The DSLR Information Thread

Enjoy the day ! HAPPY Harthal /Bandh [frustration]. As you are in Kannur, you can go to VideoLinks
and ask them about the same. They are one of the best known for sales. They may be able to provide the link for service too. All your queries related to purchases of lens/camera will end there(related to price). They give best price (sometimes better than online) there.

You can watch Ben Long's Foundations of Photography - Lenses to see which lens suits you best before buying 'some' lens !
Thanks a lot for that shop bro (LOL at happy harthal)! I'll try calling up on a mobile number now.
BTW how come you know about Kannur? You live here (I mean not at present)?

One big question: Nikon D3200 vs. D5100
Which one is better in terms of image quality?
Both are of almost the same price I think.

EDit: Called them. They said they know a person who does this in private. But he far away from my home. :/
And the price of both is same.

My suggestion would be to stick with the current body and invest the money on good lens as per you need.

70-300 lens non VR lens should not be a reason to change the body. And moreover you will have more options in used lens for canon than nikon.

My suggestion would be to stick with the current body and invest the money on good lens as per you need.

70-300 lens non VR lens should not be a reason to change the body. And moreover you will have more options in used lens for canon than nikon.
Oh. [cry]
You say it's better to stick with 1100D?
And these lenses are not that good to use now?
We thought these would be great and were happy till now. [cry]
BTW what's the lowest price of an adaptor?

+1 to Highway_Ranger. Invest in Lens than Body. 1100D and 3200, there is no such 'changing factor'. If you want to change a body, go with a Body which got a built in motor like D7000 or in that range (expensive compared to 5100/3200). Or, spend on lens and take great shots with same 1100D.

You can see the foundations of photography - lenses to see which lens you actually need

Yeah. I belong to Kannur Dist. Bit far (70km) from Kannur town. [;)]

+1 to Highway_Ranger. Invest in Lens than Body. 1100D and 3200, there is no such 'changing factor'. If you want to change a body, go with a Body which got a built in motor like D7000 or in that range (expensive compared to 5100/3200). Or, spend on lens and take great shots with same 1100D.

You can see the foundations of photography - lenses to see which lens you actually need

Yeah. I belong to Kannur Dist. Bit far (70km) from Kannur town. [;)]
But see, the D3200 got a way better image quality (as per the site you mentioned) and some useful features.
So it's like spend 17K (after selling the 1100D) for D5100 with standard VR lens + the old 70-300mm ED lens (the same one with VR costs 30K I think, correct me if I'm wrong) + a Sigma Macro lens.
Moreover, the lens which I've with the Canon isn't IS, so irritating.

Nikon supported lenses I have:
Nikon ED AF Nikkop (it's P) 70-300mm 1:4-5.6 D
Sigma Aspherical Macro 28-80mm D

Questions:
The 70-300mm lens says it has AF (right?), but there is not button to change to Auto (it's in manual). So how does it work?
Is it wise to fix (don't know what is the problem) the old (film) Nikon FM2 and keep it aside? Since I wasn't born at the time it was bought, will it give some nice outputs (prints)?

Or is it simply better to buy an adapter?

The reverse lens macro photography !

The reverse lens technique involves turning the lens around so that the rear element points outwards, and the front element faces the camera body. One can buy special adapters to attach the reversed lens to either your camera body or another lens.

Take a prime lens, turn it back-to-front and tape it to the camera or use a reverse lens mount adapter instead and shoot.

Actually I did it by stacking my 50mm prime lens reversed on top of the 18-55mm kit lens already mounted on to the camera. The challenge was both meter and aperture controls are lost as we flip the lens.

The key is one needs to move back and forth until we have the subject in focus, and then click. Since the lens is quite close to the subject, extra care should be taken not to hit the lens glass.

I kept the lens in place by means of a black tape. If interested one can do it more professionally, by a cheaply available reversing ring which is made just for that.
A sample clicked by me with the 10-55mm kit lens+ a reversed 50mm f/1.8 D reversed.
macro 6.jpg
Another one here

Since I don't want to expose the rear elements of my expensive lenses, I have placed an order for,
  • an extension tube
  • a few close-up lenses [ +4, +8 and +10 diopters]
Shall post my "macro" experience with pictures, once I get them in three to four days time.
A useful article Reverse Lens Macro here.Link

Re: Your Best Photographs!!

Congrats !! Tenida, you are on your way becoming a DSLR photography expert soon

For how much you got it and what are the other cameras you have considered while buying this

point me to the best macro extension tube which is available to buy in india, I found few on ebay but not sure about the results.
Zeikos Auto Focus Macro Extension Tube For Canon DSLR Camera. | eBay
The best Macro Extension tube is the one made by Kenko

As I said earlier it is a bit on the expensive side. But it's worth it if you are serious into "macro". In future you may also use these extension tubes even with dedicated macro lens for better results.

You may also buy the one made by "Aputure" brand at a cheaper price. Its sturdy and well built and all the tubes are working so far for me without any issues so far.

Re: Purchased Canon 600D

Congratulations Tenida, I have the same camera, so we can learn together [clap]
The lens package you got is excellent for the price! Post some sample pics on the Best Photography thread. [:D]
Thanks buddy and yes we can learn together. [clap] Actually I got the package @31K didn't know the actual price as I was in Hospital. And my father order it for me.

Yes will post some photo later.
Btw here's some pics of the telescopic lens.
CAM00487.jpg

CAM00488.jpg

CAM00490.jpg

I am a newcomer to the photography filed.
Right now i have an old office D70s with
1. Nikkor 18-70
2. Nikkor 28-200 (Nikon ED AF NIKKOR 28-200 1:3.5 5.6 G)
3. Nikkor 52mm (Micro NIKKOR 55mm 1:2.8 32)Micro lens (all are glass type).

The camera was lying useless as they have many (7D, 400d, 1100d etc)
so i took it to service centre and got it cleaned up.
the pop-up flash is not working but that doesn't bother me. all the rubber flaps are missing every letter is faded the buttons are not working good.

I want you guys to guide me to the world of photography. i want to buy a DSLR but i think first i will go with a used camera (the D70 is in the office)
I am posting some sample images.
I want a used Nikon as Canon is very difficult for me because of the single dial.

I am just a beginner so i want you experts to comment and guide me. Also i saw many ads in OLX ebay etc. but those seemed over priced.
The D70s is a CCD 6mp camera. so when it combines with me don't expect wonders[confused]

I used PS7 to reduce the size of the photos (1000p)
55mm Micro
DSC_4212.jpg
DSC_4307.jpg

55mm micro with 52mm thread +10 close-up lens (from ebay)
DSC_4452.jpg
DSC_4490.jpg

28-200
DSC_4396.jpg
DSC_4675.jpg
DSC_4676.jpg

the 18-70 has been abused a lot and it has some scratches on the glass too. so i don't use it much. altogether i have used the camera only a handful of times. mostly because i don't have it with me.
i want to buy some old lens and try a little more. kindly give me suggestions

P.S. i am not much into editing, should i always edit the photo?

doubt about lens contact strip

Please check the photos of the 28-200 (Nikon ED AF NIKKOR 28-200 1:3.5 5.6 G). yesterday only when cleaning i noticed the strip protruding out. is this normal? please comment. (we have an 18-55 canon and the lens was giving error, upon close examination the strip was found broken) so please tell me if i need to take this lens to service centre. This one is working fine now. Images not good because i only had an old 18-70.

ea.jpg

eb.jpg

ec.jpg

ee.jpg

Re: doubt about lens contact strip

Please check the photos of the 28-200 (Nikon ED AF NIKKOR 28-200 1:3.5 5.6 G). yesterday only when cleaning i noticed the strip protruding out. is this normal? please comment. (we have an 18-55 canon and the lens was giving error, upon close examination the strip was found broken) so please tell me if i need to take this lens to service centre. This one is working fine now. Images not good because i only had an old 18-70.
HI Kannan,
It is always better to get it checked/repaired by authorized service center. Having said that, see if it is worthwhile repairing it or going in for a newer AFS lens, (either new or used), to cover that range.