DRACO - Mahindra XUV500 W8: Ownership Review (1,10,000 Kms Achieved)

re: DRACO - Mahindra XUV500 W8: Ownership Review (80,000 Kms Achieved) .

Thanks IR buddy and I guess you are right DRACO will be the first to cross 1 LAC milestone XUV 5OO on TAI.
So far I am a really happy customer though I might have to replace the front discs on the 80K service as they are making sound and during the last checkup the mechanic showed me that the plates getting a bit thinner. Besides that nothing to worry about and I guess that's okay with me looking at my running.
Yes just be nice and easy with the clutch and it will serve you well for a very long time. Mhawk has a tendency to be eager and jump, so clutches bear the brunt, also mahindra isnt very wise with ergonomics yet, the long clutch travel and positioning does not help, leading to drivers cultivating lazy clutch habits and wrecking the clutch. Simply count tic tic 1 when you press the clutch deep and then shift!

this mickey mouse habit will give you years of trouble free ride.

Gr8 going Singh Saab.

At this rate looks like even I will overtake you IR [lol]

I was about to ask the max run XUV when saw your post with the 3 lakh kms one. looks like if we keep on doing regular maintenance XUV shouldnt have an issue for more than a decade
[frustration]Yes my running is spread between Pajero/ XUV and also rental cars - Paj is closing on 27k and XUV on 53k - XUV running has taking the maximum hit in the last 2 years. I am guessing Pumba might do that to you!

Yes just be nice and easy with the clutch and it will serve you well for a very long time. Mhawk has a tendency to be eager and jump, so clutches bear the brunt, also mahindra isnt very wise with ergonomics yet, the long clutch travel and positioning does not help, leading to drivers cultivating lazy clutch habits and wrecking the clutch. Simply count tic tic 1 when you press the clutch deep and then shift!

this mickey mouse habit will give you years of trouble free ride.

[frustration]Yes my running is spread between Pajero/ XUV and also rental cars - Paj is closing on 27k and XUV on 53k - XUV running has taking the maximum hit in the last 2 years. I am guessing Pumba might do that to you!
Pumba and Optimus are both being used for different purposes, I cant even think of interchanging them, Family would simply kill me if I use Pumba for long rides [;)]

^^ Jai ho, Draco Singh might be the first 1 lakh km run XUV on TAI.[:D]

Btw saw a 3 lakh km run XUV at the Service Centre, it had 2 clutch replacements , nothing else apart from routine maintenance stuff, so while we keep discussing niggles , this is a good sign in terms of long term mechanical reliability. mHawk/gearbox is the USP.
There's this 2.5L kms run XUV I know, which is 90% highway used.
At around 1L kms, it was totaled. All the passengers were saved without any major injuries. The owner finds this car lucky, so he retained it. All the pannels, doors, boot everything is changed. Off late he decided to sell the car at 2.25L kms. He was not getting much for the car, so decided to keep it for more years. Currently crossed 2.5L. He also owns a Swift, Fortuner and a GT, but enjoys the most driving the XUV. [:D]

now that's some hot news. the impressive thing is driving 1.5 lac km AFTER major catastrophe. it means that the vehicle is able to retain it's composture and driving line, despite totaled. remarkable indeed.

BTW where you've been, gears? don't see you around these days?.

so kinshuk effectively it is this :), sorry for the OT on your thread singhsaab, but couldn't resist.

View attachment 187773

Picture source : internet :biggrin:
yup eggjactly, the only difference is instead of the doodh wala dabba its a laptop bag.

Sorry Singh Sir I promise this is the last OT post. [:)]

Thread Starter #307

yup eggjactly, the only difference is instead of the doodh wala dabba its a laptop bag.

Sorry Singh Sir I promise this is the last OT post. [:)]
It's all good bro, don't worry about it. [:)]

One last OT from my side too guys:
There are around 4-5 such milk vendors and all belong to a single village in the outskirts of Gurgaon near Pataudi (Said Ali Khans' riyasat). These motorcycles seldom come out with milk cans (maybe once or twice an year) but they have some lucky customers who get the milk coming riding a Harley Davidson.

Although not sure of the list but there is one Street 750 (Kinshuk, you listening?) and a Hyosung Aquilla too except two other bigger Harleys.

Long live land acquisition!

Thread Starter #309

Guys I have a quick question, Draco has done 78800 kms and is nearing the 80K service. And I am planning a trip to Manali in first week of Feb. And by then the ODO will be near 79K something so shall I get the service done before the trip or after the trip. I am assuming that the total distance covered will be approx 1500 - 1600 kms.

Or shall I get it inspected do the trip and then get it service since I'll be going to the dealership tomorrow anyways for my front disc and pads replacement.

Guys I have a quick question, Draco has done 78800 kms and is nearing the 80K service. And I am planning a trip to Manali in first week of Feb. And by then the ODO will be near 79K something so shall I get the service done before the trip or after the trip. I am assuming that the total distance covered will be approx 1500 - 1600 kms.

Or shall I get it inspected do the trip and then get it service since I'll be going to the dealership tomorrow anyways for my front disc and pads replacement.
If the vehicle doesnt have any issue get the service done after the ride.

I would never suggest to get the service done just before a long ride. BTW why are you getting the front discs replaced? are they already worn out?

Agree with Kinshuk since its just a 1500km trip you should be ok. Just have the air filter blasted with the compressor to clean it up before the ride since you are anyways visiting the service centre. Is this the first time you are replacing brake pads and disc ?

Thread Starter #312

If the vehicle doesnt have any issue get the service done after the ride.
I would never suggest to get the service done just before a long ride. BTW why are you getting the front discs replaced? are they already worn out?
That's why I was confused what to do coz I am under the same dilemma whether I should take the car for a long trip right after the service which includes almost 240 kms approx of hill drives.
And yes I'll be getting the discs replaced and I guess that's okay with me looking at the usage pattern. These 78K kms include all types of roads and no roads also lot of miles came up from bumper to bumper traffic as well.

Agree with Kinshuk since its just a 1500km trip you should be ok. Just have the air filter blasted with the compressor to clean it up before the ride since you are anyways visiting the service centre. Is this the first time you are replacing brake pads and disc ?
Yes IR buddy I'll get the air filter cleaned tomorrow and my pads were changed at 48365 kms.

@Iron Rock
Just have the air filter blasted with the compressor to clean it up before the ride
How can you clean the xuv filter like this,when it's wet type?.It will be replaced,if its dirty isnt it?

they also 'cleaned' my xuv Filter by banging around a container. all the dust fell down. Filter is replaced alternate Service only.

Thread Starter #315

I got the front brake pads and discs replaced on Tuesday at Sterling Mahindra, Faridabad. We purchased our XUV fro the same dealership and so far all my services are done at the same dealer. Besides the brakes, one of the high beam bulb was replaced as it had gone kaput few days back. One that went kaput was Philips which was replaced by Osram. Also a small plastic part came out (the black plastic curve on the fender) as a vento tried cutting lane and scratched the fender. Luckily that plastic part took most of the beating and came-off but the vento had scratches on both front and rear door. INSTANT KARMA[clap].
Also the RM told me that they will be replacing a small coolant pipe under a recall which came for a particular set of batch.

Total Expense: Rs 13000/-

IMG_5521.JPG
Missing plastic part on the fender which I was referring to.
IMG_5522.JPG

IMG_5524.JPG
New pads and discs installed.
IMG_5530.JPG
This was the part replaced under recall.
IMG_5525.JPG

IMG_5526.JPG

IMG_5527.JPG

IMG_5528.JPG
Old bulb.
IMG_5533.JPG
Attaching bill for details.
IMG_5534.JPG