Volkswagen Polo 1.2 Petrol HL Silver 2013 Model Review

Thread Starter #211
@RightNow
Judder is there if I release the clutch slowly. But if I press accelerator while releasing clutch making sure engine RPM stays above 1000, car pulls away smoothly.

This itself indicates engine mount problem.

Regarding body work, 2 were major dents with corroded paint and remaining were very minor 1 or 2 cm wide and 1 mm deep. They were all over.

Did not think of giving it to 3rd party due to risk of color mismatch and what not.

@RightNow
Judder is there if I release the clutch slowly. But if I press accelerator while releasing clutch making sure engine RPM stays above 1000, car pulls away smoothly.
My SA also says that I need to replace the engine mount, but I haven't observed any such juddering that often.

Thread Starter #213
My SA also says that I need to replace the engine mount, but I haven't observed any such juddering that often.
Unfortunately, the problem started only after replacing the 1 month old mounts with hydraulic ones. They didn't even ask me and replaced them which were faulty. [frustration]

Thread Starter #215
^^ Yes. Kinda sucks. But I have an upcomming trip. Will give in my car after that again. Hopefully they have the part in stock.

I don't know why I missed out this thread. Maybe, I thought I had already subscribed on your thread. Since the polo owner's are increasing on TAI every week or so. I get confused on whose ownership thread to a keep a view on!

You have the most odd & sexy polo on TAI. Also since silver color is not much common. Now, I guess I will never forget your car.
Those tail lamps look absolutely great. I too always search for the EU tail light & head light on Internet. When I find them, I just drool over them imagining it on my polo. Getting them is not possible for me in any manner especially since I am not earning being a student & father doesn't like spending on modifications. [frustration] If I get cash & my dad allows to modify the car, then my first step would be a 17" Alloy. No matter what! [:D]

Btw, sad to know that the RCD 510 stereo is stuck at the customs. Any info on it?
I'm sure that the guy you mentioned is trying to make out some cash especially since he hasn't spoke out his name. Try speaking to some other officials there!

Thread Starter #218
Had another tussle with customs. I was being very polite with them but they were trying to shove the charge of Rs. 10,000 down my throat. Then after some google, I found out that the model which I ordered does not support MDI through CANBUS. Only non USB models support MDI. There is no way I could make it work as per several forums. So I have made a conscious decision to abandon the item at customs. Lesson learnt. Don't be impulsive.

Moving on, went today to Volkswagen Downtown Prabhadevi. They told me that there is no car available for test drive for few days. That is ridiculous. The prime dealership of Mumbai does not have a test drive vehicle is shameful and disgusting. Anyway, I asked them about DSG200 issues and they were unaware of it. Fine. I kindly asked them to google recall stories in China, Japan and Singapore to which they said it's not a problem but their body language became nervous as f***.

I asked them to do valuation of my car to see if it reasonable to swap it with TSI model. Now suddenly 3-4 guys were showing interest in the interaction as they think of me as potential customer. Good? ....Bad. My car value came to just 4 lakhs. The reason? The newly painted rear door has a slight color mismatch compared to rest of the car. I was like wtf? The paint job was carried by the same dealership with supposedly exact shade of color sourced from Volkswagen themselves.

I smiled and returned home.

..So I have made a conscious decision to abandon the item at customs. Lesson learnt. Don't be impulsive.
So you have lost the initial amount you paid for stereo. That's so unfortunate man.

My car value came to just 4 lakhs. The reason? The newly painted rear door has a slight color mismatch compared to rest of the car. I was like wtf? The paint job was carried by the same dealership with supposedly exact shade of color sourced from Volkswagen themselves.
My car was evaluated around 3.5 lacs reason being low resale of petrol. Your 4 lac is for the same reason.
And what sort of crap is that rear door doesn't go with the color. You should complain to workshop then.

And by the way, at least they were honest enough to not offer you registered car of some other customer for TD.

Had another tussle with customs. I was being very polite with them but they were trying to shove the charge of Rs. 10,000 down my throat. Then after some google, I found out that the model which I ordered does not support MDI through CANBUS. Only non USB models support MDI. There is no way I could make it work as per several forums. So I have made a conscious decision to abandon the item at customs. Lesson learnt. Don't be impulsive.

Moving on, went today to Volkswagen Downtown Prabhadevi. They told me that there is no car available for test drive for few days. That is ridiculous. The prime dealership of Mumbai does not have a test drive vehicle is shameful and disgusting. Anyway, I asked them about DSG200 issues and they were unaware of it. Fine. I kindly asked them to google recall stories in China, Japan and Singapore to which they said it's not a problem but their body language became nervous as f***.

I asked them to do valuation of my car to see if it reasonable to swap it with TSI model. Now suddenly 3-4 guys were showing interest in the interaction as they think of me as potential customer. Good? ....Bad. My car value came to just 4 lakhs. The reason? The newly painted rear door has a slight color mismatch compared to rest of the car. I was like wtf? The paint job was carried by the same dealership with supposedly exact shade of color sourced from Volkswagen themselves.

I smiled and returned home.
It is sad to hear that you lost that money. But like I always think in such situations. Think of that money as charity money and move on because there is no use crying over spilt milk, right? And yes. I have bought stuff on impulse that I haven't used even once but I too learnt my lesson the hard way.

Regarding the TD car. It is the same case here in Trivandrum too. They said they don't have a TD car and said they have no hopes of getting one either. Apparently people have to buy the car without a TD.

And I had gone to TD the Amaze a couple of weeks back. After driving the car, I realised that it was definitely not for me. Just for fun, I asked the exchange guy there to evaluate my Polo and he came up with a maximum of........wait for it..................Rs. 3.9l!!!! I just laughed and left without even bothering to give him a reply.

Thread Starter #222
Update guys.

Completed 4000 kms.

FE in City: 13 kmpl (Seems to have slightly reduced)
FE on highway: 17.5 kmpl

Just got a call from VW for free summer check up. Booked an appointment but didn't bother to give in the car. [:)]

Update guys.
Completed 4000 kms.
Not bad figures I would say. I too get similar figures only 0.5 point less may be.
Reduction in FE would be due to AC I guess. Same is happening with me too.

Update guys.

Completed 4000 kms.

Just got a call from VW for free summer check up. Booked an appointment but didn't bother to give in the car. [:)]
Those are decent figures sanke1. Although i guess AC is also taking quite a toll on the fuel efficiency these days. My car used to give around 17.5kmpl in the city and since last month or so due to the extreme heat conditions and the extra work load on the AC to cool the cabin, the FE has dipped to 14.2kmpl.