My Silver Maruti Esteem Vxi 2006

Thread Starter #46

Re: Unprofessional Handling by Vipul Motors, Noida!

whether changing only the upper piece of rear bumper will give you clean look and especially the gap between the lower and upper part of the bumper will be the same.
See buddy, Changing upper part will be a good option if only it's damaged. If in case the major lower half has been damaged then if you replace upper piece so with the locks of the upper part to some extent gap can be minimized between the two.

Once a santro just kissed my car's rear bumper and one side of the bumper lost its locks and it was hanging. As i was in hurry and no other option, visited local workshop,they just tied it with upper part within 10 minutes.The gap between upper and lower part of the bumper incresed,even in right side also. As per them,since its clips damaged, it will not be the look like earlier again. If we need, we have to replace both bumper parts and repaint it.Other option was to fix the cheap chromium strip available in the local autoshop.I just rejected it.
Exactly same thing happened with my car's rare bumper and the car was a Santro. So what I did was the upper half of the bumper was taken out by my uncle's ASC and then copper wires were tied to both ends from inside. It has been almost 8 years and even after many minor rear ending the bumper has not shifted from behind. Though from side it has come out. I'll post a pic on Sunday when I have the car.

The issue with the SA and technicians in the ASS, i found is they only interested to work in newer cars only. Some of them have experiance in newer models only. They think like it is an old car/low value car and needed this much care only.
For SA's and Technicians it might be 1 more among 1000, but for the owner, its the "only 1" among 1000. That's why we owners even go to the extent of skipping meals when our cars are at workshops.

Whenever i told to check some issues(especially Ac or dashboard niggles), one SA in our nearest ASS will give the answer like, since it was old car, it will be like that only.
Its their only answer to hide their incapability. I am extremely authoritative when it comes to maintenance of my cars. Not because its my uncle's agency but simply because its my own car bought after investing hard earned money. What stake do these SA's or mechanics have in a car? PRACTICALLY NOTHING!

Car was only 6 year old then.I given him stomach full one day.We were spending 3 times money than new car, still they cant give the preference, then it is not accepted.
For them this doesn't matter. They are catering almost 200 cars daily. They are trained to do those 200 cars in number daily. So, they give a damn and do not spend needful time. To be honest, there is no difference in a ASC technician and road side technician in terms of skills. Rather, it could be, that a road side mechanic might be a blessing in disguise for us sometimes.

Thread Starter #47

The car is now back home. Drove it back around 2pm from ASC. The rear bumper gap is rectified however, from left side, the lower half of bumper still has gap of about 1/2 inch. Total amount for repair 3900/- including tax.

Photo0227.jpg

Photo0228.jpg

Photo0229.jpg

Apart from the bumper, fuel lid also looks not aligned properly.Also that bumper protecter is looks odd. Remove that also. Consult a good tinker/painter and use putty and finish it neatly.

BTW how is your Appolo Amazer 3G tires?How many Km covered. My car running on amzer 4G on rear wheels and appolo accelere on front.As far as i heard and experinced, except Amazer xl, other appolo tires will not last more than 30-35 K Kms.

After fixing new tires in the rear, car using has increased 5 times than last month. My average monthly run were almost 500-600 kms and from this Jan 1st , car has completed 2400 km now. It is the first time in mine and this cars life, i had filled for Rs.10000 (4 full tanks and more petrol)in this month itself. I had a bangalore and velankanni trips in the last 2 weekends. Milage was 17 constant in both trips even after with full load, Ac, Hi range/Ghat section & cotinuous high speed driving.

One problem i find in the trip was when we drive without ac and do a sudden acceleration, we can feel a (clutch?)burning smell inside the car for some seconds. It is not there while we start moving or accelerating after changing gears. Clutch is new only run 17K Km. Gear oil also same Km old and need replacement in 20K Km. No other issues faced.

One strange thing i noticed in my car is, even after pointer in fuel meter touch E, we can only fill 30-33 ltr petrol maximum in the 40 ltr fuel tank.That means 8-10 ltr petrol will be there in reserve. Since there is not a low fuel warning light or anything else, we couldnt utilise this petrol.Is it the same case with your too?

Thread Starter #49

Apart from the bumper, fuel lid also looks not aligned properly.Also that bumper protecter is looks odd. Remove that also. Consult a good tinker/painter and use putty and finish it neatly.
Rectified buddy on Sunday.

BTW how is your Appolo Amazer 3G tires?How many Km covered. My car running on amzer 4G on rear wheels and appolo accelere on front.As far as i heard and experinced, except Amazer xl, other appolo tires will not last more than 30-35 K Kms.
The Tyre is doing well. I replaced Tyre in Nov-2013. Since then it has done approx 25K+ kms. Still very much in good condition. One Tyre I had to change since it developed a puncture in side wall that's irreparable.

After fixing new tires in the rear, car using has increased 5 times than last month. My average monthly run were almost 500-600 kms and from this Jan 1st , car has completed 2400 km now. It is the first time in mine and this cars life, i had filled for Rs.10000 (4 full tanks and more petrol)in this month itself. I had a bangalore and velankanni trips in the last 2 weekends. No issues faced. Milage was 17 constant in both trips even after with full load, Ac, Hi range/Ghat section & cotinuous high speed driving.
Excellent, I hope you're enjoying the new found comfort of Esteem.Its an almost error free car if I may say. Do keep a check on speeds as told earlier dear.

Thanks Buddy. Your reply was so fast. I had edited my last post in that time.Could you please recheck and suggest.

I'll keep check on speeds. Though i had plan selling this for a new car,according to your suggestion, now i am thinking to keep this and go for a 8seater in less than 10 lakhs budget in this year end.

Thread Starter #51

One problem i find in the trip was when we drive without ac and do a sudden acceleration, we can feel a (clutch?)burning smell inside the car for some seconds. It is not there while we start moving or accelerating after changing gears. Clutch is new only run 17K Km. Gear oil also same Km old
See buddy, sudden acceleration is best to be avoided. The smell you may be referring to could be due to improper sync of gear and clutch. Normal acceleration in line with requisite speed is always good and healthy for the car.

One strange thing i noticed in my car is, even after pointer in fuel meter touch E, we can only fill 30-33 ltr petrol maximum in the 40 ltr fuel tank.That means 8-10 ltr petrol will be there in reserve. Since there is not a low fuel warning light or anything else, we couldnt utilise this petrol.Is it the same case with your too?
I have only once reached to this limit. And with the tankful yes around 32+ Ltr mark fuel came in. Are you sure this Esteem has 40 Ltr Capacity? I'll reconfirm with manual too since I was under impression of 35Ltr. There is no low fuel light but reserve is there and exact quantity or lack of D.T.E feature makes it ambiguous. I have never seen an Esteem getting re-fuel up to 40Lt. May be have to consult my uncle on this and get back.

Thread Starter #52

Recently I had done the Engine oil top-up and now again the level has gone down. My dad returned from Office and told me. I checked but since the engine was warm so found around 200-250ml less. As per OEM the exact limit of Engine Oil is 3.3Lt with oil filter. Last time accordingly I got top-up as per that only.

I'll check it again in morning tomorrow, but this frequent lowering is giving me much concern now. What could be the probable cause?

Will engine compression test help or it needs engine re-work? My dad is planning to sell it off[cry] in 5-6 months and go in for Ciaz AT Petrol. I don't want to sell it[sad] at least for another 2 years.

The car as on date has run 1.70L Kms without any engine work. Is there a possibility of any seal leakage which can be replaced and the car can be as good as always?

Please advice, really worried and sad!

Akash@

Either check it yourself or visit ASS , get their advise and inform us. Remove the plugs and check for oil stains on them also.

Regarding Fuel tank, capacity is 40 ltr as per manual and same mentioned in other websites also.

So it is same for your esteem also . I am planing to check the proper tank capacity by keeping some petrol in a can and run the car till tank empty.

Thread Starter #54

Either check it yourself or visit ASS , get their advise and inform us. Remove the plugs and check for oil stains on them also.
So, the Esteem had been dead for almost 2 days since apart from engine oil issue, yesterday morning it did not even start. My dad took SX4 then as my other driver is totally noob in terms of car maintenance.

Today morning took it to my uncle's agency, and there got the compression test done for the engine oil level decrease. After the test was done it was informed that there is no stains on spark plugs, neither there is any leakage. The reading of the test was 13 which according to my uncle after running engine sealed for 8.5 year and 1.70 Lac kms is very decent and with regular maintenance, same engine can run for next 18 months without hassle. We need to change engine oil at 7-8K Kms from now that's all. So, One big doubt cleared. Got the engine oil topped up too.

Compression test in progress.
step0001.jpg

Now came the 2nd issue i.e the starting problem, it was found that the battery had eroded cell so it finally gave up after 2.5 years. Battery make was Amaron so replaced with Amaron only. These batteries come with 2+2 year warranty.

step0001 (1).jpg

Photo3263.jpg

To properly rectify the starting problem, the "SELF" was also opened. Though there was no apparent fault in it. A part of the Self i.e Bendex which meshes internally when the car is given ignition had slight sign of wear and tear i.e after 5-6 cranks, at times the car use to miss a crank for 5-10 secs. Hence that too was replaced and it costed INR 700. This spare had to be sourced from the OEM i.e Lucas since it wasn't available here in Noida with dealers. Total time spent 3.5 hours and Total amount at present is INR 6080/-. Battery depreciation yet to be adjusted.

step0001 (2).jpg

Finally, I am at peace that there is no issue with the car's engine. I was afraid that I might need to sell this car but god has been kind and the car is now very much back and running well[:D].

but did you checked how did the oil in the engine get reducing?
you already mentioned there is white smoke visible from the exhaust that means oil getting burned in the engine.Due to this oil level will be reduced for sure.

Thread Starter #56

but did you checked how did the oil in the engine get reducing?
you already mentioned there is white smoke visible from the exhaust that means oil getting burned in the engine.Due to this oil level will be reduced for sure.
Buddy, Actually, It was a case of short filling by another outlet from which I got the Full Synthetic Oil for the car. On my insistence they did top up but still not accurately. However, There was no leakage when checked by ASC. As for the White smoke, it wasn't that consistent actually. The smoke came out for 5-10 secs on the initial crank only. Apart from that while normal running there wasn't any White Smoke. If you remember, the silencer had a small crack which was repaired later, even due to that the smoke and pollution level had increased a bit.

At present, engine is totally good. From now, I'll be changing oil at ASC only instead of the FNG. Duration of oil change has now become 7-8k kms.

Hi akash, nice to see your ride in tiptopp condition, and like we always meet frequently and discuss about the esteem. Give her 175/70R13 tyres, a fully synthetic oil (in case you didnt) and an engine decarb, and she will be as good as new.

Thread Starter #58

nice to see your ride in tiptopp condition, and like we always meet frequently and discuss about the esteem. Give her 175/70R13 tyres, a fully synthetic oil (in case you didnt) and an engine decarb, and she will be as good as new.
Siddharth Babu! Namaskar! Its really nice to have you here. Sorry couldn't meet today as you know. Tyre I'll surely change in next 5K Kms and oil will change in 7-8K kms from Maruti only. Now what's this new thing on decarb? Explain me please.

Be more active here Siddharth. Would love to be in touch here too. Though we always keep in touch:biggrin:

Siddharth Babu! Namaskar! Its really nice to have you here. Sorry couldn't meet today as you know. Tyre I'll surely change in next 5K Kms and oil will change in 7-8K kms from Maruti only. Now what's this new thing on decarb? Explain me please.

Be more active here Siddharth. Would love to be in touch here too. Though we always keep in touch:biggrin:

As the car ages, carbon deposits enter the engine internals and though its not really recommended to go for engine decarbonisation, since your car is 9 years old, it is worth a try. It will remove all the carbon soots from the internals and make the engine breathe more easy resulting in increased power and mileage. Though, get it done in front of your eyes only. And only get it done in case you find the engine lacking in performance.

Sure akash bhai, penning down the untold story of my age old car soon, watch this space!

Thread Starter #60

Today the re-valuation of the Esteem took place from a person who came from True Value. He came at home and surveyed the car. After checking out he said 50K. I flatly refused and told him to go back from where he has come. After that called my uncle and he said, I can't do anything since its a separate department and he has no say in it so we can accept the offer. Dad said, I'll get it evaluated at scrap dealer and after doing so it was found that the car as on date is worth Rs 92, 850 based on weight. I stopped dad from getting it scrapped else today would have been last day. My dad spoke to my uncle and told him that True Value surveyor is definitely out of his mind and thanked my uncle for assistance. My dad has simply refused to buy new car from Maruti because all his trust and fan-boy attitude towards the brand came to bitter end. Now based on experience, the CIAZ's decision is put on hold. Now we'll surely be going for the 4th car and keeping the Esteem till its road validity i.e 5-6 years and maintain it.