The Definitive Petrol v/s Diesel Calculator

Pls find the calculator attached.
Nice sheet you have prepared here thanks. But the Fuel efficiency you have mentioned is ideal FE figures. But in real life scenario, what I am getting due to my daily traffic is just around 15 KMPL or less due to heavy traffic on JVLR in Mumbai. so if you change the FE figures in sheet to 10 KMPL for petrol and 15 KMPL for diesel than break even period will be achieved in little over 2 years.

Anyways nice sheet , helps a lot. I think, Excel formulas master you are. [clap]

[lol] diwali near petrol pumps[lol]
i agree that excel sheet is a good work done
and from the observation if your driving is like 50kms an average
and also you plan to keep the car for more than three years
than diesel makes sense

Thank you all for the appreciation.

threeace777 - you said it right "diwali near petrol pumps"

The bhikari govt is looting public in the name of tax... seriously!

Consider THIS!

For a basic price of Ertiga ZDI costing at 7.6 Lakhs we need to pay:

1. Value Added Tax at 14.5% = 1.10 Lakhs
2. Road Tax.........................= 1.35 Lakhs

that's whoppping 2.5 Lakhs for 7.6 Lakh car = thats 33% tax

These days any road you hit within/outside of Bangalore (even to airport!) you will end up paying toll to the tune of 100-200Rs for pathetic roads. Lets say if you are travelling to nearby place around 500-600 Kms (up north karnataka), you will have to shell out close to Rs.800 in toll booths..

So, if the govt cannot even provide the basic road facilities for the annual tax that we pay, why the heck "Value Added" Tax & the road tax??

Our country is going crazy and beling looted in lakhs of crores in scams and here we are... paying for everything from the nose!

rgds
Mahi

These days any road you hit within/outside of Bangalore (even to airport!) you will end up paying toll to the tune of 100-200Rs for pathetic roads. Lets say if you are travelling to nearby place around 500-600 Kms (up north karnataka), you will have to shell out close to Rs.800 in toll booths..

So, if the govt cannot even provide the basic road facilities for the annual tax that we pay, why the heck "Value Added" Tax & the road tax??

Our country is going crazy and beling looted in lakhs of crores in scams and here we are... paying for everything from the nose!

rgds
Mahi
Mr. Mahii, it is 10000 times true. I have even written some thread where some one was suggesting some tax if you try driving in city to reduce traffic on reads. I have asked the same question. First for what ever tax we pay you provide us back the facility by laying roads neatly, removing encroachments, enforcing law on illegal drivings etc. When they do automatically traffic in road will get reduced without any additional tax. Even after if you get more traffic then levy more taxes people will be happy to pay. Am sure such situation will not arise.

Regarding Toll, same here in Chennai. either it is Bangalore highway or towards south GST road. but at least here we can not say we are paying for bad roads, it is really good.

To avoid multiple posts, I would like to continue here the Core thread topic, but this time I have compared Spark LPG LS with Beat Diesel LS which I thought of looking into as another option.

Before that, Mr. Mahi, Thanks for sharing a wonderful tool.

Spark LS LPG VS Beat LS Diesel.JPG
Spark values is accurate. Beat value I just took the OTR price from some site.

It looks like I can continue driving Spark for next 4-5 years. My only problem is the availability of AutoLPG. Very few are there. It will be a big problem if am going on long trip. Anyway that happens very occationally. Mostly on monthly basis I would be travelling max 100 Km one way [One full tank of LPG I will be able to cover nearly 250Kms] so I think I can go with my sparky itself.

Friends suggestions pls.

Pls find the calculator attached.
this is a good sheet, but need to factor in the financing cost as well. If taking it on loan, need to keep in mind the interest cost that would be incurred for the loan period, for the difference between diesel/petrol model.

Help in deciding between a Diesel or Petrol

After a lot of research in Diesel cars a friend of mine asked me to check with some experts whether it will really make sense to spend the extra monery on a Diesel car with my regular running.

My daily running is 50 KM each day 5 days a week. I am not the kind of person who does a lot of outside city driving during the weekends.

Can someone please suggest if it will make sense for me to get a Diesel car or buy a Petrol.

I guess there are some excel of other calculators available which can help me decide also, please guide me to those also.

Since, I have reached the year end of 2012, I would rather wait for early 2013 to get a 2013 model of the car.

Please suggest.

Re: Help in deciding between a Diesel or Petrol

The calculator is available on the link below:

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...trol-v-s-diesel-calculator-10.html#post198455

So you friend will be doing 250KM per week and if we consider 4 weeks per month then it will come upto 1000KM per month. So 1000KM per month is the minimum he will be covering and it can definitely go up. Actually the figure of 1000KM lies at the boundary of choice between Petrol and Diesel. I would suggest to go with Diesel or if CNG availability si good at your place then go for CNG option as well. [:)]

Yes, Dharmesh isi right, What do you want fun or money saved ? If you want fun as well as money saved , then it is diesel, If money only, then it is petrol.

BTW, what is your age ? And for how many years you want to keep the car?

I will definitely reccomend a PETROL looking at that running

You will derive lots of pleasure driving a petrol as well
Not true in the current Indian SMALL CAR ( below 4 meter length) scenario. As 1200cc is the limit for small car excise duty which is significantly lower, all manufacturers have engine capacity below 1200cc in Petrol whereas its 1500cc for diesel. In this category Diesels makes more sense as they are more fun to drive.
I will recommend Diesel as the usage in 1050 km/ month minimum + there will be some usage in the weekends which is just enough to justify a diesel.

I support Dharmesh views on this and recommend you to go for CNG since you are in Delhi !!

Thanks for the inputs. I will keep this car for long. Approx calculation of recovery of additional 1,00,000 spent on diesel will be done in 3.5 years if the fuel prices do not change. Hope this is correct? Also, heard the maintenance of diesel cars are high, is that true? I am keen on buying a Swift and the diesel VDI will cost Rs. 6.5 lacs + accessories whereas the VXI will cost approx Rs. 5.50 + accessories.

Difficult to decide :-(

Need more inputs :-)

@Raj,

To be precise, yes diesel maintenance is more than petrol cars, but it again really a difficult statement when it comes to the new-age diesel engines which are very cheap on packet while maintaining them and also has long service intervals.[:)]

Coming to Swift VDI, it really has a wonderful engine under the hood and provides great FE and cheap on maintenance too !! a proved work horse