My Silver Maruti Esteem Vxi 2006

Thread Starter #61

Esteem was sent for service and some repairs. Here is the bill and it took 4 days in all to get everything set. Yet, a new spare wheel is needed and the music system is to be rectified for a electric fault. Total amount 11K

20150802_130959.jpg

Thread Starter #65

Then why is it mentioned as "Alternator Overhaul" in the invoice? Should that be Alternator removal & Fixing charge?
Rightly pointed Satish. I cross checked the bill and in that there is a mention of Generator assembly that is Rs. 4600 and the "overhaul" part is fixing up charge for the same which is charged under labor. They have mentioned a wrong term as "overhaul". What to do yaar these billing people are I guess ill-informed. Anyways, bigger thing happened, the silencer of the Esteem came crashing down when the car passed over a speed breaker today morning as dad told me. The car is sounding like generator. The driver has tied it back with a rope. I'll post a pic of the part that broke off while being driven today. I need to take up this matter with uncle on serious basis. Thanks a lot for pointing this fact Satish. Now Maruti is testing me[anger].

Thread Starter #67

Hey Akash Bhai,nice review.Esteem was one of the best car ever made by Maruti. BTW,are you planning to sell your Esteem for new car?
My pleasure dear. Ya I do intend to eventually sell it off but the dilemma being faced is whether to sell it at offered price of 50-60K to dealer or go outside and sell it at Rs. 90-95K. I am working on this situation, lets see how its solved.

Why not sell it for ₹90-95K outside?I think same version Esteem sells at the same price at your place right?And,what's the replacement for your Esteem?I guess you are going for Ciaz right or SUV?

Thread Starter #69

Why not sell it for ₹90-95K outside?I think same version Esteem sells at the same price at your place right?
See I got the car evaluated by True Value and was quoted 50K couple of months back. Upon listening I sent the evaluation guy back. Immediately got it evaluated by scrap dealer and it was calculated as worth 92 K approx that time. Inquired in general at some more places got the quotes between 90K to 1 Lac. So informed dad on the same. Now, we are evaluating the selling prepositions and soon a final decision has to be taken any how.

And,what's the replacement for your Esteem?I guess you are going for Ciaz right or SUV?
CIAZ was certainly a viable replacement since it was to be used by Dad. However, upon the incident of evaluation done by Maruti True Value and my uncle's helpless attitude, we called off the deal. At present we are considering sedan options only. I am even OK with CS but dad is not. He is thinking from heart and I am thinking on practicality. In today's traffic, using big cars is tough. I know well, how difficult is to keep my other 2 cars i.e SX4 and CITY dent free on roads. Let me see what the result comes to be.

Small Update on repair: In a week ended up paying 16K for repairs. About 11K was done on Sunday and 5K approx done today as replaced right front shocker coil, silencer bracket and the AC Fan/motor which caught fire yesterday evening after car reached home. Luckily dad and his driver were out of the car before that.

20150806_155132.jpg

See I got the car evaluated by True Value and was quoted 50K couple of months back. Upon listening I sent the evaluation guy back. Immediately got it evaluated by scrap dealer and it was calculated as worth 92 K approx that time. Inquired in general at some more places got the quotes between 90K to 1 Lac. So informed dad on the same. Now, we are evaluating the selling prepositions and soon a final decision has to be taken any how.

CIAZ was certainly a viable replacement since it was to be used by Dad. However, upon the incident of evaluation done by Maruti True Value and my uncle's helpless attitude, we called off the deal. At present we are considering sedan options only. I am even OK with CS but dad is not. He is thinking from heart and I am thinking on practicality. In today's traffic, using big cars is tough. I know well, how difficult is to keep my other 2 cars i.e SX4 and CITY dent free on roads. Let me see what the result comes to be.

Small Update on repair: In a week ended up paying 16K for repairs. About 11K was done on Sunday and 5K approx done today as replaced right front shocker coil, silencer bracket and the AC Fan/motor which caught fire yesterday evening after car reached home. Luckily dad and his driver were out of the car before that.

All the best for your next car Akash Bhai.BTW,you had booked Ertiga before right and why did you cancel it?

Thread Starter #71

All the best for your next car Akash Bhai.BTW,you had booked Ertiga before right and why did you cancel it?
Well ya we did book a Gray Ertiga last year but had to cancel it due to couple of unavoidable reasons.

1) Due to an unsuccessful attempt of saving the life of a loved one in my family. I lost my Bua's husband even after making all the best efforts and giving financial support. I sacrificed my dream for saving their household and to save the life of a loved person which I could not unfortunately.

Here's the invoice and token payment done for the Ertiga last year!

step0001 (1).jpg

step0001.jpg

2) I saw this type of casual attitude of the stockyard people towards a new car. My allocated Ertiga was banged from rear by Dzire.

Ertiga.jpg

So due to both the above reason, I finally avoided to buy it.

Thread Starter #72

Update:

Friends, My Esteem went for repairs today. Issue was the sudden decrease in the engine oil levels within exactly 3 months and approx 2500 Kms after the oil change from ASC only. Today upon reaching the ASC, I first got the remaining oil drained and it was about a liter only which was left (original quantity 3.3L). Upon showing it to my uncle and cross checking the service records it was found that the engine after running 1.77 Lac Kms as on date has started to consume oil at a much higher rate. Though till now there is no leakage in the engine. My uncle suggested that it is better to get "Half Engine Assembly" replaced. According to the floor manager and my uncle, the lower half of the engine shall be replaced by another Esteem's engine which they have.

Now listening to this, I have few doubts:

* The Donner Esteem is not a scrap one. It is a car that came for repair but was never taken back. How should I trust the car's history?

* I wished to see the car in physical, see its engine and ODO before anything else. I doubt the engine to be in good condition as the car has been just standing for more than a year if I am right.

* Will changing the lower half of Engine require any updating in the car's RC as engine is from another car?

* Once engine work is done, the performance of the car will never be the same. Moreover, with a used engine, the reliability will definitely be another cause of concern!

* It shall require 1 day to transplant the half engine from the Donner to my Esteem.

* Should I sell it off and save my self from hassle?

* Attaching bill for today's repair. (The mileage in the bill is incorrectly mentioned by service people.) Actual mileage as of today is 1.77 Lac Kms.

* Fuel Flap and Gear Lever Rubber also got replaced today.

20151102_123641.jpg

20151102_131254.jpg

20151102_131342.jpg

20151102_151139.jpg

Update:

Friends, My Esteem went for repairs today. Issue was the sudden decrease in the engine oil levels within exactly 3 months and approx 2500 Kms after the oil change from ASC only. Today upon reaching the ASC, I first got the remaining oil drained and it was about a liter only which was left (original quantity 3.3L). Upon showing it to my uncle and cross checking the service records it was found that the engine after running 1.77 Lac Kms as on date has started to consume oil at a much higher rate. Though till now there is no leakage in the engine. My uncle suggested that it is better to get "Half Engine Assembly" replaced. According to the floor manager and my uncle, the lower half of the engine shall be replaced by another Esteem's engine which they have.

Now listening to this, I have few doubts:

* The Donner Esteem is not a scrap one. It is a car that came for repair but was never taken back. How should I trust the car's history?

* I wished to see the car in physical, see its engine and ODO before anything else. I doubt the engine to be in good condition as the car has been just standing for more than a year if I am right.

* Will changing the lower half of Engine require any updating in the car's RC as engine is from another car?

* Once engine work is done, the performance of the car will never be the same. Moreover, with a used engine, the reliability will definitely be another cause of concern!

* It shall require 1 day to transplant the half engine from the Donner to my Esteem.

* Should I sell it off and save my self from hassle?

* Attaching bill for today's repair. (The mileage in the bill is incorrectly mentioned by service people.) Actual mileage as of today is 1.77 Lac Kms.

* Fuel Flap and Gear Lever Rubber also got replaced today.

Hay buddy , just a friendly advice from my side: 1.77 lac kms are more than enough bro, you guys have already squeezed it like a lemon ( bache ki jaan loge kya [lol]) , don't go with those surgeries or transplants. There is no guarantee of Reliability of this car in future even after spending so much money . Fully restore it or replace it.

Thread Starter #74

Hay buddy , just a friendly advice from my side: 1.77 lac kms are more than enough bro, you guys have already squeezed it like a lemon , don't go with those surgeries or transplants. There is no guarantee of Reliability of this car in future even after spending so much money. Fully restore it or replace it.
Indeed you are right Veerey. It is high-time we should sensibly move it out and replace it. For whatever it is worth, after spending 20-25K on engine, it is not even worth the present value. Replacing it seems the option. Have also spoken to Vipul (Tsi Vipul) and he'll let me know of the details by evening.