Maruti Suzuki's New Sedan: Ciaz (Codenamed YL1)

Maruti has plonked the lazy 4 speed Automatic that does duty in Dzire.Cant believe their thought process.I was waiting for this and what a damp near.It's back to square one.How I wish they had borrowed the DSG from Volkswagen.But otherwise this car looks like a winner.

I think pricing is the key. If Maruti can undercut city pricing by 75K sure they will have success at least in the short term. Engines are underpowered compared to City/Other cars in the segment. 4-speed AT in 2014 for 10 laks car. Cant believe it. I am sure automatic will meet the fate of Verna automatics. As usual Maruti will not share crash test ratings for this car. They cannot sell this car just for back seat space (Sunny also has plenty of back seat space and underpowered petrol engine hence lagging petrol sales). It will finally boil down to pricing. Let us see.

Ciaz in the red looks gorgeous and IMO, the best of all the colours! Interiors look nice and the space on offer is certainly of City/ Sunny level if not more. The only weak point is the engine, it just cannot match the level of performance offered by the legendary i-Vtec... Over to the reviews.. If Maruti prices it about 60-80K less variant to variant in comparison to the City then sure this is going to sell well though I still don't see City sales taking a hit (leaving the stopped production as a reason) as it enjoys a large fan-following and status in society in the Indian market.

Actually, Tata Zest has already upped the compact sedan game with its bling-ding. Maruti should have taken it many steps further.
This car looks like another diesel Linea in the making- nice proportions, totally under-specced engine.
When people put in 10lac for petrol top-end, they will ask, how much bhp ? - Honda has 117 , Verna has 126 and even Linea TJet has 114. That 92 bhp itself is a dampener for most Ciaz buyers.

I dont know what is there in this car that will attract people, really.

1) Maruti isnt exactly a premium C+ segment brand in the minds of 10lac plus Rs customers.

2) The SX4 itself wasn't that bad in terms of interior space-and in fact it was quite solidly built- a rare Maruti in that category. So whats a few mm here and there going to do ?

3) the 1.4 petrol and 1.3 diesel are now old hat. People in this segment arent exactly hankering for fuel efficiency from their car, in the manner they expect from a hatchback. A 12-13 kmpl is perfectly acceptable to them in the petrol version. So why not try better engines ?

My point is, Honda has made a game changing entry with the 2014 City- (a different matter as to whether it is deserving enough) . So either you can play catch up or be different.
To play catch up, you must give the equivalent specs and some more to make yourself competitive-a point I have about Fiat Linea too.
OR go for something different by introducing the SX-Cross on priority .

^^ Exactly same thoughts for me too, Apart from Space & Comfort it doesn't score in any other department. All cars in this segment are feature packed with each offering 1st in Class Features. The engines are the sore point. When people come to see and TD they do compare the engines with rivals. Recently, I had been to Honda dealership check City, there customers who were interested in Mobilio were asking How much cc engine is this. So that will be in people's mind and Indians aren't the same as they used to be decade back by just going and booking a car without considering other cars.
I am sure that to make Ciaz Successful, Maruti must undercut Rapid by at least 60k-90k in order to be a big hit. Remember that Rapid is already cheaper then Verna , City, Vento. Maruti have big task here and to achieve that they'll price it cheaper then rivals. I am 100% sure that this will happen when it's launched.

Autocar India reports that the 2 engines have been considerably tweaked for CIAZ and MS designers cliam 'feels like new engines'. Let us await the drive reports that will pour in today as a reference before we TD the car.

Boot Capacity 510 L
0_468_700_http___i_haymarketindia_net_ExtraImages_20140901102118_PFD_2735.png

0_468_700_http___i_haymarketindia_net_ExtraImages_20140901102121_PFD_2744.png

Two engines are on offer, a 1.4-litre K10B petrol motor good for 91bhp and a 1.3-litre Fiat-sourced diesel that churns out 89bhp. The power outputs of these engines may not be impressive but Maruti has fine-tuned them to improve responsiveness and drivability. The petrol has a higher compression ratio which improves performance whilst design changes to lower friction have helped economy. The diesel too has been worked up considerably with the view to lower frictional losses and improve efficiency. The results seem to have paid of as the Ciaz diesel is the most efficient diesel car in the country according to the official test cycle, returning 26.3kpl. The petrol gives 20.73kpl.
Maruti Ciaz details revealed | Car News | Executive saloons | Autocar India

The rear just looks like the new Honda city! [frustration] I know, it was Maruti first to showcase their car but in the market it was Honda first! The rear looked exquisite on the city and now it's going to be same-same!! :frown:

Autocar India's first view on Ciaz performance -
Driving diesel & petrol Ciaz on Jaipur highway. Has well planted big car feel. Performance not great but adequate
Top Gear
Nice highway number this Ciaz Diesel. Effortless to build speed. Gets noisy but car sticks to its lane confidently

I am really excited to see these details of Ciaz as Maruti trying to crack the mid-level premium sedan market, the area where they failed miserably in the past.

Looking at the available details, I am happy as well as disappointed.

Sure that Ciaz would be best looking Sedan in this price range, courtesy to the projector headlamps and the front design which is just stunning. The rear end looks good too with City/Beamer like tail lamps but merged into the body in a better way than City. The interior space is at par with competitors and fit and finish looks better than Maruti standards. Touch screen HU with navigation is to the liking of many Indian buyers and that could well be one of the USP. Well, i know Vento provides this with new edition now[:)]

Now coming to the engine options, there is disappointment for enthusiasts like us. 1.4 Ltr with 92 BHP looks underpowered for this type of sedan and AT with 4 speed? Is it a joke? Hyundai already burned their hands with verna with this kind of 4 speed automatic.
1.3 Ltr MJD produces 90BHP with VGT which is sufficient for this car and is not underpowered, but certainly lags behind the compititors. The only main issue with this engine is turbo lag and looking at the updates, looks like Maruti guys have fine-tuned this engine to negate this turbo lag. Let us wait for the official review.

But finally in India, all boils down to one question "Kitna deti hai?" and seems Maruti has cracked the shackles here. With the figures of 20+ for petrol & 26+ for diesel (as per reports), Maruti has produced another winner[clap]

Now the problem remains for the premium batch. Maruti has to work hard to break the jinx of not being premium brand over these years, but i think this is right time for Maruti to break it with some clever marketing.

All in all, this is really good time for buyers and there are lot of options to choose from and competition will also help to bring the prices down

Closer shot of the ICE HU. Touchscreen with buil-in navigation. Many buyers will appreciate this move but the fitting could have been better, looks aftermarket to me, but then lets wait for the official review to comment further [:D]

Maruti-Suzuki-Ciaz-HU.jpg

Between, in the 4th snap shared by 350Z above, there is a shutter below the ACC unit which seems covers the 12V sockep and perhaps USB slot and may be something else. I have seen such design in some of the high end cars, nice move by Maruti I should say.

So maruti has done media drive of the ciaz .Both ertigas engines have been borrowed in ciaz with ecu remaping . Some where heard it is going to be the lightest car in the segment with best arai fuel efficiency but what about weight what if it will be lighter than honda city i vtec 4th gen 1040 kg :confused:.