DRACO - Mahindra XUV500 W8: Ownership Review (1,10,000 Kms Achieved)

Re: DRACO - Mahindra XUV500 W8: Ownership Review (60,000 Kms Achieved)

Dheeraj,
Grooves on Projector = NO
Soft touch plastics = Yes. (on door and dashboard)
However mine is beige owing to White Body color.

Re: DRACO - Mahindra XUV 5OO-W8: Ownership Review

I called my insurance guy yesterday (I have zero dep insurance) and he told me to go to any M&M dealer and get it replaced. I will have to pay around 1.5-2K which includes file charge and some clause fees and that's about it. Rest the insurance will take care off
I happened to read this review of yours via google search. Though this was ages back, I would like to know from you, if you still remember, after you got your shield replaced, did the sensors work perfectly? For me, they are giving me some trouble, and doesn't quite look the same from outside, and I saw the shield expert use a hair gel inside the sensor chamber. I'm pretty confused and unsure if I can ever make those sensors work again.

Looking forward to your valuable advice from your practical experience. Thanks.

Thread Starter #289
Re: DRACO - Mahindra XUV 5OO-W8: Ownership Review

I happened to read this review of yours via google search. Though this was ages back, I would like to know from you, if you still remember, after you got your shield replaced, did the sensors work perfectly? For me, they are giving me some trouble, and doesn't quite look the same from outside, and I saw the shield expert use a hair gel inside the sensor chamber. I'm pretty confused and unsure if I can ever make those sensors work again.

Looking forward to your valuable advice from your practical experience. Thanks.
Yes buddy, the sensors are working perfectly fine.

If your's are not working properly then i would advise you to get them checked by the dealer. Maybe some troubleshooting might fix it.

Thread Starter #290
Re: DRACO - Mahindra XUV500 W8: Ownership Review (60,000 Kms Achieved)

Another update, DRACO just went for its 70,000 kms service. Nothing much to complain and even at 70K it's keeping me heavy with no signs of getting old.

Issues reported:
1. Small noises coming from seats and door beadings - Solved.
2. Left fog light was getting moisture - Solved (Changed under warranty)
3. Windshield washer was not throwing water properly - Solved (Culprit was a small clip which got loose, replaced and its back in action).
4. Windshield had cracks - Replaced via insurance. (Stone hit)

Total Bill for service was : Rs 8265/-
Total Bill for Windshield replacement was: Rs 3019/-

Total Damage: Rs 11284/-

re: DRACO - Mahindra XUV500 W8: Ownership Review (80,000 Kms Achieved) .

Looks just as new, good going at 70K , mine is left behind, as i using it as a second drive now. i am just at 51k. Btw have you changed tyres or is it still original ? I guess yours were bridgestone too ?

Thread Starter #292

Looks just as new, good going at 70K , mine is left behind, as i using it as a second drive now. i am just at 51k. Btw have you changed tyres or is it still original ? I guess yours were bridgestone too ?
Thanks bro.
You have been using the other beast now days so your Cheetah is lagging in ODO now[:D]. But, touchwood my Cheetah is going strong as of now. You can't tell that it has 70k on ODO while driving. Still Feels like new.

But now I need a substitute for DRACO, looking for a new car under with 9Lac OTR. So that DRACO can get some rest and can spend 1.5 - 2 more years with us. On the other hand my running has increased as well.
Already started a new thread on my next purchase:
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/forums/car-shopper/22783-need-new-ride-diesel-workhorse-2.html

And I got my tires changed recently around 65,000 kms. DRACO came with JK's and I actually replaced them with JK's. I bought only 3 and used the spare tire as fourth since it was never used before. It costed me 23K for 3.
If I had gone for another brand than I had to buy 4 and nothing was costing me less than 11500 per tire. So they would have costed me around 45K. And since I was thinking to get another car and give DRACO a break and only use it for highway drives, I thought why not get JK's and save money for my new car.

Really nice thread Mr. Singh. Just wanted to tell you on the tyres. Its not a good idea of using the spare tyre with a set of 3 new tyres for your Cheetah. The tyre kept unused or used for a long time develop fine cracks on the side walls as the rubber becomes harder over a period & this may he a recepie for a disaster. Please do check your old tyres for such cracks and if they have replace it at once as you travel a lot on long distances. This was told to me by one of my dear friend who is dealing in this industry.

Thread Starter #294

Really nice thread Mr. Singh. Just wanted to tell you on the tyres. Its not a good idea of using the spare tyre with a set of 3 new tyres for your Cheetah. The tyre kept unused or used for a long time develop fine cracks on the side walls as the rubber becomes harder over a period & this may he a recepie for a disaster. Please do check your old tyres for such cracks and if they have replace it at once as you travel a lot on long distances. This was told to me by one of my dear friend who is dealing in this industry.
Thanks buddy. And I did get the tire checked at JK Tyre dealer before I put it up and the dealer said that the tire is OK and I can go ahead with it.

Thanks bro.

If I had gone for another brand than I had to buy 4 and nothing was costing me less than 11500 per tire. So they would have costed me around 45K. And since I was thinking to get another car and give DRACO a break and only use it for highway drives, I thought why not get JK's and save money for my new car.
11.5k seems expensive. did you check online portals like paytm etc. because the effective cost with offers would have made a much better deal.

Thread Starter #296

11.5k seems expensive. did you check online portals like paytm etc. because the effective cost with offers would have made a much better deal.
I actually didn't check online since I won't buy them from there instead I checked various dealers and checked with the dealership as well. And got a nice deal on JK's.

Thread Starter #297

Nothing much to update except that the ODO has crossed 78K mark and DRACO is still running strong. 80K service is due next which might come in Jan end or Feb as DRACO running has been cut short by almost 95% after the arrival of Razzo[;)]

^^ Jai ho, Draco Singh might be the first 1 lakh km run XUV on TAI.[:D]

Btw saw a 3 lakh km run XUV at the Service Centre, it had 2 clutch replacements , nothing else apart from routine maintenance stuff, so while we keep discussing niggles , this is a good sign in terms of long term mechanical reliability. mHawk/gearbox is the USP.

Thread Starter #299

^^ Jai ho, Draco Singh might be the first 1 lakh km run XUV on TAI.[:D]

Btw saw a 3 lakh km run XUV at the Service Centre, it had 2 clutch replacements , nothing else apart from routine maintenance stuff, so while we keep discussing niggles , this is a good sign in terms of long term mechanical reliability. mHawk/gearbox is the USP.
Thanks IR buddy and I guess you are right DRACO will be the first to cross 1 LAC milestone XUV 5OO on TAI.
So far I am a really happy customer though I might have to replace the front discs on the 80K service as they are making sound and during the last checkup the mechanic showed me that the plates getting a bit thinner. Besides that nothing to worry about and I guess that's okay with me looking at my running.

Nothing much to update except that the ODO has crossed 78K mark and DRACO is still running strong. 80K service is due next which might come in Jan end or Feb as DRACO running has been cut short by almost 95% after the arrival of Razzo[;)]
Great going Singh Saab.

At this rate looks like even I will overtake you IR [lol]

I was about to ask the max run XUV when saw your post with the 3 lakh kms one. looks like if we keep on doing regular maintenance XUV shouldnt have an issue for more than a decade