In the Market Looking Out For 4x4 SUV [Edit: Bought a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport]

Please suggest from the shortlists below

Re: In the Market Looking Out For 4x4 SUV

^^If you are convinced for Fortuner, then I feel that is a good deal, try if you can negotiate further depending upon the condition of the vehicle

Thread Starter #62

^^ Damn that Fortuner got sold even before I could make a move - Used T-Forts are like fastest movers in seconds market!

I let go of a near new Pajero Sport(about 6k run), I liked all of it except the black color with excess chrome garnished - this car, after the XUV especially want to go non black. It was a clean car, i might regret this one!

Since your only qualm about the Rx5 is the lower power output,my suggestion.

get a tuning kit for the Rx5 and match it to the the Rx7 ratings.

i am sure it would be probably costing lesser than a new fortuner.

Thread Starter #64

Since your only qualm about the Rx5 is the lower power output,my suggestion.

get a tuning kit for the Rx5 and match it to the the Rx7 ratings.

i am sure it would be probably costing lesser than a new fortuner.
Personally I am more inclined to a Fortuner/Pajero than a RX5 - the RX7 interiors did not give me a build to last feeling - "its a everything is there but something is missing feeling with the Rexton". Will it perform average offroad , how will it age , maintenance etc - I dont know I havent researched it too well - i must admit, while the Pajero and Fortuner have a long lineage to boast of! The interiors feel quirky korean.

Sorry if I am jumping into the thread late.

I have voted for New Storme vs Used Fortuner. Reason is simple. Though there is no doubt about Toyota reliability , but please be sure of cost replacement parts.

BTW once I saw an used PY reg Fortuner in BLR for 12 lacs[:)]

For Storme I would advise you to wait till Dec or Jan to get best discounts. I guess TATA sells Xenon via Commercial Outlet(same as Winger). Seeing quite a few new ones here.

Also I would suggest you to consider one more vehicle - Yeti 4 x 4.

Anshuman

Thread Starter #67

Anshuman sorry for the late revert, the old yeti was a complete no go, it looks too quirky.
The new one is better from the front though side profile looks boxy still i think.
I am looking for a full size SUV i.e Storme/ Fortuner size ideally. The Yeti is neither a Gurkha nor in the Fortuner class - a no man's land for me.

i like the Storme , but the VX 4x4 is too exhorbitantly priced - no wonder it doesnt sell, its a shame the true suv version doesnt sell. I find the Used Fortuner much more VFM than a new Storme - it can do so much more. Agreed Tata spares will be cheaper than Fortuner but Fortuner spares will be needed much lesser than Tata. Paying Tata a premium doesnt sound sweet in my mind. Lets be honest putting 16.5 lakhs on anew storme VX4x4 doesnt sound VFM from any angle to me (and i also agree the same for a new Fortuner but atleast you get a Toyota)

Thread Starter #69

how about a little older Montero?
I must admit i did stumble upon one 3.2ltr in the used market, but it might cost a bomb to upkeep it here as its imported and not CKD - so even spares will be very expensive. FE will be single digit as well - in return you will get one hell of a monster![:D]

EDIT:- New Storme and Used Fortuner are neck in neck in the poll, great if people mention why one scores over the another - would be interested to know others views. I am pouring through a lot of data for all these answers , especially to understand what do i lose out with each of them.

How about a Scorpio gateway 4x4 , Had seen yesterday . Looked like a Monster !! [;)]

give used LRs too. they hardly go wrong but yes servicing will be expensive but that's only a yearly expense.

Hi Iron Rock,
The cheapest Fortuner costs upwards of 15 lakhs for a very good specimen if its from 2009.At that price the New Storme has a case for itself.Don't think that Storme won't be left wanting in any situation that Fortuner takes on.But the only fly in the ointment is the reliability.With TATA its always a risk.Will I ever put my money on the line for a TATA product,heck no.I will rather buy an overpriced Toyota.
Aneesh.

@Aneesh

There used to be times people talk about T fort and other foreign brands reliability, but in today's situation our Indian brands like Mahindra or Tata are not that bad either.

Some how I feel Toyota vehicles are over hyped many times talking about their reliability as their USP, but I have seen many Innovas and Fortuners stranded with troubles and spending lot of time in service centers.

On the other hand products from M&M and TATA have improved a lot in reliability aspect too and if some thing goes wrong the repair is quick and spares are cheaper too.

I am not supporting Storme or its 4x4 price, but IR knows better about the TATA reliability as he used a SUMO to its death[:)]

Some how I feel Toyota vehicles are over hyped many times talking about their reliability as their USP, but I have seen many Innovas and Fortuners stranded with troubles and spending lot of time in service centers.
C'mon guys, let's not start this again!!! All cars breakdown, from M800 to the Mercs to the Lambos. Reliability is a factor of the %age of vehicles that see breakdowns. Request ALL to not bring this point into decision making, just on the basis of seeing a particular brand's cars brokendown. [frustration]

^^easy my dear, reliability is also one of the important factor while selection, so there should not be a ban on the same and shouldn't be a breaking head for a breakdown [:)]