DRACO - Mahindra XUV500 W8: Ownership Review (1,10,000 Kms Achieved)

Re: DRACO - Mahindra XUV 5OO-W8: Ownership Review

No sirji it's not the case, I got my brake pads changed because I was getting that famous grinding noise while applying the brakes though there was no problem with the braking. So they changed it.
How are the brake pads behaving now ? Did you find them turning soft and calm after the replacement ?

Thread Starter #122

How are the brake pads behaving now ? Did you find them turning soft and calm after the replacement ?
Actually i had no problems with the brakes earlier also and since i have new pads now, so there is a slight difference which is normal when you change them. Otherwise brakes are working as before and the noise has gone.

Good to see the ASC replacing the pads rather than just cleaning and fitting again. That's a welcome change from MnM.

Regarding the Fortuner's brakes, yes - I too dodn't get the confidence on the brakes while driving the beast.

well in my case there was no problem with braking and it always gave me confidence.
Two of my cousins own Fortuner and after driving our XUV that's one of the thing they pointed out. That they feel more confident while braking in XUV rather than Fortuner.
I have to agree that xuv has better brakes than fortuner. at what spread do you get that brake noise man? I don't seem to hear it on my vehicle, and what type of noise is it?

Thread Starter #125

Good to see the ASC replacing the pads rather than just cleaning and fitting again. That's a welcome change from MnM.
Yes that was indeed a good move and on top of that i got my vehicle earlier than the time given to me and the SA was very helpful and we were treated how a customer should be treated. [clap]

Also they let me in to the workshop bay where they were changing the pads.

Regarding the Fortuner's brakes, yes - I too dodn't get the confidence on the brakes while driving the beast.
Personally i have not driven the Fortuner at high speeds so can't comment but both my cousins were telling me their stories.

I have to agree that xuv has better brakes than fortuner. at what spread do you get that brake noise man? I don't seem to hear it on my vehicle, and what type of noise is it?
Actually it's not a kind noise that you hear easily (i mean it's not loud). And i used to get it mostly when driving in traffic and you have to apply the brakes frequently. But when driving on a highway and brakes are applied, i never got that noise.

And the noise was like something is between the pads and the discs (some kind of powder or sand) when brakes were applied. like ghrr ghrrrr...

.. on top of that i got my vehicle earlier than the time given to me and the SA was very helpful and we were treated how a customer should be treated. [clap]
That is even more surprising :-)

Also they let me in to the workshop bay where they were changing the pads.
This is not a problem. I have never left my vehicle alone when at the ASC. I am always there with it wherever they take it. You should always do this. It will save lot of headaches later..

Thread Starter #127

That is even more surprising :-)
This is not a problem. I have never left my vehicle alone when at the ASC. I am always there with it wherever they take it. You should always do this. It will save lot of headaches later..
After reading so many horrifying stories across the net regarding ASS of Mahindra and Tata it felt really good[:)].

So far i have made 2 visits and both of them were good. I hope this saga continues[;)]

Thread Starter #128

Made a 800 km trip and came back yesterday and DRACO stands at 9523 kms.

Took this when i crossed 9000 kms.
IMG_1295.jpg

IMG_1311.jpg

Thread Starter #129

DRACO has has completed 10000 KM [:)]mark and went in for the 2 service as well.
IMG_1376.jpg

I had gone to Faridabad on 3rd and was planning to get the service done on 4 June. But somehow i forgot to call the SA during the working hours and take an appointment for the service. So i tried calling the SA around 10:30 PM and he picked up my call[:D]. So i told him that i need to get my XUV serviced. He said no problem and that he will send someone to pick the car around 10:00 AM. At that time i was in Bhiwadi (it's around 60 kms from Faridabad).

So the next morning (4June) i started early from Bhiwadi and reached Faridabad by 9:15 am and en-route got a call from the dealership confirming the pickup.

So far everything was going good until i met the driver who came for pickup. The driver called me for directions:

Driver: Sar where exactly are you situated?
Me: Gave him the directions and told him 2-3 landmarks as well.

After waiting for 20 mins the driver arrives around 10:25 AM.
Me: Boss 10 baje ka time tha. (You were suppose to come at 10?)
Driver: Sar lot of traffic
Me: Here is the car.
Driver: Konsi service hai sarrr? (which service is it sir?)
Me: 2nd service.
Driver: sarr aaj gadi pick nahi kar saktey (Sir can't pick the car today)
Me: Why not and if that was the case i should have been notified of the same.
Driver: Saar aaj 3 breakdown hai, phele woh gadi leke jani hai (Saar there are 3 break downs and i will pick those 3 first)

Till now i was on fire because i was waiting for the driver for 25 mins in that hot weather and i drove from Bhiwadi early in the morning just to get the service done.

Me: to main kya karun? abhi subha confirmation call aaya tha pick up ka, tab kyun nahi bataya mujhe? (Got a confirmation call this morning itself, why wasn't i made aware about it)
Driver: Sarr kal gadi deni hai to batao, mujhe deer ho rahi hai. (sir if you wan't to give the car tomorrow then let me know, i am getting late)
Me: Totally on fire and felt like giving 2-3 to the driver. I said leke to tu jayega main bevakoof thodi na hoon jo itni deer se wait kar raha hun. (you will take my car and i am not stupid that, waiting for you since morning).
Driver: Saar nahi ho payega matlab nahi ho payega. (Saar if i said no than i can't)
Me: Called the SA and explained him the whole situation.
SA: How can he say that you sir, let me talk to him
Driver: Saar unnse khe di jiye ki mera phone pe call kar len (sir tell him to call me on my cell phone) and he LEFT..grgrgr
Me to SA: He just left.
SA: (In angry tone) Kya bhayia, (What?)
Me: ya he just took off saying tell them to call me on my cell.
SA: Sir give me 2 mins i will get back to you.
Me: Ok. (I didn't get angry on the SA, as he is a very nice guy and always get my things done right away and secondly it was not his fault).
SA: Sir is it possible for you to bring the car?
Me: yes i can.
SA: Please come sir and i am sorry for the drivers behavior.
Me: OK, will be there in 15-20 min.

Reached the dealership and saw the same driver, SA and one more person talking to each other.
The SA saw my car and came to me and i saw the driver and my anger was on the 7th cloud.
The other person standing was some manager. And as soon as i came out of the car the manger as the driver to say sorry.
Driver: Sorry sarr
Manager: Dont ever do that again with sir and infact anybody. He is our customer and if we have committed something than it's our responsibility to get it done.
Driver to Manager: ji sahab.
Driver to Me: sarry sahab agey se aisa nahi hoga (sorry sir it won't happen again) and he left
After that the manager and SA both said sorry for the inconvenience. I was all cool looking at the action taken by the SA. This incident definitely shows that Mahindra is trying it's best to maintain the customer satisfaction and gives importance to its customers.

Well after all that drama i gave my XUV in the hands of my SA and he said that he will get the service done within 2 hours and i can pick it up after. And i left the dealership with my cousin who followed me in his car.

After 2 hours i got a call from the SA that my car is ready and i can come and pick it up. But I told him that I will come in couple of hours as i am was busy with some work.

Things I mentioned before service:
1. Car moving to left - Alignment issue -resolved.

Things done in the second service:
1. Element Air filter
2. Engine Care XUV 500
3. Wheel Alignment

Total Bill: Rs 2,225 /-

Thread Starter #131

What exactly is done in the Engine care package?
In the Engine Care Package they do some kind of rubber treatment for all the rubber parts under the hood. When we drive the vehicle or when our car is exposed to heat or parked under the sun the rubber tends to heat and when the rubber parts cool they might get crack or deteriorate.
So under this package they treat the rubber parts with some kind of chemical which protects all the rubber parts under the hood.

Thread Starter #132

Ahh this rain has created a problem for me. I am in Faridabad at my relatives and there is some construction going at their place. So i had to park my car away from the parking spot where all their cars are parked.

I went to Delhi in the morning with my cousins and when i came back in the evening i saw that there was lot of water where my car was parked and secondly we had to go back to delhi to attend a function. Also the place where the car is parked is nothing but mud and grass.

So while taking out my XUV my front passenger side tire got stuck and that too when my both rear tires almost reached the cemented driveway[frustration].

The mud on the front side all of a sudden sinked and my tire got stuck. I did try taking it out in 1st and reverse gears but was not lucky and the tires were spinning at that spot only.

So i stopped since it would have made the tire go more inside the mud.

So now the car is still in water (front tires) and it is still stuck there. Will have to do something in the morning but what worries me is that it is still raining here.

so the options that i will try tomorrow morning is:
1. Push the car with one person on the driver seat so that he can use the reverse gear as well.
2. Toe the car from the back side + option 1
3. Call the Crane[frustration]

Attaching few pics of my XUV stuck in the mud.
Place those bricks or anything that can provide grip to tyres just behind each tyre and in contact with them.

In Reverse gear, accelerate very very slowly to help the tires find traction, then continue to accelerate until you've driven out of the hole.

Its better to pull it out before the place gets flooded in rain.

Wash your car thoroughly once you are out of the mess.[:)]

Place those bricks or anything that can provide grip to tyres just behind each tyre and in contact with them.

In Reverse gear, accelerate very very slowly to help the tires find traction, then continue to accelerate until you've driven out of the hole.

Its better to pull it out before the place gets flooded in rain.

Wash your car thoroughly once you are out of the mess.[:)]
In addition to that turn the steering wheel completely in any one direction (full left/right) and then reverse and move forward alternatively and when you develop some play then reverse to get out of the spot, just keep the steering rotated fully.