Volkswagen Polo 1.2 Petrol HL Silver 2013 Model Review

Thread Starter #226
I had ordered during holidays hence it took a month. But you may get them sooner.

Today I had a trip to Khandala via old Mumbai-Pune highway.
Epic turns are epic..... and Dangerous too :D
Here's a pic

It does look epic. I guess its even more dangerous to travel at night.
Btw, your polo looks drop dead gorgeous. Sorry, I can't resist myself from commenting it! :tongue:

Brilliant pics Sanke. Your Polo in that backdrop is looking absolutely majestic. The weather looks absolutely stunning and perfect for a getaway. I am sorely missing Maharashtra in monsoons this time around specially places like Matheran, Mahabaleshwar, Lonavala,etc.

Congrats!!! This is my first post. I am also planning for POLO. But I am confused whether to go for petrol/diesel. My driving kms per month would be 600 Kms max. Kindly suggest.
Srikanta.

Thread Starter #230
Congrats!!! This is my first post. I am also planning for POLO. But I am confused whether to go for petrol/diesel. My driving kms per month would be 600 Kms max. Kindly suggest.
Srikanta.
Do simple maths

600 kms per month is roughly worth 1 tank full of 45 litres of petrol.
Cost per liter of Petrol is Rs. 72
So according to you monthly fuel cost will be Rs. 3240

600 kms per month is roughly worth 40 litres of diesel (Diesel cars have slightly better fuel efficiency.
Cost per liter of Diesel is Rs. 58
So total monthly cost will be Rs. 2320

Petrol Car
Positives:
  • Less maintenance
  • Do not need to idle the engine for few minutes before drive.
  • Engine more responsive.
  • Initial on road cost is Rs. 1 lakh cheaper.
Negatives:
  • Non TSI petrol engines have slightly lower Fuel Efficiency (FE or average)
  • Petrol itself is expensive
  • Petrol engine sometimes sounds like diesel.

Diesel Car
Positives:
  • Lower costs of fuel
  • Higher FE due to presence of Turbo
  • Higher Torque compared to petrol. (Better for hill climb)

Negatives:
  • Diesel prices are soon going to match petrol prices as govt. removes subsidy slowly.
  • Rs. 1 lakh expensive to comparable petrol variant.
  • Turbo lag till 1800 RPM
  • Engine clatter is higher compared to petrol

In the end the prices kinda even out considering the higher diesel vehicle prices. Even if you take diesel, it will take 3-4 years to vasool the extra vehicle price and that too you have to drive 30-40 kms everyday.

Do simple maths

600 kms per month is roughly worth 1 tank full of 45 litres of petrol.
Cost per liter of Petrol is Rs. 72
So according to you monthly fuel cost will be Rs. 3240

600 kms per month is roughly worth 40 litres of diesel (Diesel cars have slightly better fuel efficiency.
Cost per liter of Diesel is Rs. 58
So total monthly cost will be Rs. 2320

Petrol Car
Positives:
  • Less maintenance
  • Do not need to idle the engine for few minutes before drive.
  • Engine more responsive.
  • Initial on road cost is Rs. 1 lakh cheaper.
Negatives:
  • Non TSI petrol engines have slightly lower Fuel Efficiency (FE or average)
  • Petrol itself is expensive
  • Petrol engine sometimes sounds like diesel.

Diesel Car
Positives:
  • Lower costs of fuel
  • Higher FE due to presence of Turbo
  • Higher Torque compared to petrol. (Better for hill climb)

Negatives:
  • Diesel prices are soon going to match petrol prices as govt. removes subsidy slowly.
  • Rs. 1 lakh expensive to comparable petrol variant.
  • Turbo lag till 1800 RPM
  • Engine clatter is higher compared to petrol

In the end the prices kinda even out considering the higher diesel vehicle prices. Even if you take diesel, it will take 3-4 years to vasool the extra vehicle price and that too you have to drive 30-40 kms everyday.
Thanks a lot for the quote [clap]. Great to hear that petrol prices are getting equally same as diesel!!

Thread Starter #233
Higher fe due to turbo [confused] I thought it decreases the mileage.
Then why do you think the TSI Petrol variant gives more mileage even with 1 extra cylinder?

Normally, 1 extra cylinder means more fuel goes in to the engine at the same time to generate more bhp. A turbocharged engine can be more powerful and efficient than a naturally aspirated engine because the turbine forces more air, and proportionately more fuel, into the combustion chamber than atmospheric pressure alone. Turbocharger is driven by the engine's exhaust gas turbine.

Source

I know the source is Wikipedia but the Turbo concept has been around since a long time.

Higher fe due to turbo [confused] I thought it decreases the mileage.
Then why do you think the TSI Petrol variant gives more mileage even with 1 extra cylinder?
Its not just the cylinder. Ecoboost engine of Ford also claims high FE of around 17-18kmpl (I guess), just due to turbo petrol technology in spite of engine having three cylinders only. The 4 cyl polo 1.6 had worse FE than 3 cyl ones.

Basically in a lay man's term, turbo petrol are technologically advanced engine that are highly efficient in terms of FE as well as performance. Technology comes with a cost of course, and hence turbo petrol are pretty expensive than NA engines.

Congarts Sanke on completing 5k on the odo and 6 months with your silver beauty. Those FE on the MID also looks pretty good. Is the juddering noise which you had been experiencing earlier taken care of or is it still prevalent?

Thread Starter #238
The juddering is still there. Will be there till engine and gear mounts are replaced.

But I press the accelerator to keep the engine RPM at 1200 to prevent it while pulling from start.

BTW
Angel Eyes DRL for Polo from India Around Rs. 42000

Link