Maruti Suzuki's New Sedan: Ciaz (Codenamed YL1)

Honestly I liked this car and it is best looking from Maruti and best possible replacement for SX4. I believe it will be in the list of top 10 selling car once we have monthly report out.
Agree. One of the best looking car from Maruti. A definite candidate for mid level Indian luxury car. Pricing is the key as anything closer to Honda City or Verna (2014, to be launched) would not bring volumes to MSIL. Ciaz should be priced say a least 50k lower, variant to variant to topple down these segment leaders. 1.6 Ltr MJD could be the gamechanger here!

I was following this for a long time, even had plans to get petrol variant, but due to my immediate need to buy a new car, I had to go with Xcent. It surely is a looker and since I already drove SX4, no doubts on it's performance.

Ciaz diesel variant will also be available with a 1.6l engine by May 2015, 1.3DDIS at launch. Would share the S cross engine.
Service personnel are being trained for both diesel powetrains!

source: Gaadiwaadi

Honestly I liked this car and it is best looking from Maruti and best possible replacement for SX4. I believe it will be in the list of top 10 selling car once we have monthly report out.
For that, Maruti has some Tasks. In order to replicate success and to be the highest selling car in its class various factors are required.
1. Car must we well rounded in all departments
2. It should have some Best in Class things (Ex. Fiesta - Best Ride & Handling).
3. It should be marketed well
4. It must undercut rivals by at least Rs. 1 lakh.
5. It should have Brand Image.

Everyone will not blindly go and book/buy Ciaz like the small cars from that stable. People will look for Class, Premiumness and Brand Imahe in this segment thats why Honda City has been moat successful ever since it was launched. No doubt, Ciaz is promising but the above points must be fulfilled in order to be successful. I think at the max it'll be 2nd or 3rd highest selling car in its class. Lets wait and watch.

I can't see Ciaz dethroning City from no.1 position.
Reasons IMO with no offense to anyone-
1.- It's not offering any ground breaking features and City itself is quite loaded.
2.- The 1.3 engine would not be a match for 1.5 from City.
3.- No matter how much good brand image Maruti has it can't match the premium brand image Toyota and Honda have created in the last decade. Here Maruti is a bit unfortunate. They are no.1 manufacturer because of their small cars and people have the mentality Maruti cars are cheap to buy and maintain which will go against in C+ segment which looks for premiumness feel and brand image.
4.- The interior shots suggest good rear space which City provides as well so no bonus points for Ciaz.
5.- A.S.S of Maruti is highly regarded but so is Honda and Hyundai.
6.- No ARAI figures yet but i will be highly surprised if Ciaz can beat City's figures of 26 kmpl.

I believe if it undercuts in price by at least 1 lac then it can dethrone Verna from no.2 as Verna is getting old and till it gets a facelift next year Ciaz can topple it from that position.

What's good is the competition which will get tougher with the launch of Ciaz and we may expect better cars with better features in future launches. I am eagerly waiting to TD Ciaz. If its reasonably priced i am looking at it in petrol to replace my fathers Manza early next year.

I can't see Ciaz dethroning City from no.1 position.
Reasons IMO with no offense to anyone-
1.- It's not offering any ground breaking features and City itself is quite loaded.
2.- The 1.3 engine would not be a match for 1.5 from City.
3.- No matter how much good brand image Maruti has it can't match the premium brand image Toyota and Honda have created in the last decade. Here Maruti is a bit unfortunate. They are no.1 manufacturer because of their small cars and people have the mentality Maruti cars are cheap to buy and maintain which will go against in C+ segment which looks for premiumness feel and brand image.
4.- The interior shots suggest good rear space which City provides as well so no bonus points for Ciaz.
5.- A.S.S of Maruti is highly regarded but so is Honda and Hyundai.
6.- No ARAI figures yet but i will be highly surprised if Ciaz can beat City's figures of 26 kmpl.
That might be true, because Honda is crowned a "premium" brand. Secondly, most of the non-car-savvy guys look at the engine displacement and decide the power from that (1.3 v/s 1.5). But I do not think that will be a problem for City, because not many automotive-heads go to Maruti for a powerful car (lest the car is priced cheaper. Swift was approached only because of it's handling). Thirdly, because most people are looking for basic cars in the Maruti showroom, I do not think being relatively featureless will make much difference. And finally, every car HAS to offer something groundbreaking to gain the top place of the chart. City offers VFM. So does i20. City even offers great mileage. dZire had a boot in hatchback money. So these got to the top. Ciaz only offers more space, which is a BIG criteria, but as long as it is concerned, highway performance should be good too. Who will buy a car with high leg-space to make 2-min drives around the city. But there is no way Ciaz will take the first place. An extra: Maruti cars have bad build quality. Honda might get mangled, but will rescue the occupants. Maruti gives the (if alive) owner bliss, the health insurance of the other passengers, the car insurance too. [frustration]

No matter how much good brand image Maruti has it can't match the premium brand image Toyota and Honda have created in the last decade. Here Maruti is a bit unfortunate. They are no.1 manufacturer because of their small cars and people have the mentality Maruti cars are cheap to buy and maintain which will go against in C+ segment which looks for premiumness feel and brand image.
That might be true, because Honda is crowned a "premium" brand. Secondly, most of the non-car-savvy guys look at the engine displacement and decide the power from that (1.3 v/s 1.5). But I do not think that will be a problem for City, because not many automotive-heads go to Maruti for a powerful car (lest the car is priced cheaper. Swift was approached only because of it's handling)
Are we playing the war in dark? We just have first few leaked images of Ciaz and we don't even know what engine options it will have, neither we know if auto transmission will be on plate. And we are writing Ciaz off here!
It might not challenge the mighty Honda City in sales but will definitely give a run for its money if pricied sensibly, and I believe MSIL has learned it from past experience.

Well, and if Honda can go a Maruti way to build cheap (?) cars (Amaze, Mobilio), why can't Maruti go Honda way to build relatively premium car? Why are we doubting the capability of MSIL?

I am not a big fan of Maruti cars but nobody can question reliability of their cars. So how come a Maruti cheap car with cheap parts stands reliable and rattle free for years?
Common, people don't purchase Maruti Cars because they are cheap, else Nano would have been the highest selling car in India. People look for reliability, VFM & good ASS and Maruti stands right up there! It's not a fluke to control & maintain more than 50% of market share in India, despite challenged by top global players over these years.

Now coming back to Ciaz: Ciaz does look premium and is at par with Honda City. One may want to see this comparison.
And if Ciaz comes with 1.6 ltr MJD, which means more power & performance, why can't it be successful? I don't foresee any reason to lebel this as a cheap sedan.

And finally, every car HAS to offer something groundbreaking to gain the top place of the chart. City offers VFM. So does i20. City even offers great mileage. dZire had a boot in hatchback money. So these got to the top. Ciaz only offers more space, which is a BIG criteria, but as long as it is concerned, highway performance should be good too. Who will buy a car with high leg-space to make 2-min drives around the city. But there is no way Ciaz will take the first place. An extra: Maruti cars have bad build quality. Honda might get mangled, but will rescue the occupants. Maruti gives the (if alive) owner bliss, the health insurance of the other passengers, the car insurance too. [frustration]
I don't know how many people have derived Ciaz has more leg room in the rear. The spy shots i saw confirms its got space but how much space it has how can one derive without knowing the specifications or sitting in it himself. So comparison with City right now in space will give no definite answer. My guess is it will be on par or slightly better which will be no shake for a buying customer.

By my own example of City recently- I am 6.1 so my driving seat is always back to the max. My cousin lost his Fiesta keys so he had to come back with us from Delhi. We were 2 in front and 4 people in back. He was sitting directly behind me. He is 6 feet tall and he was highly impressed with how much rear space is left even when there are 4 people sitting in the back comfortably. So, city already has a lot of room so Ciaz won't be able to lure buyers by that.

Are we playing the war in dark? We just have first few leaked images of Ciaz and we don't even know what engine options it will have, neither we know if auto transmission will be on plate. And we are writing Ciaz off here!
It might not challenge the mighty Honda City in sales but will definitely give a run for its money if pricied sensibly, and I believe MSIL has learned it from past experience.
Who is writing Ciaz off? Where in my post did you see that? I clearly mentioned it will dethrone Verna from second position if priced Reasonably. How is that writing it off? In fact i clearly mentioned if Petrol variant is priced good i may buy it for my father. Now why will i write off a car and buy it as well[roll]

Well, and if Honda can go a Maruti way to build cheap (?) cars (Amaze, Mobilio), why can't Maruti go Honda way to build relatively premium car? Why are we doubting the capability of MSIL?
Not at all. I am glad Maruti is taking such steps and i clearly mentioned this competition in C segment will only be good to us buyers.

I am not a big fan of Maruti cars but nobody can question reliability of their cars. So how come a Maruti cheap car with cheap parts stands reliable and rattle free for years?
Buddy which Maruti car you are mentioning is rattle free? I owned an esteem for 5 years. It rattled like crazy. My best friend has a swift which i have driven extensively. Its a rattle king. Another friend has an Alto. Same rattling story. In fact with Maruti this is my biggest complaint that it rattles so much and i sincerely hope Ciaz changes that perception.

Common, people don't purchase Maruti Cars because they are cheap, else Nano would have been the highest selling car in India. People look for reliability, VFM & good ASS and Maruti stands right up there!
Wrong. Nano failed cos its from Tata and their A.S.S has been notorious ( this perception may change with Zest and bolt but that's for future). Biggest selling point for Maruti is the small cars didn't have any direct competition. Most reliable makers like Honda, Toyota, Hyundai were not serious about small cars. This will change in future. Cars like Alto,, Wagon R are easy to maintain and cheap to own. Plus the Maruti service has been good over the years. But Ciaz will not be in the segment of a Wagon R. Its service and parts will in no way be as cheap as people will want it to be. People do buy Maruti cars thinking they will be cheap to own and thats a fact. Otherwise Sx4 would have been a top seller instead of City when Sx4 had more features and undercut City in price point.

Now coming back to Ciaz: Ciaz does look premium and is at par with Honda City. One may want to see this comparison.
Lol. That is a rubbish comparison. How can you do any comparison between a finished product and a product which has only provided spy shots with bits and pieces of information which we can't even know is true or not. Gaadiwaadi.com is only trying to grab eyeballs with such gimmicks. Let's keep the true comparison to the day Ciaz is officialy launched as its not fair to both cars right now.

And if Ciaz comes with 1.6 ltr MJD, which means more power & performance, why can't it be successful? I don't foresee any reason to lebel this as a cheap sedan.
Its confirmed Ciaz is not coming with 1.6MJD. its coming with 1.3 and trust me that will be a major factor for a customer while buying it. A person spending million bucks these days at least checks how many bhp a car has. I know cos my father with his very limited knowledge of cars always checks what engine it has.
No one is labeling Ciaz as a cheap sedan. In fact i want it to succeed.

1.6 multijet in ciaz would have killed the competition.1.3 ddis in sx4 performs good and in gear acceleration and 0-100 timings beat honda city diesel
Performance comparison : 1.3 ddis sx4 v/s 1.5 idtec honda city

0-100
Sx4: 13.8 sec
City: 14.75 sec

In gear acceleration
20-80 kmph
Sx4:10.32 sec
City:13.3 sec
Source: Autocar india (v box)

Sx4 weighs 100 kgs more than city and 10 ps less power..still it beats honda city in performance.Thanks to suzukis superb tuning of fiats gem multijet.

As per the reports, ciaz would be lighter than sx4. Even with 1.3 ddis it can easily perform better than city diesel
Maruti has a winner here

The stunning CIAZ to be unveiled on September 3rd, booking amount of 21K. Launch date seem to be 25th September.

download (1).jpg

This is the ZXi variant of the Maruti Ciaz which comes equipped with the K14 petrol engine currently powering Ertiga and will make Ciaz one of the most fuel efficient cars in its segment. This image shows the multi-spoke alloy wheel design of Ciaz with clarity and it shows how impressive stance these 16 inch wheels give to this car
The top variant of Ciaz will come with a 5-inch touch screen infotainment system which will debut with first in class MirrorLink technology. It will enable easy usage of your smart-phone while driving as this technology offers integration between a smart-phone and infotainment system.

You will also get navigation system with speech guidelines, Bluetooth connectivity with voice controls and start/stop button. Other features include rear a.c vents, rear accessory socket, parking display,auto day light inside rear view mirror and steering mounted audio and Bluetooth controls.

The petrol version of Ciaz is expected to be launched with an optional CVT transmission while the 1.3L 90bhp Multijet diesel engine is likely to be offered with only a manual gearbox. In total there are six variants and seven colour options
Exclusive! Maruti Suzuki Ciaz booking date, features - Motor Trend India

Buddy which Maruti car you are mentioning is rattle free? I owned an esteem for 5 years. It rattled like crazy. My best friend has a swift which i have driven extensively. Its a rattle king. Another friend has an Alto. Same rattling story. In fact with Maruti this is my biggest complaint that it rattles so much and i sincerely hope Ciaz changes that perception.
I agree on this one, I own a swift and its a rattle snake [lol]. But coming to the engine refinement, some engines are loud like a tractor and some feel really refined. My vehicle was 2008 built and my engine is an imported one. And its very loud at the same time & my friend's swift whose bought his car in 2007 and still owns it is very silent compared to mine. He also uses it rough but its silent. we take good care of our cars.

But the one of the biggest misconceptions is, people correlate engine noise with refinement, which is not entire true. At the factory, when the engine is put together, while adjusting the valve springs, setting the tappets, everything plays a major role in the sound of an engine. So comparing our cars with 6 years of ownership experience. My friends car is very silent and has very good performance, but FE is slightly lower than mine. While mine is noiser and gets a lot better FE than his, but not a good performer like my friends car. Both are same 1.3 MJD engines and they are imported ones from Italy.
There is no consistency with Maruti, I can say that. Some get good silent engines and some get the noisy ones.

If you take Honda engines as an example. Its a complete Aluminum block engine, and they do make noise. And it doesn't mean that Honda engines are not refined. They are good engines which are reliable and also gives good mileage.

As per my SA, the newer 1.3 DDIS engines manufactured by Maruti are silent but not as bulletproof reliable when compared to my engine which was imported from FIAT-Italy.

So for 6 years, apart from engine, everything else in my car kept failing, engine relay, door lock unit, dashboard rattles, suspension problems, brake issues, wheel bearing issues, door lock knobs not working, what not. BUT, not a single problem from the engine. The engine is very torquey and gives great mileage. And the car started to rattle from the 1st year of ownership. But I don't care because I bought this car for very cheap (5.63 lakh OTR) which is satisfying my needs. But someone who buys a CIAZ and if it starting to rattle like swift then he wont be very happy. I hope they take car of this.