My Silver Maruti Esteem Vxi 2006

Thread Starter #76

Any updates on the car???
No update Shashi apart from recent oil change and some other spare changes as mentioned earlier. Decision to let-go of this car is yet to be taken from dad's end. I have decided on my part to sell it off and not to go for half-engine replacement. Oh ya, yesterday evening, it was rear ended by a Santro on right side rear quarter panel. The Santro guy tried to squeeze his car between mine and the divider. It left a scratch and a depression on the panel of my car.

Thread Starter #77

Update:

A major accident avoided today afternoon. I with my dad and driver was on way to Saket, New Delhi and near DPS noida, the front left Tyre of my Esteem blew up all of a sudden. Thankfully, there was no bus or truck in front of us and as soon as it happened, with a loud bang, the car went a bit off the road but came to halt before hitting divider as my driver pulled up hand-brake and closed the ignition then. By 2-3 inches the car was saved from hitting the divider. By god's grace the driver and dad and me all are well. I was belted so no major impact and driver too was belted. Decided to change all 4 Tyre of the car to 175 Section immediately. Bought new 4 CEAT brand Tyre and total cost including balancing, alignment and nitrogen was Rs. 12,500. Old Tyre(s) not exchanged.

20160420_125540.jpg

20160420_125531.jpg

20160420_125744.jpg

Rest all well, no major issues with the car. Had recently got the AC serviced and re-filled the AC gas.

Sorry to hear about that horrible accident bro. But i am happy you all are safe .
What was the reason behind that tyre bust? What was the condition of those tyres? I mean bald, with cut or with lots of punctures etc ?

Thread Starter #79

Sorry to hear about that horrible accident bro. But i am happy you all are safe .
What was the reason behind that tyre bust? Were those tyres running in bad condition ,i mean bald, with cut or with lots of punctures etc ?
Veerey, I guess, it was heat of weather and probably use of normal air instead of nitrogen. The Tyre(s) were not having many punctures except 2 one in front right and 1 in rear left side. However when we did take the tyre out, there was a cut mark on the side wall too and Tyre got torn as well so it could be possible something sharp may have pierced but did not get stuck in Tyre. It was a lucky escape for us. I got the old tyre(s) inspected and except for the busted one, rest of them still have a life of 8-10K kms left.

PS: Belated Happy Baisakhi

Happy baisakhi to you too. [:D]
I think there must be a cut on the tyre sidewall due to some sharp edge stone maybe, otherwise it should not give up like this considering the remaining life of tyre. We in the Northern India drives in extremely hot summer, that's why one should replace tyres little bit earlier for extra safety. And i will suggest everyone to please check your tyres personally time to time for pressure,cuts and eneven wearing in your new tyres too.

Thread Starter #81

Update

Got the Esteem serviced today. Total bill Rs. 2695/-. Work done includes:

1) Engine oil and oil filter change.

2) Spark Plugs and their packing changed.

3) Air Filter Changed.

4) Fan Belt Changed.

5) All Fluids topped-up.

Total Kms as on date: 1,82,500 without CNG. No serious issues faced till now by god's grace.

There are some more repairs as informed by my uncle today which include:

* Front Suspension overhaul.

* Half Engine Assembly to be replaced.

* Steering oil has got minor leakage which he says cannot be repaired easily and needs full steering overhaul.

* Fuel Pump replacement.

Approx estimate as informed by him for the intended repairs is approx 70K+ taxes and labor which I feel is more than the overall car's cost as on date hence not in mood to spend so much on this car. Will be looking to replace it in next year.[:)]

Thread Starter #82

I am looking for some genuine and serious advice from all of you. It is in regards to the half-assembly change of my Esteem's engine. Today I visited my uncle's dealership ASC to pay balance of service bill. He suggested to get the engine's half assembly replaced by another donor engine of a Esteem LXI. The car has been with them for past 3 years and the engine overhaul was done in 2013 as per the job card seen by me in person today. At the time of overhaul the engine mileage was 70K kms and the expense to overhaul the same was Rs. 62K. I have seen the bill and job card. I requested him to let me see the car and upon seeing it I clicked some pics which I am attaching here for your suggestions.

20161019_143707.jpg

20161019_143729.jpg

20161019_143732.jpg

20161019_143740.jpg

20161019_143811.jpg

20161019_154515.jpg

Now, some details of this car in question. This car was abandoned by owner when could not pay the repair bills. The car is manufactured in December 2005 (as per record from Registration number). The overhaul of engine was done in 2013 i.e 8 years after purchase. Now, my uncle says, he is willing to sell the engine for 25-30K to me. He has already recovered about 20-25K from the actual owner of this car. Seeing the above pics what do you all suggest? Does the engine look in good shape? To me, I was in 2 minds seeing it because on one hand is my car's requirement and on 2nd is my uncle's word. Apart from this he also mentioned there will be a requirement of Engine Number's change in RC too of my car which needs RTO's approval and stuff. So, how much will that cost? and what's the real procedure for it? I asked my dad too for this and he is not giving any clear reply as well and has left decision on me. Please provide your views so I can take a decision on it by this Diwali.

engine health could not be determined by looking at it. I suggest you take a friendly mechanic and ask him to inspect. carry a spare Battery and bottle of Fuel. who knows it May start up. make a deal to buy the engine only if it starts and runs smoothly (should understandably better than your Old engine).

if you love your existing car, go ahed. new half engine will make it run for further 1 lac kms.

Thread Starter #84

engine health could not be determined by looking at it. I suggest you take a friendly mechanic and ask him to inspect. carry a spare Battery and bottle of Fuel. who knows it May start up. make a deal to buy the engine only if it starts and runs smoothly (should understandably better than your Old engine).
I agree buddy. Will do this testing over the weekend surely but one thing is there, how to take out this car for a test run? Seeing the condition of it I don't think it can be taken to roads.

if you love your existing car, go ahed. new half engine will make it run for further 1 lac kms.
Accepted. Waise generally do you think that the way the engine bay looks in pics, this donor engine is worth the expense? Also, if go ahead with this change, how should I go about the RTO formalities that shall follow? You guess that the new half assembly may make my car run another 1L Kms but I say if it run 50-70K Kms also then too I believe its ok. What say?

Also, provide your view on the fact that if I buy original components through MSIL like the pistons, rings and associated spares of engine then will that be good or opting for this donor car's engine will be a wise decision?

Uh nothing much can be said about the engine, but never run for 3 years might take time to get adjusted to come back again.

While going with an half engine seems a good idea, but you need a very good hands to fix it into your car and there's nothing 100% Sure that it will run as per your expectation.

Also RTO doesn't approve any engine change in the car for your information. All they do is to emboss the old engine number in your new half engine is what I believe which may or may not bring uncertainties in the future for you or then owner of the car.

Suggest you take sometime and think over a replacement and by seeing the estimate, time to move on for a new one as this one's functioning will always give you second thoughts on longevity IMHO.

akash bro. no need to take car out. just take a spare Battery and crank it. an experienced mechanic should be able to determine the smoothness. also, if the engine is very good, it will fire up after a dozen or so attempts. use a bottle of fuel like they use in bottle fe test.

about Rto I'm really novice so can't help you there.

about buying pistons from MGA could be a better option if you're short on time and don't want any mess ups. what will be the cost difference MGA vs donor engine ?

will you gain any money by selling your used half engine?

Absolutely not a good idea below are the points why

1. There is no oil film protection on the sleeve to prevent rust, oil will drain of to sump and there will be chances of mild rust on the cylinder sleeve. That is the reason manufacturer usually stores engine blocks with special oil applied to sleeves. pistons to sleeve tolerances is about microns of an inch slight rust cause lot of problems like compression losing when load applied not in idling, oil consumption etc.

2.Even after honing and glazing also you can not achieve proper cross hatch pattern to retain engine oil film

3. Its already 70k run engine already scored, there can be microscope rust formation, more to that piston is at one position for about three years there can be chances of ridge. There may be other ridges too.

4. You run don't run engine oil absorb moisture, due to temp differences moisture is formed on the sleeve and other internal components and promotes rust. If you run car regularly moisture in the engine oil is burnt off.

5. Crank shaft and its bearings, importantly crank shaft thrust bearings may have rusted. A slight variation in thrust bearing play specification which is specified by manufacturer will give you lot of problems in future, like premature oil seals failure, flywheel and failure and total engine longevity.

My suggestion

you can go for oversized pistons and other related parts with MGP genuine, two sizes available.

My zen covered 2 lakh km on stock engine still going like new I like the car so I have purchased new half engine for my Zen from MGP distributor for 32K and kept it for future. I was told that time that esteem half engine also same rate. If half engine not available you can buy separately, engine block 14000, pistons standard 2500, rings standard 1500, crank shaft 12000 approximately and its bearings and can be assembled at any good MGP service point.

-suryaputhra

Akash, don't waste time and your hard earned money on a unknown engine, get your standard engine opened and overhauled by your trusted neighborhood mech, you can still get mgp parts in ncr for sure.

You will have the satisfaction of getting things done best under your supervision.

All the best

I agree. I would suggest you to stay away from this engine. The engine hasnt run for a long time, that means no lubrication to the system which isnt good. Also you never know how its health was when the car was abandoned.

I agree fully to Suryaputra. He has explained it beautifully why you should stay away from the donor engine

Please get the half engine. Details-
Part No-10100M73D00 HALF ENGINE ASSY(4 VALVE MPFI)1300C Rs.32345

Even with the labour and other things like gaskets etc, you'll have brand new engine in about 40k. I agree it will be 10k more expensive than that donor engine, but it will be well worth it.

Absolutely no point in getting that unknown engine!!