Maruti Suzuki Baleno RS 1.0L Boosterjet Launched

Re: Spied! Maruti Suzuki Baleno RS 1.0L Boosterjet

Premium mask in the name of nexa Kenichi Ayukawa is doing the same mistake as Honda's overpriced cars, I hope suzuki will see its end in near twenty years. What!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Rs.8,69.000 ex show room price. Damn overpriced. They may slowly lose nexa as well as regular maruti, death pill, because customers like me don't want to go for nexa because not worth at the same time comparing nexa cars to maruti cars caught in puzzle at the end going for some other brand. Slow poison for Suzuki India.

-suryaputhra
No Suzuki will never face failure in India as I have observed for several years, majority of Indian car buyer thinks Maruti is a safe bet even if its priced higher because of the vastness of service network and because some believe its an Indian brand.

Also I am quit confused how Maruti will be pricing its next gen Swift, arguably that will be Marutis biggest success maker after the 2006 Swift, 2015 Brezza success stories

Haha ! #Jokeoftheday #BalenoRs!
It may sell & also Honda may come up with Jazz 1.5P @ 9.99 Lakhs !!

Meanwhile only me getting a feeling that the new front bumper is from the mobilio ?!
Honda wont come up with a Jazz and 1.5P, which would have made a huge sense, always small hatch backs with slightly large petrol motors are way way better than small hatch backs with small petrol motors, because in real world they give better efficiency and way better power when needed.
But if you carefully see the Nexa products, one finds some aspects thrown in at those price points which are not offered by competitors.

- I20 has great build quality, 6 airbags, but a weakling of a petrol engine (relatively speaking).
- Honda Jazz has the same issue with the 1.2 iVTEC from an everyday urban commute perspective.
- Polo TSI comes across as costlier, with the reputation for higher maintenance costs and perceived unreliability of the DSG.
-The Figo DCT does not fully live up to its paper potential (IMO the transmission holds back the engine performance), add to that the 14 in wheels and lesser features.
- The Abarth Punto is the best product in this range, but suffers from poor market response, and is way pricier.

For ~10-10.5 lac, you have a turbo-petrol Maruti Baleno with good space, consumer-friendly features, an enhanced performance and disc-brakes to back it up. Maruti is surely testing the waters with a calculated risk. It intends to scoop out some sales from all these competitors, and also offer some of its wait-listed customers a chance to shell out a bit of a premium in exchange of more performance.

I would say it is an opportunity for those buyers who are interested in its competitors to negotiate better deals!
Agree with this the Baleno 1.2 petrol and even diesel are well balanced products but not the boosterjet, its over priced, I would have completely agreed with you if this car had 110 PS and 170 NM like it has in other markets, despite reduced power and a light 950 kg kerb weight it is got just 21.1 kmpl , an Ecosport 1.0 ecoboost with 123 ps, 170 NM and which is tall at 200 mm above ground and has less coefficient of Drag gets ARAI 18.9 kmpl and the Trend+ variant is almost same price as the Baleno RS as well, so this is not a good start however one may try, but as said by me before, this is a Maruti , so it will never be a failure, it will stand as a topping for the already fantastic baleno sales fgure
I think while I am seen a lot of people are complaining about why Baleno RS is priced soo much Higher above the 1.2 Aplha are missing some aspects.

The RS complies with Frontal and side impact tests, while discs and Turbocharger less smaller engine would have increased weight by around 10KG, its the structural safety bits added which account for much of gain to 950KG for this car making it heavier than the Diesel Baleno. Similarly the New Ertiga's and Ciaz's which are going to sold in NEXA also are quietly weighing heavier since they too will comply with crash tests. I think Maruti is on the right track by making sure thier cars from the launch of the Brezza are now meeting crash test requirements.

With its imported Engine its bound to cost much more than the 1.2 Baleno.
One must understand that Jazz,Polo,Ecosport,all have scored good results in these tests and Jazz which feels light actually has a better score than the Baleno despite the Jazz chassis being over 4 years older than Marutis new Baleno chassis
So it is in no way an impressive feat by Maruti, too late to the strong cars party!!
Baleno has a better power to weight ratio and in a MT version ticks well for enthusiasts.
As mentioned VW's notorious service and the still to be proved DSG in India, Baleno RS makes it a winning hot hatch than VW's TSI.
Source- ACI
But is it a better car? See Polo is far better car than Baleno, thats my point, one may say the Maruti is reliable etc etc, but what about the substance, why buy an inferior machine just because it has a turbo motor?

Did u test drive the Baleno RS?
Yes the Delta diesel, it was a 10 km test drive, I actually liked it on some counts, I think the Baleno petrol 1.2 Alpha and Delta makes a lot more sense than Swift and Figo aka Aspire petrols.

But is it a better car? See Polo is far better car than Baleno, thats my point, one may say the Maruti is reliable etc etc, but what about the substance, why buy an inferior machine just because it has a turbo motor?
Enthusiasts prefer a MT and not AT, for an engaging drive. Polo TSI is just the normal Polo with the TSI- DSG combo without change is suspension nor additional disk brakes. For the regular drivers you have the regular Baleno with CVT.

Lastly just see around and note the notorious reliability ( after the warranty period) issue of VW cars and the pathetic service centers and non-availability of spares.

Wait for the reviews of the Baleno RS to know more of the car.[:)]

Enthusiasts prefer a MT and not AT, for an engaging drive. Polo TSI is just the normal Polo with the TSI- DSG combo without change is suspension nor additional disk brakes. For the regular drivers you have the regular Baleno with CVT.

Lastly just see around and note the notorious reliability ( after the warranty period) issue of VW cars and the pathetic service centers and non-availability of spares.

Wait for the reviews of the Baleno RS to know more of the car.[:)]
Sure I will take a test drive then only will I make a confirmed status regarding,ride,handling etc of new Baleno RS, See the TSi+DSG combo is far better than what one may think from a regular torque converter or a CVT and pathetic AMTs, if I want a sporty Auto gearbox whether be it in the 10 lakhs range or be it in the 50 lakhs range the DSG is the best, in fact DSG is still officially worlds fastest automatic gearbox, I drove the GT TSi and its insane, specially the shift speed and down shifts are instantaneous,so I can forgive the lack of a Manual, more over the GT TSi has TCS,ESC as well,
One wont find that in anything below 20 lakhs on road other than Figo DCT and GT TSi, so its not justa normal AT buddy, its got a lot more to it, the GT TSis manual mode is FANTASTIC, although not quiet the gear holder I like it to be, it still is way more fun than Marutis best hot car so far the Swift Petrol Manual,
I for one found the Swift to be a better handling car than the Baleno as well, the Swift felt a little moreeager than Baleno to change direction, and steering of Swift too had more feel, but again no way near as good as class toppers like Fiat Punto,Figo MK I,and Polo.
Now the DSG issue has been sorted by VW to a large extent or dare I say non existent now in the DQ200 DSGs after VW s move to hydraulic actuators rather than solenoid based shift actuators from 2014 onwards, also apart from high service costs, VWs are not too bad in reliability as some say, I have both Ford and a VW at home,
Again coming to the point, the Polo GT TSi is worth the extra if Baleno RS is 8.69 lakhs ex showroom,
I personally feel Polo GT TSi is slightly over priced, but if a Maruti can demand this much why not a Polo which I still feel js far better built,has more safety,more power,more torque,better features,good comfort snd convenience and good mileage as well.

Anyway a test drive will confirm the status, as of now from my experience with the Baleno last November, I think its too much asking price for the boosterjet.

VWs are not too bad in reliability as some say, I have both Ford and a VW at home,
Again coming to the point, the Polo GT TSi is worth the extra if Baleno RS is 8.69 lakhs ex showroom.
We have 3 VW cars within close circles with reliability issue striking at after the extended warranty period. More so the Service centres have no clue how to diagnosis such issues with just a trial- error method they approach the same.
Well if you have no issues yet with could be we were unlucky of owning them.

Anyways will never EVER recommended a VW car to anyone who prefers reliability over performance.

No Suzuki will never face failure in India as I have observed for several years, majority of Indian car buyer thinks Maruti is a safe bet even if its priced higher because of the vastness of service network and because some believe its an Indian brand.
I thought Sx4, Kizashi, Grand Vitara and S-Cross failed even after having that Suzuki badge.

We have 3 VW cars within close circles with reliability issue striking at after the extended warranty period. More so the Service centres have no clue how to diagnosis such issues with just a trial- error method they approach the same.
Well if you have no issues yet with could be we were unlucky of owning them.

Anyways will never EVER recommended a VW car to anyone who prefers reliability over performance.
There lies the catch, see if one wants performance the Polo GT TSi or Fiat Linea T jet or the Figo TDCi is far far better options that Baleno booster jet, if one wants a fairly reliable car with lot of service outlets and with a turbo engine, one may buy the over priced Maruti Baleno

See I too agree VW/Ford aint super reliable but for what they are made they do it far better than Maruti can thats why I say the booster jet is in no mans land, if one is after performance the Figo TDCI despite being diesel will sure be as fast or faster than Baleno Booster jet, does baleno handle exceptionally well? from the regular balenos experience not even as good as Suzukis own SWift then how come be a competitor to VWs,Fords,Fiats etc, is it cheap ? NO, see all of the above could be forgiven if the Baleno had been a 7.99 ex showroom car, at 8.69 lakhs it will be around 9.7 lakhs on road, Sorry at least in my book that is too much for a SO CALLED PREMIUM MARUTI with a detuned turbo engine.

I thought Sx4, Kizashi, Grand Vitara and S-Cross failed even after having that Suzuki badge.
SX4 sold better than Fiat Linea and Global Fiesta,
Kizashi lost because it had no diesel option
Grand Vitara was a mystery and even Maruti didnt market it well
S Cross though we call it failed it still sells more than 2k cars per month which for some other brands is a number that screams success,

Maruti sees the threshold sales as more than 2000 cars per month and anything below that is failure, and that number is not a silly number for most other brands

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VpRoU-ECajQ
Baleno RS 1st take by NDTV
And as some one in comments section of video has told, the RS badge in Baleno gives a bad name to a legendary Ford Rally Sport badge[lol] and even looks like one.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VpRoU-ECajQ
Baleno RS 1st take by NDTV
And as some one in comments section of video has told, the RS badge in Baleno gives a bad name to a legendary Ford Rally Sport badge[lol] and even looks like one.
This car is a big disappointment man. In the above review, the reviewer says that it feels more like a NA 1.6 Petrol engine. But I really doubt that too. I have driven Ford Fiesta 1.6 RS and Volkswagen Polo 1.6 NA Petrol and they were a delight to drive. Those engines and chassis combo are masterpieces of affordable cars. I don't think Baleno RS would match them. In car acceleration, vehicle under load needs to be tested on open roads.

Enthusiasts prefer a MT and not AT
Enthusiasts do prefer automatics buddy. But not just any automatic. Automatics like DSGs , ZF transmissions and to some extent well tuned conventional AT's (manual mode). I have few in my friends circle who loves their Laura, Jettas and BMW's for a simple fact that they have oodles of power, dynamics and automatic (which offers best of both performance and convenience). And GT TSI is a kind of car which offers the best of both worlds, in other words it's a poor mans Audi. It so peaceful to drive a TSI in city traffic as well as one can enjoy it in sport mode on open roads. And to be frank it's hard to find open roads now a days and 90% of the drive will be in traffic. But for that 10% enjoyment GT TSI will do justice. Like you said, I agree that the service is a pain with all German cars. But one must be ready to put that extra moola (money) and care for that kind of a car for a short ownership period of 4-5 years and every drive is worth it. And I too don't recommend anyone to buy a German car If they are concerned about the reliability and service.I wouldn't suggest Baleno RS either [thumbsdown] :sorry:. I would rather choose a GT TSI or Base S variant 1.5 ivtec Honda City instead of Baleno RS.

The point I would like to make is, enthusiasts do prefer automatics too. It's the performance, finesse and the feel which they crave.

BTW, I own a GT TDI, but I always think of the TSI whenever I face bumper to bumper traffic situations. [frustration]

GT TSI : 0-100 timing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MQTrwDSSjHU

Modern Automatics are so much fun to drive. Just check this 2017 Passat TDI

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k667JmmS_eY

I am shocked to see that even an Innova with conventional AT can hit 100kmph under 10 secs [surprise]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QUeYwjMNlIU

Here are pics of the Baleno Booster-jet from Nexa Noida. 2 Cars were there a Red and Blue one. Footfall to check out the car not much.

20170305_140130.jpg

20170305_140203.jpg

20170305_140843.jpg

20170305_140149.jpg

20170305_140540.jpg

20170305_140557.jpg

20170305_140545.jpg

20170305_140358.jpg

20170305_140615.jpg

20170305_140311.jpg

20170305_140630.jpg

20170305_140746.jpg

20170305_140328.jpg

Sharing of these pics needs full credit to The Automotive India.

*Videos coming soon.

@Akash1886
Has the suspension been lowered for Baleno RS?
Whats the tire size, are those 195 section tires?

OK Folks, I had a very short (i mean very short) test drive of the Baleno RS today for around 2km in city conditions, basically in a lane which is less busy than the main road. Thats all they were willing to give me for an unregistered car, which is fair. My impressions:
- The 3 cylinder Boosterjet is fairly audible in the cabin , right from idle to the mid revs and beyond. You might have to use the AC/audio consistently to drown out that noise.
- the response for initial acceleration is more linear than peaky.
- The suspension surely feels tweaked up , I took a large hump (deliberately) at around 40 kph, but the car didnt 'jump' in response.
Its a very limited review. Would be interesting how the 1 litre engine will respond to a full load with AC in summer.It will surely be noisy!