Hyundai Verna (5th Gen) Launched in India @ ₹7.99 Lacs

@rkiefpm

I understand that you have still waiting for the parts. It's the same case with newly launched cars be it from any brand. Wide availability of spare parts takes time after launch. I own a Hyundai too( Grand i10) which met with a minor accident couple of days back. The running board needs to be replaced and Hyundai has the part in stock. The dealership i took the car is based in a tier 3 city( Thrissur, Kerala). If a dealer in Tier 3 city has stock of not so common spare part such as running board, i don't think there is a widespread spare part issue at Hyundai.

@rkiefpm

I understand that you have still waiting for the parts. It's the same case with newly launched cars be it from any brand. If a dealer in Tier 3 city has stock of not so common spare part such as running board, i don't think there is a widespread spare part issue at Hyundai.
Good that you are generalizing from your isolated experience. I am referring to the 2017 Next Gen Verna where there are several customers waiting 50 days plus for spare parts. It is very easy to tell others that 50 days waiting for a Hyundai car is normal after getting one's car back in 3 days.
Imagine the following who are waiting 50+ days including me. My generalization for Hyundai Verna 2017 is based off several complaints from actual owners

Below is one image I found today. There are 3 other Next Gen 2017 Verna owners complaining on this thread
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...2-hyundai-motors-india-promising-brand-2.html

Good that you are generalizing from your isolated experience. I am referring to the 2017 Next Gen Verna where there are several customers waiting 50 days plus for spare parts. It is very easy to tell others that 50 days waiting for a Hyundai car is normal after getting one's car back in 3 days.
Imagine the following who are waiting 50+ days including me. My generalization for Hyundai Verna 2017 is based off several complaints from actual owners

Below is one image I found today. There are 3 other Next Gen 2017 Verna owners complaining on this thread
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...2-hyundai-motors-india-promising-brand-2.html
That's really bad. Did they actually tell you what parts have come and what parts haven't ?

Most of the parts are plug and play. This is the history:
accident on Dec 1st.
Work started Dec 26th as parts arrived after 3 weeks
Work completed and all these parts fitted Dec 30th
Waiting for these parts: airbag sensor, airbag control module and left strut

Most of the parts are plug and play. This is the history:
accident on Dec 1st.
Work started Dec 26th as parts arrived after 3 weeks
Work completed and all these parts fitted Dec 30th
Waiting for these parts: airbag sensor, airbag control module and left strut
I agree with you. I would have expected Hyundai to do better in terms of spares supply, especially when the car is selling so well. I think they focused more on keeping the assembly lines running on par with the sales numbers, and missed out on manufacturing less used spares. Being a new car, they would have focused more on consumable parts, and expecting accident repair parts to be less in demand they may have not focused much on it. Though, what Hyundai did is not justified, I think it is kind of a common thing, with most new launched models, that the non consumable parts take some time to get into the market. Hopefully, Hyundai sorts out the supply issues, so that such cases do not occur in the future.

You should escalate this issue with Hyundai, so that they notice this and give more focus to the parts.

This new variant would be a great crowd puller for Hyundai, especially for buyers of the compact hatchback segment. In comparison to the 1.2 petrol engines, here they get a bigger 1.4 petrol, more space, a higher segment without compromising on safety features. Though, the higher end models offer more features as compared to the Verna E, still I think there would be many who would consider going for the Verna and add the features later when the budget permits.

Thats a masterstroke from Hyundai the pricing is even closer to underpowered Ciaz sigma variant, also heard that the 1.4L base variant is pretty loaded too .

Ciaz has better legroom and engine isnt bad compared to 1.4 VTVT
Both are more or less equal going by my experience with the previous gen 1.4 VTVT and Ciaz 1.4

Verna features are better though across variants

Ciaz has better legroom and engine isnt bad compared to 1.4 VTVT
Both are more or less equal going by my experience with the previous gen 1.4 VTVT and Ciaz 1.4

Verna features are better though across variants
Why should I buy an older car with dwindling sales, when I'm offering an updated fresh product with superior mechanicals in the same price range ?

+ 6 speed MT on Verna
+100ps power
+19 KMPL ARAI rating
+Pricing & Features

Why should I buy an older car with dwindling sales, when I'm offering an updated fresh product with superior mechanicals in the same price range ?

+ 6 speed MT on Verna
+100ps power
+19 KMPL ARAI rating
+Pricing & Features
Verna 1.4 wont be 100 bhp....
The same 1.4 makes 99bhp in i20 but Verna , it wont be the same due to power:weight differences
Pricing and features doesnt matter, features of Verna E is equally bare
Ciaz legroom is much better than Verna

Ciaz also has around the same kmpl
As for older car, it doesnt matter
Superior mechanicals is subjective , theres no doubt, Ciaz is a very well put together product from MSIL along with big bro- S Cross

As for 6 speed MT, Ciaz AT is 20k lesser than Verna 1.4 . Admittedly a slushbox but it gets the job done and is pretty usable

As for "dwindling sales" of Ciaz
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f.../33275-c-segment-sedan-2017-sales-report.html

Mind you I have nothing against Hyundai or any brand
But in terms of value proposition, theres no one car fits all
If this was 1.6 Verna petrol/diesel or even Verna 1.4 CRDI, then Id definitely root for Verna over Ciaz

2018 Hyundai Verna Anniversary Edition launch price Rs 11.7 lakhs – Rivals Honda City, Maruti Ciaz

Fifth-generation Hyundai Verna was launched in August last year and it continues to give tough competition to the likes of Honda City and Maruti Suzuki Ciaz. Verna has beaten both City and Ciaz in monthly sales charts on multiple occasions. But as of now, it is no longer on the top. It is the Maruti Ciaz which is on top. To boost sales, and to celebrate the 1st anniversary of Verna, Hyundai has launched this new edition today.

Hyundai has launched the anniversary edition of Verna, which comes in a new Marina Blue colour. Verna’s average monthly sales are around 4,000 units and the anniversary edition is expected to boost sales even further during the festive season.

A total of 52,482 units have been sold in India and 27,126 units have been exported. Hyundai is giving a big marketing push to the Anniversary Edition, with attractive offers such as free third party insurance (2nd and 3rd year), exchange benefit of Rs 20,000 and special benefit of Rs 20,000 for corporates and SMEs.

Anniversary edition Verna sports a cool Marina Blue colour that can be seen in Elite i20 and Elantra as well. It gets a host of upgrades such as Anniversary Edition badging, chrome plated fog lamps, front and rear skid plates, wireless phone charging, smart electric sunroof, sporty all black interiors, front seat ventilation, blue colour accents, black OVRM, shark fin antenna, rear spoiler and smart trunk.

Existing Verna costs in the range of Rs 7.86 lakh to Rs 12.98 lakh (ex-showroom). Anniversary Edition Verna is an upgrade of the SX variant, and is offered on the SX(O) trim. It is priced from Rs 11.7 lakhs for the petrol MT variant, Rs 12.83 lakhs for the petrol AT variant and Rs 13.03 lakhs for the diesel MT variant. All prices are ex-showroom, Delhi.

There are no changes under the hood, as the Anniversary Edition Verna continues to use the same petrol and diesel engines. Petrol variant is powered by a 1.6 litre engine that delivers max power of 121 bhp at 6,400 rpm and max torque of 151 Nm at 4,850 rpm. The diesel variant also has a 1.6 litre engine that delivers max power of 126 bhp at 4,000 rpm and max torque of 260 Nm at 1,500 rpm. Both petrol and diesel engines are mated to either a six-speed manual or a six-speed automatic transmission.

Commenting on the introduction of Next Gen VERNA Anniversary Edition, Mr. Y K Koo, MD & CEO, Hyundai Motor India Ltd. said, “The Next-Gen VERNA is a Game Changer product which has won the hearts of Indian and global customers since its launch in August 2017 and is the preferred choice of auto experts. As the Next-Gen VERNA marks its first year Anniversary in India, our endeavour is to delight customers with the New VERNA Anniversary Edition featuring look including an attractive new exterior colour that will make the VERNA even more aspirational.”

Source: