Vento with bigger one after few months.

Which is best?
I don't think Ciaz or city would be a replacement for vento. The suggestion would be to get a hatch and wait for some months and go for octavia or jetta.

@ Music_Swift

Your dad will decide which car to buy and when. He knows the financial situ and the "macro" need. This is what I get from your posts.

Life gets simple or complicated depending on if you are going after what you NEED or what you WANT. I would want to drive a Beemer; a Verna is good enough for my needs. I drove a Matiz for 13 years. HAPPILY.

You said you were fed up with his answers and the looooong wait : there is more to life than buying a 2nd Car. Many people do not have a Car; your family has a powerful big Sedan ! Change your priorities.

Thread Starter #90
I don't think Ciaz or city would be a replacement for vento. The suggestion would be to get a hatch and wait for some months and go for octavia or jetta.
@ Music_Swift

Your dad will decide which car to buy and when. He knows the financial situ and the "macro" need. This is what I get from your posts.

Life gets simple or complicated depending on if you are going after what you NEED or what you WANT. I would want to drive a Beemer; a Verna is good enough for my needs. I drove a Matiz for 13 years. HAPPILY.

You said you were fed up with his answers and the looooong wait : there is more to life than buying a 2nd Car. Many people do not have a Car; your family has a powerful big Sedan ! Change your priorities.
nag2fat-Yes,City and Ciaz will never come close to Vento in terms of performance,fit and finish.Yes,hatch seems to be good option as a second car than buying a car as a replacement for Vento.

Vijay_968-Yes,what you said is a fact.I even warned my father if you don't buy new car,I'll buy new two wheeler to which he didn't agree.Still waiting and waiting.Yesterday,got an offer from my uncle,who is body shop manager in VW,for refurbishing our Vento with fresh coat of paint,to which we agreed it to get it done.

Now,the question is,retain Vento and buy an hatch like Figo TDCI(this seems to be yummiest option for me due to 100 BHP hot hatch Diesel),Polo TDI(considering due to my previous good experiences made me to think buying VW),Jazz(It's a Honda),i20(Love it's looks)as a second car so that I can use it or sell Vento and buy an SUV or Sedan with AT and retain Vento and buy an SUV like XUV,Innova and Creta.First option were voted by many in my circle.My guess is first option would be the successful option due to many votes from my circle.