Maruti Suzuki Baleno RS 1.0L Boosterjet Launched

Re: Spied! Maruti Suzuki Baleno RS 1.0L Boosterjet

They did it again. 1.4 lakhs premium for an engine.
You can have polo gt which is costlier but the discounts will bring the price equal to the OTR of baleno.
This car should not have been priced above 7 lakhs off road.
I highly disagree
Polo GT TSI comes with DSG , which is notorious for issues in terms of reliability,cost etc
Sure its improved but Im still no fan of DCT/DSG or even AMT for that matter
A good torque converter or CVT without rubber band effect is best for AT
Current regular Baleno MT is itself very smooth to drive and properly loaded

I find the cheaper Germans a bit overhyped personally
Maintenance of Polo DSG is more than what I paid for my City servicing and dangerously close to CRV

It's high time we start living with this trend of overpriced MS cars heading to Nexa. The trend started with Scross continued with Ignis and now Baleno. So I guess this will be norm of Maruti Nexa strategy. But I would appreciate MS giving Nexa cars same features and engines sold internationally priced premium while watered down versions are sold at regular showrooms.

I highly disagree
Polo GT TSI comes with DSG , which is notorious for issues in terms of reliability,cost etc
Sure its improved but Im still no fan of DCT/DSG or even AMT for that matter
A good torque converter or CVT without rubber band effect is best for AT
Current regular Baleno MT is itself very smooth to drive and properly loaded

I find the cheaper Germans a bit overhyped personally
Maintenance of Polo DSG is more than what I paid for my City servicing and dangerously close to CRV
Agree with the after sales and service costs, but does it delivers on the promise unlike Maruti, Maruti seems like lot of show on no go specially the booster jet, if one pays extra 45-60k extra for a GT TSI, its damn worth it because the GT TSi will run rings around Baleno in every measurable way, whether be it built quality,safety,handling,ride,comforts, easiness to drive, anything the GT TSI is better, so yes no car is perfect, in that sense the Baleno does have some defending, but I seriously wish Nexa guys had given the engines full potential like the ecoboosts 123 bhp and 1.2 TSis 105 bhp, the Baleno could have done way better with 110 bhp, then I would say price is completely justifiable .

Premium mask in the name of nexa Kenichi Ayukawa is doing the same mistake as Honda's overpriced cars, I hope suzuki will see its end in near twenty years. What!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Rs.8,69.000 ex show room price. Damn overpriced. They may slowly lose nexa as well as regular maruti, death pill, because customers like me don't want to go for nexa because not worth at the same time comparing nexa cars to maruti cars caught in puzzle at the end going for some other brand. Slow poison for Suzuki India.

-suryaputhra

Guys, i did say that the RS will come for a cool 1 million (i.e. 10 lakh) on road in my very first posts. Otherwise they cant make it exclusive enough

Ameyam

Haha ! #Jokeoftheday #BalenoRs!
It may sell & also Honda may come up with Jazz 1.5P @ 9.99 Lakhs !!

Meanwhile only me getting a feeling that the new front bumper is from the mobilio ?!

What???? 8.69000 for three cylinder engine, even maruti is going greedy[anger].figo diesel is a better option.
Heck even polo GT TDI and abarth punto are better options.

It's high time we start living with this trend of overpriced MS cars heading to Nexa. The trend started with Scross continued with Ignis and now Baleno. So I guess this will be norm of Maruti Nexa strategy. But I would appreciate MS giving Nexa cars same features and engines sold internationally priced premium while watered down versions are sold at regular showrooms.
But if you carefully see the Nexa products, one finds some aspects thrown in at those price points which are not offered by competitors.

- I20 has great build quality, 6 airbags, but a weakling of a petrol engine (relatively speaking).
- Honda Jazz has the same issue with the 1.2 iVTEC from an everyday urban commute perspective.
- Polo TSI comes across as costlier, with the reputation for higher maintenance costs and perceived unreliability of the DSG.
-The Figo DCT does not fully live up to its paper potential (IMO the transmission holds back the engine performance), add to that the 14 in wheels and lesser features.
- The Abarth Punto is the best product in this range, but suffers from poor market response, and is way pricier.

For ~10-10.5 lac, you have a turbo-petrol Maruti Baleno with good space, consumer-friendly features, an enhanced performance and disc-brakes to back it up. Maruti is surely testing the waters with a calculated risk. It intends to scoop out some sales from all these competitors, and also offer some of its wait-listed customers a chance to shell out a bit of a premium in exchange of more performance.

I would say it is an opportunity for those buyers who are interested in its competitors to negotiate better deals!

But if you carefully see the Nexa products, one finds some aspects thrown in at those price points which are not offered by competitors.

- I20 has great build quality, 6 airbags, but a weakling of a petrol engine (relatively speaking).
- Honda Jazz has the same issue with the 1.2 iVTEC from an everyday urban commute perspective.
- Polo TSI comes across as costlier, with the reputation for higher maintenance costs and perceived unreliability of the DSG.
-The Figo DCT does not fully live up to its paper potential (IMO the transmission holds back the engine performance), add to that the 14 in wheels and lesser features.
- The Abarth Punto is the best product in this range, but suffers from poor market response, and is way pricier.

For ~10-10.5 lac, you have a turbo-petrol Maruti Baleno with good space, consumer-friendly features, an enhanced performance and disc-brakes to back it up. Maruti is surely testing the waters with a calculated risk. It intends to scoop out some sales from all these competitors, and also offer some of its wait-listed customers a chance to shell out a bit of a premium in exchange of more performance.

I would say it is an opportunity for those buyers who are interested in its competitors to negotiate better deals!
I fully agree with this ^^
Baleno RS is a pure balance product
It doesnt need to impress any further than its competitors
Enthusiasts will buy whichever car pleases them but they are a minority

And enthusiast will better know which one is better. A normal family guy will prefer the top end alpha petrol instead of this. Whereas an enthusiast will measure everything what 1989rs mentioned in his post.

Agreed with the polo maintenance but the point is other manufacturer is providing a whole lot more at the same price.
Automatic boosterjet will cost atleast 9.89 if they launched it.

If we see the power and torque figures per ton, Baleno RS and POLO TSI are in same league. Also Baleno RS has the back up of MS-ASS. It is cheaper than Polo TSI by 40 K. Polo TSI has advantage of better build and DSG. But Baleno RS has the advantage of peace of mind [:)]

I think while I am seen a lot of people are complaining about why Baleno RS is priced soo much Higher above the 1.2 Aplha are missing some aspects.

The RS complies with Frontal and side impact tests, while discs and Turbocharger less smaller engine would have increased weight by around 10KG, its the structural safety bits added which account for much of gain to 950KG for this car making it heavier than the Diesel Baleno. Similarly the New Ertiga's and Ciaz's which are going to sold in NEXA also are quietly weighing heavier since they too will comply with crash tests. I think Maruti is on the right track by making sure thier cars from the launch of the Brezza are now meeting crash test requirements.

With its imported Engine its bound to cost much more than the 1.2 Baleno.

If we see the power and torque figures per ton, Baleno RS and POLO TSI are in same league.---than Polo TSI by 40 K. Polo TSI has advantage of better build and DSG.---]
Baleno has a better power to weight ratio and in a MT version ticks well for enthusiasts.
As mentioned VW's notorious service and the still to be proved DSG in India, Baleno RS makes it a winning hot hatch than VW's TSI.

Capture.JPG

Source- ACI

Baleno has a better power to weight ratio and in a MT version ticks well for enthusiasts.
As mentioned VW's notorious service and the still to be proved DSG in India, Baleno RS makes it a winning hot hatch than VW's TSI.

View attachment 221910

Source- ACI
These specs are looking really good on paper. But let's see how it performs in the real world. I highly doubt that Boosterjet can out perform GT TSI. Waiting to see the test drive reviews and looking forward to test drive this vehicle soon.

Baleno RS flaunts its compliance to the upcoming safety norms,

a.JPG
b.JPG
c.JPG