Why Aria Failed To Take Off But XUV Did??

Thread Starter #91
Re: Why Aria Failed to Take-off But XUV Did??

How do you find the Force One in these 2?
Now I think Aria and XUV are very high quality vehicles!![lol]

My cousin owns a Etios diesel top end and I guess Liva's interior is similar. He paid more than 9 Lacs on-road for it.
Following anything blindly always leads you to the ditch.

Nopes, please dont mis-read my statement.

My point was, Scorpio has poor plastic quality because it is cheaper than the Innova even though it has more power & more features. All this comes at a price & to maintain a lower price tag than the Innova, Mahindra has to cut costs - and they do it by reducing plastic quality. Isn't it better than compromising on plastic quality than compromising on the quality of drivetrain?
Actually,this price game has spoilt the cars.They want to mention that their car is available for 9.99 lacs.
Someone tell them that even if the quality goes up then 10.49 will be happily accepted.

Give Mahindra the premium you pay for Toyota - even they can give you the Scorpio with similar plastic quality...
They don't demand for it,I am ready to pay even a lac or two more if they give me the same overall product quality.

Again, who is saying that the Liva has issues or is not a good performer. But the car is filled with cost cutting measures. The plastic in the Etios is downright cheap and even simple switches like the headlight adjuster or the bonnet release lever belongs to the age of Ambassador. There are other cars in the segment, whose interiors feel much more premium. Still, people say "Toyota" is a premium brand...
If they offer that Manza level quality,then maybe it will end up as a dud.I never said "They offer good quality in Etios and Liva",but I said "A decent overall package which is overpriced".

Anyways, to avoid getting OT, I would not comment much on the Liva.
+10,we can keep ourselves occupied in an XUV and an Aria.

That is the main point. We overpay to the phoren companies as they are considered "premium".
We pay for quality.We pay for car behind the badge and this makes we people different from others.
BTW your new signature is very interesting..say thanks.[:)]

I have never ever said that Scorpio is a overall better package when compared with the Innova. All I have said is the mHawk is better than D-4D. Regarding my comment in this thread, if you read my comment, all I said was, that I never used to drive the Innova because of Scorpio because I was not ashamed to drive an Indian car (please note 'I' in bold). Where have I said that Scorpio is better than Innova?

Surprisingly, I found the seats of the Scorpio to be much better than that of Innova. Maybe because of my large frame!
Haha,old but solid line "different people,different choices".

Coming back to Aria and XUV:-
One simple question:-
How many of you people believe that for the such growth of XUV and very slow take off of Aria somewhere the product line up of companies is also responsible?

I think the product line up plays a vital role here.
Where Tata has just one praised SUV 'Safari',Mahindra is known for producing SUVs only.Hence people can believe their SUVs to be better even before trying and testing them thoroughly.

Now I think Aria and XUV are very high quality vehicles!![lol]

Following anything blindly always leads you to the ditch.

Actually,this price game has spoilt the cars.They want to mention that their car is available for 9.99 lacs.
Someone tell them that even if the quality goes up then 10.49 will be happily accepted.

They don't demand for it,I am ready to pay even a lac or two more if they give me the same overall product quality.

If they offer that Manza level quality,then maybe it will end up as a dud.I never said "They offer good quality in Etios and Liva",but I said "A decent overall package which is overpriced".

+10,we can keep ourselves occupied in an XUV and an Aria.

We pay for quality.We pay for car behind the badge and this makes we people different from others.
BTW your new signature is very interesting..say thanks.[:)]

Haha,old but solid line "different people,different choices".

How many of you people believe that for the such growth of XUV and very slow take off of Aria somewhere the product line up of companies is also responsible?

Where Tata has just one praised SUV 'Safari',Mahindra is known for producing SUVs only.Hence people can believe their SUVs to be better even before trying and testing them thoroughly.
To some extent it's true .
Let me give my reasons ok suppose I set my budget to 15 lacs and iam hell bent on a suv do you think I have a choice other then Scorpio auto, safari vx, xuv , aria .
Aria dosent give me that macho suv look even being a great car , Innova I will never buy because it dosent excite me at all and cant imagine it as my personal day to day ride.
Safari and Scorpio are too old now so what's left ? Xuv a macho looking suv great engine comes well in my budget and fresh looking vehicle .
So that's is the reason IMHO it generated a lot of sales because there is huge segment who want a proper suv looking car but don't have money to spend on captiva, fortuner .
Aria dint excite them and it dosent evoke feelings of a rugged suv .
Now xuv has actually no competetion same is with safari and Scorpio too . Now just imagine if Hyundai , maruti, VW or Toyota and Honda bring SUVs which will compete with the Scorpio , safari , aria and xuv at say a lakh ruppe more do you think Scorpio xuv will still have the same sales figure ?
my question to you is in 15 lakhs rupee what will you buy a suv with rugged looks same space abs, airbags and ESP from ford, Toyota , Honda or with all electronics the xuv ? Don't get patriotic feelings in the middle be rational and answer.

Thats a very valid point.

I believe every company has it's own USP. Like Toyota is known for it's quality, Honda is known for it's super revving & excellent petrol engines, Maruti is known for it's fuel efficient cars and A.S.S. etc... likewise Mahindra is known for it's UVs.

Mahindra is to UVs what Maruti is to hatchbacks. Mahindra has ruled the UV sector for a long time & knows the in & out of making a good UV. So when it comes to buying an UV, people may consider Mahindra to be a better option than TATA.

I believe every company has it's own USP. Like Toyota is known for it's quality, Honda is known for it's super revving & excellent petrol engines, Maruti is known for it's fuel efficient cars and A.S.S. etc... likewise Mahindra is known for it's UVs.

Mahindra is to UVs what Maruti is to hatchbacks. Mahindra has ruled the UV sector for a long time & knows the in & out of making a good UV. So when it comes to buying an UV, people may consider Mahindra to be a better option than TATA.
correct agreed completely and don't you think since there is no competetion in that segment people have no other option and the reason behind high sales ?

Thread Starter #95

To some extent it's true .
Let me give my reasons ok suppose I set my budget to 15 lacs and iam hell bent on a suv do you think I have a choice other then Scorpio auto, safari vx, xuv , aria .
Aria dosent give me that macho suv look even being a great car , Innova I will never buy because it dosent excite me at all and cant imagine it as my personal day to day ride.
Safari and Scorpio are too old now so what's left ? Xuv a macho looking suv great engine comes well in my budget and fresh looking vehicle .
So that's is the reason IMHO it generated a lot of sales because there is huge segment who want a proper suv looking car but don't have money to spend on captiva, fortuner .
Aria dint excite them and it dosent evoke feelings of a rugged suv .
Now xuv has actually no competetion same is with safari and Scorpio too . Now just imagine if Hyundai , maruti, VW or Toyota and Honda bring SUVs which will compete with the Scorpio , safari , aria and xuv at say a lakh ruppe more do you think Scorpio xuv will still have the same sales figure ?
my question to you is in 15 lakhs rupee what will you buy a suv with rugged looks same space abs, airbags and ESP from ford, Toyota , Honda or with all electronics the xuv ? Don't get patriotic feelings in the middle be rational and answer.
With 15 lac in hand I'll go for a used Pajero or a used Fortuner.
About SUV.Its the Aria for me because comfort will be the first priority.
BTW..YOU ARE 110% CORRECT BUDDY.

Hmm,I was thinking the same.Many people call Aria as a grown up Indica Vista.Maybe this reputation of Tata of producing such small cars has give a bog dent on the image of Aria.

grown up vista hahahaha that was good one :D

I think reading the issues about xuv everywhere I think it's safe to not buy the vehicle atleast for 6 months to 1 year infact aria is more settled then the xuv.

I have observed
Mechanically Mahindra has an upper edge ,it has been always like this. tuning and power delivery of Mahindra has been an inch ahead than Tata's

if it is about those superflous electronics and gizmos ,well tata and Mahindra are at par. If you look closely they maybe sourcing it from same vendor.

Coming to Overall comfort Tata is superior. Tata delivers high end ride comfort for dirt price.

Mahindra have better after sale market value than Tata (which Tata themselves earned in years of bad rep)

I have observed
Mechanically Mahindra has an upper edge ,it has been always like this. tuning and power delivery of Mahindra has been an inch ahead than Tata's

if it is about those superflous electronics and gizmos ,well tata and Mahindra are at par. If you look closely they maybe sourcing it from same vendor.

Coming to Overall comfort Tata is superior. Tata delivers high end ride comfort for dirt price.

Mahindra have better after sale market value than Tata (which Tata themselves earned in years of bad rep)
Yes mahindra SUVs do command a better resale value compared to tata SUVs no doubt about it .

Thread Starter #100

And what about the build quality?I find Tata cars better in this field.
Take Safari-Scorpio or Aria-XUV.In both the cases build quality of Tata cars feel better.

And what about the build quality?I find Tata cars better in this field.
Take Safari-Scorpio or Aria-XUV.In both the cases build quality of Tata cars feel better.
I think in overall quality Scorpio is better then the current safari but comfort more in safari.
Xuv and aria whatever I have seen personally aria feels better because the plastics used are better looking and feel sturdy compared to shiny plastics of xuv I got a feeling they won't last long .
Comfort wise you will be shocked my dad liked safari better then xuv too. Aria has excellent suspension (you can easily observe and feel the differnce if you take a back to back test drive of both the vehicles on not so good roads ) and ride quality .

I have observed

i read it somewhere that their 2.2 Mhawk and the 2.2VTT is just about the same engine.

After m&m built their engine from AWL austria ,the tatas approached them to build the same engine.
But after that they have their own sources for other components.

M &M Sources most from bosch whereas the tatas source their from the likes of delphi.

Thread Starter #103

I think in overall quality Scorpio is better then the current safari but comfort more in safari.
Xuv and aria whatever I have seen personally aria feels better because the plastics used are better looking and feel sturdy compared to shiny plastics of xuv I got a feeling they won't last long .
Comfort wise you will be shocked my dad liked safari better then xuv too. Aria has excellent suspension (you can easily observe and feel the differnce if you take a back to back test drive of both the vehicles on not so good roads ) and ride quality .
Your father is correct dear.Overall comfort of Safari is also better than XUV especially if one compare the middle row comfort.
About overall product quality,no doubt Scorpio is better,but by a very small margin.

i read it somewhere that their 2.2 Mhawk and the 2.2VTT is just about the same engine.

After m&m built their engine from AWL austria ,the tatas approached them to build the same engine.
But after that they have their own sources for other components.

M &M Sources most from bosch whereas the tatas source their from the likes of delphi.
you have read it right dear.
Both are having identical engine block.
Both are developed with the help of AWL Austria.
Only point is that first came the 2.2 VTT and after 3-4 months came the mHawk.

I still remember,the time we bought Scorpio,the Scorpio had only 2.6 CRDe(our slx also got the same) and after just 2-3 months came the 2.2 VTT in Safari and then we bought Safari after selling the Scorpio with 18k kms on odo.
And after we bought Safari(EX 4X4),about 3 months later Scorpio vlx was launched with mHawk engine.

Difference is simple-mHawk has got a wider spread of torque and hence has got a better responsiveness.

even though xuv has more powerful and responsive engine but in my opinion when it comes to looks i would go for aria.xuv looks something like over designed thing,something toy type look

Vijay looks are subjective but I have many freinds who share view like yours they find xuv overdone . I personally like xuv I don't hate the looks of aria its just that it dosent excite me much as a suv or a crossover. But as a car it is excellent no 2 questions about it.