Need a Second Car at Home. Budget: Rs.15 Lakh

Thread Starter #46
Ok lets forget about replacement for Vento.I have been looking for used 3rd Gen Honda City(Arrow shot design) since ages.BTW,I have seen 3-4 used Honda City's in OLX and other websites.One is 2011 City VMT which has done 37500 Km in Urban Titanium colour and asking price is ₹6.5L.Had a chat with that and reason for sale is buying XUV500 W10 AWD.Other one is 2010 Honda City VAT,which has run just 16500 Km and colour is white.Asking price is ₹5.85L and this guy is a dealer.Previous owner was a gold shop owner.This one has touch screen HU.We have decided to look this car in person since my father visits to the place where the car is available and one more is 2011 City VMT in Urban Titanium colour(again but sold by different guy) has run 45000 Km and asking price is ₹6.65L.I felt 2010 one is VFM because it has AT,touch screen.But,I was bit hesitant on this vehicle whether it's an accident vehicle or not.Hope my search for used cars ends with Honda City.

Thread Starter #47
Update-My father had a look at that 2010 Honda City AT one and got to know that it's an accident vehicle by looking at those panel gaps.Hope I will end up buying nicely maintained City soon.

And other update,he got disappointed with XUV's comfort.He said XUV is the worst car when it comes to comfort and it shakes badly.He expected much on XUV but in the end Innova is a winner for him.He felt Innova is a proven vehicle and has better comfort than XUV.BTW,this car has done 80K Km and facing issues by the owner.

Update-My father had a look at that 2010 Honda City AT one and got to know that it's an accident vehicle by looking at those panel gaps.Hope I will end up buying nicely maintained City soon.

And other update,he got disappointed with XUV's comfort.He said XUV is the worst car when it comes to comfort and it shakes badly.He expected much on XUV but in the end Innova is a winner for him.He felt Innova is a proven vehicle and has better comfort than XUV.BTW,this car has done 80K Km and facing issues by the owner.
ask him to check out storme. i know your not that fond of tata however this is the best suv in the cost bracket. and if i may stretch check aria too.

I am asking you to check and not buy

Thread Starter #49
ask him to check out storme. i know your not that fond of tata however this is the best suv in the cost bracket. and if i may stretch check aria too.

Sorry no Tata vehicles as my dad doesn't want to pay much for a Tata car.The only Tata which he liked is Zest that too due to availability of AMT in Diesel.

BTW,my dad saw Creta at Hyundai showroom today and found taller than Ecosport,Terrano and Duster.The version which we are considering is 1.6 SX+ AT or 1.6 SX(O) and found that it has the difference of just ₹3000 between these two variants.The only grouse with Creta is pricing.In that pricing you could get an Innova GX and on road price of Creta is ₹16.2L.

Innova GX at that price point is a 10 year old car. Do you really think it justifies itself at that price? It doesnt even get ABS and just one Air bag. Toyota is looting its customers just because of its reliability.

Thread Starter #51
Innova GX at that price point is a 10 year old car. Do you really think it justifies itself at that price? It doesnt even get ABS and just one Air bag. Toyota is looting its customers just because of its reliability.
Why we like Innova because its a proven vehicle,can clock lacs of kms, excellent rear seat space and comfort.Now,Innova GX has 2 airbags since 2015.

But my worry on Creta is pricing.It almsots costs as much as Innova and my dad's friends are suggesting him to look at Innova.

See dear, Innova and Creta are of separate segments. Space of Innova and Creta are unmatched. Moreover as you said Innova is tested one so in comparison, Creta is a new product and yet to settle in our market. Also, waiting period of Creta is going to be high. So I would also say, Innova any day over Creta.

Innova or Creta!

Put aside everything; if I have to put my money and I have to select between a Hyundai and a Toyota; then definitely it will be a Toyota.
No matter what but the overall comfort that the Innova offers is still unmatched and so is the bulletproof reliability (Innova is my preferred vehicle now for full night and long drives on unknown routes, there is a valid reason behind that). Maybe some will jeer at me for this statement but that doesn't change the truth. Does it?

You're dad's friends are absolutely correct. Nothing comes close to Innova in it's price range, the only real rival is the XUV500, but it attracts different buyers. I think Indians will fall in love with Creta because of the Features and nothing else apart from that. With Duster it was more of a new segment along with excellent Ride & Good Handling. The Ecosport became instant hit because of the price. But the Creta is not here, not there.
The Innova is a complete package, so no question about which is better product, Innova any day over Creta. If you're looking at a compact SUV save yourself around 1.5 lakhs and get Duster 2WD/AWD or save 4 lakhs & get a Ecosport. Or spend 17 lakh & get a Innova instead of this stupid overpriced, not so VFM, not so unique Creta.

Why don't you consider the Skoda Rapid? It's spacious, has strong built quality, provides an excellent ride with handling characteristics at high speed. That’s the car you would want to own and drive.

Though Music_Swift has ruled it out, to admit the truth, Safari is the ONLY car under 15 lacs, from ANY "Indian, Japanese, Korean, American, Italian" manufacturer to ever stretch my Verna on open roads.

If only TATAs could manage to translate their "Tata Steel Brand Image" to their cars . . .

Thread Starter #57
Thank you everyone for the suggestion.Yeah,Innova seems to be a good choice over Creta but my father is leaning towards Creta due to its looks.But,when I said him there are two engines in Diesel,he said will book 1.4 one as it is VFM than 1.6 one.But,one of my dad's friend has suggested to go for 1.6 over 1.4 due to better performance.But,I'm against Creta due to its pricing.Instead I'm suggesting him to get a sedan like City,Verna or Ciaz.But,due to tight parking since last few days due to entrance of my new neighbour's Fluidic Verna into my apartment,hatch seems to be a better option.

Thread Starter #58
Decided to exchange our Vento for another Vento as our present one had met with an accident and it's costing ₹1.65L to get it repaired and it has clocked 80,000 Kms too and getting some excellent discounts from VW.This time we may go for white,grey or blue Vento as I like the look in those colours.

About second car,we are still deciding whether we should go for a hatch or SUV as the parking space in our apartment is very less.I had suggested my dad to get Swift for mom but he is still wanting my mom to drive the Vento and get another one like Innova or Creta.I had an argument regarding this matter with dad and its hard to convince him.An hatch is best for a middle aged lady as she can't handle the power of the sedan.I had lost faith on my mother's driving since she smashed the Vento's front body.

Thread Starter #59
Confusion again starts.We are in two minds whether we should sell our Vento and buy another Vento by exchanging the present one or retain this one or buy something like Innova,Creta or others within ₹8L like Swift,Zest.

Confusion again starts.We are in two minds whether we should sell our Vento and buy another Vento by exchanging the present one or retain this one or buy something like Innova,Creta or others within 6´48L like Swift,Zest.
Why not sell the Vento & get a Creta/Duster/Innova. In case you require 2 cars, you can retain the Vento. If you're ready to invest in 2 cars, you can exchange Vento for a new one & get a new car as well.