Volkswagen Polo 1.2 Petrol HL Silver 2013 Model Review

Dear Sangae and Great,

Thank you for you suggestion. My running will be hardly 15-20 km only per day. Keeping this condition shall I go for GT TSI or I should keep the original existing one.

Polo GT TSI is awesome. But consider these points:

1. On Mumbai-Pune expressway, I was able to keep up with a Polo GT. Though I eventually gave up as deep down I knew that the other car had better engine and ESP compared to mine.
2. Do you want to spend 5-6 lakhs as price difference?
3. Hyundai i20 Sport facelift looks better than Polo (At least in rear.) Yup. Design wise, Hyundai has upped their game.

BTW, today, I drove 450 Kms in a single day for the first time. Legs are shaking now. Hahaha. But I don't feel tired or driver fatigue. Driving was fun. Just needed some engine grunt on empty stretches of expressway. [:)]
That's where the need for GT TSI was felt.
Dear Sanke,
You are mentioning about Hyundai i20 Sport facelift - Automatic?

Hey sanke,

Hope you & your car doing well :)

My new polo gives me shock (electric kind of) sometimes when i put key in ignition & sometimes gives me shock from door sill area, i don't know whats wrong with it, I didn't install any outside stuff so thinking to go to vw for checkup.

Thread Starter #393
Dear Sangae and Great,

Thank you for you suggestion. My running will be hardly 15-20 km only per day. Keeping this condition shall I go for GT TSI or I should keep the original existing one.

Dear Sanke,
You are mentioning about Hyundai i20 Sport facelift - Automatic?
Just the i20 facelift which looks very good.

Hey sanke,

Hope you & your car doing well :)

My new polo gives me shock (electric kind of) sometimes when i put key in ignition & sometimes gives me shock from door sill area, i don't know whats wrong with it, I didn't install any outside stuff so thinking to go to vw for checkup.
Never got any shock anywhere. Hopefully your battery is not leaking current into car's body. Or is it just some static build up?

BTW 2nd service scheduled for 26th Nov. Completed 14,000 Kms in 2 years so far.

Thread Starter #395
Service completed. Car was given at 11am in the morning and picked up again at 6pm.

Total cost of 2nd service was Rs. 8911

Overall, I am satisfied.

Hi Sanke1, my Polo 1.2 P(H) has recently completed 5 months of ownership and after completing 5 months the MID is showing screwdriver type logo along with 5000km, does it mean it's time for the general check up? If yes then do we need to pay anything just for the general check up?

Thread Starter #397
^^ How many kms have you completed so far? It might state the distance left for next service.

But still you can drop by dealership or service centre and get an explanation.

Dear Sanke1: Heartly congratulations to you and your polo :)
We have all set for hxcent mid variant petrol and went for booking, just before that I read your threads and its all changed now, I'm booking a 1.2 polo petrol comfortline, since my budget is within 7 lakhs.

Most of the features are covered in mid variant, only thing worries me is alloy wheel.. is it essential in terms of safety/comfort?... If its yes then i can stretch a bit to 7.3 high line..

Please lemme know your views :)

Most of the features are covered in mid variant, only thing worries me is alloy wheel.. is it essential in terms of safety/comfort?... If its yes then i can stretch a bit to 7.3 high line..
No the alloys are just for looks, not essential from safety point of view.

Thread Starter #400
Dear Sanke1: Heartly congratulations to you and your polo :)
We have all set for hxcent mid variant petrol and went for booking, just before that I read your threads and its all changed now, I'm booking a 1.2 polo petrol comfortline, since my budget is within 7 lakhs.

Alloy wheels are not related to safety/comfort.

However up sizing alloy wheels to 17" compared to standard factory fitted 15", can cause slight discomfort on Indian roads because of poor road conditions.

Dear Forum Members,

Greetings and a Big Hello!

I have been silently following this thread and really appreciate all of your inputs, especially Sanke1 for such a detailed ownership report on the car, brilliant! I have decided to jump in today because i am in the market looking for a petrol hatchback (budget 7.3 lakhs on road) since my running would not be more than 600-900 kms per month at best and occasional drives out of town for approx. 5-10% of the times. I am based out of Mumbai (Andheri).

Options for me would be (in order of preference)
1.) VW Polo 1.2 Highline (for the whole cabin experience of the refreshed 2014 polo, built quality and driving dynamics)
2.) Swift ZXI (refreshed version with push start etc.. It is a logical choice if you consider hassle free ownership and cost of maintenance and a superb engine)
3.) Hyundai Elite i20 – Sportz (for great cabin space, reliable – Japanese, features)

One of the VW dealers in Mumbai has 3 cars in stock, manufactured in Dec 2014 which are pre-excise hike invoiced. He is offering them at last year’s prices at 7 lakh OTR Mumbai registered. The cost of 1.2 Highline post the excise hike FOR Jan 2015 onwards is quoted at 7.5lakhs approximately. Is it a good idea to buy this car as I will be saving a good 50,000 INR? What are the drawbacks other than a slightly lesser resale value? What are the things I should look or ask for?

I want a hassle free ownership and the horror stories regarding service deficiency, spare part availability, cars breaking down in the middle of the road etc. are really bothering me. It’s my first car and I am extremely cautious and want to make a sound decision and YOUR help would really mean a lot. My heart is with VW Polo Highline and the head says Swift ZXI.

Kindly advise. Many Many thanks in anticipation.

Az_Dan

Ask him for more discounts or check with another vw dealer. 50000rs is not much , if he doesn't increase the discounts , get other things complementary like extended warranty , car cover , mats , underbody coating etc.

And can you post the price list here , i'm asking because the prices of such things are already included in the otr prices.

I don't like the swift , just take a td of the i20 as well and then decide.

I haven't negotiated hard with the dealer yet, they want to hurry up my decision by mentioning that only 2-3 cars are left in the inventory which are invoiced before the excise hike. Also, i will check with other dealers in the city for quotation.

I will post the break-up of the price once i get it from them.

Kindly advise if there are any drawbacks of buying Dec 2014 make car in Jan 2015 (i think other than lesser resale value, there arent any..) How easy is the maintenance of the Polo, are there any issues/pointers that i should be aware of (need help from polo petrol owners especially in Mumbai)? I hope the steering pulling to the left, oil sump, ac vent issues are not present in the new cars. Is my decision right or i should wait for the Honda Jazz :-(

Ask him for more discounts or check with another vw dealer. 50000rs is not much , if he doesn't increase the discounts , get other things complementary like extended warranty , car cover , mats , underbody coating etc.

And can you post the price list here , i'm asking because the prices of such things are already included in the otr prices.

I don't like the swift , just take a td of the i20 as well and then decide.
We have an Elite i20 Asta vtvt back at my home town (my father's car) so i wanted a different make.

I'd buy the old stock if i get good deals [;)] anyways do update the price and wait for the polo petrol owners to tell you more about their experience. For the time being you can go through this thread.

Kindly advise if there are any drawbacks of buying Dec 2014 make car in Jan 2015 (i think other than lesser resale value, there arent any..) How easy is the maintenance of the Polo, are there any issues/pointers that i should be aware of (need help from polo petrol owners especially in Mumbai)? I hope the steering pulling to the left, oil sump, ac vent issues are not present in the new cars. Is my decision right or i should wait for the Honda Jazz :-(
No harm in buying December make car. Maintenance would be higher than others I guess, but at least I have never cared to compare with other cars. My car has been as reliable as it can get since day 1. If Jazz's launch is near, then you should wait and then evaluate between the two cars.