The Definitive Petrol v/s Diesel Calculator

Even my votes are for CNG since you are in Delhi. But do not know the availability of CNG in Delhi.

In Chennai or for that matter in TN availability of LPG stations are very less. If you planning for long travel you should plan accordingly and know the list of LPG fuel stations on the way.

I had traveled to Tuticorin in march nearly 1200 KMs on both-ways and I took the list of LPG stations and managed the entire stretch [both up and down] in LPG without any problem. Luckily I had a LPG station close to my sisters house [where i stayed] so I managed with it for local trips also.

But one can not expect such kind of comfortableness in all routes.

Re: Help in deciding between a Diesel or Petrol

Thanks for the inputs. I will keep this car for long. Approx calculation of recovery of additional 1,00,000 spent on diesel will be done in 3.5 years if the fuel prices do not change. Hope this is correct? Also, heard the maintenance of diesel cars are high, is that true? I am keen on buying a Swift and the diesel VDI will cost Rs. 6.5 lacs + accessories whereas the VXI will cost approx Rs. 5.50 + accessories.

Difficult to decide :-(

Need more inputs :-)

Raj, you are in a tricky situation now,.Your diesel cars extended warranty expires at the end of four years.i.e. exactly within 6 months after you start gaining financial benefits of diesel varients.If some turbo or common rail (ddis) fuel injectors related repair it will be fully at your cost.(though usually such repairs are required at 90 to 110 kkm and are costly)
So lpg, cng seems to be right options for your running depending on availability of fuel on your expected routes

Per kilometer cost

I am confused whether to purchase diesel car or petrol. my running is 1000km per month how can i recover the cost that i am paying more to purchase diesel car.

Hi Ricky, welcome on board , Fellow TAI ans will surely help you,I hope you have gone throgh the full thread.
For how many years you are going to retain the car?
Out of 1000 km how much will be intracity and highway running.
Are you likely to take loan ?
What is your budget?
Who will be driving the car ,you or chauffeur.?

Hi Folks,

Just computed the cost of ownership between Diesel mil and petrol one for Ertiga. But this spreadsheet will be useful for any comparisons. Hope it helps fellow folks in deciding the vehicles to choose. This can be used to compare the other make/models also.

My lil contribution to start with is attached with this post (.xlsx format)

Btw, booked my Ertiga Zdi (W/o alloys) last 30th June and I'm told I will get Vdi by this weekend if I choose the Vdi. I've refused this and asked the dealer to deliver the Zdi. Let's see when I can get it.

Cheers..mahi
Excellent Mahi. I was also little bit confused between Diesel and Petrol but without doing any calculation opted for the diesel.Below mentioned reason may not be logical as per core finance calculation.

I believe it's easy to manage 1.5 lakh for Diesel version at the time of buying car rather than paying fuel expenses double amount every months.

Even my votes are for CNG since you are in Delhi. But do not know the availability of CNG in Delhi.

In Chennai or for that matter in TN availability of LPG stations are very less. If you planning for long travel you should plan accordingly and know the list of LPG fuel stations on the way.

I had traveled to Tuticorin in march nearly 1200 KMs on both-ways and I took the list of LPG stations and managed the entire stretch [both up and down] in LPG without any problem. Luckily I had a LPG station close to my sisters house [where i stayed] so I managed with it for local trips also.

But one can not expect such kind of comfortableness in all routes.
So in LPG Spark, you do not have dual fuel option for petrol as well as LPG. I was thinking that LPG version will also have petrol option as default one.

@Ertiga_ZMR I think you mis-understood. Sorry, if not clear.

My sparky is duel fuel option. It has both LPG and Petrol. I mentioned that I managed to travel entire stretch in LPG, which is cheaper fuel than petrol. That is it

@Ertiga_ZMR I think you mis-understood. Sorry, if not clear.

My sparky is duel fuel option. It has both LPG and Petrol. I mentioned that I managed to travel entire stretch in LPG, which is cheaper fuel than petrol. That is it

Thank You for the clarification, so you will not be stranded as you have always option for petrol during non availability of LPG.

Hello members,

Our annual mileage would come closer to 12,000 kms.
So we have the initial budget of 7 lakhs (upto 10 lakhs can be extended till June)
Is is advisable to go for a diesel MPV? (Venture BS-4 if it comes or its Quanto)

Will the Eeco or Ertiga Vxi suit our needs? Sold of eeco due to mileage issues is the biggest point here.

Please help me with this confusion.

@ Vishvas,

1000kms a month is definately a point towards petrol vehicle.
Thank you but one major thing here my father takes it to long highway trips once in every two months which actually makes the odo to run around 1000kms
So he is more inclined towards diesel thinking about the less fuel bills, needless to say he will start using it crazily if it comes.
So how do I convince him?

How i convinced my dad,
diesel is a less pure and less refined. Diesel will also run out of breathe on highways. Its more expensive to buy. Needs more maintenance. Has lesser engine life. And if subsidy is removed which is possible then diesel is pointless. And since everybody is towards diesel,then it should be more expensive in coming years.

Thread Starter #163
@ Vishwas, you can take few points from the Ferrari fan but not all because diesel is less expensive to buy anywhere in India than petrol.

Paying extra amount to get a diesel car is good idea provided it is making financial sense else it will be considered as making a decision in a hurry.

Calculate overall millage for a year and then calculate monthly running. After that calculate tentative avg you would get .