Maruti Suzuki Baleno RS 1.0L Boosterjet Launched

Re: Spied! Maruti Suzuki Baleno RS 1.0L Boosterjet

Yes the Delta diesel, it was a 10 km test drive, I actually liked it on some counts, I think the Baleno petrol 1.2 Alpha and Delta makes a lot more sense than Swift and Figo aka Aspire petrols.
I was asking about Baleno RS with Boosterjet. Not the diesel one [:)]

Nope didnt drive the Boosterjet
I like the concept of a turbo petrol hatch back , hope the new Boosterjet will impress me on this count, still initial impression is ITS OVERPRICED

would have completely agreed with you if this car had 110 PS and 170 NM like it has in other markets, despite reduced power and a light 950 kg kerb weight it is got just 21.1 kmpl , an Ecosport 1.0 ecoboost with 123 ps, 170 NM and which is tall at 200 mm above ground and has less coefficient of Drag gets ARAI 18.9 kmpl and the Trend+ variant is almost same price as the Baleno RS as well, so this is not a good start however one may try, but as said by me before, this is a Maruti , so it will never be a failure, it will stand as a topping for the already fantastic baleno sales fgure
I completely agree with you that all the NEXA products are overpriced barring the revised SCross. Especially Ignis. Baleno RS follows the overpricing trend now. Someone was bang on when he compared this strategy akin to Hyundai's I-20 active. Make killer margins by dishing out 'No waiting periods'

Secondly i disagree with you about ecoboost and it's mileage claims. Just do a casual survey and you will see all the aggrieved customers with dismal FE figures.

I completely agree with you that all the NEXA products are overpriced barring the revised SCross. Especially Ignis. Baleno RS follows the overpricing trend now. Someone was bang on when he compared this strategy akin to Hyundai's I-20 active. Make killer margins by dishing out 'No waiting periods'

Secondly i disagree with you about ecoboost and it's mileage claims. Just do a casual survey and you will see all the aggrieved customers with dismal FE figures.
The dismal FE figures are real life figures which are not good for any petrol engine,
ARAI sets a destined loop for mileage and the car will be driven in an ideal manner to get that specifoed mileage. On that account Honda claims 17+ kmpl for City petrol, how many petrol car owners get at least more than 12 kmpl?
Even diesels claim 24-25 kmpl, will anybody get that on daily basis?
The real life daily diesel mileage are between 14-18 kmpl while most ARAis claims 20+ kmpl.

That said Booster jet has high probability of getting mileage closer to ArAi claims as the car is lower to ground, is much lighter snd might need way less stress in real life.

Everyone knows that buddy. For ecoboost EcoSport Ford claims 18.5 kmpl while you can't find a single case of anything above 10 kmpl via tank full method the (Real)Real life figures [sleep]

Not at all,
The in city mileage numbers are in between 10-11 kmpl for ecoboost and high way mileage ranges between 16-18 kmpl

Even TAI members have reported this mileage,
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...-ecosport-review-pictures-387.html#post351948
Check this out
Couldn't find more, but a quick search is enough to clarify things, remember Ecosport is an SUV and weighs 1246 kgs and 10.5-11.5 kmpl for a 1246 kg car is INCREDIBLE at the least

Demystifying the perceptions of a hot hatch on track!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g_4o09Co-FU
They really need to bring in the updated versions of all these hatches on the test, for example the Polo GT TSI 2017 with its 16in wheels and the Baleno RS. I am pretty sure that the GT will nearly equal if not surpass the handling feel of the hydraulic Punto Abarth. My car really feels heavy and fullsome on those turns, not at all soggy. Has made quite a difference to country road driving, which I encounter amply during my office commute to Hinjewadi. I can safely take in those curves at higher than medium speeds (below 70kph of course) and tuck into the lane with full reassurance from that 16 in rubber. Add to that the availability of the ESP as a safety 'extra'.

The Polo GT TSI is a car in a different league. Also in terms of price. However, that is because the TSI has been launched in India as is from the EU spec car. Not so the RS.
However, VW does cheat- all the lower trim Polos are 1.2L 3 cylinder engines whereas the TSI is a 1.2 4cyl turbo. Its like saying you are selling something and actually selling something else.
I have never been a fan of the RS either. To begin with, the Baleno that sells in India is a down speced version of the EU car in terms of build quality, safety and even trims. Then they bring out this supposedly global trim RS with the same engine as the EU car but retain everything else as the top speced local trim and then, charge additional 1.5Lakh for one cylinder less and a turbo. Never appreciated that.
There will be a comparo of those cars sooner or later. Thing is both the TSI and the Abarth are EU speced cars with Indianised interiors whereas the RS is an Indianised car. So both those will outclass the RS

Ameyam

Dont understand the part of 'cheating' by VW. The 1.2 3 cylinder specs (74 BHP/ 110NM) of a regular Polo are there for all to see. These engines are also available internationally. And you do get a Highline Polo petrol with all features and comforts as GT TSI except ESP . It costs 2.5 lacs less than the GT TSI.