My Silver Maruti Esteem Vxi 2006

Hey Akash, good to see such a well maintained esteem. Me too having a 2004 vxi model.
Could you post a pic of front floor mats? When I tried to find one for my car all options showed by dealer were small.

Hey Akash, Me too having a 2004 vxi model.
Could you post a pic of front floor mats? When I tried to find one for my car all options showed by dealer were small.
Here you go!

Photo2086.jpg

Its the front left side floor mat. If you like then you may get it from Jatin Car Care, A shop located on the opposite side of Hyatt Hotel in New Delhi on the main road at Palika Bhavan.

Team,

Got the engine oil changed today. The same synthetic oil i.e Liqui moly was used. Total quantity was 4 L.

So, Esteem reached the Fucon Technology workshop located in sector 8, Noida.

Photo2321.jpg

The oil has been changed after running the car for 8,300 Kilometers from previous oil change.

Photo2328.jpg

The oil filter was purchased by me from Sector 16 market. Did so because the workshop charges extra "commission" on all these items. Hence, did not give them a chance. Used the purolator oil filter.

Photo2323.jpg

The preparation of oil change begins!

Photo2322.jpg

Photo2324.jpg

The old engine oil and oil filter

Photo2325.jpg

Fresh engine oil being poured in the engine.

Photo2326.jpg

Photo2327.jpg

The total expense of oil change is INR 2000 and INR 100 for interior vacuuming. Total time 40 minutes.

Esteem required max 3.5 ltr oil as per the amnual. Is that castrol brand oil you filled?Only Rs.2K for 4 ltr synthetic engine oil? looks like engine room not cleaned for long duration. in maruti ASS, they will do some chemical cleaning in engine room if you instructed. Cost is rs.400 here in kochi.

I used the Liqui moly full synthetic oil for the car. I was under the impression that it uses 4 L since Maruti ASC doesn't use Liqui Moly. Engine bay is actually not cleaned due to my busy schedule. Will get it cleaned in a day or two as I will visit my uncle to know about the under-test Celerio.

How is your car doing?

Mine is going fine at 73500 km. 5500km after oil change and also need to replace 2 rear tires.

while doing wheel alignment i had met another Esteem vxi owner, who just bought a 2007 used esteem vxi @ 1.4 lakhs. he had replaced all tires with Bridgestone basic tubeless tires 2 days before. i had a TD on that car just to experiance the different tire profile.
Though he told car only done 22K km that is what also seen in the meter, gearbox felt like it done more than a lakh km. Compared to that my 73k km done car gearbox felt tight and new.
I ride it only in a good road,and the road noice compared to my lxi version is very less. may be due to better door pads.Though tires giving better grip and smooth ride, i felt my lxi easily catching better speed. Due to the wider and newer tires, i didnt felt the light weight feel of esteem. Due to better interiers, driving seat height adjuster, lumbar support,rear defogger, spoiler and better tires, i felt i was driving a different model car(better luxuary).

Due to the lack of height adjustable seat in my car, i was feeling like sitting in the car plat form and driving. I will checkout is it possible to retrofit the height adjustable seat/mechanism.

looks like engine room not cleaned for long duration. in maruti ASS, they will do some chemical cleaning in engine room if you instructed.
Got the engine bay cleaned by air pipe since I was running out of time due to commitments. Will ensure its cleaned by chemical in the scheduled service.

12.jpg

step0006.jpg

Akash@

I changed engine oil & oil filter and bought 2 new tires too.

I had to drive the car alot in the next 2 weeks. So just went to local mechanic and done the oil change. Old Servo oil run around 6K km in 8 months. I had filled Mobil 10W30 oil. Also tire buying was pending due to the confusion of which tire size need to buy and which brand. Currently all tires are 155/80-13(stock size) . Front 2 tires are newly bought and run less than 1K km. Back 2 tires are on thier last stage and all are appolo acceleres.

So i was planing like either buy 2 appolo accelere 155 size(rs.2900 each), because i may sell the car within 1 year but mind telling me to check out 175/70-13(broader/Vxi size) in accelere/BS/michelin. BS & michelin rates are at around 4k RS for each tire and accelere (Rs.3600 each) were on shortage in this size. When i visited the Appolo showroom to check whether the tire is available, they shown me Appolo Amazer 4G 175/70-13 size. which almost look alike Accelere from side wall though tread design is different and cost only Rs.3350 for each tire. Bought 2 without thinking much and still not fixed on the car. This started another confusion.Either need to fix it in front and enjoy driving comfort or fix in rear for rear seat comfort.

PS-As per the tire distributers already tire companies reduced production broader size tires(175/185) in 13' size. Most of the cars coming now moved to 14' size tires. So we may face shortage of these size tires from next year onwards. Already 185 size tires for Baleno & Lancer are less available.

Front 2 tires are newly bought and run less than 1K km. Back 2 tires are on thier last stage and all are appolo acceleres.

So i was planing like either buy 2 appolo accelere 155 size(rs.2900 each), because i may sell the car within 1 year but mind telling me to check out 175/70-13(broader/Vxi size) in accelere/BS/michelin. When i visited the Appolo showroom to check whether the tire is available, they shown me Appolo Amazer 4G 175/70-13 size. which almost look alike Accelere from side wall though tread design is different and cost only Rs.3350 for each tire. Bought 2 without thinking much and still not fixed on the car. This started another confusion.Either need to fix it in front and enjoy driving comfort or fix in rear for rear seat comfort.
Buddy, I don't find the need of up-sizing 2 Tyre and other 2 remaining the same. This shall impact the overall ride quality. Even if you are going to sell the car in a year, I would suggest return both 175 section Tyre and get 155 section new Tyre only. No point in spending unnecessarily. I would suggest all 4 Tyre to be of same size only.

You should have buzzed me about this decision dear so I would have advised you accordingly.

Here is a small query about stock exhaust of my Esteem. Yesterday went to renew the PUC, the person there said, there is some "leak" in the silencer due to which reading is not accurate and suggested to get the exhaust checked.

Now, as far as I know, if there is leak in silencer then the sound of the car should be a bit loud just like a damaged exhaust but my car's sound in idle and running is still normal i.e no variation or uncalled loudness.

Can you all suggest, what could be the reason? Is there a possibility of exhaust being rusted since its not easy to check from below until car is on a lift.

Kindly suggest the remedy as I'll be taking it to the ASC within 2 hours.

There might be a minute hole in the exhaust due to rust/wear and tear which might be the cause o0f leak. And if the hole is small, the sound wont be noticeably loud.

Sorry to bump in late aakash, missed your thread.Nice crisp and superb long term report of your esteem and congratulations for the same.Can understand your dads attatchment with this car.We had the same with our padmini.
Affordable luxury sedan this was when launched and it still runs brilliantly with many owners that i see today.
I still remember my cousins new swift petrol broke down and the dealer gave us silver vxi as spare car to use for week till swift is returned, we offered to purchase that car from them,Was brilliantly maintained, engine smooth and 30K on the odo.
Regarding the exhaust, yes it may have developed the small hole which you can get it examined by uplifting it on the ramp.Sound change as akash said might not be that audible if its not too large hole.

Buddy, I don't find the need of up-sizing 2 Tyre and other 2 remaining the same. This shall impact the overall ride quality. Even if you are going to sell the car in a year, I would suggest return both 175 section Tyre and get 155 section new Tyre only. No point in spending unnecessarily. I would suggest all 4 Tyre to be of same size only.

You should have buzzed me about this decision dear so I would have advised you accordingly.

Sorry buddy for not buzzed you. I had fixed that broader tires in rear wheels. In fact i had almost spend around Rs.9500 on car lastweek. I had repleced 2 front sturts, steering ball joint, 2 rear brake cylinder and cylinder kit( due to brake cylinder jam & fluid leak).

Also done wheel alignment & balncing. Tire shop guys filled 33 psi nitragen on all wheels.Car feels more planted on the road especially rear wheels.In front wheels i cant feel the cushion effect and like, pressure is more.

Now i am thinking of options to replacing the front tires (155/80-13) also,which run only less than 1K km. Buddy, i suggest you to replace all your tires to 175/70-13, Which is the stock tire size for your Esteem Vxi. There is huge differnce in ride comfort. May be you are not much experiancing it because your roads are better than here. You just think of the ride comfort of your City in rear seat, which has 175 section tire in rear.

Here is a small query about stock exhaust of my Esteem.

Can you all suggest, what could be the reason? Is there a possibility of exhaust being rusted since its not easy to check from below until car is on a lift.

Kindly suggest the remedy as I'll be taking it to the ASC within 2 hours.

You should take the car to ASS or local workshop for checking and in case it is from a hole due to rust, you can weld it. Sometimes it may be from the silencer joints( from start to end it has 3 parts)