In the Market Looking Out For 4x4 SUV [Edit: Bought a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport]

Please suggest from the shortlists below

Re: In the Market Looking Out For 4x4 SUV

I was referring to the Xenon in my comment, Storme off course I have played with it enough.
You don't have too many options . Since your sumo did everything what you wanted it to do why you don't buy the bolero this time ? It will give you same kind of utility anyway .

Even if you will buy a force Gurkha don't expect mind blowing service and all . Infact they don't have a single Gurkha for even a test drive yet . ( don't know if they have one in Pune ) I asked in Delhi and new Mumbai they dint have one to offer . They only offer the force one test drive for 1 km .

Similarly you will get a Scorpio 4x4 also very rare to test drive as it is only made make to order . ( in Mumbai not a single dealer has a Scorpio 4x4 available for test drive , and other then NBS normal Scorpio is also not available to test drive in most of dealership , don't know the situation in Pune though )

mahindra gateway , mahindra's answer to the xenon have you considered that ?

A week back I saw a xenon parked outside Concorde Mumbai .

Btw they just launched it in Australia .

Here is the media pic.

You don't have too many options . Since your sumo did everything what you wanted it to do why you don't buy the bolero this time ? It will give you same kind of utility anyway .

Even if you will buy a force Gurkha don't expect mind blowing service and all . Infact they don't have a single Gurkha for even a test drive yet . ( don't know if they have one in Pune ) I asked in Delhi and new Mumbai they dint have one to offer . They only offer the force one test drive for 1 km .

Similarly you will get a Scorpio 4x4 also very rare to test drive as it is only made make to order . ( in Mumbai not a single dealer has a Scorpio 4x4 available for test drive , and other then NBS normal Scorpio is also not available to test drive in most of dealership , don't know the situation in Pune though )
mahindra gateway , mahindra's answer to the xenon have you considered that ?
A week back I saw a xenon parked outside Concorde Mumbai .

Btw they just launched it in Australia .

Here is the media pic.
Sirji this is not a pure Sumo replacement for me, bolero isnt comfortable for long drives, its neither too great offroad, nor too great on road -> Its a rugged people mover and for that matter I would rather prefer a sumo than it any day.
If a manufacturer cannot provide a car for TD no point even considering that car as far as i am concerned - be it whatever. I haven't considered the getaway at all(not yet) - hardly seen a odd one on road. If Tata can provide a ticket to Australia I dont mind going there to TD Xenon :tongue:

Regarding Gurkha any basic mechanic can deal with it - its rugged old school hammer and tong stuff - service aspects dont worry me about the Gurkha. I can already envisage the kind of problems Ill have with it and jhugads to fix them.

Hi Iron rock,
Guess what,I just met a distant relative of mine a restaurer,he has got the XT.Its just awesome and imposing.But it costs more than 11 lakhs.If you need me to ask him something I shall.
Aneesh.

Aneesh Sir, you can request him to join our forum, that way we will all benefit to hear from his experiences. While the XT is a 2.2 Dicor I can probably guess the performance, what I would be keen to know is seating comfort in second row, it might be a little upright is my guess and also ride quality at zero rear load - it might be bouncy is my guess.

Hi Iron rock,
Please don't address me Sir,because I'm a very ordinary person.I chose dr as my handle because all my mail ids are like that.The moment I come out of the hospital I cease to be a doctor.He is already there on another forum,so don't think he will have time for our's also.He runs a hectic Italian restaurant.Will ask about the seats and ride quality.
Aneesh.

If a manufacturer cannot provide a car for TD no point even considering
You are right , and also demand for such vehicles are relatively less too . So stocking such models maybe must be adding to their inventory . ( all dealers of vehicles not just limited to mahindra or tata ) .
But anyway we are buyer here in your case , so it's a disadvantage .

If Tata can provide a ticket to Australia I dont mind going there to TD Xenon :tongue:
What if they really send you there on behalf of a TAI official review ? Who knows ? [;)]
Regarding Gurkha any basic mechanic can deal with it - its rugged old school hammer and tong stuff - service aspects dont worry me about the Gurkha. I can already envisage the kind of problems Ill have with it and jhugads to fix them.
then what is stoping you from buying one ?

OT - since this topic was under discussion , I luckily spotted this outside the hotel were I was staying yesterday in Dubai . See the attached pic .

Hi Iron rock,
Guess what,I just met a distant relative of mine a restaurer,he has got the XT.Its just awesome and imposing.But it costs more than 11 lakhs.If you need me to ask him something I shall.
Aneesh.
Can you post some pics too if possible ?

@IR

I drove Storme for a long drive today in some very bad stretches and I could confidently say that it will exactly fit your requirement though the vehicle I drove today was not 4x4, so I do not comment on pricing part[:)]

Reading out all the discussions here, why not the Thar hit your head?
Think now they are offering an hard-top(as an accessory).

I'd love to own a Xenon anyday, maybe the thar can offset with the brand image and drivability.

Do consider the Thar for time-being.

Gurkha is on the list, I do have a soft corner for it i must admit.
Even better.

Thread Starter #43

Thanks for all the inputs guys, my thoughts so far on the shortlists :-

Gurkha/ Thar:- Between the 2 gurkha has the upper edge in my books, but they are offroaders and not the convenient vehicles for long distance journeys, so that would be a compromise I would need to make.

Tata Xenon XT :- No TD vehicle so no choice ruled out.

Tata Storme VX 4x4 :- Way too overpriced for what it offers(16.28 lakhs for a basic tata suv), discounts seem to be around 30k mark, I dont count exchange value in discounts -> Need to explore on discounts further. ESOF compromise i am ready to make if the price discounts available are made mouth watering.

Used Fortuner/Pajero :- Used Fortuner is more tempting than a new Storme. It offers much more on and off the road. Off-course some cons like ride quality being firm , but thats an ok compromise. Also Used Fortuners cost a bomb as well as resale value is maximum.
Used Pajero SFX I am ruling out as its great offroad but a bit too old in the tooth now. Used Pajero Sport will be very less in the market as the new one hardly does much numbers. No doubt reliability and durability for both pajero/fortuner is bulletproof and proven.

Rexton :- I have heard good things of the 5 cylinder OM 612, but it lacks the overall buying appeal for me for some reason.

I am not considering the Bolero,Scorpio at the moment. So basically here is where I am currently in the thought process. My Budget is undecided and I know I have to compromise somewhere.

Thanks for all the inputs guys, my thoughts so far on the shortlists :-

Gurkha/ Thar:- Between the 2 gurkha has the upper edge in my books, but they are offroaders and not the convenient vehicles for long distance journeys, so that would be a compromise I would need to make.

Tata Xenon XT :- No TD vehicle so no choice ruled out.

Tata Storme VX 4x4 :- Way too overpriced for it offers(16.28 lacks for a basic tata suv), discounts seem to be around 30k mark, I dont count exchange value in discounts -> Need to explore on discounts further. ESOF compromise i am ready to make if the price discounts available are made mouth watering.

Used Fortuner/Pajero :- Used Fortuner is more tempting than a new Storme. It offers much more on and off the road. Off-course some cons like ride quality being firm , but thats an ok compromise. Also Used Fortuners cost a bomb as well as resale value is maximum.
Used Pajero SFX I am ruling out as its great offroad but a bit too old in the tooth now. Used Pajero Sport will be very less in the market as the new one hardly does much numbers. No doubt reliability and durability for both pajero/fortuner is bulletproof and proven.

Rexton :- I have heard good things of the 5 cylinder OM 612, but it lacks the overall buying appeal for me for some reason.

I am not considering the Bolero,Scorpio at the moment. So basically here is where I am currently in the thought process. My Budget is undecided and I know I have to compromise somewhere.
Ironrock kindly check your PM .

Tata Storme VX 4x4 :- Way too overpriced for what it offers(16.28 lakhs for a basic tata suv), discounts seem to be around 30k mark, I dont count exchange value in discounts -> Need to explore on discounts further. ESOF compromise i am ready to make if the price discounts available are made mouth watering.
You can get a better deal in coming December.