The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In [210+ BHP Remap]

Thread Starter #376
Re: The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In [15K Kms Crossed]

Why you have done such a silly mistake? Ironrock please advice him this is a serious mistake. You risk yourself and your family by putting bull bar[frustration]. Please google it.
Your point is positively taken Goluji - you are indeed right bull bar can mess around air bag sensors. We should raise awareness about it not sure it can be termed as a silly mistake. Not many would know where the air bag sensors are and the process of an airbag setting of. So lets play our part raising the awareness.

Bull bar is a very common accessory in India and largely the purpose is to prevent minor nudges/blemishes to your car - but one has to be aware of the side effects that it might cause.

In this case Soorya has been lucky that his airbags activated despite his bull bar - the situation could have been different too. Usually abroad you get certified bull bars for frontal impacts - i hope this eventually happens in India too. I have also seen people putting seat covers on seats with airbags - could be a very costly mistake.

Usually abroad you get certified bull bars for frontal impacts - i hope this eventually happens in India too. I have also seen people putting seat covers on seats with airbags - could be a very costly mistake.
Today, you get ARB and TJM bullbars in India which are airbag compliant. However, how many would buy a bullbar costing upwards of INR 100,000.00. I wouldn't.

I am sorry, removed the pictures as some one asked me not to post pictures till insurance claim is settled.
Can anyone tell me How 'BLUE' look
No no, there is nothing wrong in bargaining for a better deal. I completely support you.[clap]

Further, I feel that the blue has a very corporate kinda shade to it. Completely worth a buy.

Hello everyone. Many congratulations to the growing group of owners of the Pajero Sport.

I test drove the vehicle after Sampco of Mumbai had given me a chance, and as I was looking to change out of my corolla, which had become too small for taking my growing kids on driving family holidays (I like driving even down to Coorg, from Mumbai).

It was utterly magnificent in every way, but thereafter I broke my knee and was unable to trigger anything for 8 months. I am getting back into the scheme of things. I have read this thread (brilliant effort with the write up, comments, photos) and in many ways the information posted is well beyond my requirements. But one aspect still bothers me and I would be grateful for any comments on this.

The limited dealer and service network is relevant to a buyer's decision making if 1) the dealer is not close by 2) the service centers are few and not located conveniently 3) if parts are difficult to get and 4) if the vehicle is stranded (I think in the official review thread, FM Sudhir Mehra has posted his experience where his clutch broken down on a highway) and help is needed. There may be other aspects but these are uppermost in my mind.

It is the last 4) which bothers me. This happened to my corolla a few months back in a visit to Gir, and luckily it was nothing more than the battery lead that had come loose. But if something more serious were to happen, in the case of Toyota, somehow I am far more comfortable that help will be only a few hours away, whereas in the case of Mitsubishi, a nagging doubt persists - we are considering buying the Sport for serious distance driving, and how close would help be if anything were to go wrong far away from home, with wife and kids looking on anxiously?

Thread Starter #379

Sharpshooter -> Very warm welcome to TAI firstly!

Let me comment on the points you highlighted :-

1) and 2) Mumbai is going to get 2 dealerships shortly - HM is doing its bit now(though late) to improve this. You will see them doing more dealership inauguration via their facebook page, i just hope those dealerships are well nurtured and they last. But lets admit it its never going to be the scale and finesse of a Toyota. They have recently launched a new service facility at Pune - I was worried too when J Williams went out as a Pune dealer sometime back - but hopefully i see them taking right steps. In Mumbai especially you shouldnt have a problem. Plenty of official and unofficial help.

3) Spares - Again lets admit it no HM dealer will keep a stock of all spares, they will however keep the most essentials. But the reality also is Pajero hardly requires spares if taken care of. How often have we seen a Japanese SUV on a tow truck compared to famous badges ? Mumbai/ Delhi have no dearth of spare parts outside the official channel - owners are also known and seen importing parts from thailand which in some cases has come out cheaper!

4) Breakdown can happen for any vehicle really, its a machine afterall, but if you look at the probability of breakdown happening for a japanese suv(generally including Toyota as well) - its a very remote in my view. If i have to go cross country and back, ill rather go on a old school japanese suv than a electronics laden modern one. Pajero sport might look modern, but underneath is classic old school - hardly any electronics. Thats one strong reason i chose it - it will outlast me hopefully.

and finally if you are buying a Pajero, you will eventually have a mindset to ignore all of the above and enjoy the vehicle irrespective. I have compared it with the Fortuner in detail when i was making my choice, you need to put in to perspective, your priorities too and make a choice, there is very little between the two and you can tilt either sides based on your priorities. It will help if you can highlight what your purchase needs are - we will then confuse you even more :tongue:

Hi Iron Rock

Thanks for your comments. Since I have had some time to think, I have made a decision around my priorities with the choice remaining only the Pajero Sport and Fortuner. Both 4x4 Manual.

I needed 1) space for wife, kids and bags 2) fatigue free driving for long periods of time 3) smooth ride - dont mind a bit of body roll, but do want a bump free ride 4) build quality - it is an obsession with me, makes the car safer and the over-engineering of the Pajero is certainly an attraction. The kids have put their foot down against a sedan, else I would have seriously considered C220.

When I TDd the Pajero sport, I could see that over three hours, I felt no fatigue, whereas an hour of the corolla (2004 model) makes me feel stiff all over. Ride quality smoothened out beautifully after 70kmph. Build and space were obvious. Other SUVs were also in contention, but after this TD, and watching some videos posted by you, I did not bother looking beyond Fortuner.

In the Pajero, of particular note was the fact that six of us in the car were freezing as the driver had set the AC to 20 degrees, but it was completely silent so we had not noticed. Also, once a car in front of me hit a puddle, threw back water, my screen was blinded when I was driving at around 100, on a curving flyover. But I braked quickly, and the Pajero was incredibly stable, no skidding etc. This was on 2H.

These requirements were for long distance driving. But an SUV for pure long distance pleasure could have proved impractical in the city (Mumbai) but I am reasonably confident with the Pajero that I can manage the daily office commute quite easily. For everything else, it will be my wife’s i20. The Pajero’s clutch was very hard, but I can see some owners saying that it has improved over time.

The other thing was that there was a lot of low frequency cabin noise during city driving in 2nd/3rd gear, but this vanished at higher speeds. I spent a lot of time sitting in the last row, being driven around at 110, and while knees did point upwards it was spacious, and the ride was smooth, comparable to any sedan, but with a reassuringly solid feeling of being inside a powerful vehicle.

Compared to the Fortuner, I felt the Pajero scored on interiors, torque (critical for the driving pleasure – the vehicle surged forward powerfully without any lag – am puzzled some people have mentioned significant lag), build (including being 5% heavier, a crude measure of build quality, vs 20% more torque), better rear brakes (in Manual Transmission at least), turning radius (I thought Fortuner 4x4 MT was 5.9m, but Pajero sport is certainly 5.6), and looks (to my eyes).

That left out after sales – improving support in Mumbai would be great news. It is greatly reassuring that knowledgeable people like you and the others here are willing to share experiences and advice. I tried messaging Gaurav (who is from Mumbai who has recently bought one, but can’t seem to send PM). Between all this, I coming to the point of view that support would not be an issue (not long ago, I almost bought a used SFX, but was scared because it is more theft prone).

I will make one last check on parking – anything bigger (top view) than a C220 will not fit in my parking. Sampco tells me that if the corolla and C220 make it, the Pajero will make it also. They have been very helpful with advise, must see what best deal they offer.

Thread Starter #381

When I TDd the Pajero sport, I could see that over three hours, I felt no fatigue, whereas an hour of the corolla (2004 model) makes me feel stiff all over. Ride quality smoothened out beautifully after 70kmph. Build and space were obvious. Other SUVs were also in contention, but after this TD, and watching some videos posted by you, I did not bother looking beyond Fortuner.
Your only other option is Rexton, I wouldnt put Santa FE in the SUV bracket, its a softroader really. New endeavour if you are prepared to wait. Ride Quality wise Pajero is the best. Space wise Fortuner has a slight edge in both second and third row. Third Row in Fortuner is really good. Fortuner seats are also wider than Pajero.

In the Pajero, of particular note was the fact that six of us in the car were freezing as the driver had set the AC to 20 degrees, but it was completely silent so we had not noticed. Also, once a car in front of me hit a puddle, threw back water, my screen was blinded when I was driving at around 100, on a curving flyover. But I braked quickly, and the Pajero was incredibly stable, no skidding etc. This was on 2H.
Braking and stability wise Pajero is again better than Fortuner in MT version.

The Pajero’s clutch was very hard, but I can see some owners saying that it has improved over time.
I dont really beleive this statement from owners, I have heard but not qualified it that 2014 Pajero Sport has a lighter clutch comparatively. Mine is 2013 and clutch is heavy - its just that the Pajero owners develops a stronger feet with time, clutch hasnt got any lighter. [:D]

The other thing was that there was a lot of low frequency cabin noise during city driving in 2nd/3rd gear, but this vanished at higher speeds. I spent a lot of time sitting in the last row, being driven around at 110, and while knees did point upwards it was spacious, and the ride was smooth, comparable to any sedan, but with a reassuringly solid feeling of being inside a powerful vehicle.
Its feels and is indeed built like a tank. Look at what happened to the SX4 bonnet when it attempted to kiss the Pajero a few posts above.

Compared to the Fortuner, I felt the Pajero scored on interiors, torque (critical for the driving pleasure – the vehicle surged forward powerfully without any lag – am puzzled some people have mentioned significant lag), build (including being 5% heavier, a crude measure of build quality, vs 20% more torque), better rear brakes (in Manual Transmission at least), turning radius (I thought Fortuner 4x4 MT was 5.9m, but Pajero sport is certainly 5.6), and looks (to my eyes).
In gear torque wise(not referring to the offroad aspect but more to city driving aspect) Fortuner is better and is more responsive thanks to the bigger 3 litre engine, its hence they say there is no replacement for displacement. However the 0-100 Pajero can do better time, Lets just say Pajero has to be wringed hard and driven in a way. For offroad usage - Pajero has better torque topping at 400NM. Its just the in city driving it feels lethargic.

Fortuner 4x4 versions has 5.9m and 4x2 versions have 5.6m turning radius.

I will make one last check on parking – anything bigger (top view) than a C220 will not fit in my parking. Sampco tells me that if the corolla and C220 make it, the Pajero will make it also. They have been very helpful with advise, must see what best deal they offer.
If the C220 fits the PS will fit as well , must be 10mm difference between the 2. Hardly any.

Thanks a ton for the clarifications. One aspect which I did not explain clearly was that it is not the dimensions of the parking space but the access to the parking that is the constraint. The C220 that I know can be parked is my neighbours, and I just checked that it has a turning radius of 10m (as per websites). I have trouble taking in my Corolla into my parking and the Corolla has a turning radius of 5.3, as per their website. So how is my neighbour taking his car in? Must ask him. Meanwhile, I think with the trouble I have with my Corolla in accessing my parking, I can perhaps live with a 5.6 turning radius of the Pajero, but with its 5.9m, I wont be able to take in the Fortuner for sure. And I wont employ a driver.

Nevertheless, gives me something concrete to check out. Will try for TD of both SUVs this weekend, including parking.

Some Updates from my world :).

My claim was settled for Total loss and Bharti-AXA will be paying IDV value(22.65 Lacs), a loss of nearly 5.35 Lakhs. They disposed off the vehicle to a dealer for a paltry sum of 6.55 Lacs . I decided to forgo the Road tax and handed over the RC and other documents to the Buyers (No more time round trips to RTA office and consumer forum).

The amount of 6.55 Lac got deposited into my account and awaiting payment from Insurer.

The entire process taken nearly 45 days and continuous follow ups with the insurer.

End of the Day, my family is happy with the settlement and looking forward for our New Pajero

I sincerely thank Iron Rock for his continuous help throughout. I made right decision of Purchasing Pajero after numerous discussions with Iron Rock and that decision was just proved right.

Pride Mitsubishi provided me extra-ordinary support when needed. I really appreciate the support provided by Mr. Sudharshan Reddy (Owner) and Mr. Sharat (CEO). Both of them made my decision of buying another Pajero easy and cleared any doubts about quality of service. They were very professional in their approach and attitude.

Yet to finalize and book new pajero. Not able to decide on the color and hence decided to take a break (Anyways, it's Telugu New Year and busy with festivities:) ).

Thread Starter #386

I sincerely thank Iron Rock for his continuous help throughout. I made right decision of Purchasing Pajero after numerous discussions with Iron Rock and that decision was just proved right.

Pride Mitsubishi provided me extra-ordinary support when needed. I really appreciate the support provided by Mr. Sudharshan Reddy (Owner) and Mr. Sharat (CEO). Both of them made my decision of buying another Pajero easy and cleared any doubts about quality of service. They were very professional in their approach and attitude.

Yet to finalize and book new pajero. Not able to decide on the color and hence decided to take a break (Anyways, it's Telugu New Year and busy with festivities:) ).
All is well that ends well, drive even more safer next time :)

When is your new steed coming ?

Hey Pajero Sports Fans,

We the PS gang from Delhi, met at Gurgaon today for a few hours of chit chat, chai-pakoras and some casual off-roading. Here are some perspectives...
That is awesome photography! the last one especially - your tiger!

Looks like the Delhi bunch had phenomenal fun, i saw a lot of action on the FB page yesterday! Keep it up and keep sharing.

Aroon, any special observations about the vehicles from the event ?

All is well that ends well, drive even more safer next time :)

When is your new steed coming ?

That is awesome photography! the last one especially - your tiger!

Looks like the Delhi bunch had phenomenal fun, i saw a lot of action on the FB page yesterday! Keep it up and keep sharing.

Aroon, any special observations about the vehicles from the event ?
Hey Amit,

The major observations were: - a) The vehicle could do much more than what one will normally expect. Initially, being a first time off-roader I and few others were scared if we could do what we intended to...and after trying for the first time, we were like - c'mon throw the next challenge! b) Some folks still need to know that 4x4 HLC and LLC are not to be engaged while the vehicle is in motion and in gear. Also they need to disengage as soon as the need is no longer there.

All Vehicles behaved excellent and there were zero damages.

Other than that...the total experience was HUGGGGE! Had time of a lifetime. Devdath also participated - got a bit late though.

Thread Starter #388

Hey Amit,

The major observations were: - a) The vehicle could do much more than what one will normally expect. Initially, being a first time off-roader I and few others were scared if we could do what we intended to...and after trying for the first time, we were like - c'mon throw the next challenge! b) Some folks still need to know that 4x4 HLC and LLC are not to be engaged while the vehicle is in motion and in gear. Also they need to disengage as soon as the need is no longer there.

All Vehicles behaved excellent and there were zero damages.

Other than that...the total experience was HUGGGGE! Had time of a lifetime. Devdath also participated - got a bit late though.
I am not surprised at all - your confidence as a driver whether on or offroad keeps on growing with this thing. Yes its best to understand the Super Select gearbox as misusing in the xLc modes can cause a lot of costly drivetrain damage.

Btw how did you find PS compared to SFX or GLX offroad ?

I am not surprised at all - your confidence as a driver whether on or offroad keeps on growing with this thing. Yes its best to understand the Super Select gearbox as misusing in the xLc modes can cause a lot of costly drivetrain damage.

Btw how did you find PS compared to SFX or GLX offroad ?
Sorry...can't comment. I am not competent enough.

In general, for me, both did equally well. The thought that we have a group of two absolutely different models actually did not occur at all to anybody. It was just PAJEROS...and I said, bot performed.

Thread Starter #390

Thanks Aroon !

Some pictures from this weekend and some developments :-

1) Got the 3M paint protection done as it is well over an year since i bought this.

2) Also nathulal's ji triple mustache is now gone - as summer sets in we attempted the "Fu Manchu". The triple mustache were becoming a maintenance nightmare as far as aligment was concerned, so we decided to grow something new.

Some pictures attached , sorry for the quality , taken from mobile

After the 3M treatment

IMG_20150320_183221.jpg

IMG_20150320_183325.jpg

IMG_20150320_183446.jpg

IMG_20150320_184324.jpg

IMG_20150320_184302.jpg

Fu Manchu [:D]

IMG_20150322_131245.jpg

IMG_20150322_141401.jpg

IMG_20150322_142238.jpg