Hyundai Verna (5th Gen) Launched in India @ ₹7.99 Lacs

It's a 5.0 inch touchscreen unit almost same as the one in the lower variants of Creta

Yes MID displays instantaneous fuel economy as well as trip average, Instantaneous economy is displayed with the bar and above it is the trip's average

It has 2 extra USB ports for charging your phones and you don't need a car charger anymore.
hyundai is really nuts in offering these types of things. your ex has movable front armrest plus usb charging but my elantra sx doesn't [frustration]

is that a 3rd party HU in your creta ? it looks OEM. what's the make and model?

Can anyone provide the difference between the MID of CRDI AT SX+ and CRDI SX (O)?

What all is missing? Also if possible kindly post comparison pictures.

Thanks Lakshay. Looks like the instrument cluster is different from the one in the top variant. But this looks decent too.
Yes it's different from the top variant and even the sx variant gets this same MID

One last question for Lakshay (As you can probably realise, I am very excited) - is that the mic on bottom right in the headunit picture you posted? Is the Mic available anywhere else in the car for making Bluetooth phone calls? Wondering if I replace the headunit where will the mic fit in the replacement system.
I don't think that's the mic but I am not sure, I placed my finger on that while talking on phone and no effect.I think thats reset pin for HU.

hyundai is really nuts in offering these types of things. your ex has movable front armrest plus usb charging but my elantra sx doesn't [frustration]

is that a 3rd party HU in your creta ? it looks OEM. what's the make and model?
No thats not a 3rd party HU.

Hyundai India is gearing up to heat up the C-segment sedan in India with an official launch of its all-new 2017 Hyundai Verna. The South Korean automaker will launch its latest sedan on 22nd of this month with an aim to sell 10,000 units before the festive season. Based on the all-new K2 platform, the new Hyundai Verna has become bigger and better than its outgoing variant in every aspect. It looks better, performs better and to your surprise, it is also expected to become cheaper than the outgoing model.
Check out expert review of new Hyundai Verna 2017 : Hyundai Verna 2017 – Segment disruptor
1.jpg

Hyundai India is gearing up to heat up the C-segment sedan in India with an official launch of its all-new 2017 Hyundai Verna. The South Korean automaker will launch its latest sedan on 22nd of this month with an aim to sell 10,000 units before the festive season. Based on the all-new K2 platform, the new Hyundai Verna has become bigger and better than its outgoing variant in every aspect. It looks better, performs better and to your surprise, it is also expected to become cheaper than the outgoing model.
Check out expert review of new Hyundai Verna 2017 : Hyundai Verna 2017 – Segment disruptor
Quote from the review:

At highway speeds the car feels a lot more stable than your last girlfriend and definitely better than the outgoing car.
[lol] The guy who wrote the review must have recently had a breakup!

Anyways, I wouldn't call that an extensive review, but a short review.

The Hyundai Verna seems to be coming under the large car segment in the gst cess revision. There might be a revision of 5% from the existing compensation cess. So that takes it from the existing 15% to 20% cess.

The comensation cess seems to be calculated with the factory price of the vehicle. Prior to this the ex-showroom price of the top end SX(O) manual Diesel Verna was Rs12,39,900. This was calculated as follows

Factory price of Verna is Rs8,67,063
GST 14% =Rs1,21,389
SGST 14% = Rs1,21,389
Compensation cess 15% =Rs1,30,059

Total of factory price + GST 14% + SGST 14% + Compensation cess of 15% = Rs12,39,900

Now with the increase of 5% in compensation cess, it becomes 20% which is Rs1,73,412 from the earlier Rs1,30,059

So the ex showroom price might increase to Rs12,83, 253 for the diesel SX(O) manual variant which is an increase by Rs43,353. Now added to this, there will slight marginal increase of TCS, road tax and insurance also.

After assessing new gen Verna 2017 just found 2 concern.

1) Rear Seat leg room :-> I haven't had testdrive of it but what will be exact difference as compare to it's rival ( City Honda ) ?

2) Maintenance Cost :-> This is something always attach to this Brand. Couple of reviews says every service cost you almost 10K for Diesel model. How about it if we company it with City Honda Diesel model?

Rest of stuff is really rocking in this car.

Thanks in advance

After assessing new gen Verna 2017 just found 2 concern.

1) Rear Seat leg room :-> I haven't had testdrive of it but what will be exact difference as compare to it's rival ( City Honda ) ?

2) Maintenance Cost :-> This is something always attach to this Brand. Couple of reviews says every service cost you almost 10K for Diesel model. How about it if we company it with City Honda Diesel model?

Rest of stuff is really rocking in this car.

Thanks in advance
1. you will get more legroom in city and ciaz but you won't feel it less in the verna.

2. a member here paid 7k for his kwid's service. just pay according to the maintenance schedule and the service charges won't be higher than 6k-7k. not just for verna or the city but for most of the cars.

1. you will get more legroom in city and ciaz but you won't feel it less in the verna.

2. a member here paid 7k for his kwid's service. just pay according to the maintenance schedule and the service charges won't be higher than 6k-7k. not just for verna or the city but for most of the cars.
That's great. Does Hundai provide any approximate doc/pdf for timely servicing with its service costing ? So this give pretty good idea about all , except wear n tear parts. That's fine.

hyundai provides check list of what all thing needs to be done. you can check my elantra's maintenance schedule ( btw service are complementary for 3 years )
same is provided with every car.

unfortunately they don't provide details with costs.
verna petrol service charges.
1st service - 0 rs.
2nd service -Oil plus oil filter + tax - 1050.
3rd service - oil + oil filter + air filter - 1350/1450 (don't remember how much it was)
anyways this was in 2013-2014 so the service charges must have gone up.

after the warranty period i got the services done from local market. parts are cheaper than the honda city ( i am assuming this since 2-3 parts like brake pads , ac condensor were costly in a member's amaze compared to my verna )

the service costs above doesn't include labor.

a member here posted latest service record for his petrol. he paid 1800rs compares to 1450rs i paid back in 2014.
229634d1501937429t-hyundai-fluidic-verna-1-6-vtvt-5-years-42-000-kms-ownership-review-dsc_0175-2.jpg

just a guess for the 4th service petrol ( around 6500rs )

1800rs - according to the above bill.
labor charges - 1800rs.
Gear Oil - 673 +190 labor +taxes.
Spark plugs - 984 + 214 + taxes
Fuel filter 346 + 160 + taxes.
( i paid for the above three items in 2017 which is required in the 4th service also )

i will correct my earlier statement. every 30k(4th service) \ 60k(7th service) will cost you around 8k-10k (for a diesel) since it requires more items to be serviced. services between these will cost you less.

labor charges for everthing

I know but at least Ecosport has higher seating and SUV feel which is a boon for tall people like me
Also GC is a concern, I also own 3rd gen City and while it doesnt exactly hinder me from going anywhere, its certainly low enough to make me a bit nervous
185 section tyres and above does wonders for the City btw, Michelins were too soft though NVH was great

Verna has the edge of a diesel torque converter now, which makes it a top contender unless Ecosport gets the same or maybe even a petrol TC
It again a difference of class one is a mid size sedan loaded with features and another is a compact SUV with good features and attractive price. Verna top end diesel is 2.5 lakh rupee more than eco-sports top end diesel Verna Has more features, comfort, and power whereas with bigger tyre eco gives good GC. The choice is yours [:D]

True but I like both cars
Unfortunately alot of people here underestimate such cars and overestimate others

My next car definitely would be one with a good AT and should be an international model, not one made specifically for India

Here comes the SX(O) petrol MT .
Tech laden
Looks
Rear led tail lamps
Safety features
Price [clap]
Dislikes:
Rear leg room (maybe Ciaz has spoiled me)
Excess chrome

Got the car last week in a day without prior booking as GST was being revised. Saved around 29 k. Detailed review to follow.

What a handsome car, Ciaz doesnt look too bad either though

Hyundai definitely has Audi-inspired designs (a good thing) because they hired one of the top level guys from Audi a while back
Im loving my Tucson too so far, very solid car