Android Discussions Related To Software, Apps, Phones & News

Guys my s3 got wet in rain even after kept inside my bag as rain downpour was very heavy.After reaching home cleaned and dried the handset and started it, speakers aren't working as well as side button for on off and screen off isn't working and it is not connecting wifi. I am able to use data but not wifi, what could be reasons and how much would be the costs for repairing?

It's an effective solution. My xperia arc had the same fate, got wet even in a plastic bag.

Kept it for a day , screen showed white lines , kept it for another day and never had any problem until it was stolen :p

Thank you IR.will do that and see how it works.
good luck let us know how it went!

When i read the half first line, i thought you suggesting MOBILE BIRIYANI [lol].
BTW very innovative idea sir ji.[clap]
ha ha, mobile biryani, i like the term! Well the concept is simple, any hydrator that can absorb water/moisture , dry rice is most easily available, if you own a shoe shop i would suggest the silica satchets, they are very effective too. I just hope battery didn't do the damage already when Vijay attempted to start it up. The problem with dropping a phone in water is not usually the hardware but the battery - never start the phone back on when wet, instead keep it in rice for a few days and you have a better chance of salvaging it.

Planning to go for new Android phone.Which phone is best?Budget-Rs.20,000 to 30,000.I have almost decided to buy a Nexus 5 as next phone.Or else,will go for Grand 2 or HTC Desire 816.If my budget is permitted till Rs.35000,will go for Galaxy Note 3.Is Galaxy Note II a good buy now being a 2 year old one?

Update: Handset gets start up but the on off button doesnt work, the moment battery is inserted handset gets on by itself, and speakers and mike arent working and screen keeps splashing on off types.
Wifi doesnt get connected but data works.A friend who also does repairings and all for electronics mobiles suggested me to keep the handset and battery under some heat, as rain going on here, asked to keep it under lamp few inches away but the way that heat from the bulb works and moisture goes away.If it works then it would else dead.

MS@ you want a dual sim handset, as both the grand2 as well as htc 816 are dual sim handsets, and you were not satisfied with the grand you brought firstly then why grand 2.Better go for nexus 5 or if you can go for note 3.

Vijay-Yeah!I have decided not to go for Grand 2.Im 99.99999% decided on Nexus 5.Whereas 1% consists of iPhone 5S or HTC One M8.But,when I asked all retailers for Red Nexus 5 16GB and 32GB,they said not available in the stock.But,32GB Red one is available at their stock.BTW,I have decided to order Nexus 5 Red 32GB from Google Play Store.

Congratulations Music_Swift [:D], Kitkat break to banta hai

The problem with dropping a phone in water is not usually the hardware but the battery - never start the phone back on when wet, instead keep it in rice for a few days and you have a better chance of salvaging it.
Sirji, best to do when phone (or any electronic) go wet - remove battery, & then dry the phone by rice (take days), sunlight (take hours to days), hot air blower, 100/200W bulb (dry heat) (few min to hours), reinstall battery when completely dry & try your LUCK.

It's like when your modern car is likely to submerge in rain water or flood, to prevent damage to ECU & car, remove battery & sleep relaxed. Reapply battery or better go to ASS once calamity is over (experts correct me please if for wrong knowledge).