The Definitive Petrol v/s Diesel Calculator

Thank you but one major thing here my father takes it to long highway trips once in every two months which actually makes the odo to run around 1000kms
So he is more inclined towards diesel thinking about the less fuel bills, needless to say he will start using it crazily if it comes.
So how do I convince him?
As vishwas pointed, eventhough the monthly run is less, when we go on long trips this petrol cars kills us. Same for me. I drive very less, so i have selected petrol/LPG.

But when ever I go for long drives I used to think "My god, cant i fill diesel in my car[frustration]"

As vishwas pointed, eventhough the monthly run is less, when we go on long trips this petrol cars kills us. Same for me. I drive very less, so i have selected petrol/LPG.

But when ever I go for long drives I used to think "My god, cant i fill diesel in my car[frustration]"
There is no point if you don't have monthly running required for the diesel. Diesel costing 57 per liter, those who have higher monthly running should opt for the it. Break even point can be worked out. I did the CBA for diesle v/s petrol when diesel was retailed at 40 and petrol at 65. At that time break even was 700 kms for 5 year horizon after factoring everything be extra maintenance for diesel, interest for extra 1 lakh and principal.

With diesel retailing at 57 and petrol 70 (after a year from now), those who have monthly running of 1500 kms or so should go for diesel. Do the calculations using the sheet provided on this thread.

There is no point if you don't have monthly running required for the diesel. Diesel costing 57 per liter, those who have higher monthly running should opt for the it. Break even point can be worked out. I did the CBA for diesle v/s petrol when diesel was retailed at 40 and petrol at 65. At that time break even was 700 kms for 5 year horizon after factoring everything be extra maintenance for diesel, interest for extra 1 lakh and principal.

With diesel retailing at 57 and petrol 70 (after a year from now), those who have monthly running of 1500 kms or so should go for diesel. Do the calculations using the sheet provided on this thread.
I did and i know for me only petrol is suitable. Only point which I have mentioned is during long drives we feel it in that way.

You can see my post also in the same thread some time back.

Hi Gurus,

I have decided to go for Ritz full end version, but confused between Diesel or Petrol Variant.

My monthly running would be some where around 800 to 900 kms per month and i am planning to keep the vehicle for a minimum period of 5 - 6 years.

Please advise to choose the right variant for my needs.

Udaa.

Hi Gurus,

I have decided to go for Ritz full end version, but confused between Diesel or Petrol Variant.

My monthly running would be some where around 800 to 900 kms per month and i am planning to keep the vehicle for a minimum period of 5 - 6 years.

Udaa.
Close your eyes and buy petrol. Not required to pay Rs. 1 Lac to 1.5 Lac upfront for little use of your car. [;)]

Hi Gurus,

Udaa.
Close your eyes and buy petrol. Not required to pay Rs. 1 Lac to 1.5 Lac upfront for little use of your car. [;)]
I agree as well as disagree with you dharmesh. Being a petrol head i would say if one is capable of invest little bit more on diesel he can always do that for two reasons.

1. Lower cost of diesel while comparing with petrol.
  2. In future even if diesel goes higher equal to petrol it gives more mileage than petrol.

Just my suggestion having driven petrol for more than 5 years I still have a second thought that I should have gone for diesel.

I would have used car for so many reasons and just because of petrol cost and mileage i am avoiding car.

Thanks friends for your replies, i just did a small calculation petrol vs diesel considering the interest for the extra amount spent on the Diesel + additional maintenance cost for diesel.

And the figures shows me that if i run around 900 kms/month, I would be saving Rs 4000 per year on fuel.

Please advise if anything else to be considered.

Udaa

@Uda2

Welcome to TAI !!

I am a user of Ritz diesel since two years.

I agree with both Dharmesh and Sethu with their views

But, I vote for diesel, if you have a plan to go bit longer trips even once a month, other wise, petrol is best.

Looking at the fuel cost, yes there is a 20/- difference now and however they degularise the diesel price, there will be a difference of Rs.10/- at least.

Yes, the diesel car gives good mileage, no doubt about it, bit the petrol cars revving is very good compare to diesel and again this Fiat's DDIS engine is really good in diesel Ritz as I enjoy driving it !!

Hi Gurrala74,

Thanks for your reply, glad to know that you are using Ritz Diesel, and I am planning to book one next week.

I would be running somewhere around 800 to 900 max per month, not sure if i get benefited by going for Diesel.

Do you suggest me for any minimum KM/month that has to be driven for Diesel to get benefited?

Would you be glad to hear your view on this.

Udaa

To get the most out of diesel car you atleast need to run 1200 - 1500 KM per month. But still if you have money and like diesel cars, then can go with diesel. And now that prices of diesel fuel will be de regulated (removed subsidy on diesel fuel) no one will blame to eat up the taxes they pay and you get benefited from it. [lol]

Roughly difference between both the top end variants comes to 123675/-
800 kms say we count roughly your monthly usage
14kmpl you get with petrol while 18kmpl with diesel,mixed driving
With current prices for both the fuels,todays costs would save you a roughly 1700Rs per month gets to 25k for a year.
So with 5 years of usage within 1000kms we add for your monthly use would give you the cost break up for petrol and diesel variant upfront payment you do.

Thanks friends for your reply, one thing to ask, is it okay to use the diesel vehicle once in a week and a monthly running of 1000 kms.

Will there be any issue with the diesel engine if i use only once in a week? Please advise.

Udaa

Thanks friends for your reply, one thing to ask, is it okay to use the diesel vehicle once in a week and a monthly running of 1000 kms.

Will there be any issue with the diesel engine if i use only once in a week? Please advise.

Udaa

Udaa
Decide if you want to go for diesel if your monthly running is 1000km only.

Nothing happens to any of the modern age diesel engines if you do not take out your ride for a week or 15 days[:)]

Decide if you want to go for diesel if your monthly running is 1000km only.

Nothing happens to any of the modern age diesel engines if you do not take out your ride for a week or 15 days[:)]
I recently bought a Diesel Dzire even though my daily driving i.e. office to home is not more than 10 km to and fro . It is the fun in driving the Diesel Car which I enjoy and whenever I go in for long drives I just cannot tell you how much fun it is to drive.

So best judge is you. If you want to drive it for your daily commute and that is less than 50 KM and do not really enjoy driving then go for diesel else petrol after all after deciding on your budget.