DRACO - Mahindra XUV500 W8: Ownership Review (1,10,000 Kms Achieved)

Thread Starter #331
Re: DRACO - Mahindra XUV500 W8: Ownership Review (1,00,000 Kms Achieved)

Absolutely bang on Target buddy. All observations 100% Echo with mine. Though with me the list of niggles and failures is little longer. But I had all of it taken care of in warranty.
Congrats on the 1L milestone!
Thanks buddy. And regarding niggles what matters the most is how well the ASS tackels it. And Mahindra is on it toes when it comes to solving issues.

Thread Starter #332

Today my XUV 500 battery just gave up after completing 1,00,200 kms in almost 5 years (will complete 5 years in coming November), currently it's running on Amaron.
Enquired about a couple of batteries Exide and Amaron and got an estimated price of Rs. 6800 for Exide and Rs. 7200 for Amaron and they will deduct Rs. 1000 for my old battery.

my stock exide also completed roughly 4.5 years. 5 years was a very good life I must say. both brands are good. choose any depending on who has best Service & Warranty policy.

Long time Singh Sahab - how are you!
Awesome to see Draco Singh completing the 1 lakh milestone, proves XUV can do it, saw a 2 lakh run one recently - when is the timing belt replacement in xuv ? I had replaced xuv battery too at 5 years - i did with Amaron !

Thread Starter #335

Replaced the battey today with Exide and the total damage was RS. 6800/-
IMG_1851.JPG

IMG_1852.JPG
Long time Singh Sahab - how are you!
Awesome to see Draco Singh completing the 1 lakh milestone, proves XUV can do it, saw a 2 lakh run one recently - when is the timing belt replacement in xuv ? I had replaced xuv battery too at 5 years - i did with Amaron !
I am doing good buddy[:)]how about you? Work is keeping me busy. And yes XUV is a reliable vehicle in the long run sir as I can vouch for it now after completing 1,00,000 on the ODO. Still runs like new, I have seen 4L kms XUV once at the service station, can you beat that?[:D]

Timing belt is due at 1,00,000 kms. I'll be going to Delhi in next week or so and will get the service done. This will be a major service and the most expensive one so far as it will include all the fluids and filters to be replaced. They will go through the suspension as well, change whatever is required. And of course the belt and tensioner will be replaced. Will update the thread once it is done. I had a word with my RM he said the bill would be approx 25-30K. I think it is fine considering that we don't have packages like (Smile Package in Toyota).

^^ all is well sir! 4 lakh km on stock bore for a mahindra crde ? can you double check ? - this is more than awesome!

Get the timing belt change done asap, dont delay it one bit!

Thread Starter #337

Finally I was able to take out some time off the busy schedule and got the 1,00,000 km service done on 7th. Since it was a major service I wanted the service centre to look into each and every thing throughly and check the entire car and make sure everything was okay as I have a long trip coming right after Diwali. All my services were done at Sterling Motors, Faridabad but that dealership was closed down few months ago (don't know the reason) so this time I got it done at Sterling Motors, Gurgaon. My RM Mr. Sanjay, very nice and curteous person. He listened to all my complaints very patiently and explained each and every thing very nicely after the service was done.

I had reported the following issues at the time of servicing:
1. There was a noise coming from the engine compartment during the cold start and sometimes when the engine was live and car was idle. It looked like something is loose because as I used to give a little bit of throttle the noise used to disappear.
2. Both the ORVM’s were working very slowly (they used to open and close really slowly), Infact the left ORVM stopped working automatically.
3. Belt was making sound during the cold starts, which was anyways due for a replacement.
4. Both the front power windows were not working properly. They were getting a little bit moody, they go up whenever they wanted and sometimes I actually had to push the glass to close it.
5. Little bit of door rattling noise from the back.
6. Sometimes the AC used to give a foul smell as if something died right in the vents.

Solutions:

1. There were few bearings which were done, so they got replaced and the noise is gone.
2. Some oiling and greasing was done and now both the ORVM’s are working properly.
3. Belt was changed as a part of 1,00,000 km service schedule.
4. Both the power windows machine needs to be replaced. Will be changed next week.
5. Some greasing and adjustments were done and the noises are gone.
6. AC filter was replaced which was anyways due for replacement hence no more foul smell.

Things done during the service:
1. Oil Filter replaced
2. Brake Oil replaced
3. Fuel Filter replaced
4. AC Filter (2) replaced
5. Engine Oil replaced
6. Air Filter replaced
7. Tensioner Automatic replaced
8. Idler Pulley replaced
9. Timing belt replaced

Total Damage done: Rs. 15,3147 /-

Issue caught during Service:

While changing the timing belt and related components they came across a bolt which was slipping (it was the one where the idler is fixed I guess) so the RM called me and explained the situation and after listening to him I told him to replace it or do whatever is required to keep the engine like it is supposed to be. So they took out the bolt and sent it for threading but still they were not satisfied because it was still not 100%functional hence they sent the pulley for threading (chudi kasney ke liye, in pure mechanical terms) and once the part was back, they put it in and voila everything worked fine. So all this process took an entire day, but it was worth it since it ‘s better then getting stranded in middle of a trip. So overall it took them 2 days to give my vehicle back. Although the service part was done day before but this issue took another day.

They checked the susension and everything looked good so far so they didn't change anything but my RM told me that next service will require couple of things to be changed like bar bushes, rear arms etc and the total expense would be around 10K for that. But I might get them chaged in a couple of months or whenever time allows. So for anyone who is looking to get the 100K service done and assuming that you get your suspension as well, you are looking at an expense of approx25k.

Copy of Bill attached.
IMG_1969.JPG

Thread Starter #338

It'e been a long time since I updtaed this thread. Well DRACO has crossed another milestone and the ODO has surpased the 1,10,000 kms mark. Also I got the 110k service done last to last week and the total damage was Rs. 28,500 /-

In my last servie 1,00,000 km I got the timing belt and other stuff replaced with oil and filters and kept the suspension for the next service after discussing it with the Service Manager.

So this service had a lot of things that were replaced as the front suspension required some work after comleting 110k which for me is fine. Also there was a minor leak in the Front RH shocker so the following things were changed:

1. Front Shocker (RH). Rest all were good and didn't needed any repair or special attention.
2. Shocker Mount.
3. Ball Joints Outer Kit both RH and LH
4. Both the Steering Valves
5. Bush kit Front Lower Control Arm
6. Assembly Link Stablizer Bar(RH)
7. Stablizer Bar bushes - Front
8. Air Filter
9. AC Filter (2).

These were the major changes that were done. Rest I have attached the bill for the detail report.

After getting the service done made a trip to Ramnagar - Mukhteshwar and back to Moradabad which was a really nice trip with friends and a small getaway from the Soaring hot weather. We actually had to take quilts and did a born fire in the night.

Now while I was returning back home there was a patch which was really bad and I guess something hit on the right hand side by the front tire in the inner side. I didn't stop as it was dark and kept driving until I reached a place with lot of shops and people around. I checked with my mobile light but couldn't see anything wrong. Reached home safely and went straight to bed. Next morning I started getting some noise by the driver side tyre while turning the steering. I stopped and checked the tire and I could see some grease on the inner side of the tyre, alloy, and all over. Heart almost half depressed to see the condition and Mind straight away raised a question on the fitness of the axle boot, took the car to our mechanic he straight away put the car on lift and after 2-3 minutes of inspection he was like "Sir iska to axle boot leak ho gaya". Luckily that was the only part that went kaput.

Next day went to the M&M service center which is 18 kms from our home and got the boot which costed Rs. 940/-. Came back and gave the boot to our mechanic only to hear that the service center guy gave me the wrong boot. I told him to give the RH wheel side boot and he gave me gear side boot. Went back again and got the boot replaced and had to pay Rs. 440/- extra since the wheel side boot was Rs. 1380/-. Took the pic of the boot and sent it to our guy and he confirmed that it was the right boot this time. Paid the remaining amount and returned back home and gave the boot to our mechanic. It took him One and half hour to open, replace and fix the boot properly. After all the pain and hardwork DRACO is back in action now and ready for its next trip.

This is the maximum number in an XUV odo in this forum. Keep it up. Boosting my confidence too. Drive train of XUV is robust. Suspension is robust and reliable. Great.

Great going singhsaab and good so hear back from you after long time.

suspension & shocks lasting 110k kms is great news indeed..I believe the clutch is original too..good going...
This is the maximum number in an XUV odo in this forum. Keep it up. Boosting my confidence too. Drive train of XUV is robust. Suspension is robust and reliable. Great.
Absolutely and this is what makes trust the realibility for the product and confidence for many other owners and tobe owners.

Thread Starter #342
suspension & shocks lasting 110k kms is great news indeed..I believe the clutch is original too..good going...
No the clutch was replaced at 84000 kms but I believe the clutch would have lasted more than 1Lac KMS because my brother learned driving on this car[:)]. So you can understand how much of an impact that would have made on the life of clutch.

+1 to that.

Great going singhsaab and good so hear back from you after long time.
Absolutely and this is what makes trust the realibility for the product and confidence for many other owners and tobe owners.
I know it was long since I posted anything, It's just that my work is keeping me busy. And I'll keep updating this thread as we move along.