Tata's New Hatchback Zica Now Renamed Tiago

While most of the test drive reviews of Tiago is of XZ model which has 175/65 R14 tyres, I'm planning for XE(O) model with 155/80 R13 tyres. Has anyone driven XE/XM models? What is your opinion about the road grip & handling of the tyres? Is it fine to go with those tyres.

I know you will suggest me to go for the high end but our budget does not permit us to spend 1.35 Lakhs for it. So any suggestion's welcome. Thanks!!
Hello sir. The XE is utterly basic without even power windows. I would like to suggest you to upgrade to atleast the xm(o) variant. Regarding the 13 inch wheels, there are few xm owners in the Tiago owners group, which I manage. If you are interested to join the group, you can share your fb profile id so that I can m add you. You can discuss your queries with owners directly.

Hi Greetings to everyone , I have been following this thread for long time and have got many useful information. Thanks for sharing your experience with this Excellent Car.
I have also decided to go with TATA TIAGO XE(O) ( TAI member GOUTHAMS has enquired two posts above) I have some additional questions to it.
1. If I buy XE model and fit keyless entry from 3rd party vendor will it affect car warranty.
2. I have enquired with TATA showroom in Chennai and they don't know prices for on road for optional variants and they don't have any ideas when the optional variants can be booked or delivered. Any ideas???
3. If I want to upgrade 13 inch tyres to 14 inch tyres, Should I change the rim also or can I fit it in same 13 inch rim?( just for knowledge)

Looking forward for your replies, Thank you

Took delivery of petrol x zbrown yesterday. Couple of doubts regarding the payment receipts and all.

I had made payment of around 1.5 lk by cheque and got a payment receipt from dealer. Remaining amount is by loan. For the amount paid by loan, i havent got any receipt from dealer. Do they use to give that receipt or should I ask for that from the bank ?

Its the dealer who is increasing the booking amount. Nothing official about it. You can book online by paying 10k only. 15 K is also not a worry as you will receive the payment receipt. Still I will not suggest you to pay 15k and would rather suggest you to book online.

@Siddu : I will not suggest you to buy Tiago or not. Its your money and your choice so buy what you like. I own diesel XZ and I can say that I am extremely impressed with the car. As per me this is the best engine easily in its class. No competition right now. NVH is too good. I can bet if anyone can prove that Hyundai or Maruti has better NVH in this class and price range. For me Tiago is easily the best and then the rest. But do not take my words because I already own it.

Do not believe what people are telling you. As per your comment that you have read so many negative reviews about Tiago, you can now say that you have read a positive review as well lol. Mate, its your purchase so visit all the showrooms, TD all the cars which are in your list and decide yourself. Best of luck.
Hi..
I was so interested to buy Tiago Petrol.. But after TD changed my decision..

I felt very poor pick up and struggling to meet 100kmph..

Can you tell your opinion.. should I TD diesel?

Hi..

Hmm struggling to reach 100kmph is bit surprising. Did u check which mode you were driving? City or Eco? Eco will be sluggish where as City will make the engine more rev friendly.

Now comparing to Diesel and Petrol, I had liked the Diesel Tiago. Its very good car to drive and diesel performance is a also very good. I would suggest you TD diesel as well.

For me it would be Diesel had I been in the market for a Tiago.

Hmm struggling to reach 100kmph is bit surprising. Did u check which mode you were driving? City or Eco? Eco will be sluggish where as City will make the engine more rev friendly.

Now comparing to Diesel and Petrol, I had liked the Diesel Tiago. Its very good car to drive and diesel performance is a also very good. I would suggest you TD diesel as well.

For me it would be Diesel had I been in the market for a Tiago.
I may be of a very different thought here. I had TD three times.

First was the Tiago petrol... I was very happy both by interiors and driving. Then after reading some reviews I thought of driving Diesel one. Diesel was also OK (smooth in comparison to other Diesels). However, I felt vibrations at the gear lever (this was more than petrol one). Confused enough !!!

Finally, I once again TD petrol and made my mind for petrol. I did not find engine noise issue at all. Extremely low (negligible) vibration on the lever... In addition it was smooth and powerful (it reached to 40+ on 2nd gear and 60+ on third without much demanding gear change).

It is my personal choice - Tiago Petrol !!!

Hey guys, I'm new to this forum. I booked a Tiago XT Petrol on May 1st and also paid the full amount cause the dealer was forcing us to pay and also he told us that a XT Petrol was ready and we will get the car immediately if we pay the full amount. However after that the dealer, KVR Payyanur, has been acting quite harshly and one day told me that there is no use of calling him, the car has not been even allotted yet. So I sent a message in fb to the Tiago page and they called me and told that they would give a special consideration for us and would get a car allotted within a week.
From my experience, the way the dealer behaves before and after paying the full amount is really hurtful, and all the hard work that Tata put into making their cars go waste because of the dealers attitude.

We previously had an Alto 2009 , it did about 50k when we sold it and booked the Tiago. Many people compare Tiago with cars which are above its segment but when compared to cars like alto, santro and celerion I think the car is absolutely the best. I was very satisfied with the way the car handled it was way better than the Alto we had, very less NVH and very low body roll. I remember going through corners in the Alto , if we are in a hurry everyone in the car would move sideways and it had a lot of NVH, and the quality of materials was also not great. When compared to it I have absolutely no complaints about Tiago. The car is not made for performance and highway use but I'm sure it can handle all those situations easily.

DJ bro please add me to your group too
https://www.facebook.com/bless.sam

hello guys, please guide me whether to buy tiago or not.

I am very much attracted to its looks and interior. But many of the reviews here written by the people who took test drive show that there are lot of vibrations and harshness in the cabin. One of friend also had a test drive of Petrol XZ version,he is telling there are vibrations clearly felt inside the cabin.

Anyways I am interested in Diesel Engine. Guys please do let me know the performance and NVH levels in the cabin of Diesel version. I am receiving a lot of negative comments so I am not able to decide whether to buy tiago or not but I am totally in love with its looks. I have already booked the car on March 13th but not yet conformed the colour feared the negative reviews given by the people in the forum. Please do help me in this matter. thanks in advance
If you are interested in Diesel TIAGO you don't have any other choice than the Celerio diesel in that price range. We cannot compare the the two cylinder engine of the Celerio with the TIAGO diesel nor is it comparable in the braking, suspension or the safety aspect.

Since Vijayawada is a diesel market you will always get better resale for diesel compared to petrol TIAGO. But my point of view is petrol is more fun to drive because it revvs so freely and also will need much lesser gear shifts in bumper to bumper traffic. Diesel will pull much better with full load of passengers and AC switched on so decide on what suits you better. On top of that petrol TIAGO is cheaper by 90,000 rs compared to diesel TIAGO so you end up saving on your monthly EMI. So if your running is less than a 1000km per month petrol makes sense too.

Hi..

Yes, I will strongly suggest you to TD Diesel. I was also confused after TD both petrol and diesel. I felt that petrol is way better than diesel but my usage demands diesel and most views also suggested diesel is better. I went ahead with my diesel purchase with a small doubt in my mind. Once I drive my car all doubts vanished. It is a gem of an engine.

Conclusion is unfortunately TD car is maintained poorly. Please TD with another dealer and I am sure you will like this engine. Out of two engines, I will suggest diesel any day. However petrol car is also peppier and no issue in reaching 100 kmph.

@SGDS : Welcome to TAI. Installing keyless entry will require cutting electrical wire which will void your electrical warranty. Get it done from Tata or do ensure no wire is cut.

2. No idea about Optional variants. I think it will take some time as they are busy with orders of other models.

3. To upsize your tyre, you will need to change rim to 14 inch.

@ Nanofreak : Sir, please give me some time. I am working on it. I want it to be special one for you all so buying some time from you.

@ peet : No need to ask for receipt from bank. Receipt against bank loan amount is not given separately. You would have received the invoice. The invoice confirms that full payment was made against the purchase. You already had receipt of 1.5 lakhs and this invoice covers all i.e bank loan amount and your advance. Nothing else is required.

@ sam_GTR : Welcome to TAI. The mistake is making full payment in advance. Now we cannot rectify the mistake what we can do is escalate the matter to Tata. You have already done that now do follow up your complaint regularly and do reach higher authority in case the issue is not resolved. Best wishes.