My Silver Maruti Esteem Vxi 2006

There might be a minute hole in the exhaust due to rust/wear and tear which might be the cause 0f leak.
Absolutely Akash, Got it checked by my uncle's dealership. Here are the pics:

Photo3093.jpg

photo3094.jpg

Got the same welded through dealership at INR 100/-

Sorry to bump in late aakash, missed your thread.Nice crisp and superb long term report of your esteem and congratulations for the same.Can understand your dads attatchment with this car.We had the same with our padmini.

Regarding the exhaust, yes it may have developed the small hole which you can get it examined by uplifting it on the ramp.
Vijay, my dad is a Cancerian by birth and does not believe in doing away with things that are close to his heart. Thanks for appreciating my efforts dear. As you know, I too had a Premier Padmini, selling it due to various constrains was one of my biggest mistake. The exhaust in my car is now rectified.

Sorry buddy for not buzzed you. I had fixed that broader tires in rear wheels. In fact i had almost spend around Rs.9500 on car lastweek. I had repleced 2 front sturts, steering ball joint, 2 rear brake cylinder and cylinder kit( due to brake cylinder jam & fluid leak).
That's too much of maintenance according to my level. Is the car driven by you or chauffeur?

Tire shop guys filled 33 psi nitragen on all wheels. Car feels more planted on the road especially rear wheels.In front wheels i cant feel the cushion effect and like, pressure is more.
The assigned pressure is 26 for all wheels. I yesterday got it topped up. The ride is way more balanced. Do not let them play around with Tyre Psi. And I would still say go for standard wheel size only for all 4 wheels.

Buddy, i suggest you to replace all your tires to 175/70-13, Which is the stock tire size for your Esteem Vxi. There is huge differnce in ride comfort. May be you are not much experiancing it because your roads are better than here. You just think of the ride comfort of your City in rear seat, which has 175 section tire in rear.
Absolutely, you suggested it to me earlier too. I'll get the wheels up-sized on next change. City and Esteem are poles apart in ride comfort.

You should take the car to ASS or local workshop for checking and in case it is from a hole due to rust, you can weld it.
Done that. And thanks for advising me on engine oil capacity too. I got it topped up today. Scolded the mechanic for pouring 4L. No charges paid for top up of 0.5 L.

Now, One thing that is haunting me,

The place from which I got the engine oil topped up, the owner told that there is "Compression" issue with the engine since the car has run 1.67L km as on date. He said after 1.2L or 1.3L km the car starts to consume engine oil and suggested me to overhaul the head of engine and some parts of pistons.

Listening to this I am in confusion as what to do. I have a few solution which are mentioned below:

1) Engine overhaul for Esteem and after that use my SX4 and Esteem for daily commute. This way Esteem will be run less from now. Discussed on same with dad.

2) Engine overhaul for Esteem and keep it for local running and use Honda and SX4 for long trips.

3) Keep Esteem maintained for another 2 years (Dad won't sell before that even If I jump from the roof) and as a lateral upgrade by Ciaz Zx in end 2015. Till then use SX4 for his commute.

4) I have seen Ciaz, In every respect its way better than Esteem. Dad will not settle for anything else than Ciaz so no point discussing that.

Finally, As discussed with dad, the compression seems to be related to combustion of engine too. So, at present my dad's chauffeur drives at 60-80km so can compression improve if I further reduce driving speed to 50-60km? Can a car with poor compression have any repercussions on highway? What are other apparent symptoms other than engine oil consumption of a poor compression?

The place from which I got the engine oil topped up, the owner told that there is "Compression" issue with the engine since the car has run 1.67L km as on date. He said after 1.2L or 1.3L km the car starts to consume engine oil and suggested me to overhaul the head of engine and some parts of pistons.
How many kms you covered after the last oil change?
How many ML of oil was needed for topping up?
Actually, I'm little confused. In your earlier post I found you were over filled, and now a top up?[confused]

How many kms you covered after the last oil change?
How many ML of oil was needed for topping up?
Actually, I'm little confused. In your earlier post I found you were over filled, and now a top up?
Hi dear, Since last oil change, the car has driven 4K kms and today topped it up with half liter even though quantity required was about a liter. Ya, earlier I was told 4L is optimum quantity of engine oil for Esteem so filled it accordingly but later on the forum, a fellow mate told its 3.5L as per manual. Hence, today's top up was as per 3.5 L only and not 4L.

Done that. And thanks for advising me on engine oil capacity too. I got it topped up today. Scolded the mechanic for pouring 4L. No charges paid for top up of 0.5 L.
Hi dear, Since last oil change, the car has driven 4K kms and today topped it up with half liter even though quantity required was about a liter. Ya, earlier I was told 4L is optimum quantity of engine oil for Esteem so filled it accordingly but later on the forum, a fellow mate told its 3.5L as per manual. Hence, today's top up was as per 3.5 L only and not 4L.
In that case , you can see white smoke on the silencer(start the car and accelerate in neutral). Sometimes due to overfill also oil burning will happen. You can do check the oil level by using the oil level check stick.

Got the same welded through dealership at INR 100/-
That is good. Original part will cost rs.3600 approx in MGP.

That's too much of maintenance according to my level. Is the car driven by you or chauffeur?
My car is driven by me only. Front struts were reaching their end of life. Mechanic told it may run for 5-6 k km or more, if we do change some bushes and bearing. But the ride with more than 2 people on car was bad.
I dont want again open the car after some months and that will make additional expenses. Original struts at MGP cost 1800 for each and additioanal 450 for strut kit.
Also we cant avoid brake cylinder replacements too. For total work, local mechanic charged Rs.1100.
I had visited the local MASS for strut replacement, Service engineer and mechanics there are very friendly to me. They told the shock absorbers are perfect.
In case any sounds or even small issues in my ride, i will feel disturbed and i cant ride it comfortably or cant enjoy the ride. Thats why i am not going for any adjustments and done replacemnt. So that i dont have to worry about that part for couple of years.

The assigned pressure is 26 for all wheels. I yesterday got it topped up. The ride is way more balanced. Do not let them play around with Tyre Psi. And I would still say go for standard wheel size only for all 4 wheels.
You are right brother, but at 26 psi, tire feel very deflated.Though ride may be comfortable, tire life will be less and milage also less. I think 30 psi is enough.

Absolutely, you suggested it to me earlier too. I'll get the wheels up-sized on next change. City and Esteem are poles apart in ride comfort.
Bro, you are not upsizing. Currently your car is under tired. What you done to your car is like fixing a swift lxi tire to ZXi.

You change it back to stock size and then compare the rear seat comfort with city. We have a city in our family too and it also have 175 section tires.
Though suspension tuning may be different, both old city and esteem vxi have almost same tire width and circumferance.(175/65-14 & 175/70-13)
Many converted their esteem to city spec tires when upgrading to alloy.

Now, One thing that is haunting me,

I think it is possible to do compression test in MASS itself. If the car needs piston/cylinder/valve replacements, better to go for Maruti half engine. It is VFM, easier and last longer. order it in your MASS or nearest MGP shop. It is like you fixing a new engine.

Listening to this I am in confusion as what to do. I have a few solution which are mentioned below:

1) Engine overhaul for Esteem and after that use my SX4 and Esteem for daily commute. This way Esteem will be run less from now. Discussed on same with dad.

2) Engine overhaul for Esteem and keep it for local running and use Honda and SX4 for long trips.

3) Keep Esteem maintained for another 2 years (Dad won't sell before that even If I jump from the roof) and as a lateral upgrade by Ciaz Zx in end 2015. Till then use SX4 for his commute.
May be the issue due to overfill of oil.Ecess oil may be burned. If it still has oil burning and you are not going to use the car for more than 2 years, open the ening in any good local workshops and check out what all are need replacement. get that spares only from MGP store or local used spare stores. i am sure if you replaced with original spares/half engine, this engine will last another 1.5 lakh km. Only nee to wory about metal quality on body[evil]

Then use it for local usuage and sell it later. There is no point in keeping more cars, if usage is less. so better to sell bad car or the one has better resale value.

4) I have seen Ciaz, In every respect its way better than Esteem. Dad will not settle for anything else than Ciaz so no point discussing that.
no point in compaing Esteem and ciaz. both are different generations and different segments.

Finally, As discussed with dad, the compression seems to be related to combustion of engine too. So, at present my dad's chauffeur drives at 60-80km so can compression improve if I further reduce driving speed to 50-60km? Can a car with poor compression have any repercussions on highway? What are other apparent symptoms other than engine oil consumption of a poor compression?
I dont think compression will improve by driving slower. Day by day the car will lose the pick up, milage and oil burning will be more.You can extend the engine work by daily checking and oil top up.

In that case , you can see white smoke on the silencer(start the car and accelerate in neutral).
Accepted!

That is good. Original part will cost rs.3600 approx in MGP.
INR 4500/- as quoted by SA, though I never pay heed to their suggestions, simply inform the repairs to my uncle. He takes the call on the same.

In case any sounds or even small issues in my ride, i will feel disturbed and i cant ride it comfortably or cant enjoy the ride. Thats why i am not going for any adjustments and done replacemnt. So that i dont have to worry about that part for couple of years.
Absolutely, stitch in time saves nine.

You are right brother, but at 26 psi, tire feel very deflated.Though ride may be comfortable, tire life will be less and milage also less.
With 26PSi I get a mileage of 14.5 in city roads with 1 point AC just to avoid dust.

Bro, you are not upsizing. Currently your car is under tired. What you done to your car is like fixing a swift lxi tire to ZXi.
Accepted.

I think it is possible to do compression test in MASS itself. If the car needs piston/cylinder/valve replacements, better to go for Maruti half engine. It is VFM, easier and last longer. order it in your MASS or nearest MGP shop. It is like you fixing a new engine.
Will send the car to my uncle's dealership for all the tests and replacement in January 2015.

May be the issue due to overfill of oil. If it still has oil burning and you are not going to use the car for more than 2 years, open the ening in any good local workshops and check out what all are need replacement. Only nee to wory about metal quality on body
I'll get it all checked up at dealership. I am not worried on quality part as after my uncle, I have authority to keep a check on the work floor, so will supervise all the job.

Then use it for local usuage and sell it later. There is no point in keeping more cars, if usage is less. so better to sell bad car or the one has better resale value.
I'll sell it maybe in end of 2015 or early 2016. I am just waiting for my marriage to be over in 2015's 2nd half. Till then SX4 is there.

no point in compaing Esteem and ciaz. both are different generations and different segments.
Its just a thought, though actually they are both of different generations. But my Dad is stuck on Ciaz petrol with AT. He knows the benefit of AT.[lol]

I dont think compression will improve by driving slower. Day by day the car will lose the pick up, milage and oil burning will be more.You can extend the engine work by daily checking and oil top up.
Agreed.

1st day of the New year hasn't been lucky for my Esteem[sad]. Went to Sector 29 market and my driver had parked the vehicle ahead of parking as there was no place. When I came back my Driver told me a bike rider lost balance and the bike fell damaging the rear left corner of the bumper.

Photo3244.jpg

I asked him who did that, he said, They (the guys) did that. Sad part is the dishonesty shown by biker. They were 3 of them. When I clicked the pic of the bike, the biker owned up to the mistake. He said "Sorry". I told him, by telling a lie, you are insulting those bikers who are careful on road. Not every car owner will spare you.

The culprit: Red Unicorn

step0001.jpg

I felt relieved after seeing that tail lamp is Ok else I would have been in for a mess from dad.

Finally reached home and did not ask for repairs etc from them as it was a new year for them too.

Thread Starter #37

Another issue has cropped up few hours back regarding the electrical circuit!

Well I am sort of person who is fine enough if the FM is working fine in the music system and not necessarily need a CD/ USB plugged in.

My car's stereo has stopped working. Its a OEM one being used for 8.5 years and the make is Kenwood.

Photo0131.jpg

Of-late the stereo use to switch off for 2-3 seconds when car was driven and then worked fine. This thing I had been facing for a month or so. Now, today I used the lighter in the car when I went to Mahindra showroom and when I came back the driver said Stereo and Lighter are not working. I checked it and it was not switching on even with half ignition.

Then as we were on way home, the central locking began to make unwarranted sounds like door locks getting closed and the sound continued for about 30 seconds.

Now, as I am not much into intricacies of electrical, so please suggest what could be the possible cause? Is the electrical circuit of Central lock, Stereo and Lighter co-related?

PS: As I detached the Stereo's HU, then saw that the "Red" blinker of Stereo was on! So got confused as to how and what could have caused this mal-function!

Kindly Suggest!

Will be taking the car to ASC at 2pm!

Another issue has cropped up few hours back regarding the electrical circuit!

Well I am sort of person who is fine enough if the FM is working fine in the music system and not necessarily need a CD/ USB plugged in.

My car's stereo has stopped working. Its a OEM one being used for 8.5 years and the make is Kenwood.

View attachment 158594

Of-late the stereo use to switch off for 2-3 seconds when car was driven and then worked fine. This thing I had been facing for a month or so. Now, today I used the lighter in the car when I went to Mahindra showroom and when I came back the driver said Stereo and Lighter are not working. I checked it and it was not switching on even with half ignition.

Then as we were on way home, the central locking began to make unwarranted sounds like door locks getting closed and the sound continued for about 30 seconds.

Now, as I am not much into intricacies of electrical, so please suggest what could be the possible cause? Is the electrical circuit of Central lock, Stereo and Lighter co-related?

PS: As I detached the Stereo's HU, then saw that the "Red" blinker of Stereo was on! So got confused as to how and what could have caused this mal-function!

Kindly Suggest!

Will be taking the car to ASC at 2pm!

Most probably i think rats chewed the wires. Or may be due to short circuit between old uncovered or naked wires can couse this type of malfunction.
As per my knowledge there is no connection between Central locking , HU and charger port wiring .

Got this issue rectified. There was a broken wire near the fuse box. Now all is well[:D]! Due to wiring getting old, the wire's flexibility reduced and it broke.

Now the FM is buzzing like always and lighter and locking all working fine. Total bill INR 393/-.

Photo0132.jpg

Photo0133.jpg

Photo0134.jpg

Photo0136.jpg

Photo0137.jpg

Also got engine washed!

Photo0135.jpg

Also, as I was there at ASC, so decided to do a paint touch up on the car. Ended up with paint on fingers!:biggrin:

Photo3252.jpg

An enthusiast like all of us can't bear the sight of chipped paint!!

Akash@

I too had HU and lighter not working issue last week and i gueesed it will be the fuse. Went to the local accessorry shop, they were too busy. I just removed the fuse box under the steering and find that 15A fuse of Acc is gone and repleced from there at Rs.10.

I had just checked my total expense on esteem last year except petrol. It comes Rs.36655 including insurance, 3 tires, front struts, rear brake cylinders, painting and washing charges. Rs.19 k spent on last 2 months. Total run were 10500 km and petrol expense was Rs.52250 in last year.

Though the car getting old, i tried my maximum effort to make it perfect . This helped me sometimes in emgergency situation like one in last week.With family I had to attend a funeral at Bangalore(near K R puram) 3rd jan saturday @ 11am and i came to know at friday (2nd Jan) afternoon. I was at office and it was difficult to get train/bus tickets for that day and i decided to go by my car.

We(4 guys) left home by 9.45 pm and reached blr @ 6.15 morning with a total 45 mints brake for food and cofee. Returned from there same day @ 4pm and reached home @12.15 night. Rs.4500 spend for petrol and total run was on AC. Completed total 1130 kms in less than 28 hours with out any issue. Ride was super smooth, especially on rear seats (guessing due to the broadrer tires) and most of the time car was between 90-150 kmhr speed since i had to keep up with a scoda laura(my relative's) to the same destination.

Thread Starter #41

most of the time car was between 90-150 kmhr speed since i had to keep up with a scoda laura(my relative's) to the same destination.
This car is a marvel of reliable technology for sure. Its a smooth mover if kept nicely. Also, do take care of speed while driving dear since Esteem's brakes are on the lower side.

Correct. Thought of this car's weak Brakes, low light & Soft suspension will not allow us to speed up, though car is capable of great speed. Low body weight of this car, makes it faster and higher BHP/ton ratio than many new generation cars.

Brakes- though it feels weak, it never failed on my usuage till now and it acts like ABS, it had not skided in tarmac till now even on hard brakes also.

headlights- Though i upgraded the bulbs to Osaram night breaker plus 2 years before, the recent trips shown me it is not enough on highway.Thinking of upgrading to 100/90 w or higher watts bulbs .Extra expenses and the fear of reflecter life stops me from this.

Suspension- The rear suspension with the current broader tires(175/70-13) combination is almost ok, though after replacing the front struts with the narrow new tires(155/80-13) make each hits on the expansion joints on the bridges makes loud noise like hitting something under the bonnet and it felt on the entire front portion of car body.

Thread Starter #43

Esteem has gone for partial paint job.

Things to be done:

* Right ORVM to be replaced due to damaged lense.

* Upper quarter of rear bumper being changed due to chipped paint.

* Lower half of the cover below steering is being changed as its locks broke.

Total Expense: Around INR 3500 including Paint and time 2 days.

Photo0153.jpg

Photo0154.jpg

Photo0155.jpg

The parts had to be ordered on Sunday and they arrived yesterday evening. Work started!

Photo0158.jpg

OT: Saw this Ciaz for accidental repairs! Was rear ended from left corner.

Photo0157.jpg

Unprofessional Handling by Vipul Motors, Noida!

Went to see if the car was ready to be driven home. After reaching there could not find the car in the workshop and after asking my uncle, a driver from there went and got the car from about 500m and said we did not have parking space so parked it outside the premises.

Q: Who will be responsible for damage that is done by their carelessness and as it is car is not in your premises?

After the car came, checked it and found it really poorly done. The new upper quarter of the rear bumper was badly fixed with a gap of about 1/2 inch from rear quarter panel.

Upon asking where is the SA, I was told he is on weekly off. The On-Duty SA who is looking after also took leave[frustration]. So in short no one to attend to my queries. I had no choice but to set a few strings right. I did so.

Immediately my uncle came and I told him, he looked into car and accepted yes its poor workmanship. The Denter said, the clips of rear bumper are not available in whole Noida, so the SA told just fix it back like that!:mad:

I could not bear this unprofessional attitude and told my uncle that I am in no hurry to take this car. Better is to repair it properly and then give.

My uncle replied, the clips could not be arranged even in 1-2 days so better is to fix it by some other way. In doing so they scratched the darn rear quarter panel too.

My uncle said, it would need a re-paint else you get touch up done! What the hell man!! I am utterly disappointed with this attitude.

I'll be taking dad to the agency and then on Sunday, I'll collect the car and give them some "good" advice.

Re: Unprofessional Handling by Vipul Motors, Noida!

After the car came, checked it and found it really poorly done. The new upper quarter of the rear bumper was badly fixed with a gap of about 1/2 inch from rear quarter panel.

I could not bear this unprofessional attitude and told my uncle that I am in no hurry to take this car. Better is to repair it properly and then give.
I was going to ask you yesterday, whether changing only the upper piece of rear bumper will give you clean look and especially the gap between the lower and upper part of the bumper will be the same.

Once a santro just kissed my car's rear bumper and one side of the bumper lost its locks and it was hanging. As i was in hurry and no other option, visited local workshop,they just tied it with upper part within 10 minutes.The gap between upper and lower part of the bumper incresed,even in right side also. As per them,since its clips damaged, it will not be the look like earlier again. If we need, we have to replace both bumper parts and repaint it.Other option was to fix the cheap chromium strip available in the local autoshop.I just rejected it.

The issue with the SA and technicians in the ASS, i found is they only interested to work in newer cars only. Some of them have experiance in newer models only. They think like it is an old car/low value car and needed this much care only.

Whenever i told to check some issues(especially Ac or dashboard niggles), one SA in our nearest ASS will give the answer like, since it was old car, it will be like that only.Car was only 6 year old then.I given him stomach full one day.We were spending 3 times money than new car, still they cant give the preference, then it is not accepted.