In the Market Looking Out For 4x4 SUV [Edit: Bought a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport]

Please suggest from the shortlists below

Thread Starter #46
Re: In the Market Looking Out For 4x4 SUV

Further Update :-

Inspite of registering an interest for Storme , got no followup calls from Tata - the usual I guess. I think i need to chase the hard if I want to buy a VX 4x4.

TDed Rexton Rx7 :- Unfortunately manual wasnt available so had to TD the Auto.
First Impressions :- That OM612 is very refined compared to the rest I am considering in this race. The turbo lag in automatic is high, however performance is still ok - the manual i think would be much better. Power output from manual and auto versions are different - auto version outputs more bhp and torque. No Low ratio in automatic, so only RX5 can be considered in my search. Its surely a VFM offering. Interiors however dont ooze the same class as it does in a fortuner. I tried the manual mode with the steering buttons but those were laggy too, guess the tiptronic gearbox is slow to react.
Overall while it will be low in the list i might just still consider it.

Used Pajero Sport :-
I TDed a new sport(just because used are hard to find ) and boy i am impressed, its built like a Patton tank, Its build to last forever, the final finish might not be as appealing as say the new fortuner - but this thing impressed me with everything i threw at it. I took it across the worst of roads / off-road, rally drove it in no roads and it was as poised - amazing handling, build quality, dynamics. Low end torque and second row seats apart apart hardly any negatives to talk about. Its ride quality + ability to take abuse far far outlast the Storme - off course there is a 10+ lakh difference in price which should be factored as well. Among the BOF SUVs it has by far the best dynamics and ride quality.

Fortuner :- I couldnt TD a Fortuner last weekend, but hopefully might do it soon. Fit and Finish is right up there though sheet metal quality is pathetic, but i think thats to reduce weight, I am sure it uses high tensile steel where needed and flimsy body panels otherwise. Equipment level is decent with just the absence of GPS. Seats are very good and even third row is quite decent amidst the competition here. HIDs are now standard with err headlamp washers. More about it once I TD it.

Thread Starter #47

Just back after TDing the new Fortuner, unfortunately though it was an AT. However I was keen to check out the seating comfort and ride quality and some generic items. The fortuner has better second and third rows compared to competition clearly - however ride quality wise this is the worst of the lot.
I found the AT considerably refined compared to an old fortuner i had driven long back. NVH levels are much better than before. Also the gearbox has minimal lag and does the job adequately well, especially compared to the Rexton this gearbox feels much better. I also put it on some stretches with no roads, needless to say ride quality was really stiff.
The leather seats in the T-Fort seem to have washed out look with age, though TD vehicles will be abused, but i have seen this happening in multiple T-Forts

Further Update :-

Used Pajero Sport :-
I TDed a new sport(just because used are hard to find ) and boy i am impressed, its built like a Patton tank, Its build to last forever, the final finish might not be as appealing as say the new fortuner - but this thing impressed me with everything i threw at it. I took it across the worst of roads / off-road, rally drove it in no roads and it was as poised - amazing handling, build quality, dynamics. Low end torque and second row seats apart apart hardly any negatives to talk about. Its ride quality + ability to take abuse far far outlast the Storme - off course there is a 10+ lakh difference in price which should be factored as well. Among the BOF SUVs it has by far the best dynamics and ride quality.
Just back after TDing the new Fortuner,
Drive whatever you wish man, BUT, you have driven the Devil's Ride - The Pajero. Nothing else shall appease you from now on. [evil]

Thread Starter #50

^^ Confusion reigns for now, am open to all options and studying all of them closely if they suit my purpose.

Have added a poll, gentlemen I would really appreciate your inputs.

Just back after TDing the new Fortuner, unfortunately though it was an AT. However I was keen to check out the seating comfort and ride quality and some generic items. The fortuner has better second and third rows compared to competition clearly - however ride quality wise this is the worst of the lot.
Hey Iron Rock, I also test the Toyota Fortuner with AT and the ride was very bumpy.

Then I test the Rexton W with 2.7 and AT and the ride was excellent. It feel more like a regular car VS a 4x4. I also feel that the engine was strong and pick speed very fast. The third row of seats is for kid only but I think there is no 4x4 that have a comfortable 3er row seat.

Also here in my country the Rexton cost $32,000 US Dollars VS the Fortuner that cost $39K.

I have not make my decision yet but I think the Rexton W is a real winner. I will wait a little more in order to read more Rexton experiences. This brand is almost new here in my country. Its been represented by the same company that sells Volvo and Mahindra cars and they have good support reputation.

THX,

Isaac

Thread Starter #52

Hey Iron Rock, I also test the Toyota Fortuner with AT and the ride was very bumpy.

Then I test the Rexton W with 2.7 and AT and the ride was excellent. It feel more like a regular car VS a 4x4. I also feel that the engine was strong and pick speed very fast. The third row of seats is for kid only but I think there is no 4x4 that have a comfortable 3er row seat.

Also here in my country the Rexton cost $32,000 US Dollars VS the Fortuner that cost $39K.

I have not make my decision yet but I think the Rexton W is a real winner. I will wait a little more in order to read more Rexton experiences. This brand is almost new here in my country. Its been represented by the same company that sells Volvo and Mahindra cars and they have good support reputation.

THX,

Isaac
I agree with your observations largely, the Rexton has a better ride than Fortuner for sure. The etronic gearbox despite a laggy feeling still does very good 0-100 numbers, so the mercedes lays down power on the floor well. I was hoping atleast in the manual mode it will not feel laggy but that wasnt the case as well. May be the ASR does the work well. I didnt have the OBD device with me to test this in detail this time.

I missed one thing - the speed sensitive steering felt lifeless and light with no feedback whatsoever, its all electronic and needs getting used to. The car is loaded to the gills. Memory seats at this price too!

3rd row is limited in most cars, but the Fortuner is most decent in that aspect while the Rexton literally sits on the floor. In terms of pricing its tremendous value for money.
But just like there, here also it kind of new and unproven(locally) coming via Mahindra's Ssanyong aquisition.

Edit :- What are your options in the market there ? You seem to have a similar predicament as me, but do you need a strong 4x4 as well ?

Turbo_boss i got this from a mahindra dealer, you might find it useful. Offcourse its made by them to market the Rexton against the Fortuner, so take with a pinch of salt.
Hey Iron Rock, thx for the PDF info.

The Rexton W Rexton is a beauty and comes with many more "extras" than the Toyota Fortuner but I will like to know how the Rexton W will behave in the long term use. The Fortuner has less extras but is a proven quality car that mechanically does not give any kind of problems and this is something that weighs heavily when making a comparative!

Isaac

In the poll, I have voted for a used Fortuner only because you mentioned the ones in bold-

> Top Five Priorities: 4x4 with Low ratio compulsory(no AWD business), Average to low maintenance, Long term workhorse, Decent in Space for 5, 7 is a bonus, Decent FE, VFM and reliable.
I am sure the Fortuner has a far better 3rd row than the Rexton. Plus the Fortuner is very very reliable. But is it value for money? No ways.

For the kind of equipment and engineering (similar to Innova) the car offers, it should be cheaper by atleast 4-5 Lacs! But then that is my personal opinion and VFM is again subjective.

As mentioned in the PDF file, spares of Fortuner are not really cheap, so maintenance costs wont be very low.

If I was in your place, I would buy the Rexton, no doubts about it. The presence of the Rexton is amazing and I drool when I see a black or white Rexton on the road.

Thread Starter #58

In the poll, I have voted for a used Fortuner only because you mentioned the ones in bold-

I am sure the Fortuner has a far better 3rd row than the Rexton. Plus the Fortuner is very very reliable. But is it value for money? No ways.

For the kind of equipment and engineering (similar to Innova) the car offers, it should be cheaper by atleast 4-5 Lacs! But then that is my personal opinion and VFM is again subjective.

As mentioned in the PDF file, spares of Fortuner are not really cheap, so maintenance costs wont be very low.

If I was in your place, I would buy the Rexton, no doubts about it. The presence of the Rexton is amazing and I drool when I see a black or white Rexton on the road.
I agree with you largely, new Fortuner isnt VFM, but a used one makes tremendous sense infact more than a new Storme VX 4x4. Personally I would rather pay brand cost to a Toyota than a Tata (atleast in the case of Fortuner vis a vis Storme VX 4x4).

I found out that the service costs of Fortuner is low while the spare cost is high, so if you end up banging somewhere and needing a part it will be an expensive affair - however we all I am sure will agree that a Toyota would have a failing part lesser than the others. The Hilux has been a absolute workhorse abroad. The fortuner in india is used more for show than go though. I noticed the stock OE tyre for Fortuner is absolutely useless in offroading - especially in muck it will simply be spinning merrily with no traction - so I will need to spend further on AT tyres(atleast) as well.

Rexton beats the Fortuner hands down on on paper, I only TDed the AT version, need to check the manual version though and especially low ratio and mercedes gearbox. Strangely MT version outputs lesser power/torque than the AT which is a bit of let down for me.

Edit :- Third Row of Fortuner is best amidst all in this poll easily. The second row slides as well to create more space + third row back reclines to make it further comfortable. Infact for shorter runs and average/small sized people, 3 can sit in the third row!

I agree with you largely, new Fortuner isnt VFM, but a used one makes tremendous sense infact more than a new Storme VX 4x4. Personally I would rather pay brand cost to a Toyota than a Tata (atleast in the case of Fortuner vis a vis Storme VX 4x4).
Problem with a used Fortuner is that you will get a vehicle with about 30-40k on the odo. Which means regular wear and tear items like clutch, brakes are even tyres will be up for replacement in the next 10-15k kms. And that would be an expensive affair.

I agree that regular servicing of Toyotas are not very expensive, considering the cost of the vehicle. But all I know is my Innova has a bill upwards of 5k whenever it went for servicing, which is every 5k kms. Mine might be a one off case.

And, do you really need a used vehicle when you can get a swanking new one off the showroom with that budget? I bought a used Civic since I will not get a spacious and powerful A/T sedan in that budget. But that is not the case with you, since you have a healthy budget upwards of Rs. 20 Lacs.

Thread Starter #60

Tyres at 40k is a possibility depending on how it was driven, brakes again possible if one is harsh, but clutch not so early i guess.
Btw 2012 Fortuner 19k on Odo - 19L asking price - just got called by an agent in pune !