The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In [210+ BHP Remap]

Re: The Mighty Mitsubishi Pajero Sport Drives In [15K Kms Crossed]

Thanks IR and Chetak, your help will surely be required. I spoke with Shakti Motors at Navi Mumbai and SVR Motors at Bangalore and got a quote on mail. The problem is there is a hefty entry tax of 12.5% on invoice value if I buy the vehicle from out of Goa. This is over and above the road tax which has to be paid separately. This is effectively making the vehicle costly by about 3 lakhs. The dealers don't seem to have a solution to this. Any idea how to manage this issue of entry tax?

Sameer

Any idea how to manage this issue of entry tax?
How bad are the Goa cops towards outstation registered vehicles?
If they are not strict, get the vehicle registered either at Kolhapur or Bangalore and use it at Goa.

How bad are the Goa cops towards outstation registered vehicles?
If they are not strict, get the vehicle registered either at Kolhapur or Bangalore and use it at Goa.
Can you buy vehicle with temporary registration in Karnataka / Maharashtra, and register in Goa. the Goa Registration taxes should be much lower than Karnataka by few lakhs :-)

Did all the calculations with the prevailing registration charges and entry tax rates in Goa. I have to shell out about Rs. 3 lakhs extra as there is no dealership in Goa.

Called Hindustan Motors to find out if they can offer any solution to this. They were unable to give any solution. They told me that they are planning to start a dealership in Goa (not confirmed) and if I wanted to buy a Pajero I should wait for about one year.......

So finally left with three options....
1. Buy the vehicle by paying 3 lakhs extra
2. Wait for one year hoping that a dealership starts in Goa
3. Go for some other SUV

What do you people suggest?

Did all the calculations with the prevailing registration charges and entry tax rates in Goa. I have to shell out about Rs. 3 lakhs extra as there is no dealership in Goa.

Called Hindustan Motors to find out if they can offer any solution to this. They were unable to give any solution. They told me that they are planning to start a dealership in Goa (not confirmed) and if I wanted to buy a Pajero I should wait for about one year.......

3. Go for some other SUV

Sameer
Buy a used Pajero sport (<10k used) and register in Goa.
I had an offer 1000kms driven Bihar registered vehicle.. Personal message me.. will share the detail

3. Go for some other SUV

Paying INR 3 lac extra is definitely not worth it.

Is it possible to drive a non Goa registered vehicle in Goa without being harassed regularly by the police and the RTO? If yes, I can arrange the vehicle registration at, say, Bangalore or Gurgaon (Low Road Tax) for you.

A one year wait. Are you willing to wait that long? If you are, then you might have a few other options as well like the new CR-V diesel and the Endy whose launches are a few months away.

Paying INR 3 lac extra is definitely not worth it.

Is it possible to drive a non Goa registered vehicle in Goa without being harassed regularly by the police and the RTO? If yes, I can arrange the vehicle registration at, say, Bangalore or Gurgaon (Low Road Tax) for you.

A one year wait. Are you willing to wait that long? If you are, then you might have a few other options as well like the new CR-V diesel and the Endy whose launches are a few months away.
It is not possible to drive a vehicle registered outside Goa for long without trouble.

The Hindustan Motor guy can arrange a Anniversary edition from one of the dealers at a discounted price.....the one before the face lift. Is it worth considering this option?

It is not possible to drive a vehicle registered outside Goa for long without trouble.

The Hindustan Motor guy can arrange a Anniversary edition from one of the dealers at a discounted price.....the one before the face lift. Is it worth considering this option?
1. Yes.. you should consider anniversary edition.. thats almost 2.5 to 3.5 lakhs cheaper.
If that option is there i will consider buying it.
2. Also ask for discount on it (at least 1 lakh on x-showroom price). 2014 version released in November.
3. Check the manufacturing date for the anniversary version.. and ask for VIN Number.

1. Yes.. you should consider anniversary edition.. thats almost 2.5 to 3.5 lakhs cheaper.
If that option is there i will consider buying it.
2. Also ask for discount on it (at least 1 lakh on x-showroom price). 2014 version released in November.
3. Check the manufacturing date for the anniversary version.. and ask for VIN Number.
Dear vijayvm,
The manufacturing date for the anniversary version is April 2014. What is VIN Number?

Dear vijayvm,
The manufacturing date for the anniversary version is April 2014. What is VIN Number?
if its manufactured in April 2014, the ex showroom price was about 23.5 lakhs.. they can easily provide 2 lakhs discount.. this is quite old.

Dear vijayvm,
VIN stands for Vehicle Identification Number, which is unique to every vehicle. This number has the month and year of manufacture in a coded format.

For an April 2014 vehicle, I would expect a discount of INR 2.0 lac on the ex-showroom price of that model in April 2014.

Which dealer have been you been in touch with?

VIN stands for Vehicle Identification Number, which is unique to every vehicle. This number has the month and year of manufacture in a coded format.

For an April 2014 vehicle, I would expect a discount of INR 2.0 lac on the ex-showroom price of that model in April 2014.

Which dealer have been you been in touch with?
They are offering me discount of Rs. 1.0 lac on the ex -showroom price then plus Teflon coating and some chrome fitting for front and rear lights. Is it a good deal?

I have been talking with Shakti Motors in Navi Mumbai. They are refusing to give me VIN no. or the chasis no. Insisting that I pay the booking amount first. When asked if I get a refund if the details told are not correct after I pay the booking amount the reply I get is if you want to buy the vehicle you have to trust us. If this is the attitude before buying the vehicle I can imagine what the after sales service would be...........

Thread Starter #358

Sameer i would avoid an year old vehicle - what did you do though finally ?

I haven't been updating for a while, as i was away travelling for a month. Just before the travel in late Jan - a very unfortunate event happened, i was at a signal and an SX4 couldn't stop in time and tipped me from the back.

The matter was settled amicably with the SX4 owner willing to pay in full and he did (will not disclose full details). He was apologetic and in course of conversation we thought it happened as his car skidded on the gravel.

This is how the SX4 looked like and i was shuddering to even look at the back of the pajero fearing the worst.

IMG_20150121_210003.jpg

Miraculously for me though, the pajero sport fibre bumper only had minor scratches, however the sensor rings got cracked

IMG_20150311_101722.jpg

More than anything else it was a heart break and i hate scratches on my vehicle, as i was travelling immediately after, i postponed the job by a month.

I just fixed it this weekend, spending the whole day at a paint shop - ( and yes I think i found a very good paint shop in Pune)

Challenge one was to find the exact matching color code and not just do it based on a painters hunch - the rugged red code for standox/dupont is 1024811, for asian paint ppg its reg no. 13107.
Thanks to HM/Mitsu India and mumbai/pune dealers for the quick revert - very much appreciated. And to Sam Dinkar as well for his googling capabilities!

IMG_20150314_145752.jpg

With the paint match done super perfect, time for the beast to go to the operation table with owner facing the labour pangs

IMG_20150314_141622.jpg

And out came the patient after a day's treatment looking spanking new as before, i got the sensors painted as well

IMG-20150314-WA0059.jpg

IMG-20150314-WA0062.jpeg

It was a painful personal experience though as it bothered me for a month, stuff like this is a daily affair in city driving conditions though in my case i was lucky as it was very minor - i feel better after this weekend. The incident reinforces the Pajero build quality for me. I guess all is well that ends well.

Sameer i would avoid an year old vehicle - what did you do though finally ?

I haven't been updating for a while, as i was away travelling for a month. Just before the travel in late Jan - a very unfortunate event happened, i was at a signal and an esteem couldn't stop in time and tipped me from the back.

The matter was settled amicably with the esteem owner willing to pay in full and he did (will not disclose full details). He was apologetic and in course of conversation we thought it happened as his car skidded on the gravel.

This is how the esteem looked like and i was shuddering to even look at the back of the pajero fearing the worst.

View attachment 164719

Miraculously for me though, the pajero sport fibre bumper only had minor scratches, however the sensor rings got cracked

View attachment 164720

More than anything else it was a heart break and i hate scratches on my vehicle, as i was travelling immediately after, i postponed the job by a month.

I just fixed it this weekend, spending the whole day at a paint shop - ( and yes I think i found a very good paint shop in Pune)

Challenge one was to find the exact matching color code and not just do it based on a painters hunch - the rugged red code for standox/dupont is 1024811, for asian paint ppg its reg no. 13107.
Thanks to HM/Mitsu India and mumbai/pune dealers for the quick revert - very much appreciated. And to Sam Dinkar as well for his googling capabilities!

View attachment 164721

With the paint match done super perfect, time for the beast to go to the operation table with owner facing the labour pangs

View attachment 164722

And out came the patient after a day's treatment looking spanking new as before, i got the sensors painted as well

View attachment 164723

View attachment 164724

It was a painful personal experience though as it bothered me for a month, stuff like this is a daily affair in city driving conditions though in my case i was lucky as it was very minor - i feel better after this weekend. The incident reinforces the Pajero build quality for me. I guess all is well that ends well.
Ironrock, sorry to hear this. Though it may not be some people choice, in India having a rear bumper would be a boon. i have installed C-track Rs. 5800/- for my fortuner.

Thread Starter #360

Ironrock, sorry to hear this. Though it may not be some people choice, in India having a rear bumper would be a boon. i have installed C-track Rs. 5800/- for my fortuner.
Thanks Vijay, i am considering the rear guard, but there are pros and cons one needs to be aware of :-

1) As the rear guard is connected to the chassis, a heavy impact will be directed towards the chassis directly - now that is something i dont want.

2) For softer nudges it will protect the body paint by taking a few kisses.