The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In [210+ BHP Remap]

Re: The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In [16K Kms Crossed]

@ Iron Rock

Very True regarding refusal for discounts not making a dealer bad.
Honda dealers have turned this refusal of discounts into an art form.
And they still throw in a few freebies so the customer feels he walked away with something.

I completely agree Iron Rock. 60K means nothing when we are ready to spend 31Lakhs and really doesn't matter, once we decided to buy. However, the tone of the customer facing people that matters.

Gents,

I am a new user and am looking for an SUV/MPV in the 25-35lacs range.
Needs
- AT - preferable. Recently moved from US and am lazy to clutch it on
- No Offroading
- About 1500 miles avg per month - Mix of highway and city driving.
- Need for 7 seater given parents and two young kids and their car seats

::: Pajero AT is a top contender in my list. Fortuner looks a little bulky and Pajero has its reliability concept.

::: Current rides - 520d only for use on highways and limited city drives. Octavia Rider - reliable and comfy but getting older at 1.4lac miles, Amaze for city driving. None of these fit 5+
I am coming off a gasoline 530i driven for 7 yrs in US.
Was wondering if Pajero AT 2Wheel Drive is a good option?

Location would be Hyderabad for service. I don't mind purchasing in AP, Karnataka, Orissa or MH due to contracts there and will not have issue with cops for Out of state registration

Key needs in Vehicle
Reliability, Safety, Service costs and spares cost
Ride comfort
Also, any Hyderabad owners with non-stealership service experiences.
Any suggestions/pointers/guidance will be appreciated?

Thread Starter #424

bmwhyd - a very warm welcome to TAI

Specifically given your needs - I would shortlist the following :-

Fortuner, Pajero , Santa FE, Rexton.

On the ride quality front, Fortuner will be weakest, but if your drive is on good roads only - this might not be as pronounced. It checks all the other factors, third row is really good as well.

Spares cost and Service wise Pajero/Santa FE might not be the strongest too. Rexton and Santa Fe will have weakest third row. Rexton steering is vague at best.

Your requirements dont really warrant even an SUV, I wish we had the Sienna in India, i would have recommended it only. But since you have that budget i am listing the vehicles which fit it.

Gents,

Needs
- No Offroading
Hello there,

Given your requirements, I would have recommended you look at a people mover and not an SUV, since you do not need one. However, there are no AT MUVs in India at the moment and that is a bit of a downer.

So, given the current situation, I would recommend you take a test drive of the PS AT and the Santa Fe AT. The PS AT will impress you by its interior space and build quality while the Santa Fe is the more modern car of the two coupled with better service with greater safety.

Gents,

Needs
- No Offroading

::: Pajero AT is a top contender in my list. Fortuner looks a little bulky and Pajero has its reliability concept.

::: Current rides - 520d only for use on highways and limited city drives. Octavia Rider - reliable and comfy but getting older at 1.4lac miles, Amaze for city driving. None of these fit 5+
I am coming off a gasoline 530i driven for 7 yrs in US.
Was wondering if Pajero AT 2Wheel Drive is a good option?

Location would be Hyderabad for service. I don't mind purchasing in AP, Karnataka, Orissa or MH due to contracts there and will not have issue with cops for Out of state registration

Key needs in Vehicle
Reliability, Safety, Service costs and spares cost
Ride comfort
Also, any Hyderabad owners with non-stealership service experiences.
Any suggestions/pointers/guidance will be appreciated?
Hi ,
Welcome to TAI. Between your selection of Pajero and SanataFe, I would recommend the Hyundai car for the following reason.
Santa Fe balances well as a highway vehicle as well as an off roader. Pajero is off course better for off roading, how ever you may not find it that comfortable on highways at high speeds.

Pajero has recently undergone a facelift still Santa fe has better interiors and equipment.
You will have a better ownership experience with Hyundai cars with its better after sales service and network across the country.
I did spend some time on both the cars few months back for a friend.
Yes the heart will say Pajero! but Sata Fe is more practical.
All the best with your purchase.

Throwing in my two cents in here as well. I agree with all the points mentioned here. I would rule out the Fortuner because of the slightly less comfort in middle row - which you will be using most of the times. The 4x4 AT Fortuner is really a double overkill for you (you dont need an SUV, much less a 4x4). Of the Santa Fe and The Pajero Sport AT, the Sport is a superior vehicle (imho), but given your multi city requirements, the Santa Fe might work out better for you. Drive both, or get chauffered in both - you will have your answer.

Given that you can procure the vehicle in any state - I would think AP and Karnataka would be ruled out because of the highest road taxes; it would have to be one of the other places.

Pajero any day, way more durable with ladder frame and off road capable suspension, perfect for average Indian conditions.

Thread Starter #429

This weekend found time to do a proper diesel wash for the pajero, then soaped it up and finally waxed it, tried the formula 1 spray wax - i would say average light weight quick stuff compared to meguair or the likes.

Been pottering and exploring offroad trails solo.

17K done and moving up slowly.

IMG_20150419_164317.jpg

IMG_20150419_164303.jpg

Re: The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In [17K Kms Crossed]

Hey IR, Have you ever been stopped for tinted window films in Pune or anywhere else?

Hi Iron Rock

I was warned about using diesel for cleaning by my biker friend, and he said that his Honda Civic bears a faded patch which is proving tough to get rid of.

Thread Starter #432

Hey IR, Have you ever been stopped for tinted window films in Pune or anywhere else?
Never yet, though cops are at abundance where i stay, i wave at them everytime i pass rather than the other way around - i guess i have been super lucky![lol]

The Pajero tint is still lighter, my XUV has super dark tints. i dont think i can escape with that anywhere outside MH.

Btw your hellas setup is making me want it on the Pajero!

Hi Iron Rock

I was warned about using diesel for cleaning by my biker friend, and he said that his Honda Civic bears a faded patch which is proving tough to get rid of.
Well diesel is a just a solvent, i think any material can stain, the most important principle is give it a thorough soap washing coupled with lots of water - there should be nothing left on the car. For that matter even hard water can stain - if you let something remain for too long - thats what creates the problem.

I had some nasty sticky dust on the PS this weekend - so i had to resort to Diesel !

Hellas are good on the highways, but if you are looking for off roading stuff go for some fog beams.

The car accessory guy from where I got the Hellas installed was telling about a super light window film with good performance, he said that till now none of his customers have complained that they were stopped because of the film.

Thread Starter #434

Can you ask him the make and the code ?

I am thinking for light augmentation for highway needs only.

Btw I bought a collinite 945, will report how it does yet to receive it - I am guessing you were already using it before ?

You need the make and code for what? Film or Hellas?

Never used collinite.