Looking For New Car and Confused.

Yes , SN, in long run & for resale value , you are correct . But msil is known for good ASS and TATA s are also improving by leaps and bounds .And who wants to invest now for the resale value after 3 to 5 years ?

I dont think that's going to happen in the prevailing market situation, they will have to launch the W4 to mitigate the situation.
Any idea what features are going to be in the w4 model ? Since you said its already in production any idea about it ?

It might be costly but is an excellent option buddy. Comfort levels are very high,
excellent resale value (Even after clocking 1lakh kms one can get 70-80% of the value), very low maintenance, has adequate driving pleasure and you get the added advantage of Toyota reliability. Think about it mate. Its one of the safest option in MUV segment.
Sankar , I agree with all your points, but I have already stretched my budget a lot [:)]

@SN , buddy , who will supply vitamin M ? Surfer is not a govt .officer or a politico after all.
[clown] Humm

Good point Tornado But i was merely pointing out that the extra cost of Innova is really worth the money.
I agree.But no vitamin M

Yes , SN, in long run & for resale value , you are correct . But msil is known for good ASS and TATA s are also improving by leaps and bounds .And who wants to invest now for the resale value after 3 to 5 years ?
We can expect good resale for Eartiga also, ofcourse for storme it will be less, but who the hail whats to sell storme soon.

Any idea what features are going to be in the w4 model ? Since you said its already in production any idea about it ?
I expect at-least
1. PS
2. All PW
3. Basic Music system
4. ABS
+ something extra that storme LX dosent have.

In front of the pleasure Tata Storme provides, I do not think no body will think of "Kitna deti hai"
Well for new EX I really need to have TD. The engine got less power.
Feature wise it looks ok.

I expect at-least
1. PS
2. All PW
3. Basic Music system
4. ABS
+ something extra that storme LX dosent have.
I want without basic music system, so we have the choice to work with our ICE.
ABS for sure
PS
All PW
What you expect in extra then strome LX that W4 shall have?

Maruti Suzuki doesn't have a good genuine 7 seater in it;'s line up. Ertiga does have seven seats but the last row is very in space and putting two adults in last row would be a crime in Ertiga. True MSIL has good ASS and resale value but if you are looking for a genuine 7 seater which can accommodate 7 adults with comfort then you need to look at Innova, Tavera and Xylo.

Tata has some good products but they have almost no quality control in there manufacturing process and probably the reason why their cars have niggling issues. Regarding ASS Tata ASS are the worst experience one can have atleast in my city. This became so famous in my city and is probably the reason why their dealership looks deserted now.

Have you ever come across an owner of Innova who has complained about it's poor quality or bad ASS experience or any reliability issues? When you buy an Innova it just keeps running and running no matter how you maintain the vehicle. Most car's resale value goes down by 40-50% after 5 years of ownership and more than 1lakh kms in odo but in case of Innova it still somehow manages to have 70-80% of its value.

My advise would be to go for Innova if you can extend the budget slightly.

Sankar

Ask yourself how many hours a month you would put 2 adults on the 3rd row of Ertiga ??

Based on the answer go with Ertiga or Innova.

I am an Innova owner who has driven the Eritiga a lot. Honestly I feel Innova is old technology. Toyota has put in an undertuned commercial engine in MUV (mini van) that makes lot of noise. The gear stick is like a commercial one wrapped in leather. Having said that, it's the best vehicle in India today (under 20L) if you have to haul 7 people. High quality!!

Ertiga is also high quality, better engine, better mileage than Innova, excellent ASS, drives like a car (gear stick is like a joy stick), super handling, super braking, excellent interiors, loaded with safety features, much cheaper than Innova, etc., (I can go on and on). Only problem is 3rd is a bit tight.

Once you answer the question you'll know which one to buy.

Note: If you plan to put just 1 adult on the 3rd row then you'll have a harder time justifying the need for Innova.

Hey Surfer, what about the Chevy Enjoy Diesel.

You should TD an Enjoy it has a much better package at the price point.Do check it out.

Surfer, based on the inputs you provided nothing beats a Storme for sure.
Innova was good contended but budget issues sidelined it.
Now you need to look at your 7 ppl who would be riding the vehicle and reflect them in adjusting those in Storme Vs Ertiga and make a decision.

Tata has some good products but they have almost no quality control in there manufacturing process and probably the reason why their cars have niggling issues.
since the tata car concerned on this thread is Storme , please provide info or QC issues found in storme so that OP would find them useful during decision making.
Regarding ASS Tata ASS are the worst experience one can have atleast in my city. This became so famous in my city and is probably the reason why their dealership looks deserted now.
The city concerned on this thread is Pune , hence he need to read ASS feedback from storme owners from Pune.
If at all the OP buys & happens to visit your city and somehow needs to visit TASS then your city TASS becomes important.
In case of Toyota , there are n numbers of cities where Toyota ASS facility doesn't exist but MASS
and TASS does.

If you are considering TATA vehicle, and plan to keep it for long, then check potential maintenance costs. My friend spends 15K average on his 6 year old Safari every year.

since the tata car concerned on this thread is Storme , please provide info or QC issues found in storme so that OP would find them useful during decision making.

The city concerned on this thread is Pune , hence he need to read ASS feedback from storme owners from Pune.
If at all the OP buys & happens to visit your city and somehow needs to visit TASS then your city TASS becomes important.
In case of Toyota , there are n numbers of cities where Toyota ASS facility doesn't exist but MASS
and TASS does.
TASS generally are not considered the best in our country and i can't comment on Safari Storme as it's new in market but i know very well about Tata Aria which shares all mechanical and underpinning with new Safari Storme. Owning an Aria is a big headache and i know this very clearly as my company owned an Aria sometime back. My company usually used to buy Innovaand run it for 2yrs or 1.5L kms and then sell it off and buy another Innova (Usually get around 70-80% as it is very well maintained). Admin manager made the desicion to buy Aria for a change and that landed him in big trouble. Car seized 4 times during initial 2 months ownership and at times electricals would play havoc also. Fed up after some very poor diagnostic skills from TASS and an incident were it broke down with a UK client onboard while on a trip to airport which nearly led to client missing his flight it was finally sold off at over 6lakh loss.

Sankar

Thread Starter #45
What you expect in extra then strome LX that W4 shall have?
Second row AC, rear wash wipe, fog lamps.

My advise would be to go for Innova if you can extend the budget slightly.
Not possible, already stretched a lot.I 100% agree with you that Innova is very good.

Based on the answer go with Ertiga or Innova.
Ertiga for me.

Hey Surfer, what about the Chevy Enjoy Diesel.
You should TD an Enjoy it has a much better package at the price point.Do check it out.
Yes , I have done TD, didn't liked it.Also interiors are not that good. NVH is high.
It looks too boxy also.And average is also less that Ertiga.
Its better suited if we go for base diesel model and save a lot money.

Now you need to look at your 7 ppl who would be riding the vehicle and reflect them in adjusting those in Storme Vs Ertiga and make a decision
Agree.

f at all the OP buys & happens to visit your city and somehow needs to visit TASS then your city TASS becomes important.
At least it is better in Pune , that I know.

If you are considering TATA vehicle, and plan to keep it for long, then check potential maintenance costs. My friend spends 15K average on his 6 year old Safari every
year.
Humm but even I had spend a lot on my 8 year old zen.

TASS generally are not considered the best in our country and i can't comment on Safari Storme as it's new in market but i know very well about Tata Aria which shares all mechanical and underpinning with new Safari Storme
Still I prefer storme.

Go for Storme man.It's the Real SUV:)
Every one knows that XOVI :tongue: I am waiting for W4