In the Market Looking Out For 4x4 SUV [Edit: Bought a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport]

Please suggest from the shortlists below

Re: In the Market Looking Out For 4x4 SUV

You could try picking a Bolero which can withstand good amount of offroad abuse. This option works if you are on a moderate budget. However, if you are open to try out something more expensive and at the same time rugged, you should certainly consider a used Toyota Fortuner or a Pajero SFX. Although Pajero SFX is more close to my heart and a better off-roader (IMO), its maintenance is sky high! Add to that availability of spares which was an issue even when the car was in production. So if you dont mind spending upto 15-16lacs for a used truck, then it has to be a Toyota Fortuner.

IR buddy i think Storme and Fortuner ticks most of the boxes in your case.

If budget is not a constraint than go ahead with a Fortuner.
- Reliable
- Durable
- 7 seater with front facing
- Good off roader
- Powerful engine

Recently drove my cousins Fortuner and when i saw the ODO i was like [surprise]. It had done 97000 kms in just 2.5 years and dude the beast runs smooth with no rattling noise just smooth. So even if the maintenance is slightly on higher side but you know its a kick ass product.

Otherwise Storme 4*4 is a good contender.

Also since you are open to used as well, here are my preferences:
- Endy
- Pajero
- Pajero Sport

See IR buddy, you have already got a UV, oops sorry- I mean SUV[lol] which has got 7 seats, is a good mile muncher and its performance is hidden to none. C'mon man, it can kill even a Fortuner or Pajero Sport in a highway sprint if the driver is capable(I mean like me, not oldies like you).

Hence I'd personally suggest you to cross the 10 lac limit only if you want a complete substitute to XUV, the one which you can use to make Pune - Ladakh trips, or say your next mainstream car. If this is the plan, then cross the 10-15 lac limit and go out to book either a Fortuner if you strictly need seven seats or a Safari Storme if 5 seats is what you need.

FACT: Fortuner is a Toyota and it costs 25 lacs. Still if you think its maintenance and spares will cost less than Safari by any ways then sorry to say, but foolishness can be proved by many other examples. Being a Toyota, spare prices are on a higher side and it is for any Toyota(Leave the hatch and sedan siblings) be it Corolla, Innova, Camry or Fortuner, spares are on the priciest side in their respective segments(I have experienced it with Corolla and Innova) but yes - they are really longest lasting spares[thumbsup]

And if you need a 4X4 for going farms and seasonal outings and sometime to show off at office too, then get a Gurkha, fit alloys and off road tires and use that car for anything and everything off the road. Why spend 20-25 lacs if you want the car for offroading most of the time? Gurkha can do it better than anything else and will not cost a bomb to maintain even if anything goes wrong off the road.
In other words, It should be a Fortuner if you wish to cross 20 lac, a Safari if you wish to cross 15 lac and a Gurkha if you wish to be under 10-12 lac.

Last but not least: I believe in manual 4X4 controls like high-low ratio shifting and hence those electronic shift on fly types always keep me doubtful. Gurkha has got the highest level of involvement(You can select everythign manually as per your requirement) when you go off road adding a lot more to the fun and the joy of the off roading.

Storme and Gurkha, with an added advantage of giving it a try in the used Fortuner market as well.
I agree with your logic, Scorpio is ruled out, doesnt make sense to me, Storme, Gurkha and Fortuner are in the list.

The Force Gurkha is a good choice in your budget. However if you need highway driving too, i suggest you to wait for the force one's lx 4x4 which is the first in India with differential locks!
Yes I am considering the Gurkha, waiting for news on the updates. Force One 4x4 wont be VFM in my view given their existing pricing.

In comparison to the Storme and Scorpio.

Prices of regular servicing and spares of Toyota is higher.
I actually think Fortuner is cheaper to service, agreed spare cost will be higher but it will be needed 1/3 the times of others.

I would recommend you considering the Storme.
Thanks mate Storme VX 4x4 is completely non VFM - it at max deserves a 12-13.5(may be 14) on road - at 16.5 nearly on road, i dont see the point(unless i am a die hard safari fan in which case price doesn't matter really). At best one can pay a lakh over the equivalent dicor version(and that too charitably). To be honest Tata dont seem to be interested to sell 4x4 version of the "Real SUV" - else there would have been a LX 4x4 already. Question here what kind of discounts Tata can stretch to.

@IR
How about Rexton and Endeavor
Endeavour is not even in the list , its too ageing and doesnt even have a proper second row leave aside third. Now Rexton appears VFM with the 5 cylinder OM 612 Mercedes technology - but hitherto unknown in India with Mahindra backup. I am still not convinced fully I should consider it.

Check this out
Force Motors Force One 2.2 Diesel 4x4 | Cars First Drive | SUV/Crossovers | Autocar India[/url]
Thanks But they will price it in the Storme price range, and between the two Storme would be a more safer choice, though i do like the Force one for its size and space.

IR buddy i think Storme and Fortuner ticks most of the boxes in your case.
If budget is not a constraint than go ahead with a Fortuner.
Otherwise Storme 4*4 is a good contender.
Also since you are open to used as well, here are my preferences:
- Endy
- Pajero
- Pajero Sport
I fully agree with your assessment, a used Fortuner is great VFM ! Endy apart(its too outdated) I will consider all of the list above.

In other words, It should be a Fortuner if you wish to cross 20 lac, a Safari if you wish to cross 15 lac and a Gurkha if you wish to be under 10-12 lac.

Last but not least: I believe in manual 4X4 controls like high-low ratio shifting and hence those electronic shift on fly types always keep me doubtful. Gurkha has got the highest level of involvement(You can select everythign manually as per your requirement) when you go off road adding a lot more to the fun and the joy of the off roading.
Leaving the verbose aside, agree with your assessment largely except the fact that Storme deserves over 15 lakhs , I dont believe Storme deserves that kind of premium over Dicor and neither does the new Fortuner deserve that premium. But with Toyota brand they can continue their merry ways, Tata cant.[:D]. Also fully agree a manual transfer case is much better than an electronic one especially if i intend to use it for medium offroading.

Gurkha agreed sub 10 lakh best offroader money can buy!

i would say wait for the jeep wrangler [:)]

sorry for the one lined answer .
A thought did cross my mind but knowing Fiat god knows when this might come and surely wont come cheap or VFM

@ Akash , Yes Bolero could be consideration if it was a straight replacement for the Sumo. Fortuner and SFX are indeed very aspirational and attractive for my purpose. Even though the SFX is very old in tooth, it still deserves respect.

I don't think @IR is in a view of unlimited budget when I read his replies. Except that medium offroading everything else is very simple requirement and yes his is looking for a VFM thing finally. With this scenario non of the new launches will impress him as the reliability will in a question mark. So his options are simple

1. A Fortuner( from seconds market if he gets with some low mileage on the ODO)
2. A Storme (if TATA suddenly launches LX 4x4)

Other than the above, a Gurkha seems to be on the cards !! Since own a XUV I don't think he will go for one more M&M vehicle

How About the Xenon mate, customize it and it would be drool by all later and will also look wicked and evil [glasses]

It will be an allrounder for sure and had it been me in your place, i would have gone for it

Other than the above, a Gurkha seems to be on the cards !! Since own a XUV I don't think he will go for one more M&M vehicle
Only other angle is discounts on Storme, Tata anyways need it to sell it. If they dole out something nice on the VX 4x4 , then I can compromise on the ESOF part.
Regarding M&M or anyone for that matter I find it boring to buy the same brand again and again, life is short and there are too many cars to try out [;)]

How About the Xenon mate, customize it and it would be drool by all later and will also look wicked and evil [glasses]

It will be an allrounder for sure
Here goes the story , this was short listed, and i registered through the website for a test drive. Next day I get a call :-

Tata : Sir you are looking for a Xenon XT 4x4
Me :- Yes how soon can you arrange a TD ?
Tata :- Which dealer you prefer ?
Me :- Concorde only
Tata :- No such dealer in pune sir, we can do from Pandit automotive.
Me :- Offcourse there is concorde motors i see it every other week unless I am hallucinating.
Tata :- Sir we will arrange from Pandit motors
Me :- OK

2 hrs later got a call from Pandit

Pandit :- Sir you interested in Xenon booking.
Me:- Yes when can i have a look and TD ?
Pandit:- We dont have TD vehicle sit but we can take booking.
Me :- Fantastic, Thank you very much, I dont have money but i can book.

I called Concorde motors then (and subsequently also visited ) :-
Me :- I am interested in Xenon , can you please arrange a TD i can come over.
Someone who picked the call :- We dont have anything called Xenon , in 4x4 we have Storme and Aria. Buy Aria sir, luxury car.
Me:- Let me rephrase Xenon XT is made by Tata in India and also exported.
Concorde:- Let me check sir, after 1 min of holding, no sir we don't have xenon for td and cant arrange td vehicle. But we can take booking.

To summarise in a city where they have a mega factory they cant even arrange a TD of the vehicle they produce - why should i even buy it ? Imagine what will happen when i go for a service - sir this vehicle is not in our system we cant service it ! I can pull a few strings and visit the factory - but whats the point , these guys dont even understand how to sell a car, leave alone customer service.

Here goes the story , this was short listed, and i registered through the website for a test drive. Next day I get a call :-

Tata :- No such dealer in pune sir, we cna do from Pandit automotive.
Me :- Offcourse there is concorde motors i see it every other week unless I am hallucinating.

2 hrs later got a call from Pandit

Pandit :- Sir you interested in Xenon booking.
Me:- Yes when can i have a look and TD ?
Pandit:- We dont have TD vehicle sit but we can take booking.
Me :- Fantastic, Thank you very much, I dont have money but i can book.

I called Concorde motors then (and subsequently also visited ) :-
Me :- I am interested in Xenon , can you please arrange a TD i can come over.
Someone who picked the call :- We dont have anything called Xenon , in 4x4 we have Storme and Aria. Buy Aria sir, luxury car.
Me:- Let me rephrase Xenon XT is made by Tata in India and also exported.
Concorde:- Let me check sir, after 1 min of holding, no sir we dont have xenon for td and cant arrange no td vehicle. But we can take booking.

To summarise in a city where they have a mega factory they cant even arrange a TD of the vehicle they produce - why should i even buy it ? Imagine what will happen when i go for a service - sir this vehicle is not in our system we cant service it ! I can pull a few strings and visit the factory - but whats the point , they guys dont even understand how to sell a car, leave alone customer service.
@IR I really do not have words to comment on the above, but can say it is really "Pathetic" on TATA and its dealers and its really irritating at times. TATA if you are reading this, then please feel shame for a while where you talk about JLR which looks funny to me[anger]

Moral of the story however one have excellent vehicle, whoever responds quick and with some sense will win the market and who doesn't will die soon[lol]

Only other angle is discounts on Storme, Tata anyways need it to sell it. If they dole out something nice on the VX 4x4 , then I can compromise on the ESOF part.
Regarding M&M or anyone for that matter I find it boring to buy the same brand again and again, life is short and there are too many cars to try out [;)]

Tata :- No such dealer in pune sir, we cna do from Pandit automotive.
Just as you told about this incident, i had one of my close buddy who runs a poultry farm and wanted a vehicle for utility and after many discussions/look outs we decided on a Bollero camper and its a DI engine and it was not a Crde engine at that point of time

During our first visit they didn't arrange a test drive and just like how you were moved around by the TATA guys we were moved around and finally after we managed to test drive one, we were convinced ( we were already planning for the customizations[lol])

There Came a shocker from the sales guy that, " from last month we sell this vehicle as a commercial vehicle only sir- Only Yellow Board"

But for your information we wanted it so badly as it would serve more people within our group and his farm purposes and all other utilities and occasional camping, so we spoke to the manager and tried all possible ways and finally got it registered as a Own board (white board) vehicle with some tricks and paisa

First mate if you are convinced with the looks and practicality of xenon then go asking for a TD and i am sure once you drive one and if you are happy, you would do all needed to register it in your name, though the situations were different in our cases, all what matters is if you really like the vehicle and wanna go chasing 4 it to find one

The road to find something better and what we deserve is always tough, might be its finance issues for some others, but it was finding a TD vehicle and response for you probably [;)]

Moral of the story however one have excellent vehicle, whoever responds quick and with some sense will win the market and who doesn't will die soon[lol]
The road to find something better and what we deserve is always tough, might be its finance issues for some others, but it was finding a TD vehicle and response for you probably [;)]
Inspite of all of the above, i did visit the Concorde motors showroom (which felt like a Hero Honda Showroom by the way - a good friend commented) - there were hardly 3-4 customers on a Saturday noon. My interest was the figure out discount and on road prices. I didnt need any TD of the Storme(been there done that, know very well) but just wanted to see explorer edition. Just test drove the tea offered and it was bad.:biggrin:

I didn't negotiate at all, but they sounded like Storme 4x4 is anyways made to order with 2 months waiting and hence discounts are unlikely , current scheme is 20k + 10K corporate discount blah blah. I took a quotation and walked out amused.

It definitely looks like a bike showroom [evil].But it beats me why they can't have a Xenon in Pune for test drive!Maybe they are used to people buying vehicles without test drives.

Tata :- No such dealer in pune sir, we can do from Pandit automotive.
[lol] Joke of the day

They might have Xenon for test drive in their Commercial vehicle showroom [sleep]

It definitely looks like a bike showroom [evil].But it beats me why they can't have a Xenon in Pune for test drive!Maybe they are used to people buying vehicles without test drives.
I can never buy a vehicle without test drives, infact unless i know all the limitations of the vehicle with data I wouldn't consider it, hence Xenon XT is outside the list for now. I am ok to learn the positives of the vehicle later, but limitations and compromises need to be understand upfront(and every vehicle will have that).

[lol] Joke of the day

They might have Xenon for test drive in their Commercial vehicle showroom [sleep]
I registered for the test drive via their website, so they need to decide which showroom should call me - i dont think they have TD vehicle at all. Anyways Xenon out, but Storme still in the list.