“Thunderbolt” Mahindra XUV5OO Detailed Review (5 Years Report)

Re: “Thunderbolt” Mahindra XUV5OO Detailed Review (3 Years Report)

thats really ingenious, bhvm.

Can you suggest a good but VFM subwoofer and amp which I can use with the factory setup of XUV and can be made plug and play? oh yeah and if possible make it light too. [;)]

Thread Starter #677

Hello kinshuk.arya!
I found this sealed woofer Randomly when wandering around in Bombay. It costed roughly 4k. The interesting thing is that its a sealed enclosure, which are rare in India. Perhaps the seller was not able to sell "Sealed" subs and gave a good deal. I've always liked Sealed setups and all subs I have are sealed. The smallest I have is 5.25 Inch sealed. Largest I have is 15".

My 2 sealed 6 inchers are already doing underseat duty in XUV. I got these custom made.
But Everyone loves ported subs for kind of "Doof Doof" Boomy bass thats the rage today.

The amp I am using Is JBL GTX 646, which costed rougly 10k when I brought it with car. Amp cannot be made Plug and play, but you can make woofer PNP using the Quick disconnect guide.

Other option would be to go for readymade underseat woofers. These are smaller and combine the Amp+Woofer in one unit. Bass won't be as chest thumping as large 12" though. So keep that in Mind.
Blaupunkt XLF 200A 8-inch Under Seat Active Subwoofer: Amazon.in: Electronics

Thread Starter #678

Hello Friends,
Its time to renew the insurance of XUV. Its the 5th year now.
The quotation for New india assurance (with whom i've been buying insurance all these years) is 23k if the rates stay same. However, the insurance will jump to 27k if Goverment decides to increase some taxes/charges.

I am quite confused by the above statement. Also the quote seems expensive as i must be having full NCB. What's you take folks?

Thread Starter #680

Thunderbolt XUV did a 700KM round trip to Bombay.
1. FE throught the trip was 10.8. This was a bit lower than my expecations.
2. Brakes grinding has reduced a bit. But will still inspect at next service.
3. The nashik-Bombay Highway is now full of speedbreakers! yuck!!
Infact, The patch from malegaon to Nashik-Igatpuri is just worst. Almost 60~70 breakers on that track. They have em on each damm crossing. You're just hitting back to 100 and there comes next breaker!. Completely infuriating.
4. XUV did hit 170 once with whatever limited run that these breakers do offer. most of the run however was 110~130.
5. XUV is now in the last leg of warranty. Will keenly check everything at next service and report back.
i was quoted 21K for B2B for W6 2013 model from TATA AIG
So it seems my quote is not all wrong. I will simply renew then.

A very bad experience at mahindra ASS as my XUV's front discpads were worn out i took an appointment for the same around 10 AM i was there at 10 AM but even after waiting for 2 hours nobody touched the car. when i went to service manager he went to check what is happening in workshop then a mechanic who was driving other XUV rashly accelerated in service area as he was about to apply brakes the car wouldn't stop and crashed into one of building's pillars and front bumper was heavily damaged after seeing all that my car was still lying unattended i politely asked for the keys of my car and drove off bought the pads for 4.K and got fitted from an outside mechanic who is known to me. it was just a 30 min job. when they issued gatepass they mentioned "customer doesn't want to change the pads". i took a pen and wrote down whole incident on that gatepass handed it over and drove off. very unprofessional behavior by mahindra service guys.

Thread Starter #682

buddy shoot a mail to sanjoy gupta and I'm sure he'll look into it. you May also write to customer care. rash driving will not be tolerated no matter what.

Thread Starter #683

Hello friends,

1. did 700km, one day. return journey from Bombay.

2. wind/tyre noise has increased noticeably

3. vehicle performs well till 140, however hesitates crossing 165. this is unlike previous experienced where xuv would pull very nicely till 180 (on same roads, same patches). is there come greasing/ bearing work required?

4. infotainment restarted twice, hung twice. usual tale.

5. thinking to remove roof rack, as never used it since these 4 years.

6. Fe Has come down considerably. mid now shows 10.8 on fast sections and 11.2 on normal ones.

pour in suggestions, folks!

Thread Starter #686

Things listed for Service tomorrow-

1. Gen Service & Check up
2. Air Filter & Cabin Filter replace
3. Very poor FE only 10.8 KMPL, Car not running Free
4. Grinding Noise in brakes, Brakes check
5. AC not effective
6. Sideglass Greasing (Creaks when folding)
7. One Fog lamp is dull/dark
8. Middle row Cabin Light- Only Half LED working.
9. Some speaker Rattling
10. Clutch Check

Things listed for Service tomorrow-

1. Gen Service & Check up
2. Air Filter & Cabin Filter replace
3. Very poor FE only 10.8 KMPL, Car not running Free
4. Grinding Noise in brakes, Brakes check
5. AC not effective
6. Sideglass Greasing (Creaks when folding)
7. One Fog lamp is dull/dark
8. Middle row Cabin Light- Only Half LED working.
9. Some speaker Rattling
10. Clutch Check
Hope you will have better and all problem solving service. As you have extended service for your XUV, would like to know more about #3,#4,#5,#6 and #9 points.

Let us know if those get covered under warranty .

Happy Servicing...

Thread Starter #688

60K Service experience at Jitendra Motors, Nashik.

We reached at 9.00, Our usual SA, Mr Amol was ready to attend. Service took whole day and has a few perks that you may want to read on. Service costed roughly 19k, Excluding Food, Tolls & Fuel. So here we go-

1. Gen Service & Check up- General Service done. Costs 2.5k Including washing. Washing cannot be canceled. Engine Oil was changed. Air , Oil & fuel filters were changed. I had to remind them about suspension Re-torquing & Battery check. The mechanic appointed this time was Less satisfactory than my usual guys. Spraying some lubricant on Door Beadings (Rubber) was included this time. Probably helps with rattling.

2. Air Filter & Cabin Filter replace- Replaced as Said. Replacement for Engine Air filter is 40k Kms! This is way too much considering the Dust & Pollution in India. The filter costs 950. I guess I'll ask them to replace every 20k.

3. Very poor FE only 10.8 KMPL,- Now here comes The mistry part. My 1st complaint was that Car is delivering Very poor FE. The SA suggest it will Improve as we do service. Filters may be dirty causing poor FE. Seemed logical. And we got comprehensive service done. My usual Oil change/Service schedule is 15k Kms as opposed to 20k by Mahindra.

Guess what? No avail. MID displays FE in range of 9.5~10.5. It goes MAX till 11.7 if driven too carefully (Earlier it would shoot till 16 KMPL if driven that carefully). In my regular Run & Gun style, Hitting 150 and what not, the FE would be in the range of 12.5 KMPL. We had a lengthy discussion with SA on this. Had loooooong test runs. But discussion had to be left open & Incomplete as it was closing time. The SA demanded vehicle to keep overnight which is not possible for me. Here are the possibilities-

a) During replacement of turbo, maybe turbo was not fixed properly was not tuned well to the car, causing poor FE. (Note- Turbo was replaced just 3~4k Kms ago)
b) All the ECU needs to be check, Flashed and reset. They'll have to be re-learned which will need 3 hours to get done (1 whole day in my books). Maybe then ECU will learn new turbo and work better.
c) I have installed AT tyres causing poor FE. Now drop of 0.5 KMPL is in my perception. But not a drop of 3~4 KMPL. To confirm the same, SA installed bridgestones from a nearby car, Took a Test run and came back with FE of 9.6 KMPL!. The bridgestones are quieter though.

4. Car not running Free- Replacing Filters and Service Brought back the performance. SA suggested Carpeting is not done properly (Carpeting was done my Jalgaon Mahindra Dealer) and is causing pedal to be obstructed some times. I gave the carpet a slight cut and feel is better now.

4. Grinding Noise in brakes, Brakes check- All Brake pads replaced, giving better brake feel

5. AC not effective- AC effective once again after replacing Cabin Filters (There are 2 filters)

6. Sideglass Greasing (Creaks when folding)- Some lubricant sprayed Costing Rs 70.

7. One Fog lamp is dull/dark- After a lot of Coaxing they agreed to open fog lamp and blow dust out. But I dont feel they actually did it. Dust is the same.

8. Middle row Cabin Light- Only Half LED working.- Some of the LEDs have fused. Disappointingly, lamps are not covered in Extended warranty. I argued saying that these are not filament bulbs that keep blowing every now and then, But an Integrated LED unit that is sealed. But got the same Reply from Bombay office so decided to skip. New Lamp costs 850. Decided to Ignore. Will probably do a DIY or replair at home. I learned from mechanic how to open the lamp. Ha ha...

9. Some speaker Rattling- Rattling not found during test. Maybe I am pushing too Much bass through them

10. Clutch Check- Clutch is fine and often lasts 1 lac+ kms.

Perks & Messes-
1. Most SAs never knew this vehicle can cross 160. I hit 180 During test run and they were like.....OH my god. They're Instructed to never cross 120. And I see that is a good thing.

2. Rear Brake pads have lasted 64.7 Kms. This the HIGHEST RECORD since XUV launch (2011) in NASHIK service center. Rear Brake pads are designed to last 40~50k Kms. Makes me feel proud indeed.

3. Oil was Found to be good. Mechanic Suggested I should've driven 5k more before replacing.

4. Thinking about K&N filter to help this massive diesel breathe better. If Air filter replacement can open so much performance, K&N should be impressive. And is safer than a remap.
What say folks?

5. There is no Hub/Bearing Grease for XUV. There are sealed bearings which last about 1 lac km

6. Upon Raising The Vehicle, I found that Underbody Guard was MISSING!. Alarmed, I asked SA if he misplaced my guard somewhere. Talking with Mechanics etc, I was told that my vehicle din'nt come with Guard from home. Oh! Horror Horror.

Then SA got a spark that maybe Guard was Missing since I gave my Vehicle at Dhule for Turbo issue. Now That was November. I made a few calls to Bombay office explaining my issue that guard was forgotten at Dhule. And guess what! In a few minutes literally I got message that a new, Sealed Guard is being installed to my vehicle!
Amazing out of the ordinary service & Courtesy I may say.

What I liked-
1. Performance, definitely.
What really opened up was revv range from 2800 to 3500 RPM. This Is what I use for overtaking. Earlier the vehicle would hesitate to cross 160. Now it cleanly Hits 180. The Train like Pull in 3rd gear is back now. 80-120 Figures have improved. It is once again possible to do 120 in 4th.

2. Engine noise has reduced. I can hear bass at 140 now. However, hearing one's own horn is impossible at 180. I asked SA (doing 180) “ Sirji Horn nahi Chal raha”. SA was “Kya sir?” I need to get rid of the roof rack to cut down some wind noise. The wind noise is silent but makes it presence felt. Its difficult to explain. You do not hear wind noise, but when you talk, you will hardly hear yourself. Strange feeling. Going Near Terminal velocity has its perks & mysteries!

What I didn't Like-
1. Washing was not very neat & clean. Greasy stains were'nt removed. Glasses were Blurry & Smudgy. I had to Request for a second wipe.

2. There is Mild steering vibration at 140. This was absent before I got Balancing/ Alignment done here. Also there are Vibrations are present in brake pedal (esp when braking).

3. Vehicle Pulling very slightly to Right. Apparently, their Alignment/ Balancing services are not good so I'll skip them next time. Rs 1500 Wasted.

4. Cabin LED lamp should've been included in Extended warranty. They are givng everything else, this small stuff would've made no difference to the Company as a whole.

5. FE issue not solved. Not even diagnoised properly. As it was 6PM Already, all staff was in a hurry to leave. Had to pay Bill hurriedly and depart. Will write to Customer car regarding this.

6. Service costs- 19K for (Majorly) oils, Filters & Brakes. And there was not one out of the ordinary replacement. Definitely not cheap as TATA. Probably same costs as Ford.

7. Couldn't get a clear answer when Brake/Steering oils need attention/ Replacement.

8. Speed for work definitely going down. Only one Mechanic per car. I requested a person be added and car taken as prority but they didn't listen. Regular Service consumed time till 5PM and washing till 6 PM. We could not pay attention to FE issue due to time mismanagement.

Thanks for the detailed review of your recent service.

1. Was the sump guard given to you on goodwill gesture. Unable to see that it's been billed somewhere.

2. My understanding is your is W8 but I am seeing "Speed Rim". Did you upgrade them? does TMPS works flawlessly with new alloys? Apologies if you have already somewhere in your bible.

Thread Starter #690

Re: “Thunderbolt” Mahindra XUV5OO Detailed Review (4 Years Report)

1. Goodwill gesture. it Was marked as "WAR" on SA's job sheet. I guess that means warranty

2. Those were wheels from a bystanding vehicle to check FE. SA was adamant that My AT tyres (With bolder pattern) as causing Poor FE & Noise too. So we swapped with Speed rims (Brigdestone) to check. Bridgestones gave 9.6 KMPL. Noise difference in HT & AT is well known.

You can see my own rims In very last picture.